Roast Scott

• Thread starter Thread starter tofushark

Nah I know he can be a little erratic but usually his posts are quality. Not sure if you are talking about the story about the lady that was spat her teeth at him (or something along those lines) but that was a highlight for me.

Nah, but that's a good one. This was no story, but I'll leave it at that. Generally a good poster, less so on his efforts in this thread. Obviously didn't watch the half time spread on the altitude training.

Yes, yes I do. Brad still shits all over anything Harvey has ever produced as a gameday coach, and to be frank I wonder how Bon would go if he had our talented squad instead of a squad that had Thomas, Edwards and Petrie as its top threats, with an ageing Harvey just behind.

This is the sort of hateful crap that our board doesn't need. Play the ball not the man./B]quote]

You been on the piss mate.

Secondly, who made you chairman of the board, you want to sing " Bon's " praise feel free to slide on up to the Norf board.

Hateful crap,toughen up princess that was mild.

All - apologies for the slowness of my response to your heartfelt posts, am on dial up 12K at the moment via relay, so my responses will probably seem a few posts out of sync (AS IF A GOOBER LIKE ME EVER HAS ANY CREDIBILITY IN RESPONDING TO YOU LEGENDS!!)... Sorry, but here goes...

ok, fair enough. Just didn't think he was that highly regarded, but if he's anything like his twin, he would have to have at least a half decent footy brain I guess.

BTW - I reckon Harvs goes alright. ;)

Thanks, I didn't mean to suggest Harvey was a Worsfold level coach, Harvs goes very well overall, it is just that I think Harvey's game day coaching is not very good at all (witness, leaving MJ in the backline all day today, not reacting to the move of Varcoe early against the Cats, not covering Thomson at all against Adelaide (no, it wasn't a failure of Lower, Harvey explicitly said do not tag Thomson), Harvs effort against the Swans at Subi, and bringing Headland and Sandi in to the squad last year against Geebung in the finals...

FWIW, Bon and Chris are both (IMHO, which clearly don't count for much on this bowad) much better at both devising game day strategies to suit the limitations of their squad, and then making on the run adjustments as the game unfolds to make the best of their limited squads...

I still think Harveys performance against the Swans at Subi last year, and against Geelong at the MCG last year, are among the poorest game day coaching efforts Freo have had since our squad has begun to improve...

Or go back to last year's regular season games against Adelaide in Adelaide, against Richmond in Melbourne, or the game against Norfs in Melbourne. Harvs is a truly great man motiavtor (TRULY GREAT, top 3 in the AFL at the moment IMHO) and great at player development, but when it comes to game day coaching he is a lot like Ratten in that he seems to barrack and stare at the game rather than pre-empt it with palys and changes of assignment.

So you are having a go at other supporters but in turn suggesting our coach is crap in comparison, hmmmm.

Please enlighten us on why Harvey is so shocking and the Scott brothers are such great coaches?

I did not say Harvey was shocking (he is certainly no Worsfold, Ratten or Voss), I just said he was nowhere near as good - note this next bit - [AS A GAME DAY COACH] (not overall) - as Bon Scott. IMHO, we'd have done much better if we'd have gotten a replacement for either of Chris Scott or Wallis who could complement Harvs coaching on game day. But not to worry, Rosich pays a visit to the coaches box before every game these days...

BPG is on fire tonight, attacking anything in sight that hes doesnt agree with. Did you take some of Pav's angry pills that he was on whilst playing today?

No, no I didn't, I just don't understand the hate towards Brad Scott, who IMHO is one of the decent young coaches going around today. What, you want me to respect Wallett, Worsfold, Lyons or Thompson ahead of Bon??

Also quick question who were north missing that are genuine outs? i cant think of any?

Bastinac (second best mid), McIntosh (best ruck), Campbell (second best small forward), Drew Petrie (second game today, still not fit), Grima, Ziebell (third run today, still not fit) to name a few.

mate he is basically saying we won because we have our best players on the park and he doesn't, which is pathetic and incorrect. have you seen the size of our injury list now including suban? one of the biggest in the comp. including players like barlow, mzungu, morabito, etc.

