Shaun Hampson

We have not given up on Vickery but we need someone just to help him out while he is developing.

Who knows...either way I would be happy if we picked up a mature age ruck and a young gun at the end of the season to sure up our ruck division.

When you aren't getting a game in front of Sam Jacobs you know you're in trouble whether he is GC bound or whether he is just not in form.

Has been an "athletic freak" and "training the house down" for the past 3 years but delivered little on the field.

If he was at Richmond we would already have him in the garbage disposal and supporters would be whinging about whats he still doing on our list.

I think the comparisons with Gus Graham are right on the money. :thumbsu:

If he was at Richmond he'd be Captain Coach.

On topic, I'd much rather we draft and develop a ruckman at year end instead of using a second round pick on a ruckman that hasn't really shown alot at AFL level.

Too big of a risk using an early pick on a speculative ruckman, especially in our current state.
What's speculative about a 204 cm man mountain who is accountable, athletic and quick?

I doubt that you could draft a better footballer with pick 27 in a compromised draft sans bottom age players.

Jolly named Hampson, Naitanui, Ryder, Clark and Kreuzer last year as the mobile rucks of the future.

A second round pick wouldn't be enough for a ruck who has jumped over Naitanui in this year's regional challenge games.

Hampson isn't Mark Blake.

I don't know much about Hampson really, but I'm not oppossed to the idea of trading for a new ruck next year if Browne and Graham don't make it. We should be able to get one on the cheap too. I've heard good things about Daniel Currie at Sydney but he can't get a gig. Brisbane have 3 AFL standard rucks too, in Clarke, Leuneberger and Charman. Plenty of possibilites if we identify the ruck as a place we need a 'quick fix'.

Port offered pick 9 at the end of last season....That was turned down

This.

So the offer from the Tigers would have to be substantial for us to let Hammo go. Players with his size and athleticism dont grow on trees and he is under contract untill the end of season 2011 as well so i doubt he will go anywhere soon unless both parties agree to a trade but i cant see us accepting anything less than what we knocked back Port's offer for.

Carlton contracted player for 2011. Won't be going anywhere. End Thread.

Charman would fit your diabolical trading history perfectly.

Why you wouldn't continue to develop a young gun of your own in AG is beyond me..

AG and Vickery, look like a great future combination.

these flogs get better & better everyday !!

does the name robbie warnock ring a bell ........... why didnt you develope your own.

judd, mcclean,scotland,johnson,hadley,warnock,henderson

...............idiot

What's speculative about a 204 cm man mountain who is accountable, athletic and quick?

I doubt that you could draft a better footballer with pick 27 in a compromised draft sans bottom age players.

Jolly named Hampson, Naitanui, Ryder, Clark and Kreuzer last year as the mobile rucks of the future.

A second round pick wouldn't be enough for a ruck who has jumped over Naitanui in this year's regional challenge games.

Hampson isn't Mark Blake.
I'm commenting on what I've seen and he has been terrible. Athleticism is overrated, Dean Putt board.

Port offered pick 9 at the end of last season....That was turned down

that HAS to be a load of crap, if not cant believe you didnt accept when Warnock and Kruzer would always be first choice.

I dont even mind jacobs but would only offer pick 4.

In a couple years time we should bring in a ruckman aka when someone decent would want to come to us.

Mitch Clark would be VERY handy given Luenberger is seemingly #1.. i would take either very comfortably.

Its quiet ironic that we took JON over Clark.

Again it comes down to our rediculous drafting.

Pavlich, Franklin, Clark

or

Fiora, Tambling, JON

I have always rated Hammer, but given your lots recruiting history and ability to spot talent (Buddy anyone?) some of you suddenly seeing value in Hammer had me doubting myself.

But I see I am not mistaken about him after all ...... I see enough of you dont rate him......so he must be all I thought he would be. Phew.

I would give a 2nd round pick up for him if and maybe we get a 4th round pick with him aswell or give 3rd round and a player

He would be worth a lot more than a second round pick.

Particularly in the next few drafts.

He would be an excellent pick up for us as he is not short of talent - but i am afraid to say i think he may already be signed to someone else, hence why he is not getting a game anymore;)

As a hint, he was recruited from Mt Gravatt up here in Queensland

Guess again.

He's contracted till 2011.

Not getting a game due to injury.

We've already got a ruckman in Graham who averages more kicks, handballs, marks & tackles and around the same in hitouts as Hampson and yet most here reckon Graham is a spud who needs to be delisted at years end and now I read about people wanting to give up a second or third round pick and/or a player for a guy who statistically is worse that Graham. Can someone explain to me why?

Because stats sometimes lie.

Hampson is an athletic freak who is a late convert to AFL.

I can assure you Hampson is a far better prospect than Graham.

I have always rated Hammer, but given your lots recruiting history and ability to spot talent (Buddy anyone?) some of you suddenly seeing value in Hammer had me doubting myself.

But I see I am not mistaken about him after all ...... I see enough of you dont rate him......so he must be all I thought he would be. Phew.

You're obviously a fairly mature individual judging by your username. That's why I can't excuse such a post. Your attempts at humour astound me.

Astound you? That was gold Jerry, Gold!

You need to lighten up a bit, if, in relation to footy matters, you think me making a semi funny comment on a hypothetical thread about Hammer is a problem you need to go watch you're team play for a priority rearrangement session!

You got problems 5 Hammers wont fix.

Astound you? That was gold Jerry, Gold!

