Opinion Selection Integrity

• Thread starter Thread starter gungho

I would be absolutely devasted if Scerri was dropped.

He plays exactly the role we need. If he can keep up that form, then he should not be dropped for anyone.

If Frederick, Young, JOM, Sturt were all available this week, Scerri would hold his spot in my opinion and other people would be dropped or they would play WAFL.
Sturt is the only bloke we'd drop Amiss for IMO

If Sturt was fit I reckon Amiss could be feeling the pressure, with Jackson in the team to cover someone going down in-game it would be interesting how structuring up with Freddie replacing Amiss might go.

At the end of the day though that would change a lot with an attack that so far has been working quite well, and there won't be any imminent decisions there in the next few weeks you'd think.

I love footy, Freo, and talking about footy and Freo, like everyone else here.

I advocate certain things to ensure the board functions as it is supposed to, as a place for dialogue and discussion, because I care. And I'm not afraid to have conflict with people who take the board in other directions. Of course you can argue I am wrong, that's your prerogative, but you have to simply ask yourself the question what should the board look like and what rules should govern the board?

We can all agree that unmoderated boards are junk.

I've been on this board for close to 20 years, so I have some experience with its ups and downs. Many of us are 80s kids too.

Some simple stuff:
  • don't repetitively whinge about the same stuff
  • don't post new threads to air a personal grievance where a topical thread already exists
  • respect fellow posters

Etc. And yes I go directly at people sometimes, but usually it's because they're breaking one of the first two items above.

This thread combines both of the above. A thread that is not needed and needlessly whinging about some fictitious self driven standard. Who decides what selection integrity is? What a joke of a concept that posters can decide what that is. We have access to a pittance of the inside information that goes into selection. People are naive to think they know better from the outside. Club coaches are just as passionate and competitive as we are.

Question selection 100% but for **** sake stop whinging when the club selects the player that you think is ranked 23rd over the player that's ranked 22nd. The differences between JOM and NOD are miniscule and everyone knows why JOM is preferred, it's because NOD has below AFL level kicking and has no right foot.
With all due respect, you sound like a bit of a power tripper mate.

It's not actually up to you to decide what's relevant and what isn't. You don't hold that kind of power over anyone - luckily for us. If you don't like the discussion then move on, it's as simple as that.

Far out man the bar is deep in the ocean for Darcy now isn’t it? I get we want him to succeed but come on. Congrats Darcy you beat up on a 5th gamer and a 195cm makeshift ruck. That justifies the next 5 years of your contract I guess.

FWIW I thought that was easily Darcy’s best game out of the 3 but is he now just a guy that’s only going to be able to perform when the conditions are tailor-made to suit him? How’s he gonna go in a few weeks time under the roof at Marvel against a fast-moving team like the Dogs and an athletic ruck like English?

You forgot Amiss too
Indeed I did, it was a good day for the whipping boys.

We think we know better than the club when it comes to this stuff, but they see everything we don't, they get back to select the squad, I'd back them to know what they're doing.

Far out man the bar is deep in the ocean for Darcy now isn’t it? I get we want him to succeed but come on. Congrats Darcy you beat up on a 5th gamer and a 195cm makeshift ruck. That justifies the next 5 years of your contract I guess.

FWIW I thought that was easily Darcy’s best game out of the 3 but is he now just a guy that’s only going to be able to perform when the conditions are tailor-made to suit him? How’s he gonna go in a few weeks time under the roof at Marvel against a fast-moving team like the Dogs and an athletic ruck like English?
Our best footy in the last few years has been with him in the team.

Ok maybe he has some money and time on his contract that we’d like over again but that’s no reason to get rid of him.

The players love him, he at his best allows us to use our biggest weapon (Jackson) however we see fit. It’s a team game. Similar to Amiss’ struggling if the forward line is kicking 100 points and getting bulk inside 50’s why shake things up?

It’s not football manager, it’s real life.

OMeara barely did much. Don’t get why he didn’t play Peel and NOD play today.
Hopefully rotating players means they’re all ready for the next two weeks on the road.

Pearce and Cox with 68% ToG, Darcy with a woeful 54%!. JOM only managed 65%.

Can’t be carrying these players and expect the top 10-15 to do the job.

Hopefully rotating players means they’re all ready for the next two weeks on the road.

I guess you view the games with the glasses you want.
I thought JOM was good in the first half in particular while the rest of the team couldn't do anything right.

Those conditions were tailor made for a NOD shocker, and I like the guy.

We’ve already been bitten on the arse by it.

I’m very happy with the way we’ve taken care of business the last 2 weeks against poor oppo, but our selections this season have been awful.

Playing 2-3 underdone players with 50-60% TOG every week and wondering why we got overrun against the only good side we played? It’s not just the low TOG% players, it’s everyone else that has to play more to compensate.

Can’t be doing this all season or we will be found out again and again. At least for this coming stretch, Darcy/Pearce/Cox/JOM/Ryan have all had some conditioning by now and should be able to handle more game time, you’d think at least. But sticking with this philosophy for injured/returning players will cost us (more) games in future.

We’ve already been bitten on the arse by it.

I’m very happy with the way we’ve taken care of business the last 2 weeks against poor oppo, but our selections this season have been awful.

Playing 2-3 underdone players with 50-60% TOG every week and wondering why we got overrun against the only good side we played? It’s not just the low TOG% players, it’s everyone else that has to play more to compensate.

Can’t be doing this all season or we will be found out again and again. At least for this coming stretch, Darcy/Pearce/Cox/JOM/Ryan have all had some conditioning by now and should be able to handle more game time, you’d think at least. But sticking with this philosophy for injured/returning players will cost us (more) games in future.
I don't think it is about underdone so much as with 5 on the bench the risk profile changes a little bit. Firstly there is a drop to TOG for every player, naturally if an A-grader is at their prime fitness you want them on there for 80% or more. However if they are first game back from a soft tissue injury or are injury prone playing them for less time but higher impact makes sense. Who is dropping their game time if Mason Cox plays out of Treacy, Amiss, Voss or Jackson?

The next piece is the extra bench option allows you to manage workload over the season. We want Pearce, Darcy and Cox to be spending as much TOG when we are playing GC, WB and Brisbane not against Melbourne or Richmond.

I have been forced to admit that the selection process has been both deliberate and reasonable.

I haven't bothered to read posts from about a week ago because of the dribble about our number one ruckman, Sean Darcy.
Have you all come to your senses yet!.
It is ludicrous to think we don't need him to protect Jackson and the smaller mids. His esteem within the playing group was never more evident than when he marked and kicked his goal in the last 1/4. Every player ran to ruffle his hair, jump all over him. Congratulate him in every way.
I am glsd that we have selectors far far far smarter and more knowledgable football wise than the disbelievers.
Well played Big Onions.

Darcy would wipe the floor with Mason Cox as a ruckman, even half done. Cox is the back up ruckman for a reason. Plus the mids would have a much better connection with Darcy considering the time they’ve spent together with him over Cox.

Did you see the players response when Darcy kicked the goal? They love him & want him out there. The players relationships & connection is hugely important in the modern game.