Smart return?

• Thread starter Thread starter Nige_Bix

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Personally I dont think he should return both he and Burns should retire now, holding up the place of a couple of good kids...............Now say if one or both did retire can the AFC promote Parker off the rookie list?????

We don't have room for any more kids

If Smart's retirement would substantially help us then maybe, but that's not the case.

He deserves an homourable finish to his career if it will not hurt the team, which I don't think it will.

Smart to play a blinder and Crows to win this week

Originally posted by Jars458
We don't have room for any more kids

If Smart's retirement would substantially help us then maybe, but that's not the case.

He deserves an homourable finish to his career if it will not hurt the team, which I don't think it will.

Smart to play a blinder and Crows to win this week

Refreshing to read someone's comments who doesn't go along with the populist thought process just for the sake of it.

Keep up the good work coach.

Originally posted by noddy
Refreshing to read someone's comments who doesn't go along with the populist thought process just for the sake of it.

Keep up the good work coach.

I think Jars458 and Ant go against the flow of everyone else;) :p

Originally posted by macca23
On current form it couldn't be Parker.

As you say, Hazell is the one that deserves to go onto the list on current form. A very neat player, that boy.

Andrews is developing nicely and barring any setbacks would be a certainty to go onto the main list at the end of the year.
With Andrews bit premature IMO - Why the rush.
General opinion is hes a 3 year project.
He can stay on the rookie list another year - thus freeing a spot for another draftee

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
With Andrews bit premature IMO - Why the rush.
General opinion is hes a 3 year project.
He can stay on the rookie list another year - thus freeing a spot for another draftee
What if he comes along quicker that many expected. You do realise that Andrews is free to go into the draft at the end of the year if other clubs guarantee to draft him?

No I support Jars comment as well:)
You can add me to that list.

I said at the end of last year that Smart should have retired but since he has played on I think it would be wrong to force him to retire. He should be allowed to retire on his own terms.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
You can add me to that list.

I said at the end of last year that Smart should have retired but since he has played on I think it would be wrong to force him to retire. He should be allowed to retire on his own terms.

I agree let him retire on his own terms now that he has decided to play on but we all agree he should have done it at the end of last season,Im just saying now it is disapointing as his form has dropped and is denying some else a shot

What if he comes along quicker that many expected. You do realise that Andrews is free to go into the draft at the end of the year if other clubs guarantee to draft him?
Yes aware of that, but I suspect he won't.
He would realise his frame is too thin.
He would also realise that playing SANFL reserves is a long way from AFL standard, and he's on a good wicket being with one of the wealthiest AFL teams, with the best resources.

I agree let him retire on his own terms now that he has decided to play on but we all agree he should have done it at the end of last season,Im just saying now it is disapointing as his form has dropped and is denying some else a shot
Don't believe he is holding anyone back.
Currently playing 4 first year players(if you count Hentschell), Reilly and Schuback to come in, but they don't play Smarts role.
So who are we preventing from getting a game, and how many first year players should we be playing, and still be competitive?

He would also realise that playing SANFL reserves is a long way from AFL standard, and he's on a good wicket being with one of the wealthiest AFL teams, with the best resources.

If we can get away with leaving him on the rookie list for another year, it does make sense. As you said previously, it does give another draft pick.

On the other hand, if he does make noises about nominating for the draft, then we should promote him. He shows a lot of promise.

His frame is filling out nicely but he is still another year away from having a body that is somewhat ready for AFL. His improvement has been impressive and he is due for league game sooner rather than later.

Put yourself in his shoes. You are in a state where you have noone. You are on a minimal income of $18K a year. You get calls from other clubs saying to go into the draft and they will pick you up. In that case you are going to a state where you probably don't have anyone but you will be getting a minimal income of $36K a year. All I am saying is that the kid can leave for a better offer and noone could blame him for that.

Whether you draft a ruckman in top 10 or rookie list him they generally take at least 3 years to come on so I really don't see it as much of a risk in promoting Andrews come the end of the year if his form and development continues.

If we can get away with leaving him on the rookie list for another year, it does make sense. As you said previously, it does give another draft pick.

On the other hand, if he does make noises about nominating for the draft, then we should promote him. He shows a lot of promise.
Yes but to be fair so did Parker.
It would appear Adelaides decision to leave him on the rookie list was justified.

Andres by all reports from coaches sounds good, but why put him on the senior list, if realistically it's another 2 years B4 he plays AFL.
We've done it too often over the years.

Don't believe he is holding anyone back.
Currently playing 4 first year players(if you count Hentschell), Reilly and Schuback to come in, but they don't play Smarts role.
So who are we preventing from getting a game, and how many first year players should we be playing, and still be competitive?

Ok if that is the case why is everyone putting the heat on Carey and Burns that they should retire and that they are holding a younger player up??????

His frame is filling out nicely but he is still another year away from having a body that is somewhat ready for AFL. His improvement has been impressive and he is due for league game sooner rather than later.