You need to lighten up a bit, if, in relation to footy matters, you think me making a semi funny comment on a hypothetical thread about Hammer is a problem you need to go watch you're team play for a priority rearrangement session!

You got problems 5 Hammers wont fix.

Please stop. It's getting worse!

This trade will never happen as Hampson is highly rated at carlton but he has really only ever shown potential & athleticism nothing more.

Carlton wouldnt give up a contracted player who they rate with potential for nothing and richmond would never give up anything of real value for a bloke who could still go either way which is fair enough.

Just for the record, hampson is contracted to Carlton so he isn't going to the GC.

He has been injured which is why he hasn't been playing and he sisn't behind Warnock or Jacobs.

Hampson was also a Soccer talent into his late teens before making the switch to AFL at the age of 16/17 from memory.

He is still only 21 and a developing player, we all know ruckman take longer to develop.

Those who don't rate Hampson will see why we at Carlton do in a couple of years.

does the name robbie warnock ring a bell ........... why didnt you develope your own.

judd, mcclean,scotland,johnson,hadley,warnock,henderson

Judd/Warnock wanted to return to Melbourne (weren't RFC int he box seat for Judd??)

Mcclean/Hadley wanted a fresh start.

Scotland wanted a regular game (we developed Scotland, he came over at the age of 21)

Johnson is yet to cement anything.

Henderson was part of a trade in Fevola who we developed intot he best FF over the past 5 years!!

But then again, looking at the amoutn of recycled players RFC have that just have never done anything i guess your entitled to have a dig.

I'm commenting on what I've seen and he has been terrible. Athleticism is overrated, Dean Putt board.

Probably why Putt was taken as a rookie??

Mmm, Henderson, Warnock and McLean have been killing it this year hey?

As much as the RFC!!

He wasn't taken as a rookie. Was touted as a 1st or 2nd round pick but fell to around pick 50. Most were surprised and he was seen as the steal of the draft.

Top athlete but displayed skills similar to Hampsons.

Putt had far better skills than Hampson, and indeed, to most ruckmen in the competition, he was just soft.

I watched a fair bit of him and his skills were ordinary at best. His marking was decent but kicking and general use was below par.

You're right though, was very soft and soooo lazy.

This trade will never happen as Hampson is highly rated at carlton but he has really only ever shown potential & athleticism nothing more.

Carlton wouldnt give up a contracted player who they rate with potential for nothing and richmond would never give up anything of real value for a bloke who could still go either way which is fair enough.

THANK GOD FOR THAT.................. if it ever did happen , it would leave our f*** up mcmahon decision for dead !

hampson is a tall athletic freak.............yes agreed, but cant play football
walker is a tallish mid again athletic freak.....yes but also cant play football.

hampson trying to mark ,is like a giant trying to catch butterflies totally unco.

offer a 2 million over 3 years to clarke & be done with it. if warnock gets 4ook per year clarke is worth double.

THANK GOD FOR THAT.................. if it ever did happen , it would leave our f*** up mcmahon decision for dead !

walker is a tallish mid again athletic freak.....yes but also cant play football.

hampson trying to mark ,is like a giant trying to catch butterflies totally unco.

offer a 2 million over 3 years to clarke & be done with it. if warnock gets 4ook per year clarke is worth double.

I think Richmond as a club need to get some perspective when it comes to young players. You expect too much too early. I can understand how this attitude creeps in considering 2001 was your last finals appearance, but these constant "throwing out the baby with the bath-water" tantrums is what keeps you in an everlasting rebuilding cycle.

Carlton has just had a disastrous decade, but at least we were able to see some real character building and coming of age of certain players. If you consider that Kade Simpson didn't get a possession in his first 3 games... Not to mention Jordan Russell was our whipping boy for a number of seasons. - Both have matured into excellent footballers.

I think Richmond as a club need to get some perspective when it comes to young players. You expect too much too early. I can understand how this attitude creeps in considering 2001 was your last finals appearance, but these constant "throwing out the baby with the bath-water" tantrums is what keeps you in an everlasting rebuilding cycle.

Carlton has just had a disastrous decade, but at least we were able to see some real character building and coming of age of certain players. If you consider that Kade Simpson didn't get a possession in his first 3 games... Not to mention Jordan Russell was our whipping boy for a number of seasons. - Both have matured into excellent footballers.

Fully agree. The treatment of Tyrone Vickery, Alex Rance and Jack Riewoldt has been unfounded.

Our performance will improve as these players develop, they just need time.

Seriously, getting Hampson would be worse than McMahon??

Both Walker and Hampson would gt a game at Richmond ahead of 95% of your current list.

Is this what a Giant looks like trying to catch Butterflies??
[YOUTUBE]01Lyng1kgYs[/YOUTUBE]

By the way Kruezer and Warnock flogged Burger and Clarke in round 2....Clarke had one good year, this year has offered as much as the RFC list...nothing!!

Fully agree. The treatment of Tyrone Vickery, Alex Rance and Jack Riewoldt has been unfounded.

Our performance will improve as these players develop, they just need time.

Yep Jacks licking for goal is amazing and his attitude when put down back a few weeks ago is exactly what the club needed!!

Draft because of your name doesn't always work out!!

Because stats sometimes lie.

Hampson is an athletic freak who is a late convert to AFL.

I can assure you Hampson is a far better prospect than Graham.
Yet sometimes they tell the truth. Graham was a rookie selection and yet has put up numbers comparable to a player taken in the top 20, so either Hampson is way overrated by Carlton fans or Graham is way underrated by Richmond fans.

Shaun Hampson