Seven Network shunts AFLW coverage to secondary channel

I have already heard that 7 will be arguing they are basically providing a community service at their own cost, and that it would be unreasonable to ask them to pay to do this, so the rights should remain free. I think it will be hard to get a cent from 7.
Then put it on the ABC or SBS.

That is what those channel are for until a commercial networks wants to pay for it. I mean, Foxtel was given 30m to promote and air women's sport, why wasn't the free to air public broadcaster given that money?

Equal work for equal pay? Then why aren't Nbl players paid as much as NBA players? Why aren't A league players payed as much as premier league players. Why are vafa footballer paid nothing compared to eastern football league players.

Moana hope got over 20k last year for 8 games. Absolute joke they are sooking about money.

First points, the NBL and NBA are different competitions in a different countries. As much as people want to treat AFLW as a separate league, it is a division of the AFL. Just like if AFLX takes off, it might run with different franchise teams and rosters, but it will still be a division of the AFL.

Just like Woolworths, they don't open a new Woolies and tell the staff "sorry, we're going to play you less per hour because you're a new store and not established as long as the others", the staff get paid the same minimum rate.

Another point, VAFA players are paid (in theory) nothing because the league has declared itself an amateur competition, where as the EFL as not.

They are different not-for-profit organisations. You are free to choose which league you'd like to play for. Side note: I've heard of story of players have their son's/daughter's school fees looked after and renovations done to their homes for nothing, as incentives for players to play at a VAFA club.

Final point, Moana Hope was not paid around 20k for 8 games. She was paid 20k to play 8 games, train 9 hours per week (actually 12pw in reality) and to give up time away from her small business and caring for her sister, to attend media events and footy clinics as an AFL ambassador.

Then put it on the ABC or SBS.

That is what those channel are for until a commercial networks wants to pay for it. I mean, Foxtel was given 30m to promote and air women's sport, why wasn't the free to air public broadcaster given that money?
If it isnt being paid for anyway, its better on 7 mate than SBS or ABC.

First points, the NBL and NBA are different competitions in a different countries. As much as people want to treat AFLW as a separate league, it is a division of the AFL. Just like if AFLX takes off, it might run with different franchise teams and rosters, but it will still be a division of the AFL.

The poster used a bad example. I think the fairer comparison would be the NBA and WNBA, both controlled by the same organisation. Now wages there have a monumental gap, but no sane minded person would ever say that it wasn't justified based on TV ratings, total global revenue, history and overall public interest.

Not really a fair comparison as the NBA is completely separate from both USA Basketball (the organisation tasked with developing the game within US borders) and FIBA (the custodian of the game worldwide), whereas the AFL has both those responsibilities in addition to running competitions, so that clearly influences how it approaches the AFL.

Its simple logic really, why would 7 - a company thats about ratings and revenue air a program that gets less than desirable ratings (aka worse than breakfast tv numbers) on its main channel. When they could air something else (or a repeat movie like Shawshank Redemption for the 99999th time) and get a better ratings figure.

AFLW is lucky its on 7mate at all.... with how the competition is tracking, its borderline to be a streamed online only service.

Its simple logic really, why would 7 - a company thats about ratings and revenue air a program that gets less than desirable ratings (aka worse than breakfast tv numbers) on its main channel. When they could air something else (or a repeat movie like Shawshank Redemption for the 99999th time) and get a better ratings figure.

AFLW is lucky its on 7mate at all.... with how the competition is tracking, its borderline to be a streamed online only service.
How dare you! These women are elite! The afl are screwing them at every corner!

Considering 52% of the population are women if ratings are down who’s to blame?

Wtf is this 1995?

Are people unable to use the channel up / down button?

Instead of clicking 6 on the remote i have to click 63

Oh noes end of world.

id be more upset that all forms of the afl are broadcast in potatovision in 2018 on fta when japan is moving on 8k broadcast

Wtf is this 1995?

Are people unable to use the channel up / down button?

Instead of clicking 6 on the remote i have to click 63

Oh noes end of world.

id be more upset that all forms of the afl are broadcast in potatovision in 2018 on fta when japan is moving on 8k broadcast

Actually, being on the main channel means a lot.

For starters, the main channels (7, 9, 10) out rate their secondary channels on almost every occasion.

The reason is, the 'best' programs are given their first run on the main channels, and all the marketing dollars go in towards promoting the main channels.

If it didn't matter, then MKR would debut on 7TWO, Married at First Sight on GEM or I'm a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here on One. But they don't, do they?

According to your theory of "oh it's just a remote click away", how about we take your favourite sports off TV and just stream them via the Internet?

On the Internet (without restrictions on the stream, like YouTube) you could claim a potential global audience of billions... BUT if people don't know when/where it's on, then your audience is going to be stuff all.

The devoted AFLW fan will find where the coverage is, but it's about the causal TV viewer. If they are watching a popular program on Ch 7 (say MKR) and the AFLW is on straight after, a number who didn't think about watching might stay tuned, thus growing your potential audience.

Actually, being on the main channel means a lot.

For starters, the main channels (7, 9, 10) out rate their secondary channels on almost every occasion.

The reason is, the 'best' programs are given their first run on the main channels, and all the marketing dollars go in towards promoting the main channels.

