Hand

Don't think, Do.
Box Hill Hawks
So I was brushcutting around the backyard today, and came across a Brown Snake. Scared the living shit out of me, I yelled 'SNAKE', and my Dad took it out with a shovel. It made me think that I wish they didn't exist. Bastard of an animal, they are (imo).

The reason I made this thread is to ask, how many of you have had close encounters like I just did? Any tips on how to act when you see one?

And also, am I the only one here with Ophidiophobia?

Was doing a bush walk in Sri Lanka to try to get to the top of this mountain. It was a really over grown track and hours away from any sort of hospital.

This massive cobra crawled out in front of me, stopped in the middle of the track for a few moments then slithered off. I waited for a minute or so to when I thought it was gone then kept on going. About 10 minutes later I rounded a bend in the track and there was another huge one just laying in the middle of the track. When it saw/heard/felt me coming it disapeared off into the scrub.

Thats when I decided to turn around and head back as I didn't really feel like getting bitten and dying in the middle of no where.

Used to see them down at my uncles property down in Apollo Bay all the time. Mainly tiger snakes which you just don't mess with. He also had quite a few different species one of which was a brown snake (I think) or something similar that was also extremely deadly.

Don't see any problem with them aslong as you watch where you step and aren't trying to pick/play with them they shouldn't bite they will normally run straight away. Did have a Tiger snake rear at me after not seeing it on the edge of a walking path at his property and it scared the shit out of me.

Was doing a bush walk in Sri Lanka to try to get to the top of this mountain. It was a really over grown track and hours away from any sort of hospital.

This massive cobra crawled out in front of me, stopped in the middle of the track for a few moments then slithered off. I waited for a minute or so to when I thought it was gone then kept on going. About 10 minutes later I rounded a bend in the track and there was another huge one just laying in the middle of the track. When it saw/heard/felt me coming it disapeared off into the scrub.

Thats when I decided to turn around and head back as I didn't really feel like getting bitten and dying in the middle of no where.
in sri lanka, they are just as likely to be spitters too!

snakes can get ****ed! (just like spiders)

i am hardly a man - lucky i can grow a beard! :)

When I was about 8, I was walking (stupidly) in the ditch back to my house from a friends. I was leading a few of us, single file through this ditch and I was about 3 cm short of dropping my foot onto a snake. I shit my pants and ran the fastest I could back home. Mum said it took me about 2 hours to stop shaking!

I am now petrified of them and can not even go into the reptile enclosure for fear of having to look at one of them.

in sri lanka, they are just as likely to be spitters too!

snakes can get screwed! (just like spiders)

i am hardly a man - lucky i can grow a beard! :)

Snakes can well and truely get screwed.. haha and spiders can piss off too.

Im still convinced to this day that those Cobras were scared of my manly unkept travel beard, and that is why they left me alone. :D

Haven't seen too many. Only really used to see them when I used to ride motorbikes in the summer. Some massive brown snakes up to a few metres long but that's really it.

Snakes are hardly bastards of an animal - they are literally more scared of us then we are of them. They will only attack if threatened by you (their version of threatened may be different to yours though..). Also some species (Black Mamba and Cobra IIRC) are more aggressive than others.

Still don't like them, mainly because I have grown up in bushland type areas, so high chance of accidentally stepping on them. When I mean don't like them, I mean I won't go looking for them ala many mammals and birds. Don't kill them unnecessarily - that's when you get bitten.

Not sure of the best way to act if you are face to face with one, but if you are in an area trekking where you are likely to encounter one, make really heavy footfall (snakes will sense the vibrations and move away as they would rather hide off somewhere) and make your presence known. It's when you're quiet and trying not to make a sound that you come across snakes more regularly.
I think you can either run away (pretty sure no snakes could keep up with a human - correct me if I'm wrong though), kill it with a long reaching tool (shovel, sword, lightsaber etc) NOT RECOMMENDED THOUGH - GETTING CLOSE TO THE SNAKE AND TRYING TO HIT IT WILL OBVIOUSLY SCARE IT or if you want to keep moving, don't back down from it, make noise and eventually the snake will leave (unless you meet aforementioned aggressive snake - which you shouldn't in Australia)

I've had a fair few encounters, growing up on a rural property. Had snakes in my living room and such. Brown snakes, red-bellied black snakes, tiger snakes (walked through a swamp that was infested with these - did have nightmares about that one - I reckon my HR was 150+!) and copperheads I have all come across - in different areas. Fortunately they've all left me alone, so no real stories to tell.