That is not what Bon is saying at all. He is saying "we have a decent squad on the park and we have gotten legs into our players in the first few rounds" which he hasn't been able to do - witness Drew Petro or Z man today.

I'm hardly saying that Freo didn't deserve to win, just that some of the garbage that certain posters on here ("we'll deal Norfs a Tyson uppercut") have been dishing out this week is hardly a fair or accurate reflection on how close the game was. L Thomas kicks straight and I suggest this thread might be a bit different...

Thanks for your responses, and my apologies for focussing on only your final comment, but after 3/4 of a bottle of vino, I can barely hold more than one thought in my head at a time... BUT I would like to say - H.Ballantyne kicks straight and we do them by 10 goals... you know if my aunty had balls and all that stuff. :)

Since BGP is usually a pretty level headed poster I am guessing that the sight of a gorgeous lass kitted out in Freo gear has sent him into a rage of passion and his only avenue is to express his feelings via the keyboard. I feel for you buddy.

Indeed. After 12 years over here actually seeing a gorgeous, gorgeous young Freo fan kitted out in all her gear has sent me all skewiff. Passionate keyboards and all that...

As long as you feel for me and don't feel me.

Go Freo.

I... Hate massive multiple quote justifiposts.

Bottom line is you're having a spat at our supporters for taking pot shots (1 pot shot mind you) at an opposition coach making weak excuses for losing a game to us.. Claiming it's poor reflection of our supporters, no less.

And then you go on to belittle OUR coach in favour of the guy in the video making absolutely shithouse excuses? If you think our posters are a blight on the boards, would you rather we all posted like this?

This is such a crap thread. A poor reflection on most Freo supporters on this board.

That said, if you want to hate Bon go for it, I won't try to divert your efforts. Other than to say if he had our squad and injuries he'd shit all over Harvey as a gameday coach...

Hypocrisy personified.

Thanks for your responses, and my apologies for focussing on only your final comment, but after 3/4 of a bottle of vino, I can barely hold more than one thought in my head at a time... BUT I would like to say - H.Ballantyne kicks straight and we do them by 10 goals... you know if my aunty had balls and all that stuff. :)

Indeed. Ballas was amazing today, but between his misses on the run (as opposed to his missus in the crowd) and the poor finishing of Palmer, Pav and a couple of our other forwards, we really did not make the best use of our 37 scoring shots. That said, Mayne and Kep did both kick fairly straight today...

And Impy, you don't ever have to apologise to me, if anything I should be apologising to all of you for my often erratic posting frequency and variable temperament.

I... Hate massive multiple quote justifiposts.

Sorry dude, thought I had explained my dial up issues. But hate away...

Bottom line is you're having a spat at our supporters for taking pot shots (1 pot shot mind you) at an opposition coach making weak excuses for losing a game to us.. Claiming it's poor reflection of our supporters, no less.

And then you go on to belittle OUR coach in favour of the guy in the video making absolutely shithouse excuses? If you think our posters are a blight on the boards, would you rather we all posted like this?

Can't see where I'm belittling Harvey, or being a blight on this board, or on its supporters, but hey, if you want to have me banned just hit the appropriate icon on your screen, big fella.

Also, having finally watched the whole piece, I can't see where Brad is making any "absolutely sh**house excuses" either. But hey, haters gotta hate, eh...

Don't think I said "our posters" were a blight, just that posts like this with limited quotes and selective editing of an interview with another team's coach are blights on this generally outstanding board, and certainly are hardly ideal threads after those games when we win...

Hypocrisy personified.

Yep, that's me. Feel free to post the word "hypocrite" every time I say anything on BF, or for that matter any time I post anywhere on teh interwebs, no doubt someone of your ability knows without doubt that such a term suits me...

I don't want to continue on this for thread for the next week as I will say this only.

From the outside as supporters I really think that we don't know the vast majority of what happens in the coaches box. Certain incidents stick in our minds and our opinions are largely formed based on outcomes not the wisdom at the time the strategy was put in place. In addition head coaches don't act alone but are backed up by a whole team of analysts. I think it is too easy to pull up a few incidents to support an argument one way or another.

