Phantom Draft Snoop Dog 2014 Phantom Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Snoop Dog

Excellent effort mate! I've been hanging out for your take and you certainly exceeded expectations! A real bonus for the additional analysis on the rooks too!

From a Pies perspective, you have Leverde at 5 (fingers crossed we get him) and that's a no brainer, although I'd take Pickett (no worries) if GWS snared Leverde @ 4. However, and more interesting you suggested Dillon Viojo-Rainbow might go @ 30 when many believe someone like Cavka or Blakely will slide and fall around that location. You must really rate Cavka thinking he could go as high as the teens? I guess that was the biggest surprise for me in your top 30.

Personally, I'm a real fan on Connor Menadue, and I think he'll develop into a long lasting and regular player in any senior AFL team that select him..... Do you really think he'll slip through to 29? (I'm hoping he may go one further and we get him @ 30), but realstically I'm thinking he might fall as high as 20-25.... Placing Menadue at 29, is that because you believe he is a longer term prospect that might need building up/developing over a couple of years cause he's basically a featherweight @ 69kgs? He did blitz @ the combine too! I think he would be a terrific acquisition @ Pie land as a line breaker/link man through the midfield!

Bampton is an interesting prospect at 48. I'd certainly rather be playing with him than against him!! Put it that way. A big Rene Kink type bodied lad like him would be awesome on the inside and the 'footsteps' factor may make a lot of opponents near him think twice about physical contests too.

# 30 Collingwood - Dillon Viojo-Rainbow.....Why:... Wouldn’t mind Collingwood looking at a tall fwd (McKenzie) or an inside mid (Bampton or Gore).

My big concern however is his disposal. I know he has a lot of potential, but I'm just not sold that he could go as high as 30 as efficient disposal is a key area of focus these days and it's a basic essential that may outwiegh his positives. Do you think he could improve in this area enough to make the grade?

By the way (and soz for the rant), who do you think are the Gems in this draft? i.e. Just a handful of guys that have possibly been overlooked thus far as low draft picks (40 - 60 range) that may surprise and be picked up heaps early?

You couldn't be unhappy with getting Rainbow and his lethal left foot at 30 and while elite ball users are what we are crying out for I still have hopes for Gore ahead of him at 30 to provide us with some possible instant midfield impact next year and another strong body around the stoppages.

Him, Freeman, Adams and Greenwood sounds good going forward in terms of midfield grunt.

Does Rainbow project as a midfielder going forward or at least a high possession wing?

We need his kicking ability for sure but not sure another back flanker is high on our list of needs.

Great job though Snoop!

Snoop, could Maher go higher based on his underage form and the potential it exhibits?

Yeah I struggled with him and had him late in the ND at one stage but I think he is much more likely to be a rookie and unfortuantely history isnt suggesting he will go at all.

I put him in bc he was just so good last year and for a range of reasons I think this year just didnt produce what he is capable of. I've said in years gone that I still would draft kids who have expereienced this if they test and interview well bc every one can have an off year as AFL listed players do and it doesnt mean they cant play anymore etc.

he has all the tools to play but he probably needs to work on a couple of elements and get back up there.

You couldn't be unhappy with getting Rainbow and his lethal left foot at 30 and while elite ball users are what we are crying out for I still have hopes for Gore ahead of him at 30 to provide us with some possible instant midfield impact next year and another strong body around the stoppages.

Him, Freeman, Adams and Greenwood sounds good going forward in terms of midfield grunt.

Does Rainbow project as a midfielder going forward or at least a high possession wing?

We need his kicking ability for sure but not sure another back flanker is high on our list of needs.

Great job though Snoop!

Thanks

I think he will become a free wheeling wingmen a bit like Isaac Smith.

I think I noted in the comments I could see Gore, Blakely going as well but yeah speed and skill won the day. Pies are reasonably well served for inside mids and this for me was the area they really need to improve in.

Hats off! Great effort.
Thinking the hawks will take a inside mid with 31..... One of the South Australians me be thinking

Thanks yeah I had thought that with Hallahan out that might be the way to and hence had Gore, Neal-Bullen and Nelson there but I took best available but I see your thinking. Those good inside mids I think will all be around that point.

We can get another Garlett Gartlett. :)

Boekhorst with a late pick or a rookie pick might be OK if he is mature. Armfield has played 100 plus games as a hard running and mature recruit. Appears to have more footy smarts than Army.

Well he is yet to be tested at level and he is a more offensive / fwd type than Armfield who have always thought is best in a BP but you would know better than me. Boekhurst I think is probably more an Everitt type. Stick him on a wing and let him run and carry. he will deliver the footy really well.

One of the most reasonable and logically phantom drafts I've seen good job. For port glenn, nielson, Anderson and markov; Glenn I do agree I reckon he will just be out of our reach drummond we were apparently keen on last year. Nielson we've been linked to so good job there. Anderson and Markov yeah if they are the best available than fair enough gets pretty dodgey predicting our picks because who knows what can really happen in 2 weeks time. Wouldn't mind watts (hopefully not related to jack) good size and mark just needs time to gain some muscle which would come overtime in an afl system seems a good replacement for westhoff but as you say more back than forward.

No relation. Similar builds though and has been a big improver. Fancy he may go late in the National on his upside.

Anderson I could really see at Port. He is a tempo changer and will be a really hard match up 1:1 when he fills out. Some of his senior WAFL games been v impressive.