I am ok with spiders but can not stand snakes.

As a kid I was riding home from a junior cricket game and rode down a path splitting a small parcel of bushland and there was a snake sunning itself on the concrete path. Before I had a chance to do anything I had ridden over it. I screamed like a girl and bolted home.

When I play gold in summer time in Perth, if I have sprayed one in to the bush (which is quite often) I will barely look for it before grabbing a new ball out the bag and taking a drop.

Stayed at my uncle's friends ranch in Phillip Island and outside of each hut there was shrubbery, my auntie's sister (no not my aunty as well ftr), heard something in the bushes. Was a brown snake, which my uncle disposed of with a cricket bat and a shovel.

Also, when I was 19, my mate and I were walking down a gravel/stoney track on the way up to a hill to take some pictures. We were both casually walking, and deadset, about 2cms from my mates foot was this bad boy -

ypoCy.jpg

We shat ourselves and screamed like girls, then proceeded to take photos of it. Could have been fatal if he was bitten, considering it was a brown snake.

See tigers and browns reasonably often, they're not really an issue if you keep your distance they'll be just as keen to stay away from you. Had a couple of close encounters where I've nearly stepped on one, they took off each time but you do need to keep an eye out in the bush. I don't think they're likely to attack unless you either startle them or actively try to hurt/aggravate them.

Live in a rural area so I come across Tiger/Brown snakes on occasion. Had a close call last summer when I was stacking firewood and some massive mother****er came slithering out of the bottom of the pile (away from me, fortunately). Also ran over one in my driveway around 12 months ago without realising, until I stepped out of the car and saw it lying dead beside a tyre.
The trick is to stand still and motionless when you encounter one and avoid startling it, and always wear shoes when walking through long grass on a rural property in summer.

Few metres long my arse, 2metres is a couple:eek: so few has to be 3m, honestly.o_O
Hard to judge flying past them on a dirt bike but there has certainly been some massive ones, 2 metres easily. Mind you this is out in the middle of the bush, not close to civilisation.

Probably King Browns as I don't think eastern browns get to 2m well I've never seen any larger then 1.5m and I've run into a fair amount of them.

Ahh okay awesome thanks for the clarification, I have no idea about different breeds of Snakes and the ones I have ran into have been brown so just assumed!!

We were at my nan's once, and my brother had to go chuck something in the bin in the garage. I watched him, as he chucked it and ran back towards me. Saw a taipan lying around the bin, and I grabbed him and ran like I stole something.

Scariest moment of my life, besides the time where I woke up with a huge hairy black spider right above my head.

Don't mind spiders and other things but hate snakes. never really come into contact with one but the poisenous ones freak me out. I remember being a little tacker and being scared when the footy or cricket ball went into the propertyopposite (no house just long grass up to my then knee) that i was gunna get bitten

Stayed at my uncle's friends ranch in Phillip Island and outside of each hut there was shrubbery, my auntie's sister (no not my aunty as well ftr), heard something in the bushes. Was a brown snake, which my uncle disposed of with a cricket bat and a shovel.

Also, when I was 19, my mate and I were walking down a gravel/stoney track on the way up to a hill to take some pictures. We were both casually walking, and deadset, about 2cms from my mates foot was this bad boy -

ypoCy.jpg

We shat ourselves and screamed like girls, then proceeded to take photos of it. Could have been fatal if he was bitten, considering it was a brown snake.

I've seen that on the forums before..

My mate took the photo himself while I was standing right beside him. I clearly would not go to the trouble of finding a photo for credibility on a forum ffs.