PALM BEACH 26
COOLY
UQ
MAGPIES
GRANGE
SPRINGWOOd

I haven't won Stuyd1 you will probably win by points margins

SEQAFL competitions restructure announced

AFL Queensland today announced changes to South East Queensland Community Football Competitions which will see the introduction of a Queensland Australian Football League (QAFL) state league competition.
AFL Queensland met with Allied Pickfords Cup and SEQAFL Division two and three clubs on July 21 to discuss possible changes to the existing community football competition structure, and to allow clubs to offer suggestions and feedback on any of these.
In this meeting, the community football administration presented four different competition structures for 2014 -2017 for clubs to take back to their various stakeholders for survey.
Clubs were asked to vote on their preferred community competition structure with the majority of clubs voting forthe state league headlined option.
AFL Queensland Community Football Manager, Cherie Brockwell, said 76% of those who completed the survey voted for the QAFL.
“The response was overwhelmingly positive and supportive of the proposed State league option,” said Brockwell.
“By providing an open and transparent process we have engaged our stakeholders and put them in charge of reshaping the competition and deciding their future.
“We will continue to work together with clubs until the process is finalised.”
Clubs who have indicated that they wish to play in the QAFL state league have until the August 30 to submit license applications.
Until this process is completed the underpinning competition structures will not announced.
Finalised competition structures will be provided to all clubs by the 20th September.
2014 – 2017 Community Football Competition Structure
QAFL State League
QFA Northern and Southern Conference
QAFA Amateurs A Grade
QAFA Amateurs B Grade (North, Central and South)
aflq.com.au

SEQAFL competitions restructure announced

AFL Queensland today announced changes to South East Queensland Community Football Competitions which will see the introduction of a Queensland Australian Football League (QAFL) state league competition.
AFL Queensland met with Allied Pickfords Cup and SEQAFL Division two and three clubs on July 21 to discuss possible changes to the existing community football competition structure, and to allow clubs to offer suggestions and feedback on any of these.
In this meeting, the community football administration presented four different competition structures for 2014 -2017 for clubs to take back to their various stakeholders for survey.
Clubs were asked to vote on their preferred community competition structure with the majority of clubs voting forthe state league headlined option.
AFL Queensland Community Football Manager, Cherie Brockwell, said 76% of those who completed the survey voted for the QAFL.
“The response was overwhelmingly positive and supportive of the proposed State league option,” said Brockwell.
“By providing an open and transparent process we have engaged our stakeholders and put them in charge of reshaping the competition and deciding their future.
“We will continue to work together with clubs until the process is finalised.”
Clubs who have indicated that they wish to play in the QAFL state league have until the August 30 to submit license applications.
Until this process is completed the underpinning competition structures will not announced.
Finalised competition structures will be provided to all clubs by the 20th September.
2014 – 2017 Community Football Competition Structure
QAFL State League
QFA Northern and Southern Conference
QAFA Amateurs A Grade
QAFA Amateurs B Grade (North, Central and South)
aflq.com.au
Anyone know what they mean by "amateurs"? It looks like current Div 3 and Div 4. In Vic the amateurs used to have no player payments- just play for fun. Is that it?

The question is, which teams get promoted to the QAFL? W/Magpie and PBC are 2 teams who were consistent in their form maybe Noosa, Grange, Surfers?
The QAFL will consist of Labrador, Morningside, Mt Gravatt and Broadbeach.

Mayne are developing nicely but maybe not quite ready yet, hope I am wrong.

The question is, which teams get promoted to the QAFL? W/Magpie and PBC are 2 teams who were consistent in their form maybe Noosa, Grange, Surfers?
The QAFL will consist of Labrador, Morningside, Mt Gravatt and Broadbeach.

Mayne are developing nicely but maybe not quite ready yet, hope I am wrong.

Tiger g,
the comp would have to be a ten club affair... Thus the 4 relegated NEAFL clubs, plus Palm Beach, Magpies, Springwood, Grange, Mayne, and Surfers at a guess... then that depends on clubs feeling they want to be in this comp and be able to be competitive... not a good scenario.

Tiger g,
the comp would have to be a ten club affair... Thus the 4 relegated NEAFL clubs, plus Palm Beach, Magpies, Springwood, Grange, Mayne, and Surfers at a guess... then that depends on clubs feeling they want to be in this comp and be able to be competitive... not a good scenario.
dont reckon Springwood will be in it and they may win this years flag, take out there recruited players are they sustainable in tough times?

my thoughts are

Panthers,Vultures,West Mags,Grange,Sandgate,Lab,Broady,PBC,Noosa,Maroochy

this covers all areas geographically and all clubs have similair finacial capability, i personally would also like to see Mayne and Springwood in.

without wanting to look like someone whingeing because "oh noes he didn't include my club", why have you excluded a team that's beaten all bar one club because you query whether they are "sustainable in tough times" yet you include noosa who this year suffered from being able to recruit due in part to the hard times in their area and came 11th of 12?

edit: this isn't a knock on noosa, they've obviously been very very good for a number of years and their first (perhaps only?) down year coincides with the big comp changes. but also to pin springwood's improvement solely on recruiting is not particularly accurate either

dont reckon Springwood will be in it and they may win this years flag, take out there recruited players are they sustainable in tough times?

my thoughts are

Panthers,Vultures,West Mags,Grange,Sandgate,Lab,Broady,PBC,Noosa,Maroochy

this covers all areas geographically and all clubs have similair finacial capability, i personally would also like to see Mayne and Springwood in.