Put yourself in his shoes. You are in a state where you have noone. You are on a minimal income of $18K a year. You get calls from other clubs saying to go into the draft and they will pick you up. In that case you are going to a state where you probably don't have anyone but you will be getting a minimal income of $36K a year. All I am saying is that the kid can leave for a better offer and noone could blame him for that.

Whether you draft a ruckman in top 10 or rookie list him they generally take at least 3 years to come on so I really don't see it as much of a risk in promoting Andrews come the end of the year if his form and development continues.
I think I'm correct Andrews is from Tasmania, so no homesick Vic issue. Adelaide lifestyle is more like Tas, so would imagine he's quite at home.
The kid by all reports has his head on the right way, that being the case, he'll look at the bigger picture.
If we could convince Parker, I'm sure we can with Andrews as well.

You make a good point but in reality not promoting him would give us one extra late pick. In this instance recruiting department has to make a judgment on the depth of the draft pool and say if that late pick would possibly land us a player that is as good or better than Andrews. If the answer is yes and only yea then we should keep him on the rookie list. If the answer is no we are probably better off promoting him.

Ok if that is the case why is everyone putting the heat on Carey and Burns that they should retire and that they are holding a younger player up??????
A bit of a different scenario. Burns is holding back Schuback who prior to this year has played majority of his SANFL footy as a crumbing forward who roateted through the midfield at times.

I think Carey should play out the year and we should probably play yougsters around him so he can educate them a bit for the rest of the year. BUT if you put the other hat on one could say that he is keeping out Rutten. I don't necessarily agree with this.

Burns is probably holding Ladhams out med term, but he's injured.
And possibly Schuback.
But Carey is needed to teach the young KPP players.
I not suggesting retirement for either player.

I think I'm correct Andrews is from Tasmania, so no homesick Vic issue. Adelaide lifestyle is more like Tas, so would imagine he's quite at home.
The kid by all reports has his head on the right way, that being the case, he'll look at the bigger picture.
If we could convince Parker, I'm sure we can with Andrews as well.
You are right there is no homesickness Vic issue but you are still discounting the increase in salary and guaranteed contract for at least 2 years. Everyone drafted in the National draft must sign on at least a 2 year deal. Staying on th erookie list for the extra year has no guarantees what so ever and he might use Parker as an example. Parker was chased by 7 other AFL clubs and was told to enter the draft but he decided to stay with AFC "looking at the bigger picture" as you say. 8 months down the track he is no guarantee of getting promoted any time soon.

I don't disagree with yo I am just playing devil's advocate :)

You are right there is no homesickness Vic issue but you are still discounting the increase in salary and guaranteed contract for at least 2 years. Everyone drafted in the National draft must sign on at least a 2 year deal. Staying on th erookie list for the extra year has no guarantees what so ever and he might use Parker as an example. Parker was chased by 7 other AFL clubs and was told to enter the draft but he decided to stay with AFC "looking at the bigger picture" as you say. 8 months down the track he is no guarantee of getting promoted any time soon.

I don't disagree with yo I am just playing devil's advocate :)
Your right.
It will however depend on the character of the person(Andrews) and the tone of conversations with Adelaide. the AFC will make the right decision, but I would suggest they would be very very consious of the extra draft pick they could gain.
And I suppose we also don;t know what promises, if any were made to Parker.

By the way, how could we and everyone else miss out on Surjan, when we need midfielders?

Your right.
It will however depend on the character of the person(Andrews) and the tone of conversations with Adelaide. the AFC will make the right decision, but I would suggest they would be very very consious of the extra draft pick they could gain.
And I suppose we also don;t know what promises, if any were made to Parker.

By the way, how could we and everyone else miss out on Surjan, when we need midfielders?
There is always that "if".;)

Regarding Parker JR said that they reassured parker that they were really keen to keep him at AFC and would have promoted him but they just couldn't afford it. He also said something along the lines that if there is a long term injury he will get promoted.

I am still dirty on missing out on Surjan. I think it comes back to our administration. We simply couldn't afford him. we had the extra spot on the list and had our pick before Port but we couldn't afford to pick Surjan due to tight salary cap. That really gets up my nose. I we can't afford to draft a played who will earn some $36K in a year then there is some serious deficiencies in our administration.:(

I we can't afford to draft a played who will earn some $36K in a year then there is some serious deficiencies in our administration.:(
I reckon Smart staying on & Macca's contract negotiations put the sqeeze on our cap. Time for Macca to give us some value for money....

I am still dirty on missing out on Surjan. I think it comes back to our administration. We simply couldn't afford him. we had the extra spot on the list and had our pick before Port but we couldn't afford to pick Surjan due to tight salary cap. That really gets up my nose. I we can't afford to draft a played who will earn some $36K in a year then there is some serious deficiencies in our administration.:(

And every right to be dirty Stiffy.

To retain a 34 year old on the list and miss out on Surjans and one other draft pick was lunacy.

Smarty should have been "encouraged" to retire at the end of last year for everybody's credibility, including his own.

KG and Cornesy are indicating that Smarty will still be with South Adelaide this week. They have the SANFL teams and he is obviously named in the South Adelaide team.