Should someone bring a Daniel Rich sign to subi?

• Thread starter Thread starter Memories

no it wouldn't, it would show the club is ____ing piss weak and that we expect good players to be handed to us, based on the ability to lose games.

We should try and win every game for the rest of the season, because thats what football clubs should be doing. Bottoming out is a ____ing joke.

Win as many as possible whilst playing the kids.

If tanking is running Mayne, Warnock, Chinks, Bradley, Dunn and BOB in the team and not risking guys like Headland...then so be it I have no issue as the aim is to see who can play and get better (ie we are still actively trying to win)

The day we pull Pavlich off the field or instruct our lads not to try and do all they can to win ...is a day I would be more ashamed to follow our club than any game at the G when we give up a lead or any of the darkest times in the Drum years.

Footy is about trying to win.

If WC had of tanked in 2000 they may have ended up with Ball or Hodge instead of Judd.

Win as many as possible whilst playing the kids.

If tanking is running Mayne, Warnock, Chinks, Bradley, Dunn and BOB in the team and not risking guys like Headland...then so be it I have no issue as the aim is to see who can play and get better (ie we are still actively trying to win)

The day we pull Pavlich off the field or instruct our lads not to try and do all they can to win ...is a day I would be more ashamed to follow our club than any game at the G when we give up a lead or any of the darkest times in the Drum years.

Footy is about trying to win.

If WC had of tanked in 2000 they may have ended up with Ball or Hodge instead of Judd.

I'm not talking about pulling Pav off or whatever , but exactly the other stuff you said. Play the youngsters, try and win, etc. Macca/Mark Johnson/M Carr/etc are in our best 22, I would rather they not be, instead play youngsters who may improve.

You still haven't worked out tanking have you?

I'll try to make it as simple as I can. By taking a 'Daniel Rich for Freo' sign to Freo's games, you are suggesting that Freo shift it's focus from trying to win games, to trying to get Daniel Rich. That is what we call tanking.

If you want Fremantle to continue giving youngsters who are deserving an opportunity, but still go into every game every week believing they can win and doing everything in their power (and within the rules) to win, then that is not taking. Even if they lose every game by 100 points, that is still not tanking. That's simply just not being good enough.

Yeah I'm with Moo in this one 100%.

I never want to see my team tanking. North Melb have got along ok finishing top 8 or just out of the 8 and they play with passion and pride - they haven't had to tank to play finals footy.

We need some "shinboner" spirit at Freo. What can we offer? Wharfie spirit? Market gardener spirit? Sailor spirit? I think what we've currently got is soy decaff late spirit. Or trio of dips w/ flat bread spirit. :o

And who's to say Rich will be a superstar anyway? It's way too much pressure to put on a kid. Any kid.

Spot on Nodgey, both Rich and Natanui will need to be more than superstars to go close to the hype that's around about them.

You know sometimes I am ashamed to be a Dockers supporter and Ticket holder when I read crap like this being posted by morons like you.
Why would you want to do something like that.By all means take a sign that says the sides as W.A.P,let the players know your feelings about losses like the Melbourne game.But for goodness sake not the crap you are suggesting.Grow up.
Play the kids!!!!,how many effen kids do we have on our list to play?????????
Haven't most of them been given a chance and played so far!!!!!Who is a kid that has not had a chance so far?
For crying out loud you morons take the grip off yourselves and get real.
It makes you go blind you know.

Here is how you separate the real supporters from the handbaggers, winning a grand final is the only thing that matters and if you don't want Freo to win one at any cost then you aren't a real supporter.

The more I read that the more offensive it became.

You sir, are "not a real supporter".

You are in this for yourself. You do not have the best interests of the club at heart. Its all about you.

The "at any cost" mentality has gone well for other teams hasn't it.

Stick to the skinfolds.

The more I read that the more offensive it became.

You sir, are "not a real supporter".

You are in this for yourself. You do not have the best interests of the club at heart. Its all about you.

Surely you jest? I'm pretty much the only one here who seems to desperately want a grand final win. Everyone else is happy to go along the "straight line" path, putting in a good old "honest effort" like we have been and eventually, within 100 years, things will look up.

