ImperialPurple

In it for the long haul
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
I was just wandering around, and I found this article on the Herald Sun website from just before Christmas, about the delectable (;)) Dean Solomon. You gotta love Solly!

Solomon hits back at Tarrant link

16 December 2007 Sunday Herald Sun
Jay Clark

DEAN Solomon has described jibes he was a "stable pony" for Chris Tarrant and a wasted trade as a driving force to cement a place with Fremantle.

The reborn forward was one of the club's few success stories of 2007, lifting himself off the AFL scrapheap to become one of Fremantle's most valuable and consistent performers.

But the 27-year-old, who took aim at being referred to as a minder for teammate Tarrant, said his extraordinary transition from Essendon discard to Fremantle enforcer would count for little if he couldn't repeat the dose next year.

"There was a lot of pressure through the media that I lost form, that the game had gone past me and that I was just a stable pony over here," Solomon said. "All that stuff was written, and you have to laugh, but if anything it made me more motivated.

"Because I firmly believe I am not just over here to make up the numbers, I believe I can play the game at this level.

"And while I am not a Brownlow medallist, or a best and fairest player, I know I can hold my own in this game.

"I just want to back up last year now and for me that's the toughest challenge."

The selfless nature of Solomon's role -- protecting teammates at the contests and assisting goals -- often meant he did not receive the kudos he deserved.

But the club's move to nab Solomon, for picks 42 and 47 in the 2006 draft, was clearly justified when he finished equal fourth in Freo's best and fairest award.

"I was satisfied with it but I don't think it was a great year," he said. "You do see a lot of footballers play really well in the first year at a new club and in the second year get a bit complacent.

"That's my main goal at the moment, not get complacent and just try and be consistent year on year."

In a twist, Solomon's former Bombers teammate Mark Johnson is in the same boat and Solomon has no doubt his mate can lead a similar revival at Fremantle.

Johnson was recruited by Fremantle in last month's national draft along with another Essendon discard, Kepler Bradley.

Solomon said Johnson's versatility and hardness would be a huge coup for a club desperate to play to its potential after a disastrous 2007.

"He is one of those players who I put in my top five guys who I've always loved to play with, because he is a competitor and you know he is always by your side," Solomon said.

"If you're ever in trouble he is there for you and he hates losing and he is going to be for two or three years a very good asset to this football club."

Hopefully in 2008 MJ MKII can give us a bit of what Solly did in 2007. We might get 2-3 years out of MJ - but if Solomon continues the way he did this year, we might still get another 3-4 years from him. He's not even turned 28. :thumbsu:

I read that article at the time IP, and thought that if we get only 1 or 2 years from MJ then great, because he basically cost nothing.
You just know he will be busting his ring to make the team each week, his pride is on the line.

As for Solly, last year showed us all what he is capable of.

Could MJ MkII be the first player to have three buddies? I'm sure FootyEater won't mind sharing with Solly as well!!

:D i must admit, i dont mind sharing johnno with solly and to be honest if i was going to choose a second player to be my buddy it would have been solly.

that article just proves what we already knew, that solly was a champ for us last year and he strill has plenty in the tank for the next few years. and that johnno will be in a similar boat. im stoked to have them both at FFC :thumbsu:

Solly was a huge coup for the club in 2006 and his selection would no doubt have been influenced by Harves years with him at Windy Hill.

I don't think the selections of Kep and MJ late in the draft are a bigger risk than picking 2 untried young'ns that would no doubt require lot's of development. At least with these two, you know that they can play at this level when and if required.

Solly was a huge coup for the club in 2006 and his selection would no doubt have been influenced by Harves years with him at Windy Hill.

I don't think the selections of Kep and MJ late in the draft are a bigger risk than picking 2 untried young'ns that would no doubt require lot's of development. At least with these two, you know that they can play at this level when and if required.

agree agree and agree

Solly said:
But the 27-year-old said his extraordinary transition from Essendon discard to Fremantle enforcer would count for little if he couldn't repeat the dose next year.

Solly said:
"And while I am not a Brownlow medallist, or a best and fairest player, I know I can hold my own in this game.

"I just want to back up last year now and for me that's the toughest challenge."

