Skunks?

• Thread starter Thread starter Ripper

Re: Shunks?

Rip, I think the word you're looking for in the thread title is Skunks.

I didn't see anything wrong with the celebrations after the win. After all why wouldn't you be happy.

Watching the game against the Kangaroos and the game agianst Adelaide I didn't notice a great deal of difference in the intensity of the players, just that the Kangas played better than Adelaide.

Rip, I think the word you're looking for in the thread title is Skunks.

I didn't see anything wrong with the celebrations after the win. After all why wouldn't you be happy.

Watching the game against the Kangaroos and the game agianst Adelaide I didn't notice a great deal of difference in the intensity of the players, just that the Kangas played better than Adelaide.

Nor did I, looking at it again if anything they under-celebrated.

Most of the team looked exactly like Lyon said.

Most looked relieved that the week was over and an ironic smile appeared on the faces of many. Probably, like the rest of us, wondering how results like this continue to happen.

Maybe the odd one out was just pleased that He played a good game and didn't cough up the game again with a stupid free kick or critical turnover or three.

His team mates appeared to be a bit surprised at his OOT celebrations.

Interestingly Harves has flagged up to 5 changes this week.

Most of the team looked exactly like Lyon said.

Maybe the odd one out was just pleased that He played a good game and didn't cough up the game again with a stupid free kick or critical turnover or three.

His team mates appeared to be a bit surprised at his OOT celebrations.

Interestingly Harves has flagged up to 5 changes this week.

Good - I want to see our new generals personal style and his idea of our best available side from the squad.

Yeah Gary, and maybe your mate simply didn't have that aura about him that makes a player put his body on the line like he would've when he was playing. Just like you wouldn't be a good fulltime AFL coach because with all your footy show antics and that repeated footage of you crying wouldn't fill a player with that desire to emulate you if you coached.
Suck it up big boy, your mate isn't coaching at Freo anymore because he was respected by the players only as a person, not a coach.

I don't think there was any love lost between the non-korean ex-captain and our former coach. Problems originated when he was prematurely put out to pasture.

One thing my MATE is not, a skunk.

My MATE has 10 times the intestinal fortitude of Lyon who is just another armchair admiral.

I dont think we should be too harsh on Lyon.

Lyon is only saying what Cuddles' wishes he could say, but cant say because if he did people would critisize him for being a "bitter ex coach".

Disagree GentlemanJeff. Its easy to take a pot shot (Lyon that is) from an armchair.

As for what Cuddles wanted to say - thats probably the issue. He DIDN'T say it when it mattered most - when he was in the top job.

The buck always stops at the top. If there were players that weren't performing or were undermining him, CC should have put a stop to it straight away. Drop the player, delist them if you have to but its most important to show some balls and lay the law down. Going by the fence-sitters comments CC couldn't and has paid the ultimate price.

They often say that a coach really performs in his 2nd placement. If CC gets another chance to coach it will be fascinating to see how his philosophy changes from his time at Freo.

And that is IF any of the garbage that the fence-sitter has sprouted has any foundation.

FWIW I reckon that CC was NOT the answer for you guys, coaching-wise, regardless of how popular he was with the supporters.

I thought that it was interesting that they pushed Harvey into the middle of the circle during the song. That could have been construed as an up yours to Connolly.

First game players, milestone players all get pushed into the circle for the song if they win. Maybe it's the same "tradition" for the first win for a new coach. The players like and respect Harvey - how would it have been if they didn't recognise his efforts in getting the win.

I'm sure nothing was meant by it, but some would have found it disrespectful to Connolly that he was in the circle. They tried to grab Belly since it was his 300th, but he made it obvious that he didn't want to be in the middle and that was the end of it. Maybe Harvey should have done the same thing.

While we're on about the song, I reckon the players would hate the fact that they form the circle around a camera man. They have to film the song for the supporters, but find another vantage point.

I can't stand the whole song singing part of the telecast, it annoys the crap out of me. The players are all to conscious of the camera.

As for what Cuddles wanted to say - thats probably the issue. He DIDN'T say it when it mattered most - when he was in the top job.

FWIW I reckon that CC was NOT the answer for you guys, coaching-wise, regardless of how popular he was with the supporters.

As much as you are a filthy Port supporter, i have to agree with these comments. Cuddles was too much of a consensus builder, never wanting to commit until the water had settled. CC was a good ambastor for the club, but he lacked that hard edge that is required in Freo. The kind of guy who tells the board to go **** themselves, we're playing winning football and tell the players its my way, or the highway.

The way CC has handled himself just shows he is lining himself up for the Melbourne job.. theres no virtole, not a word in anger.. which is dissappointing.. CC just lacked a bit of passion at times i think.