Do I care that we were spooners in 2001? Do I sit around going "jeeeesus man, we were spooners in 2001, how can I live with myself"? No I don't, but what really gets to me is not having any success at all, and the future looking like we won't have any UNLESS we use everything to our advantage like other teams do. This includes not playing your current best 22 if the players you are playing instead will improve and eventually be in your best 22.

The "at any cost" mentality has gone well for other teams hasn't it.

Seems to be going fairly well for Carlton and Hawthorn, doesn't it? Carlton having come off a massive ass kicking by the AFL for its breaches and poor list management to be in a state where it is heading forward. They certainly are showing more positive signs than Freo is, either way.

And to the guy who said North Melbourne don't seem to bottom out and are doing "ok". They won a GF 10 years ago and since then have been very ordinary. They almost dissolved last year, I wouldn't exactly say there are a good team to follow.

If we NEVER lose enough games in a row NOW, we will very unlikely ever win any in the future. Our history is a club that places around the middle to bottom of the table, time we changed that, ironically, by placing as close to the bottom as we can go.

Surely you jest? I'm pretty much the only one here who seems to desperately want a grand final win.

No, it's just you're the only one who thinks the best way to do that is by losing games.

The rest of us (besides maybe GJ and 1 or 2 others) think that it's more important to try to develop a winning culture. Something that our club has never had - and never will if we continue to accept losing as long as we get a nice shiny draft pick at the end of it.

You claim to be the only one who's looking at the big picture... but are you really? You keep campaigning for the quick fix of some magical youngster when our real problems run a lot deeper than that. Developing a strong never-say-die attitude at our club is far more important than worrying about what pick we'll have in the draft this year.

You need to get over your obsession with draft picks. How often does the number 1 or 2 pick end up being the best in the draft anyway?

Surely you jest? I'm pretty much the only one here who seems to desperately want a grand final win. Everyone else is happy to go along the "straight line" path, putting in a good old "honest effort" like we have been and eventually, within 100 years, things will look up.

Do I care that we were spooners in 2001? Do I sit around going "jeeeesus man, we were spooners in 2001, how can I live with myself"? No I don't, but what really gets to me is not having any success at all, and the future looking like we won't have any UNLESS we use everything to our advantage like other teams do. This includes not playing your current best 22 if the players you are playing instead will improve and eventually be in your best 22.
No, it's just you're the only one who thinks the best way to do that is by losing games.

The rest of us (besides maybe GJ and 1 or 2 others) think that it's more important to try to develop a winning culture. Something that our club has never had - and never will if we continue to accept losing as long as we get a nice shiny draft pick at the end of it.
Memories, I want success for my club. Incredibly. Even to the point where I would love to see people at the club, who others see as objectionable. Simply because all they know is success - all they have ever worked with turns to gold. But you can't polish a t*rd... Even if we were to use every cheating mechanism under the sun, our squad right now would still find a way to ____ up, to lose.

And Estibador (I agree 110%), you can put my name on that list. We can have everything we want down there, but until the players realise that losing is unacceptable, at any time, from any position, nothing anyone ever does for them is going to matter.

All that playing for draft picks does is reinforce the belief that someone else will do all the hard work for them. Sound like Freo much?

Like I said above, until the supporters, the team and the culture becomes one of never accepting losses from any position, against any team, in any circumstance, at any time, the culture wont change.

You just have to look at the cancer that sets in when the opposite comes true. St. Kilda were probably the serial tankers when we were at our lowest - yet, where are they now? A lot of players at Freo now, will be involved in the inevitable upswing, and you can't allow them to even sniff the development of a further losing culture.

P.S. - FWIW, if Freo don't have any sort of success in the next 10 years, it will probably fail to exist, in all but name.

Surely you jest? I'm pretty much the only one here who seems to desperately want a grand final win.

If you think this is the case then you are more deluded than I already thought you were.

The only thing that you are clearly on your own with here is that you seem to desperately want to tank.

Memories, I want success for my club. Incredibly. Even to the point where I would love to see people at the club, who others see as objectionable. Simply because all they know is success - all they have ever worked with turns to gold. But you can't polish a t*rd... Even if we were to use every cheating mechanism under the sun, our squad right now would still find a way to ____ up, to lose.