Solly on MJ said:
"He is one of those players who I put in my top five guys who I've always loved to play with, because he is a competitor and you know he is always by your side," Solomon said.

"If you're ever in trouble he is there for you and he hates losing and he is going to be for two or three years a very good asset to this football club."

Now these are the sorts of quotes I like hearing. No more talk of journeys or natural maturation of our core group or any other such new age-ish waffle. No more looking to the future and some mythical gradual improvement that's just going to magically happen

Lets just stock our team with players who understand it's their job to bust their ass every single minute of every single week. A team of real competitors who genuinely hate losing. That's all I ask.

Now these are the sorts of quotes I like hearing. No more talk of journeys or natural maturation of our core group or any other such new age-ish waffle. No more looking to the future and some mythical gradual improvement that's just going to magically happen

Lets just stock our team with players who understand it's their job to bust their ass every single minute of every single week. A team of real competitors who genuinely hate losing. That's all I ask.

agree, agree, agree, agree, agree and agree

:thumbsu:

Absolutely Esti......
Does anyone else get a little excited at some of the different pre-season noises coming out of Freo Oval these past months?
The new coaching regime has some notable hard men in there, plus with this new ethos and reset mindset for the players being hinted at.
It certainly seems that Harves has brought fresh approaches and some personal player accountability to the table, or at least letting the players know that self evaluation is going to play a big part from now on.
Does anyone else feel we are going to be very competitive in 2008?

Absolutely Esti......
Does anyone else get a little excited at some of the different pre-season noises coming out of Freo Oval these past months?
The new coaching regime has some notable hard men in there, plus with this new ethos and reset mindset for the players being hinted at.
It certainly seems that Harves has brought fresh approaches and some personal player accountability to the table, or at least letting the players know that self evaluation is going to play a big part from now on.
Does anyone else feel we are going to be very competitive in 2008?

i agree nightfury, i have been to a couple of the training sessions, seen the boys hard at it, they all look in great shape, and there was an air of seriousness to the training, in the past i have seen some players laughing and fooling around, this year i saw wiz getting stuck into des about positioning in the forwardline, i saw pav getting stuck into gilmore about his delivery and i even saw my buddy mark johnson pull a few of the midfield boys together explaining his ideas and thoughts which i thought was great. all the comments you hear from the club have been about this years preseason being the toughest ever (josh carr). and while people have bagged our recruiting of solly and johnno, i dont know how most people think, but i reckon we have two of the hardest and most committed players in the league in the one team. then you add joshie carr, ryan crowley and steve dodd, i reckon it starts to look like a hard nosed and talented running division. all in all i think we have a great young backline, a fowardline which i consider the best in the league, and a midfield filled with players either with a point to prove, with a hell of a lot of talent, or with a record of consistent high performances...... heaps to be excited about!

Great article. :thumbsu:

Solly was certainly a revelation. Admittedly I questioned the decision, as with MJ. I am glad to say I was wrong and Solly won me over quite early in the season. Saying that I am glad we have MJ on the list as he can play a number of roles and there is a chance he will play a huge roll in our season.

Remarkably it has been very little media fuss and just going about our business. This can only be seen as a positive and all augers well for 2008.

It seems that the expectation is finally coming from within the group instead of outside of it!

All power to Harves and the boys, may the force be with you!

I was just wandering around, and I found this article on the Herald Sun website from just before Christmas, about the delectable (;)) Dean Solomon. You gotta love Solly!

My favourite AFL player, even when he was at the Bombers. To say I was happy when he was drafted was an understatement. Safe to say Solly has won over the majority of last season's nay-sayers. Wouldn't it be fantastic if a couple more can do the same next season?

I hated that we drafted Solo-man and was gradually grudgingly forced to admit he was a huge asset last year. I feel the same about Mark Johnson. Hope I'm as right about him as I was about Solly.

Happy New Year purple ones, see you next year!

Good to hear. Two players I always liked with us and it makes little difference where they play (still like them).

I hope MJ can rekindle his career with the purple people eaters ;)

Through watching last years pre-season training I thought Soloman was fat, slow and a complete waste of a place on the senior list. Boy was I wrong!

I hope he goes on with it, and MJ II shows just as much passion!