Scott Thompson

• Thread starter Thread starter catzfan

Hopefully they're reluctant to release footage cos they don't wanna lose him to another club.

I reckon he'd be a great pickup.

Realistically a KP Defender is the last thing the Cats needs, with Scarlett still having 3-4 good years left, Egan a great CHB in the making, Mackie stepping up his role in the side. Mind you he could be a decent replacement for Milburn in a couple of years.

I'll tell you what Geelong needs:
Very Little;)

This is basically true for 2008, unless we are hit with an unprecedented run of injuries.

But we definitely need to draft at least one KP defender, because they generally take 2-3 years to step up to the level, which is about as long as Milburn and Harley have left. Scarlett might have a year or two on top of that, but we need to be thinking about his succession too.

Whether Thompson is the right man is another question.

OK BDP at least give me a report on him. Is he as good as they say? I've googled his name but can't find anything. :mad:

Thompson is skinny and unfashionable, but a very natural defender. Looks ungainly - especially when on the run - but seems to always keep his feet and the ball, and get the job done. He reads the play extremely well, and as a result has this really useful habit of finding himself on the end of opposition kicks into the forward line. He is strong overhead, including spoiling, and has absolutely no qualms backing into packs, and with his very sticky hands he often comes up with the ball as well. Decision making is generally pretty good, seems to know when to run off his opponent, and despite what someone else said I think his disposal is pretty good. Not smooth, fluid and classy like Nathan Buckley - more like a little unco yet effective. I know its just one game, but I was watching my tape of the VFL GF again the other day and it was remarkable how so many players on both sides (but especially Coburg) were kicking scrubbers and missing targets, yet pretty much every time Thompson got the ball (which was quite often), it seemed to end up on the chest of a free teammate 30-40m away. His pace is OK - not super quick but can cover the ground quickly enough for it not to be a negative.

Overall I agree that at this stage he looks more like a loose man in defence or third tall, than a KPP. More a Milburn or a Mackie than an Egan. That said, I think that impression is mostly because he is not only the same height as Mackie (192cm), but also the same build. If he can seriously bulk up over the next couple of years then I think he is tall enough and has the tools to take on an opposition key forward, but as he is already 21yo he might just be what he is.

Realistically a KP Defender is the last thing the Cats needs, with Scarlett still having 3-4 good years left, Egan a great CHB in the making, Mackie stepping up his role in the side. Mind you he could be a decent replacement for Milburn in a couple of years.

I'll tell you what Geelong needs:
Very Little;)

Can you ever be completely satisfied with your list? Our starting 22 looks good but we have one KP defender (Lonergan), 1 KP forward (Hawkins) and 1 ruckmen (West). I'd like a ruckmen that can go forward (Ottens clone) and a KP capable of playing back or forward. Not massive concerns but still a little more depth would be nice.

Holy crap :eek: What team wouldnt i think its safe to say we have hit gold with Otto, and i Think this kruzer guy is spose to be the next thing along thoes line, but geez those type of players are very very very hard to find.:)

Overall I agree that at this stage he looks more like a loose man in defence or third tall, than a KPP. More a Milburn or a Mackie than an Egan. That said, I think that impression is mostly because he is not only the same height as Mackie (192cm), but also the same build. If he can seriously bulk up over the next couple of years then I think he is tall enough and has the tools to take on an opposition key forward, but as he is already 21yo he might just be what he is.

Don't forget that apart from Egan (at 196cm), the rest of our so called "tall defenders" stand at 192 or 193cm (Scarlett, Harley, Mackie) so as far as height goes he'll be right. At an AFL club he will be able to develop into a KPP, no worries.

Thanks. :thumbsu:

He could be the next Mathew Scarlett in my opinion.Worth going after him for sure.:)

The club must value him highly enough not to release videos to opposition teams. The question that remains is will he still be available when it's our turn to pick?

your not serious are you mate? i'm not sure the vfl grand final would be that difficult to obtain...

they all had a chance to look at him at state screening anyway! i heard collingwood were keen and there was a whisper about adelaide but not much more...

your not serious are you mate? i'm not sure the vfl grand final would be that difficult to obtain...

they all had a chance to look at him at state screening anyway! i heard collingwood were keen and there was a whisper about adelaide but not much more...

