Simon Buckley

pauly_moss

A lot of hate for this boy on this site. Just want to point something out for this year

Simon Buckley in the side 12 wins 1 Loss 92% win ratio

Simon Buckley out of the side 3 wins 3 Losses 50% win ratio

I think he offers us a bit with that long kick over the press.

Pretty sure last year when he played we had a better winning record too. Anybody want to confirm or prove that wrong

A lot of hate for this boy on this site. Just want to point something out for this year

Pretty sure last year when he played we had a better winning record too. Anybody want to confirm or prove that wrong
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/S/Simon_Buckley.html

12 wins, 1 loss last year. He missed the last 2 games against Geelong, which obviously help his figures!

He'll be gone by the end of the year regardless. I don't think N.Buckley has much time for players who make constant skill errors and bad decisions.

Then why does he continue to kick it short and turn the bloody thing over every time. If he gets it he kicks it long to a tall to advantage, you don't get it any easier!

He'll be gone by the end of the year regardless. I don't think N.Buckley has much time for players who make constant skill errors and bad decisions.
He played him enough, and Clarke is still getting games

There's at least 5-6 players on our list that give us less than Simon Buckley does, so this comment is silly really, he will be at the club next year, unless he wants to leave and go elsewhere.

He gives us depth, something that some sides around us lack, and while you probably wouldn't want him in your team on Grand Final day, he'd be a lot better than having Ugle, Young, Gault, Mooney, Rounds or Yagmoor in your side, and yes some of them have improvement in them but Buckley is better than them, and a few others at this very point in time.

He will be an emergency for at least one of our finals, you can almost guarantee it, which means if we lose players he may come in.

There's at least 5-6 players on our list that give us less than Simon Buckley does, so this comment is silly really, he will be at the club next year, unless he wants to leave and go elsewhere.

3 players need to be cut at the end of the year. Personally I think Buckley and Young will be two of them. Who do you think will be going? Because those players you've named who give us less than Buckley, they're developing players who need, and will get, more time. I don't see the point of keeping Buckley on the list, what you call depth I call a list clogger.

Josh Thomas, Kirk Ugle, Luke rounds and Corey Gault would be below him at the moment easily, it's harsh on all four, but at the moment, and very likely in the future they will offer us less than Buckley, plus they are players in positions that we have both youth and experience in, especially once the knee injury victims return next year.

But if Ben Johnson retires, and Goldsack continues to play forward, and adding the loss of Leon Davis last year, our half back stocks are very low compared to most other positions on the ground. He's worth holding on to.

I wouldn't drop either of those, to be honest. Buckley for depth, Young I see... something in. Wins one on ones. Not sure why, but I like him.

I reckon Rounds would be pretty close to first out the door. Ugle started the year promisingly in the VFL but he's really dropped off, and didn't fire a shot in his (albeit limited) time at AFL level. I don't know much about Corey Gault, would he be close to a delisting? Other than him, I wouldn't lose sleep over re-rookie-ing Yagmoor, or just losing him entirely, he's the worst "good kick" I've seen in a while. But I'm not sure what his contract status is, given it's his first year.

Other than the above, I don't want to lose Josh Thomas, since he's been promising between injuries. But I think he'd be on the brink as well.

A lot is going to depend on how many of the unsigned players we re-sign and the outcome of this season. Rounds looks to be in trouble and it is difficult to see Taz continuing. I have been critical of S Buckley as I believe he is brittle under pressure and would be a liability in the finals. I would not be sorry to see him go.

Coincidental. Ig u want to use that as a solid argument then he is better than beams, pendlebury and swan

Ugle, Young and Rounds should be delisted ahead of Buckley, unless the draft is so good that we think we can still pluck'em four and five deep, and more are chopped to open up space. A retiree might save someone, as might a Cloke move to the scum. Gault seems to have drawn less praise in the 2nd half of the season. Certainly this is the best draft in which to clear out the cupboards to prepare for new arrivals. In Hine we trust.

Sidebottom turns the ball over much more than Buckley. Buckley isn't going anywhere. He breaks lines and is a genuine 80m player, which is key to the style of game played these days. He is strong bodied, breaks tackles and can kick goals. Why would we give away such a player? They are rare, especially at depth level.

If Gault gets delisted, someone in charge needs a swift kick to the family jewels. Would be madness.

Buckley is ahead of a few guys because he's older, stronger and a better kick than they are... but you can't hide woeful decision making forever. He'll get overtaken pretty soon at the current rate. If Seedsman can keep playing like last week then it's already happened.

Young won't be delisted either. They had the option of rookie-ing him from the NSW scholarship program but they senior listed him like they did with Witts. The club rates Young as at least a role player long term.

From what I've read Gault has come along very nicely this year, perhaps being out for a few weeks did keep his name a bit quiet for a while. He has the size and versatility to be a key forward or back, and could even end up the (seemingly much coveted) Leigh Brown replacement. Especially also as he's only in his first year at the club, his position must be totally safe.

No way does Gault get delisted Matty. 1st year and heaps of promise, needs time in the gym.

The Buckley/sidebottom comparison is surely a joke. Just surely.
After the Carlton game I figured Bucks was in big trouble list position wise. It will come down to how strong the club feels the super draft is. Rounds probably goes, ugle might, just because we've got a few guys ahead of him. Gets tricky after that, but gee they've shown a willingness to pull the trigger, and better players than S.Buckley have copped a bullet this last 2 years.

Still a List Clogger

No disrespect mate.. But I'm unsure you actually know what a list clogger means??

Buckley = AFL quality and offers flexibility in our list and can play an important role in the structure of our team when required. He may not be best in our finals best 22 (Certainly in the 25, IMHO)

The rubbish that is regurgitated week in/out, that he is a liability, can't perform under pressure, has poor kicking skills etc. Frustrates the bejusus out of me! Every week we see mistakes being made by our so called elite players, both under pressure and in free space but it is rarely recognised or compared to in the same manner that others on our list are subjected to.

People over analyse and criticise the players they are less inclined to support. Players they deem or believe, should not be in the team over their favourites.

buckley > J.T

Going out on a limb there! Considering he has 50 odd AFL matches and 4 pre-seasons on him :confused:

With JT outperforming him over the past 6 weeks, off the back of no pre-season, could be a bit of a worry for Buckley though.