We do at least agree about Harvey's great development and player management skills, which in my opinion is a a little more obvious and open to public observation.

Anyway BGP I look forward to your future posts on footy and the new lady in your life.

But hey, haters gotta hate, eh...

Don't think I said "our posters" were a blight, just that posts like this with limited quotes and selective editing of an interview with another team's coach are blights on this generally outstanding board, and certainly are hardly ideal threads after those games when we win...

Your hater barb was aimed at my post yet the substance of your comment is irrelevant to my post. I only had a joke at the altitude training, I have the utmost respect for Scott as a coach and player, and couldn't even be bothered listening to the post match interviw to cast comment on that.

Perhaps I should use more emotions to add context but pretty sure only you inferred hate from my post.

Just playing devil's advocate here and Barlow's obviously best 18 but apart from that externally many would see Mzungu as a depth player, Ibbo's back, Palmer's close to his best form, Hayden's past his best, Morra's a 2nd year player + Anthony, Walters and Lower can't crack a game and would be best 22 in many sides.

That makes sense, that's were BS (he he) is coming from - I'd add SNOS as at least a sqaud member if not in our best 22 as well. But all in all, we've got a near best 22 on paper at least on the park. BUT, what people sometimes forget is what a poor pre-season some of the bigger names have had and that nearly always means you're vulnerable especially late in games even when on paper the list can look fairly good.

Scott should get roasted for not putting Firitto on Pav, Pav has struggled against him in recent games I thought, even in the midfield.
Good point.

It almost felt like Scott was trying to repeat the efforts they made last year when they belted us - nullify Hill, flood back to cut off the leading forward's space.

But it didn't work - Hill eventually worked off Rawlings, we just streamed up forward with run and didn't really aim for key targets. I don't think it was amazing coaching from him.

Gotta remember, for last year's match we had no Balla and no Sandilands, among others.

Scott should get roasted for not putting Firitto on Pav, Pav has struggled against him in recent games I thought, even in the midfield.

Good point actually, I wondered here Firritto was for most of the game, I assumed he was matching up on Mundy??

Your hater barb was aimed at my post yet the substance of your comment is irrelevant to my post. I only had a joke at the altitude training, I have the utmost respect for Scott as a coach and player, and couldn't even be bothered listening to the post match interviw to cast comment on that.

Perhaps I should use more emotions to add context but pretty sure only you inferred hate from my post.

Sorry man, it is I who should use teh emoticons, the phrase was meant as a wry repeat of a common meme, not as a dig at you specifically (next time I'll dig out one of those "they see me rollin'" pictures with the dog on a skateboard or a hamster on a Hot Wheels trike or whatever).

No barb intended on my part, I assumed you meant it as a joke, sorry if I didn't come across with that clearly, I'm cool with people poking fun at most AFL coaches, hopefully most regular followers of AFL know how good the Scott brothers are...

I don't read too much into Scott's comments.

If you were at your job and had an axe hanging over your head, you may be a little bitchy yourself.

Harvey's matchday coaching - not sure how you could criticise that at the moment?:confused:

Chris > Brad

Genetically it is Brad ='s Chris

Sorry dude, thought I had explained my dial up issues. But hate away...

Can't see where I'm belittling Harvey, or being a blight on this board, or on its supporters, but hey, if you want to have me banned just hit the appropriate icon on your screen, big fella.

Also, having finally watched the whole piece, I can't see where Brad is making any "absolutely sh**house excuses" either. But hey, haters gotta hate, eh...

Yep, that's me. Feel free to post the word "hypocrite" every time I say anything on BF, or for that matter any time I post anywhere on teh interwebs, no doubt someone of your ability knows without doubt that such a term suits me...

:rolleyes:

Labelling me a 'hater'? Whatever helps you sleep at night.

Nor did I say you were a blight on the boards, jeezus. Have a bat and go to bed or something but don't just create arguments for the sake of boredom, talk about a storm in a teacup.