Can someone tell me has Scott Thompsom actually nominated for this weeks draft? Also can you rookis list someone if they havent nominated for the draft.

Don't forget that apart from Egan (at 196cm), the rest of our so called "tall defenders" stand at 192 or 193cm (Scarlett, Harley, Mackie) so as far as height goes he'll be right. At an AFL club he will be able to develop into a KPP, no worries.

Yes he's tall enough, but height alone does not make him a KPP. Mackie is the same height, and guys like Brendon Goddard, Andrew Embley, Scott Pendlebury, Jobe Watson and our own Joel Corey are all over 190cm. None of them are or ever will be KPPs.

I agree if you watched the games he played before the finals he was not very good one on one and lost his man quite frequently. If I remember correctly he had 5 goals kicked on him at one stage. It was only when Geelong gave him the loose man role and freed him up from being accountable that he stepped up and looked quality. I think Reg is right he is no KP defender but he may be capable of playing a Joel Bowden type role where he can use his good foot skills to advantage.

Good luck to Scott at NM, wish him all the best for the future. Would have loved us to pick him up, but it is a great result for him to get onto an AFL list.
For sure and i cant help but think, We (Geelong) got the best look at him and im Happy with what we got so, I wish him well, Just not when hes playing us. :D

I rate him highly. There's something about him, he is a natural defender and probably our first since....not sure but ages.

I came here to get a few answers.

Did Geelong look at him real hard? because I'm sure he was in the same draft as Taylor, but did they opt out and select Taylor or did we jump the gun knowing you guys were gonna select him?

I like Taylor, he's a smart defender with excellent foot skills and has beaten some big names over his short career.

However, if given a choice, would you swap? I know a few of you rated Thomspon, but how do you rate Taylor aswell?

He gets quite a bagging for a player who hasnt even played 50 games.

Thoughts?

Pretty sure you guys jumped the gun knowing we were going to take him with our next pick. I'm honestly not sure if I would swap. I probably overrate Thomo because he is a local boy, so in saying that I'd have to stick with Harry, his attitude and work ethic will see him become one of the best defenders in the business.

Both would have been handy!!

Who gets the bagging? Taylor or Thompson?

The generally understood story is that Geelong were going to take him with a later pick but North got in first.

I saw a fair bit of Thompson in the Geelong VFL and was always impressed. He played "bigger" than you'd expect from someone his size. Courageous, strong, takes a good mark and reasonably quick. His hair made him look like a bit of a Scarlett clone. Due to his size though, there might have been a question over whether he could hold down a key defensive post.

As to the swap question, probably not. Taylor has done remarkably well, probably due to being a mature age recruit. He has stepped straight in and filled the hole left by Egan. I'm not sure Thompson could have done that.

Taylor concerns me at times. Losing his footing. Panicking a bit. But nothing more than you'd ordinarily see from a second year key position player in the AFL. He's done very well and most Geelong supporters are very glad we've got him.

I rate him highly. There's something about him, he is a natural defender and probably our first since....not sure but ages.

I came here to get a few answers.

Did Geelong look at him real hard? because I'm sure he was in the same draft as Taylor, but did they opt out and select Taylor or did we jump the gun knowing you guys were gonna select him?

I like Taylor, he's a smart defender with excellent foot skills and has beaten some big names over his short career.

However, if given a choice, would you swap? I know a few of you rated Thomspon, but how do you rate Taylor aswell?

He gets quite a bagging for a player who hasnt even played 50 games.

Thoughts?

I don't think there was a person at the club who didn't want Thompson, unfortunately we had to use a pick on him and we just rated others in front of him. Not sure what pick was used to secure Thompson, but either way am happy we ended up with Taylor.

Thompson was touted as the next Scarlett, and plays in a very similar fashion. Good body work and quite smart. Should be a valuable long term player....

Either way, am happy with Taylor - he was actually quite good on Franklin in the first half; you can't really defend a player who kicks freak goals like that.

Who gets the bagging? Taylor or Thompson?

As to the swap question, probably not. Taylor has done remarkably well, probably due to being a mature age recruit. He has stepped straight in and filled the hole left by Egan. I'm not sure Thompson could have done that.
They have both copped their share of (mostly unjustified) criticism.

Thompson was a mature age recruit too.