Shattered

• Thread starter Thread starter Stakerz

Is it me or are the younger players (Shaw, Clarke, Swan, Cox, Maxwell etc.) actually keeping us in the game?
Players like licca, holland and obree are holding us back, they have been great servants of the club but their time has sadly passed and as for Richards well I dont have anything polite to say so best say nought!!

Was I the only one at the ground that thought, when we were on a roll for 7 minutes or so in the last quarter it was a result of richards ruck work?

Im quite sure that when Fraser went back in, it stopped.

Is it me or are the younger players (Shaw, Clarke, Swan, Cox, Maxwell etc.) actually keeping us in the game?
Players like licca, holland and obree are holding us back, they have been great servants of the club but their time has sadly passed and as for Richards well I dont have anything polite to say so best say nought!!
True that.

Holland needs to be dropped.

Claiming that the Hawks were "flat" is as well.:thumbsd:

The Hawks were on tonight and we were beaten by a better team. But after watching that game I feel very good about the remainder of the season. We mixed it with one of the best and had a few things been a little different we might have won.

I tend to disagree with this. I don't think we were ON at all. In fact, I thought for about 80% of the match we were pretty ordinary. Alot of players down on form. Hodge was nowhere near as damaging as he normally is, Buddy was beaten even though he still managed four [scary really] Croad put in his shocker for the year and Sewell was nowhere near as influential as he has been. Collingwood were gallant and whilst I agree that they were undermanned, I don't believe you can use that as an excuse. Williams is just as important to us as Rocca is to you. It's all about depth in the game now. No team goes into a match full strength! We have had some huge outs too but we have been able to find a way to win anyway. When Collingwood hit the front late in the last, we could have dropped our bundle but we didn't. That is huge for such a young side playing in front of a Collingwood packed house! Tonight was a huge step forward for the Hawthorn Football Club and it is quite frustrating to find some supporters downplaying our win.
Our next test is Adelaide in Adelaide without Tim Boyle. I am sure undermanned or not, we will fight it out just as Collingwood did tonight.

Average Attributes
c.gif
CollingwoodAttributeHawthorn
c.gif
186.3cmHeight185.8cm85.4kgWeight88.9kg24yr 5mthAge23yr 10mth85.9Games68.3
c.gif
c.gif
Total Players By Games
c.gif
CollingwoodGamesHawthorn
c.gif
10Less than 5011150 to 9977100 to 14914150 or more 3

dont use inexperience as an excuse & remember hawks had willow dicko vanders clarkey & had the luxury of dropping jacobs jus proves there depth is far better

Average Attributes
c.gif
c.gif
c.gif
c.gif
Total Players By Games
c.gif
CollingwoodGamesHawthorn
c.gif

dont use inexperience as an excuse & remember hawks had willow dicko vanders clarkey & had the luxury of dropping jacobs jus proves there depth is far better

Wow an Adelaide player trolling our boards. Shouldn't you be worrying about losing all your home games ;)

P.S: Learn the magic of the key called "enter"

We played crap didn't we? Or were the Hawks too good?

Please don't play Richards ever again.. No excuses. Delsist him now.

I was pissed off from the start, things just didn't go out way.

Saints next week, They have the edge on us.

Then Geelong.. :rolleyes:

Hopefully we get some players back within the next two weeks.

Marty Clarke, You beauty.

Played crap. Do you know anything about the game??

This was just about the best game I have seen all year. Fast, hard highly skilled. It was a ripper. And we match a very good team who has just about a full list to choose from. We where missing arguably 4 of our 6 most important players 3 of which are talls. We gave away heaps of size in the backline. We had the youngest bloke in the comp as our key target inside 50. All this and you reckon we played crap.

Someone had a few too many to drink last night. I personally could not be prouded of the boys effort. Under the circumstances we should have been smashed.

Played crap. Do you know anything about the game??
Gotta say, I agree with him. Most of the time I was sitting there scratching my head as to how we were within a goal. We tackled woefully, had no offensive pressure, and our kicking at goal and decision making were appalling.

IT seemed like we "gave" the corridor to the Dorks, esp in the 2nd half. Whereas they clogged us up going forward and through the middle. In this sense it seemed that we were outcoached, although I don't pretend to know the details of how hawthorn did it or how we could have countered - esp from just watching it on TV.

this really played into their hands when they increased their midfield intensity (which was the main key to their win). They repeatedly brought it through the corridor in the clear and fast with overlapping loose men, allowing great service to their forwards - especially critical given the height advantage. When we got it it was always under duress as were our forwards in the 2nd half. Maybe we couldn't have done much about that but I think a change of plan could have at least made it harder for them. Against Sydney it seemed as if we were flooding defensively more and I wish we had done this for this game also.

Even so we got very close with very undermanned side so great signs - but I reckon we need a more flexible game plan with plans B and C etc.

Re Pendles I thought he was starting to show signs of being a bit burnt out, not surprising for such a new player. He and a lot of the other deb's need to be managed v carefully leading up to the finals and all need a week off at some stage - complete weeks off from magoos and training probably, to freshen up. Then again he just had one so I don't know - maybe he continued to train v hard over the break?

Gotta say, I agree with him. Most of the time I was sitting there scratching my head as to how we were within a goal. We tackled woefully, had no offensive pressure, and our kicking at goal and decision making were appalling.

There were mistakes made by both side but this was largely due to the very fast pace and enormous pressure from both sides. I was not at the game but watched it on TV. Even David Parkin was suggesting that we were outstanding and that he felt we had more control of the game and for much of the game where the better side. Kicking for goal aside I thought we were outstanding considering the list we had to choose from.

I loved that medhurst tackle.

He does some really stupid things though, im not sure what to make of him.

Yeah, I'm the same. He has frequent head explosions, but does some outstanding stuff as well. There doesn't seem to be much in between with him. I'd be inclined to keep him in the side because he's such a good converter.

Average Attributes
c.gif
c.gif
c.gif
c.gif
Total Players By Games
c.gif
CollingwoodGamesHawthorn
c.gif

Dicko , vanders and clarke would struggled to be in the hawks best 15. To suggest that the Hawks ommissions were remotely close to ours is crazy.

clement is in the elite group of defenders in the comp. Presti is by far our best full back option and harry was in great form before the injury and was shutting down players like lucas and brad johnson. Rocca is our leading goal kicker and while he has his problems he is probably our most important forward in terms of structure as he is the one player we can bomb it in long too knowing he is a chance of taking a mark. rhyce shaw has given us great run this year and Bucks...no comment

I am taking nothing away from the hawks because I think they are a very good side with a great future but this has to have had an impact.

We should have won the game.We had more scoring shots than them.The
turning point of the game came,when the ball was clearly out,and the f..k..g umpire didn't call the ball out,they rebounded and got a goal.
I reckon in the back of their minds the dawks were thinking,sheezzz,with the week these guys have had ,are playing with half a team and we still can't shake them.That, my friends spells danger for all teams out there.
Once we can get our backline back,we will punish ,most teams starting with the aints this week followed by the handbag cats.Get ready to rumble !!!!!!

Licca is strugling to keep up i think.. didnt get a kick in last quater.

Wow an Adelaide player trolling our boards. Shouldn't you be worrying about losing all your home games ;)

P.S: Learn the magic of the key called "enter"
Give him time, still learning about copy and paste.