If it didn't matter, then MKR would debut on 7TWO, Married at First Sight on GEM or I'm a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here on One. But they don't, do they?

According to your theory of "oh it's just a remote click away", how about we take your favourite sports off TV and just stream them via the Internet?

On the Internet (without restrictions on the stream, like YouTube) you could claim a potential global audience of billions... BUT if people don't know when/where it's on, then your audience is going to be stuff all.

The devoted AFLW fan will find where the coverage is, but it's about the causal TV viewer. If they are watching a popular program on Ch 7 (say MKR) and the AFLW is on straight after, a number who didn't think about watching might stay tuned, thus growing your potential audience.
As someone who turns fta tv on to watch football before turning it back to netflix / stan / hulu and amazon

I have zero empathy towards people whos lives are programmed according when and what a network decides to put on.

Everything i watch has very little to do with what was on before it etc

So ive filtered what i wrote through that lens.

I can see from another perspective from what you have written and can concede that it would make a difference.

As someone who turns fta tv on to watch football before turning it back to netflix / stan / hulu and amazon

I have zero empathy towards people whos lives are programmed according when and what a network decides to put on.

Everything i watch has very little to do with what was on before it etc

So ive filtered what i wrote through that lens.

I can see from another perspective from what you have written and can concede that it would make a difference.
While the expectation of AFLW being on 7 was unrealistic, I do understand people being upset. Historically, as irrational as it might seem, there is a significant difference between main channel and secondary channel ratings.

For AFLW where ratings are marginal, the hit to ratings from the move hurts.

AFL gets secondary channel for lots of games, but ratings are high enough it has minimal impact on the league.

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

IMO it is proving to have been shortsighted by the AFL to go with Seven in general, even though it means more rights money than a deal with Ten or a public broadcaster. (Nine would be just as bad as Seven, possibly worse.)

Swans and Lions free-to-air ratings have gone significantly backwards in the northern states compared with when these games were shown on Ten's main channel.

The impact on AFLW ratings of being hidden away on 7mate is no doubt just as negative as the impact on AFL ratings in the northern states.

If the AFL changes to a twilight grand final without insisting that it be shown nationally on Seven's main channel, expect it to be shunted off to 7mate in NSW and QLD as well, pretty much eliminating any potential net benefit of such a change.

I really hope the AFL finds a better network next time, even if it is for substantially less revenue than Seven is willing to pay.

Just to add, when a smaller network such as Ten gets the rights to something, it not only is more likely to put the games on the main channel but it also tends to give the code more prominence in its news bulletins and plugs the game on other shows.

Seven, by contrast, does next to nothing for the game outside heartland states.

This is not intended as a criticism of Seven. The network is entitled to make the agreements and take the actions it sees fit. It is meant as a criticism of the AFL choosing Seven or not demanding more of Seven in exchange for less rights money.

(Sorry for the string of posts)

On reflection, I'm probably being too critical. Anyone who wants to watch AFLW (and AFL in the northern states) can currently do so on free-to-air TV. That is a big improvement on the past.

Perhaps fretting about the ratings impact of being on 7mate is putting the cart before the horse in that grassroots development needs to take priority at this stage and the AFL has been excellent on this front.

I'd still like to see the AFL require Seven to show the AFLW game of the week on the main channel in the heartland states. The bar for acceptable ratings on Saturday nights is quite low and AFLW ratings (and Sydney and Brisbane AFL teams ratings in the northern states) would not be far out of place, if at all.

Interesting post(s).

You raise a good point about Ten (in the past) showing the AFL on the main channel in the northern states. Nine did the same thing on Sundays where the 1pm game would be live across Australia. At 4pm they'd throw to the NRL in the Northern States and show a delayed/edited AFL game elsewhere.

Ten could be a big player in footy, especially now that CBS own Ten, and they were recently burnt by Cricket Australia.

They need sports programming and have money to spend - although I suspect a Ten-NBL deal to be announced at some stage.

Also to add to the posting of precarious Channel 10 also showed non-Lions games live or near live on Saturday nights between 2005-2011, and simulcast on One HD until mid-2011 when channel 10 started to turn shit.

Really hope the AFL have the foresight to put the AFLW on Channel 10 instead of seven. Whilst I was at the game in Melbourne for the AFLW GF this year, I heard it got shown on 7mate up in Queensland, absolutely disgraceful if true

You know that the AFLW hysteria has gone full ****** when the demand is that 7 broadcast it on their main channel when all of 15 people watch it
Channel 9 put netball on their main channel

You know that the AFLW hysteria has gone full ****** when the demand is that 7 broadcast it on their main channel when all of 15 people watch it
Curious why this upsets you so much? All sports want there product main channel if they can get it, doesn't mean they will. it would be odd if AFLW pundits were not unhappy about being moved to secondary channels. It isn't an unreasonable position to take.

Collingwood AFLM has been on the 7 mate in Melbourne three times this year. I think in that context the hand wringing about AFLW being on 7 mate looks pretty ridiculous

If it was by anyone of any standing in the AFL/AFLW, yes.
Outrage by people unconnected to either is neither here nor their.

It would be like me getting outraged that competitive line dancing wasn't telecast, and my outrage was used to indicate how rediculous this line dancing demand for attention was.

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

Seven Network shunts AFLW coverage to secondary channel