Toast Smedts up forward

• Thread starter Thread starter DanA

his kicking is a little sus.
Now I dont know if thats an issue with him, if its technique or if its just experience/confidence but right now its a bit of an issue.
His handballs and movement through traffic is first rate, if he can fix his kicking (his only weakness IMO) then he could be something else the kid.... We got him from 1 of the Ablett compo picks if I'm correct? Reckon we are going to do ok out of him going north.....

He's got another one. He still tries to break tackles like it's the reserves. He doesn't have the body to do that - yet. Just needs to rein that in, it cost us a goal in the last quarter when he did it.

Having said that, I'd rather a young guy take chances than be reactive. I guess he'll learn much quicker that way. He's starting to show some wonderful glimpses in any case.

I did. It was brilliant.

It's good to see that despite still having a slight frame, he's going in at the contest a lot harder than he was earlier in the year, and taking the hits and getting back up. Should give him confidence.

You read my mind PO. As well as that, it shows that he is already learning from mistakes and correcting them. Already. That's amazing. It's an attribute coaches would dream a player has and one you can't measure at draft camp.

He's got another one. He still tries to break tackles like it's the reserves. He doesn't have the body to do that - yet. Just needs to rein that in, it cost us a goal in the last quarter when he did it.

Having said that, I'd rather a young guy take chances than be reactive. I guess he'll learn much quicker that way. He's starting to show some wonderful glimpses in any case.

I disagree to a point.
Id rather he keep trying to break those tackles and we build him up so he CAN break em instead of stopping him trying it then when he has the body, to try to get him to do it again.
He plays on instinct alot, right now he doesnt have a big enough frame to be able to break through traffic, but he has the poise and skill to dance through it :D
Am I the only one who has noticed that it seems our kids arent the typical "gee I just want to keep my spot" kind of kids but more "I have a roll to do, I need to do it" kind?
Its a great trait thats for sure! I spoke to a mate today who said Geelong will play finals every year until 2025 (and likely beyond) as well as more flags than any other team based on 2 facts, firstly our senior guys know what is needed to be done, that also shows our kids the standard thats required. On top of that though is when those kids are the senior core they have been playing to that standard the entire time so then they also know what has to be done like the senior core did when they were kids, which then teaches the OTHER new kids the standard.... get what I mean?
The kids now are being taught how to play, when they get more experienced they will then in turn teach our newer kids how to play...
I suppose it adds to the saying "Success breeds success".
Gee its good being a Cats fan :D :D :D

He can take the ball at real speed, in traffic, like only the very best.

In that sense, only the guy he replaced, Ablett, showed that ability at this stage of their career. Different type of player but like Ablett I get the sense there is something unique about his talent.

Makes plenty of mistakes still, also needs a huge pre-season because physically he is not being allowed to do things his brain is wanting to do.

Disagree - we should be encouraging him to keep trying to break the tackles and taking the game on. You don't take the game on you don't get anywhere. There are several players out there who don't back themselves to do this, let's not smack it out of one that does.

It's all been said before but I'm loving Smedts. Great hands, looks to have a good footy brain and could be a Menzel-esque x factor come finals.

Just watched the replay of the Dawks V Cats game again and I loved Billie Smedts charge down of the hand pass from the Hawk defender and then gave the ball off to Hawkins to goal. Great forward defensive work.

I disagree to a point.
Id rather he keep trying to break those tackles and we build him up so he CAN break em instead of stopping him trying it then when he has the body, to try to get him to do it again.
He plays on instinct alot, right now he doesnt have a big enough frame to be able to break through traffic, but he has the poise and skill to dance through it :D
Am I the only one who has noticed that it seems our kids arent the typical "gee I just want to keep my spot" kind of kids but more "I have a roll to do, I need to do it" kind?

Yep very good point. From Scott's point of view he could be thinking "he'll give the odd goal away, but he'll create two or three". I'd take that and that kind of instinct created Hawkins' 5th goal out of absolutely nothing.

All signs are good with Smedts.

