Who would you play in the short term?

• Callum Sinclair

Votes: 50 37.9%
  • Scott Lycett

Votes: 82 62.1%

If Sinclair converted his shots for goal he'd be damn good

I don't see that changing though. Just a horrible kick of the football, slow over the ground and prone to genuine shanks on his instep when having set shots.

His field kicking is quite good though ... it is just in front of the sticks that he loses it. Do we even have a specialized goal-kicking coach these days - we used to have. Wouldn't hurt to have someone in to correct his issues. He would be so much more valuable if he could nail those shots.

One thing's for sure we could definitely net a lovely player/pick for Sinclair. Especially as I see Lycett as the future.

As it stands right now, Sinclair would get us a better pick than Lycett.

Do I see Lycett as the Future?

Ask me last year and it's a: yes without a shadow of a doubt.

Ask me this year and it's a: the jury is out.

Very much so. Sinclair has benefited from an extended run and through a run of very poor games. While on the flip side Lycett, much like in the past was cut too quickly and then suffered from constant niggles and extended poor form. At the moment he's miles below his, where he's been utterly dominant at WAFL level.

Lycett utterly dominant at WAFL level, turn it up.

Has never been consistantly dominant, but has had a number of very good games (WP last year).

Not a great indication but he only got 8 Sandover votes last year whilst Sinclair got 24. Johnson was more dominant as a ruckman than either of them in the WAFL.

Plenty of young ruckman moving past him.

Lycett utterly dominant at WAFL level, turn it up.

Has never been consistantly dominant, but has had a number of very good games (WP last year).

Not a great indication but he only got 8 Sandover votes last year whilst Sinclair got 24. Johnson was more dominant as a ruckman than either of them in the WAFL.

Plenty of young ruckman moving past him.

Oh ye of little faith.

Just another case of our back room staff getting a players program wrong and sending him to long term niggle town - if rumours of OP are true he just needs to be given the time to get over it properly. We don't judge Naita on his output during his OP affected run do we?

Look at Aussie fast bowlers. They all burst onto the scene, create a big buzz and then breakdown with significant injury that keeps them out for some time. Big, tall bodies performing at elite sport seem to take longer to condition to the required level. Why that is I don't know but it is certainly not uncommon. Sinclair has 3+ years on Lycett in terms of physical development

In all I am thankful that Sinkers has been able to come in and contribute so strongly, that he appears to be improving is icing on the cake and testament to good coaching and player buy in to the system. Think back to the North game. Sinclair tried super hard, got plenty of the ball but was very costly in turning the ball over. Against Collingwood he tried super hard and was much, much more effective for us when he had possession. More than one noted he was a potential BOG if his goal kicking clicked - that is awesome for your second ruck player IMO.

I still think Lycett will prove a bigger talent than Sinkers but I'm glad Callum is having a good run at the level.

do people still think lycett is better

the reality is they are two different types of players. lycett is a ruckman, sinclair is a fwd who can ruck. lycett is competing for a spot against nic nat. sinclair maybe mcinnes now?

Maybe it is going that way. Sinclair is an elite runner which means he's ideal for that more mobile tall while Lycett likes to rest deep when playing forward and use his speed to his advantage. Lycett plays a traditional more physically taxing ruck role when he's played there and tends to ruck and simply run the lines. Either way Sinclair is benefiting from an extended run in a good side and Lycett is struggling with niggles and a long way form his best football at the moment. The ball is in Lycett's court but won't threaten this year.

Getting harder and harder to make an argument for Lycett every passing week. Sinclair was huge today. Not sure he was beaten in a contested marking situation and probably either took the mark or won a free kick on half of them. Actually kicked straight for goal on his opportunity as well. If he can do this around the ground each week and at least break even in the ruck I think that's a win for us. I think we can afford to break even in the ruck while Naitanui is resting if he comes in and dominates when he is in there.

Yes. But we know your views on interpreting WAFL games, it's a different sport right?

Your denigration of Sinclair is a bit like the little Dutch boy with his finger in the dyke.

Add the fact that he finally slotted one to his consistant marking efforts around the ground, his 1%s and adequate rucking (more than matched it in the ruck over the last 2 weeks) and he is firmly ensconced as our 2nd ruck.