Great read , good draft for the Baggers.
Lamb could end up a steal at 19 and Blakely at 28 is a very solid pick up .
Although I think we'll go with a Menadue type, as for the late picks I'd like Sam Bevan or Harry Dear if availble no problems with Tom Wilkinson with the other. Fantastic effort once again.
Ciao

Thanks
Yeah I guess the recruitment of Jones and Jaksch just put me off taking to many more talls.
Also wasnt sure where Giles was at so be interested in that.
Harry Dear is to far back I think. He was one I couldnt get my head around.
Also wondered if Hartley wouldnt be a bad depth player for Jamieson.
re Menadue - when you get SOS get ready for him to take elite runners who are skinny. That is his go so Menadue fits.
Lamb is an elite runner and Blkely is v good as well. I just think you solve your inside mids for the next 12 years if you take him and partner him with Cripps and possibly Graham

Great read, thanks for the effort. Seems to be a real flavour of clubs having to value very different skills and qualities even at the top of the draft this year, so the "we're really happy, couldn't believe he was there at our pick" mantra that all clubs come out with immediately after the draft might actually be truer this year.

Nothing changes but this year I think clubs will be happy and generally are participating more than last year bar a couple like Hawks etc.

Great effort SD. Thank you.

I think that whilst De Goey does not present as meeting a need, I thing our recruiting team would be happy if he was still there. Lots of pressure on out guys having traded down from 10-14 and De Goey would be an easy sell " wow we never expected he would still be there - see the slide did not hurt".

No doubt an excellent prospect and will be considered a bargain at 14.

I think the teams in the early teams probably already know the order of the top 10 and are thinking through who they will have access to. Am told the top 10 is largely done.

Great work as usual Snoop.

I'm glad that someone else rates Dan Butler as a draftee not a rookie.

From a Collingwood point of view I would be very happy.

One query I would have is both Buckley and Hine have stated we need to add more pace to the team. Varcoe adds some but I would think that we need some more (other than Freeman, Sinclair, etc. already on the list.)

I think Laverde and Viojo meet that. Bampton isnt slow, his first few steps are good. Yarran is v quick.

Well I am confused by this because I was told he was given a new 2 year contract which I understood to mean he was automatically promoted but yet there has been no news of it so I suspect my mail was wrong.

He bloody well should have been. He would be my first choice defender at the moment.

I guess the logic is no need to upgrade when he can be listed for Scharenberg day 1 anyway.

What do think the pies need?
I don't think the contract has an effect. We gave Mooney a two year contract last year and not only did we not promote him, we delisted him at the end of the season.

Realistically I think we are going to go 39+5 and use the extra rookie spot for a mature back up ruckman. However for the purpose for your draft, the two glaring deficiencies in the last few years has been our midfield height & speed, so either another big bodied midfielder or a quick player (preferably both if there is one around late) would be the preference I think.

You're concerned for Viojo-Rainbows disposal?

You do seem to have very high standards...........very high
You couldn't be unhappy with getting Rainbow and his lethal left foot at 30 and while elite ball users are what we are crying out...

Not concerned and I would be happy. Soz guys, I was actually refering to Bampton's disposal (as per my quote below and not Vojo).. .. I was simply quoting 'Snoop's # 30 profile on Dillon Viojo-Rainbow' as this is where he first mentioned Bampton and so that he knew what part of the draft I was referring to.

My big concern however is his disposal (Bampton). I know he has a lot of potential, but I'm just not sold that he could go as high as 30 as efficient disposal is a key area of focus these days and it's a basic essential that may outwiegh his positives. Do you think he could improve in this area enough to make the grade?

Great read as usual Swoop.

Think the Pies may well have missed the boat on promoting Frost. Think all rookie promotions had to be declared at the 1st list lodgement. I could be wrong though, wouldn't be the 1st time.

Not too sure we'd rookie a KPF prospect either with Gault, Moore, and Cox already in that mix. I know Gault and Cox could be more ruck/forward options and Moore can play back but think genuine KPDs are a greater need. At senior level we'll struggle to squeeze all of Brown, Frost and Keeffe in the D50 and 1 of them may play a bit of VFL but still light on in this area. Assuming Reid will play forward of course. If we are going to rookie a foward can it please be Eddy, thought he showed a bit when VFL listed.

Would love to see McLean or Langdon slip to pick 48.

Appreciate it. Wasnt 100% sure on Roos needs. What do you see them to be?
Quick outside line breakers with good disposal. Replacements for Grima and Firitto and a dangerous small forward would be the go. I can see them looking tovthe rookie draft for defenders where they have had success in the past. If Beasly was available at Norths first rookie pick he would be a good fit. Toby McLean at 36 would be a good fit.

Great job though Snoop!
Doug Hawkins rates the kid huge if you read the paper , im tipping the Hawkster might knowa bit
about next level wingman in the making

Great read as always Snoop Dog, thanks for the effort. Appreciated your write-ups of Durdin and Wright, they seem to be getting the extra scrutiny given they were touted early and have suffered, however as long term prospects I still believe they deserve high ratings given the athleticism and skill they exhibit at their size. Are there any other players you view as being "over analysed"?

Btw, love the selection you gave WCE. Believe Weller can eventually be the best mid out of the draft if developed correctly and fits WCE needs too.

You know what it's like Snoop Dog
Sometimes one just wants to see the names they want to see :) ................ as if a Phantom is going to make any difference.

Only saw Lamb in the finals and he's clearly a quality athlete but he did seem to be playing for himself and not the team.
I guess every kid wants to be seen but he was demanding the ball a little too hard given the bad positions he put himself in.

I've heard Rogers say that we need outside runners too many times for us to go for a slowish inside mid but that's all relative isn't it?
I know most look at the ~1-15 range but the ~16-~30 range could pull through some beauties here...........as it did last year.

I think you will see some fall through for sure. If Blakely, Gartlett and Langford push up then some good ones are dropping. One may be Peter WRight.