He wasn't that good when he first came into the side early in the season and now he is performing far better IMO.

If only, in the next 4-6 games, he can get even a little more dangerous. As that is what he needs to do for this season to help get us over the line.

If he can kick a goal, get 2 goal assists and a tackle or two more - he will be an assett come finals time.

So much asked of such a kid already - but come next season he could be one to watch.

Yep very good point. From Scott's point of view he could be thinking "he'll give the odd goal away, but he'll create two or three". I'd take that and that kind of instinct created Hawkins' 5th goal out of absolutely nothing.

Thats right. Bit like Stevie J isnt it? Albeit a lot higher % :D
Stevie will stuff up 1 but pull off 20, Smedts WILL get there, just needs to bulk up a little so he can either break the tackles or do what our group has been so good at, take the tackle yet still dispose of the ball.
Its a small % difference, and theres no doubt he will get there.
Im torn on where I would prefer him playing, I always thought he would be a good winger/half back but really like him forward right now.....

Watching the replay yesterday - look at that play in the first quarter that went the length of the ground - Sheringham a bounce, handball to Bundy, perfect kick to Chappy. Smedts' pickup and handball to start off that play is what gets me excited about his future. So smooth.

You'd reckon he'd have to be a chance to get the rising star nomination. Perhaps not as dominant as some nominations this year but he's been consistently very good for the last month and got the job done in some pressure moments on Friday. There couldn't be many others left who would get the nomination over him.

EDIT: Nevermind I just noticed Treloar got it. I suppose they were always going to give it to a GWS player after their win. Probably fair enough with 26 touches and 2 goals.

Five pages of praise of Smedts playing as a medium forward in a team that struggled to contend for much of the year.

We've barely had a medium forward capable of getting a kick since, and this former first round draft pick is like a fish out of water playing on the last line of defence.

How to Kill a Football Career 101.

Five pages of praise of Smedts playing as a medium forward in a team that struggled to contend for much of the year.

We've barely had a medium forward capable of getting a kick since, and this former first round draft pick is like a fish out of water playing on the last line of defence.

How to Kill a Football Career 101.

Pretty much.

Stay in defence = delist.

Go up forward = have a career

Not sure why our coaches haven't got the memo

Not necessarily. He is saying he supports Smedts in the backline and trying to keep him in the team. I just hope the coach's plans come together before everyone retires. :D
I think it's nonsensical when we have been lacking a small forward for a number of seasons now.

After a couple of poor moments early I thought he looked easily the most comfortable he's looked as a defender today. Actually of the 3 small defenders I thought he was definitely the pick of a bad bunch. Now is the time to back him in and give him that role for the next month at least.

Also for the first time today I saw a glimpse of why they want him in the backline. Twice when Hawthorn were on the break and he was deep in defence he left his direct opponent to cover the next link in the chain. Neither time did he get a touch. Actually the ball wasn't even kicked to his new opponent but it stopped or massively slowed their momentum. That judgement is almost impossible to teach. He wouldn't get a stat and anybody watching on tv wouldn't have even seen him but it's those sort of decisions that make a team a great defensive unit.

So he's got a fair way to go in terms of stopping his direct opponent but he's very good at working out which opponent is most dangerous.

Also for the first time today I saw a glimpse of why they want him in the backline. Twice when Hawthorn were on the break and he was deep in defence he left his direct opponent to cover the next link in the chain. Neither time did he get a touch. Actually the ball wasn't even kicked to his new opponent but it stopped or massively slowed their momentum. That judgement is almost impossible to teach. He wouldn't get a stat and anybody watching on tv wouldn't have even seen him but it's those sort of decisions that make a team a great defensive unit.

So he's got a fair way to go in terms of stopping his direct opponent but he's very good at working out which opponent is most dangerous.

I would say that he does read the game pretty well too. Who knows, in 20 games he might be very assured there.

Especially when he fits the bill almost perfectly:

- Quick
- Evasive, very evasive
- Good goal sense
- Right age now to play every week
Tall enough to play as lead-up half forward too.