Perhaps time to admit you are wrong, I managed to do it with Sheppard.

Agree with your views on Masten though, so you can't be all bad.

Lycett clearly hampered at the moment - his WAFL performances are sub par and a mile behind his best

Which is a problem - because if Schofield is injured - we need Lycett in and Sinclair to play back

As I've mentioned before - I wouldn't be surprised if neither are in our best 22 end of next year - with Mcgovern playing forward and resting ruck

Other than - Sinclair is putting together a fine season and net output is positive for us

His field kicking is quite good though ... it is just in front of the sticks that he loses it. Do we even have a specialized goal-kicking coach these days - we used to have. Wouldn't hurt to have someone in to correct his issues. He would be so much more valuable if he could nail those shots.

His field kicking isn't bad for a ruckmen but as he showed today he leans back on a few kicks and has some genuine shockers.

He called you out on a ridiculous statement that is just factually incorrect. Take it, eat it and just move on - don't have a tanty and start playing the man.

Lycett has dominated at WAFL level consistently since 2013. What facts mate?

Your denigration of Sinclair is a bit like the little Dutch boy with his finger in the dyke.

Add the fact that he finally slotted one to his consistant marking efforts around the ground, his 1%s and adequate rucking (more than matched it in the ruck over the last 2 weeks) and he is firmly ensconced as our 2nd ruck.

Perhaps time to admit you are wrong, I managed to do it with Sheppard.

Agree with your views on Masten though, so you can't be all bad.

What? i've taken the good with the bad with Sinclair from day one. Pointing out he's a poor set shot over an extended period of time is a valid critique and still stands, likewise his propensity to turf easy marks, go to ground in contests and crash packs that he has no right to get involved in. If you've got a problem with those statements then you're being precious over the facts.

Sinclair has had an long uninterrupted run at AFL level and was allowed to play through an extended run of poor games this year, in which he could have easily been dropped had Lycett been fit and firing like in previous years. As it stands Sinclair has put two very good games together in a row in a top four side and maybe he's starting to see the benefits of having a long extended run at AFL level.

You're judging Sinclair on a small body of evidence if you're declaring him a safe selection going forward. He's had what more marks in his last two games than he did in his previous seven and his month and a half prior to that was average going on poor.

You're merely throwing your weight around on the basis of two good games in a row is flat out lazy.

We also can't address the elephant in the room regarding the form of our second ruck, which is Naitanui.

Oh ye of little faith.
Only old people say 'oh ye of little faith!!! ;):D

In all I am thankful that Sinkers has been able to come in and contribute so strongly, that he appears to be improving is icing on the cake and testament to good coaching and player buy in to the system. Think back to the North game. Sinclair tried super hard, got plenty of the ball but was very costly in turning the ball over. Against Collingwood he tried super hard and was much, much more effective for us when he had possession. More than one noted he was a potential BOG if his goal kicking clicked - that is awesome for your second ruck player IMO.
WCE and the supporters should all be cutting Sinkers a lot more slack. He was a rookie FFS! A prospect, a gamble. The fact he is playing, and playing with great intensity is awesome. RP you nailed it with sinks. Good post.
He is going the way of Priddis IMO. He is fine tuning his game to get less kicking, and bringing others into the game. He is playing more to his strenghts and I think we will se gradual improvement.

Love the way he goes about it... (to quote a flog)

155987_af387fd7148bf807cb08856485818d34.jpg
So Lycett is also a drummer?

Cool!

great game yesterday. genuine impact.

certainly has found his feet over the past 2 weeks after being fairly unimpressive for much of the year.

if he can keep this up i'll re-think my position, but until then:

2014 lycett > 2015 sinclair.

Can basically put this to bed now I reckon. Against one of the most dominant ruckmen in the game Lycett was non-existent. Sinkers on the other hand stood up pretty well.

Sinclair has 3 years on Lycett. It's silly to compare the two.

Considering they're both fighting out for the same spot it's only logical to compare the two. It's not like Sinclair is old. He can easily play alongside Naitanui as number two for basically each other's entire careers, they're about the same age. Lycett needs to prove himself better, and do it pretty soon otherwise he might just find himself as trade bait. We don't really gain much out of having a bloke 3 years younger.