Really don't think Maroochy will make the cut, reckon they would only want 1 side from the Sunny Coast. Have my doubts about Sandgate too reckon they would go 8 team comp.
reckon M'Side, Mt Grav,W/Mag, W/Gran, Labr, BB,PBC Noosa will make the grade.

Think a few of you guys might be upselling Mt Gravatt tbh. No guarantee of being financially viable for this comp from my understanding. Springwood would be a better bet i would have thought on a number of different scores for that region. PBC a given as are BB, probably Labrador as well from that end. Magpies of course and I think 2 of the 3 out of Mayne, Sandgate, Grange if you really want to spread the love here but reckon all 3 are good footy clubs and would like to see all 3 in. Noosa suffer from the "timing is everything" scenario. Financially suffering, no upside in the local economy for a few years yet, long way to travel for GC sides. Maroochy ticks a number of boxes in direct comp with Noosa. Think the coast should have 2 sides in in any case. Personally think a 12 team comp will be better anyway with everyone playing each other once, then the comp is "localised" to playing derbies and those sides closest to you for the remaining 7 matches. Yep, will be compromised as some years certain clubs will be stronger than others but if its good enough for the best comp in the land then i think it is good enough for us. Only miss playing 4 teasm and it would make sense that those sides are geographically at opposite ends imo.

without wanting to look like someone whingeing because "oh noes he didn't include my club", why have you excluded a team that's beaten all bar one club because you query whether they are "sustainable in tough times" yet you include noosa who this year suffered from being able to recruit due in part to the hard times in their area and came 11th of 12?

edit: this isn't a knock on noosa, they've obviously been very very good for a number of years and their first (perhaps only?) down year coincides with the big comp changes. but also to pin springwood's improvement solely on recruiting is not particularly accurate either
fair call Lenny, as i said i hope they are in it as they represent the Logan area as well.

Think a few of you guys might be upselling Mt Gravatt tbh. No guarantee of being financially viable for this comp from my understanding. Springwood would be a better bet i would have thought on a number of different scores for that region. PBC a given as are BB, probably Labrador as well from that end. Magpies of course and I think 2 of the 3 out of Mayne, Sandgate, Grange if you really want to spread the love here but reckon all 3 are good footy clubs and would like to see all 3 in. Noosa suffer from the "timing is everything" scenario. Financially suffering, no upside in the local economy for a few years yet, long way to travel for GC sides. Maroochy ticks a number of boxes in direct comp with Noosa. Think the coast should have 2 sides in in any case. Personally think a 12 team comp will be better anyway with everyone playing each other once, then the comp is "localised" to playing derbies and those sides closest to you for the remaining 7 matches. Yep, will be compromised as some years certain clubs will be stronger than others but if its good enough for the best comp in the land then i think it is good enough for us. Only miss playing 4 teasm and it would make sense that those sides are geographically at opposite ends imo.

Appreciate your views but I tend to disagree on most points. Firstly afl have said that the 4 neafl clubs get automatic entry, so end of discussion re: mt gravatt. They have shown great improvement in the back end of the year and even given a poor financial situation should be in.

On the next point of how many teams, I agree that a compromised fixture isn't the end of the world but for mine a 10 team comp is maximum. I actually reckon they ought to go with 8 or 9 only. The problem with letting 12 in is the dilution of standard. Morningside will smash up embarrassingly teams 10-12 IMO.

Also I hear that a nq team will play in this comp not the neafl. So for mine the comp will look like

4 neafl: bb, lab, mt g, morn

Nq

Definite ins: pbc and west magpies

And between 1-3 more clubs depending on the strength of their application.
The clubs that would be considered would be:

Grange (90% chance), mayne, sandgate, maroochy, noosa (all 50/50).

Small chance: Springwood, surfers

I know I'm harsh on Springwood here, but IMO they benefitted from mt gravatt"s issues 12 months ago, and for mine south of the river can only have 3 clubs, morningside, mtg, and west mags and they run 4th IMO.

