Should a top 5 pick overule father/son?

Karbassiyoon

Suspended
10k Posts
Could be a divisive rule, but this season there is little doubt that west coast, collingwood and the kangaroos are snapping up three of the better prospects in the game under father son.

Yeh great idea...maybe the father son rule should be only used to pick up duds....u idiot.

This is the exact reason why this rule was created...so these clubs could infact pick up stars that were sort after by other clubs.

This is our first ever F/S, it all evens out over time.

And anyway, it's impossible most years to pick exactly who will be a top 5 pick and who won't be.

¥earofthecat said:
F/S rule easily. It will all even out over time.
nobody who has played for the dockers is going to have an AFL age son any time soon....do they get priorities from certain WAFL clubs as compensation?

Ted Pellitts said:
nobody who has played for the dockers is going to have an AFL age son any time soon....do they get priorities from certain WAFL clubs as compensation?
They should.

Ted Pellitts said:
Yes they do. As do SA clubs.

The clubs are divided between WC anf Freo and Adelaide and port respectively. To qualify player must have played at least 150 WAFL games. For SA its 200 SANFL games.

I think it all evens out over time. Knowing our luck as soon as young Bryce Gibbs comes through and is eligible to be picked up by father son rule, AFL will change the rules :mad:

Ted Pellitts said:

They do and so do the eagles. Mind you the eagles deals runs out alot sooner than the dockers as in a few years we could start picking up sons of the early players. The wafl teams are split in half. I think (don't quote me) but the eagles get claremont (thats how we can get morton), perth, east perth and west perth, while dockers get south freo, east freo, swan districts and perhaps subi

Anyone know the real break down coz i'm just taking a guess here, i know the obvious ones

crazzzy_grrl said:
They do and so do the eagles. Mind you the eagles deals runs out alot sooner than the dockers as in a few years we could start picking up sons of the early players. The wafl teams are split in half. I think (don't quote me) but the eagles get claremont (thats how we can get morton), perth, east perth and west perth, while dockers get south freo, east freo, swan districts and perhaps subi

Anyone know the real break down coz i'm just taking a guess here, i know the obvious ones
Don't know about WAFL but this is the split of SANFL clubs :p

Crows: Glenelg, Norwood, South Adelaide and Sturt
Port: Port Adelaide, Centrals, North Adelaide, West Adelaide and Woodville-West Torrens

i nearly choked on my weaties when MM said t cloke would have been a top 10 pick. if he was a top 10 pick then this draft is one of the weakest of all time.

F/S rule is a sensational preservation of tradition.

It would be shocking to see it get overhauled at all.

I'd stop whinging if I were you. There'll be a time in the future when you'll score a ripper under F/S.

Is there a list somewhere of all the players that have been signed under the father/son rule, it'd be interesting to see how the SA and WA clubs fared in recent years with half of the states top league father/son picks.

Weaver said:
None of these f/s would have gone top-5 so your poll is academic.

I dissagree. Mitch Morton would have been very very close to top 5. Gary ayres and a few others reckon he would be top 4

Ted Pellitts said:
Could be a divisive rule, but this season there is little doubt that west coast, collingwood and the kangaroos are snapping up three of the better prospects in the game under father son.
Are we going to have a cry now because some of the younger clubs like the Eagles start becoming eligible for the f/s rule? You better get used to it.

crazzzy_grrl said:

Eagles = Clarmont , Subi , Joondies , East Perth
Dockers= the rest. Basically split between north and south of the river.

In answer to the oginial question, F/S should stay and be all important. With players getting kidnapped in the draft, It is one of the few links we have to the tribalism of the past.

theorangeapple said:
i nearly choked on my weaties when MM said t cloke would have been a top 10 pick. if he was a top 10 pick then this draft is one of the weakest of all time.

yeah i agree he isnt a top 10 pick, realistically he is around a top 20, late 1st round, early 2nd i guess

actually i don't mind the F/S rule at all i was just being a provoker with this poll.

everybody seems to fly to the extremes on bigfooty

I've been told Jesse W Smith would definatly be top ten this year, which could easily turn into top five? As Morton could be, so in reality this poll is not academic.

My mate from Hale (Perth High school) has been hanging with Mitch and his brother last few weeks actually, I would assume the guy would be excited about the draft.

Stiffy_18 said:
The clubs are divided between WC anf Freo and Adelaide and port respectively. To qualify player must have played at least 150 WAFL games. For SA its 200 SANFL games.
Is there any time limit on this rule? For example say, Joe Loser's dad played for Claremont in 1987 and 88, do the games Loser senior played count in those years count even though the Weagles were already in existence and Loser Snr wasn't good enough to play for them?

What i want to know is if once a player has been chosen by a club to be taken under f/s, can that player refuse and go into the draft as normal and take his chance of being picked up by another club?

Eagles4Eva said:
What i want to know is if once a player has been chosen by a club to be taken under f/s, can that player refuse and go into the draft as normal and take his chance of being picked up by another club?

A player can choose not to go via father-son and nominate for the draft proper if he prefers. Can't think of anyone who has done it though.

Jim Boy said:
Is there any time limit on this rule? For example say, Joe Loser's dad played for Claremont in 1987 and 88, do the games Loser senior played count in those years count even though the Weagles were already in existence and Loser Snr wasn't good enough to play for them?
I am not sure about that but I would say he would still qualify :confused:

theorangeapple said:

And you're an expert in TAC Cup footy are you? Give us your top ten then, or is T Cloke the only one you've even heard of?