And Estibador (I agree 110%), you can put my name on that list. We can have everything we want down there, but until the players realise that losing is unacceptable, at any time, from any position, nothing anyone ever does for them is going to matter.

All that playing for draft picks does is reinforce the belief that someone else will do all the hard work for them. Sound like Freo much?

Like I said above, until the supporters, the team and the culture becomes one of never accepting losses from any position, against any team, in any circumstance, at any time, the culture wont change.

You just have to look at the cancer that sets in when the opposite comes true. St. Kilda were probably the serial tankers when we were at our lowest - yet, where are they now? A lot of players at Freo now, will be involved in the inevitable upswing, and you can't allow them to even sniff the development of a further losing culture.

P.S. - FWIW, if Freo don't have any sort of success in the next 10 years, it will probably fail to exist.

Rubbish. In the past 14 years (since Freo entered the competition), the following clubs have not won a flag :
Collingwood (1990)
Hawthorn (1991)
Melbourne (?)
Richmond (1980)
St Kilda (1966)
Western Bulldogs (?)
they are all surviving, and a lot of them are looking at a lot longer than 10 or even 20 years without a flag.

Rubbish. In the past 14 years (since Freo entered the competition), the following clubs have not won a flag :
Collingwood (1990)
Hawthorn (1991)
Melbourne (?)
Richmond (1980)
St Kilda (1966)
Western Bulldogs (?)
they are all surviving, and a lot of them are looking at a lot longer than 10 or even 20 years without a flag.
I forgot to tap on, "in all but name". :o Whoops.

If you think this is the case then you are more deluded than I already thought you were.

The only thing that you are clearly on your own with here is that you seem to desperately want to tank.

Memories was the only person on here that rejoiced after the Melbourne debacle because it put us closer to the No 1 pick. :eek:

Loser mentality for mine.

If you can't polish a ____ into a shiny diamond then what makes you think that a lot of our current players (the so called turds) will be better if we win 9 games instead of 4? Seriously, someone answer this question. What is the benefit to playing M Carr who is in our best 22 over Mayne? You seriously WANT us to play people like M Carr and MacManus who are in the best 22 over players like Ibbo, Foster, Bradley, etc. I think that is a joke simply because even though the others are in our best 22 (barely) they have finished improving. The new guys haven't (hopefully).

What is the alternative to getting the best draft pick? You say it's some attitude thing.... then that is the player(s) fault, we need to get rid of the players who are like this. To get rid of players you need to draft, ie recruit new players. The best new players are at the start of the draft, you get my point.

Losing games doesn't turn players into lazy SOBs who think someone else will rise to the occassion. Otherwise Pav would be a lazy SOB when he isn't. So would Bell, Hayden, etc. They have lost PLENTY of games. It is all about where they see the future of the club, how they interact with their team mates, etc. Obviously our chemistry is not there, and I will bet my rather taught legs that it is the players or some of them not combining well with others. We need to get rid of these players, get in winners. Winners are people who even when they lose a game they are still winners, the Pavs of the world. Get more of them, get rid of the turds.

Memories was the only person on here that rejoiced after the Melbourne debacle because it put us closer to the No 1 pick. :eek:

Loser mentality for mine.

Did you ever think that just like last year, someone down at Freo is listening to what I say? I said if we lose the Adelaide and Geelong games our season should be canned and 2009 be focused on. Then "somehow" we lose to the bottom team...... take a quick look at the ins for the melbourne game. We certainly had some more experienced players not in the team didn't we (excluding the injuries).

Funny if you look at the things harvey has said with that context above in mind how he looks like Leonardo working on a master piece... god I hope he is that cunning.

Did you ever think that just like last year, someone down at Freo is listening to what I say? I said if we lose the Adelaide and Geelong games our season should be canned and 2009 be focused on. Then "somehow" we lose to the bottom team...... take a quick look at the ins for the melbourne game. We certainly had some more experienced players not in the team didn't we (excluding the injuries).

Funny if you look at the things harvey has said with that context above in mind how he looks like Leonardo working on a master piece... god I hope he is that cunning.

I hope He is not that stupid, He will not have a job if he starts tanking , the Club will implode.