There isn't a hope in hell NQ will play in this comp so will take that one out. Not sure how they fit the criteria of "community football" ? All along the AFLQ have said that any new situation clubs need to apply for and be on application only - just not sure Mt Gravatt tick as many boxes as others. Have never heard the AFL guarantee status to any of the NEAFL clubs (and nor should they - they don't have a status in the game more or less important than the struggling Div 2 side imo) but happy to stand corrected. Clubs like Morningside have always benefited from their position as a great top division side with juniors heading there etc. This won't be the case any longer. In fact there will be very little reason for players to change clubs from what i can tell unless good $$ are on offer. In the end the culture and coaching you develop will be paramount to success which can only be a good thing. Anyway time will tell.

There isn't a hope in hell NQ will play in this comp so will take that one out. Not sure how they fit the criteria of "community football" ? All along the AFLQ have said that any new situation clubs need to apply for and be on application only - just not sure Mt Gravatt tick as many boxes as others. Have never heard the AFL guarantee status to any of the NEAFL clubs (and nor should they - they don't have a status in the game more or less important than the struggling Div 2 side imo) but happy to stand corrected.

http://www.aflq.com.au/index.php?id=5&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=2223&tx_ttnews[backPid]=4&cHash=90562ca580

Following a consultative process between all current NEAFL clubs and the two state bodies of AFL NSW/ACT and AFLQ, it has been agreed the following clubs will not have their NEAFL licenses renewed at the conclusion of the 2013 season: Tuggeranong (ACT), Broadbeach (QLD), Labrador (QLD) Morningside (QLD) and Mt Gravatt (QLD).Tuggeranong will compete in the AFL Canberra Division 1 League in 2014, while the four Queensland clubs will gain automatic entry into the new Queensland Australian Football League (QAFL) state league competition to be announced in the coming weeks.

On a side note, going to the AFLQ site to get that I see Corbin Dickfos played out last weekend with broken ribs. Bugger me, if that's how he plays against a good side with broken ribs, look out when fully fit. He's a jet

Appreciate your views but I tend to disagree on most points. Firstly afl have said that the 4 neafl clubs get automatic entry, so end of discussion re: mt gravatt. They have shown great improvement in the back end of the year and even given a poor financial situation should be in.

On the next point of how many teams, I agree that a compromised fixture isn't the end of the world but for mine a 10 team comp is maximum. I actually reckon they ought to go with 8 or 9 only. The problem with letting 12 in is the dilution of standard. Morningside will smash up embarrassingly teams 10-12 IMO.

Also I hear that a nq team will play in this comp not the neafl. So for mine the comp will look like

4 neafl: bb, lab, mt g, morn

Nq

Definite ins: pbc and west magpies

And between 1-3 more clubs depending on the strength of their application.
The clubs that would be considered would be:

Grange (90% chance), mayne, sandgate, maroochy, noosa (all 50/50).

Small chance: Springwood, surfers

I know I'm harsh on Springwood here, but IMO they benefitted from mt gravatt"s issues 12 months ago, and for mine south of the river can only have 3 clubs, morningside, mtg, and west mags and they run 4th IMO.

i reckon the first couple of years mside and broady will be extremeley strong but will even out as junior players stay at their home clubs e.g Not as many sunny coast kids will be going to Aspley or Sangate kids, not as many West Maggies going to Morningside and Mt Gravatt and PBC juniors with Broady

FOOTY TIPPING RESULTS

Quite remarkably Tiger G has managed to get a perfect score in 4 of the last 5 rounds to come from behind and take out this years Allied Pickfords cup tipping competition! Congratulations Tiger G.

Condolences to Stuyd who was just pipped at the post due to this mammoth effort, the final scores are below:

Tips Margin
Tiger G 86 535
stuyd 81 518
BigfootyQLD 73 535
Pinky951 68 485
Dezario 68 678
paddlepop33 64 507
Smy1305 61 732

Smy1305 you get the wooden spoon and for your prize you have to tell each team which comp they are playing in next year and how they are going to afford to travel to Cairns

FOOTY TIPPING RESULTS

Quite remarkably Tiger G has managed to get a perfect score in 4 of the last 5 rounds to come from behind and take out this years Allied Pickfords cup tipping competition! Congratulations Tiger G.

Condolences to Stuyd who was just pipped at the post due to this mammoth effort, the final scores are below:

Tips Margin
Tiger G 86 535
stuyd 81 518
BigfootyQLD 73 535
Pinky951 68 485
Dezario 68 678
paddlepop33 64 507
Smy1305 61 732

Smy1305 you get the wooden spoon and for your prize you have to tell each team which comp they are playing in next year and how they are going to afford to travel to Cairns

TigerG,
well done. I had the lead for a few wks there, but your last few weeks tips have been unreal. All good fun and I enjoyed the comp.Love our footy.

