Scott Welsh leaving

Re: Scott Welsh leaving?

Wait - are you posing the question "if your employer offered you a mediocre deal and someone else offered you a much better, longterm deal, what would you do?" That's pretty obvious, isn't it? That's why people change jobs all the time, and there's nothing wrong with a player leaving if the club has a different opinion of their worth.

That being said - if we're talking about Torney's livelihood and career, the club DID offer him a job only days after he was cut from their list. His livelihood wasn't affected very much.
Hang on a minute! Are you actually suggesting here that Jason is getting the same yearly salary in his new job as he would have if he played next year?!

If you are then, WOW! Just WOW! :confused:

Jason Torney wouldn't be getting more than $50K in his new job (if that) which is not even a 3rd of what he would be getting if he played another year of AFL footy. Now tell me how is that financially viable for Torney?! It is for a club but certainly not for Jason!

;)Found out last night the club after Scotty Welsh is not Melbourne, infact it is WESTERN BULLDOGS. Melbourne supposedly are not in the mix at all which makes sense seeing the have R. Robertson who plays a similar role. Ive been told its definately the Bulldogs chasing him!!!;)
- They go after Hudson and convince him to move --> check
- The bend us over at the last minute in the trade week giving us crappy pick instead of Hudson's true value --> check
- They approach Welsh and offer him a better deal than we are and they can get him for nothing in the PSD --> check

Is this true only for me or are the Bulldogs fast becoming everyone's hated team?!

****ing pricks! I just hope we return the favour with Griffen or Cooney in a couple of years time.

I never liked the scumdogs, even when alot of people were going on about how great they are, and how their brand of footy is so awesome and everyone loves them blah blah blah, lot of good their "brand of footy" (See: Soft as butter teenbopper sized hang off the pack receivers) Honestly they are damn near the most pathetic club in the AFL (behind St.Kilda).

You have to hand it to the Dogs, they're playing hardball. What is it with the AFC. Why are we everyone's whipping boy?

As for Welsh. Let's see. He has a history of inconcistency, off field issues and probably only 2-3 years of good footy left in him. A one year contract sounds reasonable to me.

Sick of our players leaving like this.
We have to weed them out...ALL OF EM, welsh can **** off for all I care if he hasn't signed yet. He's dreaming if he wants to get a 2 year contract at the AFC in the situation we're in at the moment...dreaming!!

Let the dogs **** their future up by signing him, what do they think? They'll win a premiership with him in the next two years? Yeah right..lol

I think there is a bit of over-reacting going on here, Port Adelaide did the same thing a year or so ago, when they delisted players such as Peter Walsh, Steven Paxman, montgomery and there's a couple more, can't remember names, but their old guys were just given the flick. 1-2 years on, they played in a grand final.

We have an extremely old list, that will in the next 2-3 years undergo a major turn over when all our 29+ players retire. It would be remiss of the Adelaide football club to ignore this and just wait for it to happen all at once and then we become the basket case of the competition. It is unfortunate that players such as Torney, Bode, Perrie, Hart have been delisted, however we must think of our future, something that didn't happen under Ayres.

We have to start getting rid of some of our older players to make room for younger players who will carry us into the future. It takes tough decisions to get rid of these players, but it has to be done. Unfortunately for Torney, whilst he had a great year this year, in the past he has really struggled with injury, same with Bode and Perrie, Hart was struggling a little as well. It is these players, whose positions can also be filled by others who will get the flick, although Bode's was more to do with injury.

Players like Mcleod and Edwards, both 250+ players and both with exemplary injury records especially recently. Goodwins been a lot better over the past 3-4 years. Basset will have to have an injury free year this year to retain his spot. Biglands stays for obvious reasons at the moment.

As for the 1 year deal for Welsh, whilst i love him as a player and have been a big fan of his for years, he has always struggled to get consistently out on the park, one more bad year and he will be gone and I don't see how you can argue with that, the AFC do not want to have to carry a injured 30+ player for an extra, just because they gave him 2 years instead of 1.

If clubs want to offer injury prone players such as Welsh 2 years and succeed then good luck to them, because, hell, they are going to need it.

As for when the 2nd class players, when they reach 28-30 years old, they should be worried, not just at Adelaide, at any club, how many of these types are there running around at each club at the age of 31+? very few, why? because they have been released. How many 30+ players do most clubs have full stop, or even 28+? We would have the most, if not, we would be right up there, hence the oldest list in the league last year. Clearly we arn't loyal at all to our ageing players at all, unfortunately, due to this loyalty, we now have to get rid of them all at once, so where at other clubs they may not have lasted so long, our players have all lasted till 30ish.

Bad management? perhaps, but then you cannot criticise the footy club when they start to make up for it. Also, the reason these players such as Hudson and Welsh etc, may be looking to go to melbourne is because in 1-2 years time, they fear they may not be able to hold their spot and will be delisted. Are they right to look for extra deals and screw these melbourne clubs because of it? yes. Would we be right to offer similar deals? I'm not so sure. Look at how the redbacks got done over by offering Blewett such a long contract, do we want the same to happen to us?