How long is his contract.. I can't remember? Could have all been planned with this in mind really, or at least been an option that we could take if things didn't come out how we liked. Ahwell, as long as our players TRY and give an entertaining game I don't really care if they lose this season.

Do you believe we will be in the finals ripper? Maybe state it for the record so we can come back and discuss it later in the year, see who was right and wrong. And I don't mean "is it theoretically possible", do you think we will?

For the record I think we won't.

How long is his contract.. I can't remember? Could have all been planned with this in mind really, or at least been an option that we could take if things didn't come out how we liked. Ahwell, as long as our players TRY and give an entertaining game I don't really care if they lose this season.

Do you believe we will be in the finals ripper? Maybe state it for the record so we can come back and discuss it later in the year, see who was right and wrong. And I don't mean "is it theoretically possible", do you think we will?

For the record I think we won't.

Facts are that we are closer to 8th spot with 15 rounds remaining than We were to 4th spot with 9 rounds remaining in 2006.

Apart from the Tigers game, the Eagles game and the 2nd half on the Melbourne game , the "process" has been quite good .

I am not prepared to write the season off yet.

If you reckon that the members won't revolt if we lay down you are delusional.

Can you imagine another 15 weeks of post Melbourne game wrist slashing?

I can and it won;t be pretty and will set us back years.

Id rather bring a "Go Freo" or "At Least We Dont Take Speed" sign...

Can understand to a point what memories gets at with the needing another star. but tanking for it is probably not the way to go...

Carlton fans will always know in the back of their minds their team and the word dignity is rarely used... (e.g tanking for judd or having natanui in their changerooms for the eagles game trying to wine and dine the kid)

Facts are that we are closer to 8th spot with 15 rounds remaining than We were to 4th spot with 9 rounds remaining in 2006.

Apart from the Tigers game, the Eagles game and the 2nd half on the Melbourne game , the "process" has been quite good .

I am not prepared to write the season off yet.

If you reckon that the members won't revolt if we lay down you are delusional.

Can you imagine another 15 weeks of post Melbourne game wrist slashing?

I can and it won;t be pretty and will set us back years.

My method could actually bring about a better Freo by round 22 where we can win more games than our current best 22 players... so it will be interesting either way. Traditional way would improve players but in a slower pattern due to the likes of MCarr and Macmanus using spots for possible improvers. I don't think "team fading" is something you can really just fix by making minor adjustments, so there is no way I can see the current best 22 making the finals so it should be interesting to see if I'm right in a few rounds.

Can we go one step further, who here thinks we will win a grandfinal with Des and Haselby missing? I think we could just barely possibly win one with the current group (completely firing) with them in it, but without them.... wow must be a lot of depth we aren't seeing yet about to pop up. ;)

My method could actually bring about a better Freo by round 22 where we can win more games than our current best 22 players... so it will be interesting either way. Traditional way would improve players but in a slower pattern due to the likes of MCarr and Macmanus using spots for possible improvers. I don't think "team fading" is something you can really just fix by making minor adjustments, so there is no way I can see the current best 22 making the finals so it should be interesting to see if I'm right in a few rounds.

Can we go one step further, who here thinks we will win a grandfinal with Des and Haselby missing? I think we could just barely possibly win one with the current group (completely firing) with them in it, but without them.... wow must be a lot of depth we aren't seeing yet about to pop up.

I'd like to think that we could win a grand final with you missing.

I don't even know why Ripper is bothering with you, I'd red card you and be done with it.

Your method? Crap. If you're so hot go and apply for the CEO's job.

Can we go one step further, who here thinks we will win a grandfinal with Des and Haselby missing? I think we could just barely possibly win one with the current group (completely firing) with them in it, but without them.... wow must be a lot of depth we aren't seeing yet about to pop up. ;)

What is the point of that? If you are saying that because we have had 2 major injuries we should shut up shop and wait for next year I feel sorry for you. Partly because you must really struggle in your own life with that attitude, and partly because you are stupid.

Have a bit of dignity and just let it go. You made a stupid thread and you have been hauled over the coals for it. Take the heat and move on. Stop posting these whiney little bitch efforts before you are completely written off.