Nah - thats the point Pinky - Cairns won't be on anyones radar in this comp next year. Thats a furphy imo. Yep, happy to accept that the AFLQ will slot the Mounties in - on that basis reckon Pumas are in strife although it would be a great local rivalry too! Reckon Surfers are stiff too if they don't get in - good footy club although no 18's doesn't help them imo.

So hard to predict who is going to apply - a significant increase in $$ spend for most AP clubs from what i've been told. Current committees will be crunching numbers, speculating, predicting, HOPING, its a tough call imo.

FOOTY TIPPING RESULTS

Tips Margin
Tiger G 86 535
stuyd 81 518
BigfootyQLD 73 535
Pinky951 68 485
Dezario 68 678
paddlepop33 64 507
Smy1305 61 732

Eye of the Tiger... Eye of the Tiger lol Seriously thanks everyone especially you Pinky! Great fun well done Stuyd and thanks for being a good sport!

Nah - thats the point Pinky - Cairns won't be on anyones radar in this comp next year. Thats a furphy imo. Yep, happy to accept that the AFLQ will slot the Mounties in - on that basis reckon Pumas are in strife although it would be a great local rivalry too! Reckon Surfers are stiff too if they don't get in - good footy club although no 18's doesn't help them imo.

So hard to predict who is going to apply - a significant increase in $$ spend for most AP clubs from what i've been told. Current committees will be crunching numbers, speculating, predicting, HOPING, its a tough call imo.
so basically it will be the old QAFL from 30 years ago + a couple of new ones..... very amusing thankyou all at AFLQ house! it has taken you 30 years and probably $30m to get back to where we started brilliant!! dont let the door hit u on the backside when you jump back on the plane back to melbourne.....

NQ definitely a possibility to come in- been highlighted here

http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2013-07-16/afl-to-include-more-png-players/4822836

Originally to go straight into the neafl, but the afl quite rightly has concerns about being competitive with neafl sides. I expect them to come into aflq state league for a year or two before going up into neafl.

Apparently the afl have already built accommodation to house PNG boys. Any travel required would be afl funded.

I agree that the process puts pressure on clubs from all levels- and the afl have been pretty tough on clubs with this whole process. I reckon a salary cap of around 60k-70k would be about the number. IMO only clubs that can pay at least 1/2 of that number will be considered.

Yep - happy to admit 2010 that if the NQ side was to fund the travel expenses then it may happen. Must admit I had not thought of that possibility. At around $20K per trip thats alot of $$ to stump up though every week. Saying this their salary cap won't be substantial vs if they were in the nEAFL so save some bucks there. Interesting days anyway.

Agree speedy - the more things change, the more things stay the same. Its called a full circle with a few trimmings - those in public service would be used to this anyway..:cool:

NQ definitely a possibility to come in- been highlighted here

http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2013-07-16/afl-to-include-more-png-players/4822836

Originally to go straight into the neafl, but the afl quite rightly has concerns about being competitive with neafl sides. I expect them to come into aflq state league for a year or two before going up into neafl.

Apparently the afl have already built accommodation to house PNG boys. Any travel required would be afl funded.
The new NEAFL competition travel is paid for by the AFL so it would also have to fund any travel required in the State League

I agree that the process puts pressure on clubs from all levels- and the afl have been pretty tough on clubs with this whole process. I reckon a salary cap of around 60k-70k would be about the number. IMO only clubs that can pay at least 1/2 of that number will be considered.

It will be a points system, not salary cap so clubs will be able to pay what they like as long as come under the point limit, around 45 I believe

I have heard rumours of a points system coming in also. Maybe they will do both. The worry of a points system is in my opinion it could cause local 16 year olds to have bidding wars for their services. Eg If there is a gun 16/17 year old at Burleigh (who is 0 or 1 point) then the state league clubs (Broady,Palmy, Lab) will bid for his services. Designing a points system that is fair is also difficult also.

Having said that it is probably fairer than a salary cap as realistically salary caps are impossible to police.

I have heard rumours of a points system coming in also. Maybe they will do both. The worry of a points system is in my opinion it could cause local 16 year olds to have bidding wars for their services. Eg If there is a gun 16/17 year old at Burleigh (who is 0 or 1 point) then the state league clubs (Broady,Palmy, Lab) will bid for his services. Designing a points system that is fair is also difficult also.

Having said that it is probably fairer than a salary cap as realistically salary caps are impossible to police.

will be tough to police, i would like to see a 50k salary cap this is what most clubs that will be in the qafl can afford, it also would prevent clubs recruiting alot from down south which inturn would make it a real qld nursery. another rule i would bring in is no player under 19 can earn over $100 per game this would stop little up starts that have done nothing at senior level shopping themselves...

I'd make this a national rule if you could!! Obviously impossible to police but the stories I hear of TAC boys coming out of that comp in Melbourne and swanning around asking $500+ is just ridiculous. Of course dumber again are the clubs that pay it..