Hope it's not us chasing him.

I hate him only slightly less than Milne:mad:

If we do steal him then apologies, its lame of us (altough its yet to be confirmed).

FWIW, I have no issue with the Hudson trade, IF we really wanted to screw you he would have gone to the PSD.

I'm not sure, but I don't think the AFC itself was too upset with the trade week result.

;)Found out last night the club after Scotty Welsh is not Melbourne, infact it is WESTERN BULLDOGS. Melbourne supposedly are not in the mix at all which makes sense seeing the have R. Robertson who plays a similar role. Ive been told its definately the Bulldogs chasing him!!!;)

FB forgive me if Im wrong , but are you his manager and your pumping his tyres up to get a better deal at the AFC?

- The bend us over at the last minute in the trade week giving us crappy pick instead of Hudson's true value --> check
- They approach Welsh and offer him a better deal than we are and they can get him for nothing in the PSD --> check

Is this true only for me or are the Bulldogs fast becoming everyone's hated team?!

****ing pricks! I just hope we return the favour with Griffen or Cooney in a couple of years time.

Yes and Check :thumbsu:

Smash em round 1- these dogs are punkin us and showing our club no respect, I say return the favour on field- Truck, Bock, etc- Run straight through the mosquito patrol

****ing bitches

Man this has me riled up:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::mad:

Yeah that's one perspective ......the other is with both Hudson and Welsh the situation was in our control to either retain them or lose them.

Frankly Iam glad the club is making some tough calls .......so often clubs capitulate to player demands and suffer with players going thru the motions after they have signed 2-3 year contracts.

However I also understand both Hudsons and Welshes POV and if i were them as backboners I would very seriously think of doing the same thing .......as Hudson said IT IS A BUSINESS.

So what have the Bulldogs done that's so wrong .......nothing more than we have done ......Moran anyone?

This thread sucks. Nobody has any idea where Welsh is going, Melbourne have the pick before the dogs in the Draft and the PSD. But you guys are taking gossip as gospel. Don't forget to wipe the spit off your screens when you finish frothing at the mouth.

Sadly true

****ing pricks!

I never liked the scumdogs. Honestly they are damn near the most pathetic club in the AFL.

Smash em round 1- these dogs are punkin us and showing our club no respect. ****ing bitches

Man this has me riled up

How about Adelaide take a bit of the blame for not being able to sign their own players? honestly, you'd think the Bulldogs had shot Mark Ricciuto the way you guys are carrying on(sorry to the smarter Crow fans like Wayne's-World - Good post)

Awww! How cute?!

Are those your shoes hanging out of his ass?!

What come around, goes around - Karma.

Reckon we offer Griffen a contract he cannot refuse when he is next up fro grabs.

BTW, we should offer Welsh a 1 year contract with an option of a 2nd year assuming he meets reasonable expectations. If he doesn't like it, then let him go.

It's no secret Scott's not the most dedicated player going round at the Crows and that's now telling against him in the current contract negotiations.

That's not to say we shouldn't try to keep him. We've lost enough goal kickers in the last year or two, but he's one that does need to satisfy set performance goals or he'll just slacken off and cruise.

Reckon we offer Griffen a contract he cannot refuse when he is next up fro grabs.
Offer what you like but dogs are Melbourne club and Crows are a Adelaide club, that what it comes down to in the end!:thumbsu:

And by the way, you can keep the weak cheat bogan prick Welsh. Hangs out the back, pathetic attack on the ball, inconsistent and celebrates every goal like its the grand final sealer.:thumbsdown:

quote]

Unfortunately for this to happen without losing too much we've got to be sitting the bottom quarter of the ladder, if not earn ourselves a wooden spoon.

Now, unlike these unsuccessful melbourne clubs, eg Bulldogs and Demons, we don't do this because we a) are never that bad and b) don't tank to get premierships.

quote]

Unfortunately for this to happen without losing too much we've got to be sitting the bottom quarter of the ladder, if not earn ourselves a wooden spoon.

Now, unlike these unsuccessful melbourne clubs, eg Bulldogs and Demons, we don't do this because we a) are never that bad and b) don't tank to get premierships.
If it wasnt for sides like the dogs and dees, there would be no crows! You would be at sanfl game in your bon jovi t-shirt, stonewash jeans and eating pie floaters:eek:

You guys are frothing at the mouth when it's a loose rumour. I realise we got the better deal for Hudson, but you could of also got nothing. As for Welsh, I doubt he would last to us in the PSD. Melbourne, for one, have a pick before us. Richmond do too. I wouldn't think he'd get past those clubs.

I bet if your club pulled these sort of moves, you'd be talking about how great your administration are and how great a club you lot are.

Oh, and Griffen and Cooney are staying :p

Scott Welsh leaving