Opinion Speculation over - Eade Coach

Who will be our next Coach?

Cannot wait for the Bolton presser announcing him.

"Some say I was the last man standing, I think I was the right man standing"

Tut tut :P

Cannot wait for the Bolton presser announcing him.

"Some say I was the last man standing, I think I was the right man standing"

Tut tut :p
Like it, Hinkley wasn't Ports first choice, in fact he was 3rd but look at how well that worked out

Have been watching every bit of media I can find on Bolton. He seems a tad excitable but the way he self reflects, learns, admits mistakes and values dialogue with players is simply awesome. He knows what makes people tick. This is what the club said they were chasing. I think he will get it.

My only qualm with him is I haven't seen him under intense duress. We can't really tell how strong he is.

Bolton is an unknown quantity, he took a team I could of coached from the pub to 5 wins, personally I have some massive concerns about him.

Somebody get in lee Mathews ear before we **** up the best list in AFL history. Rant over

Bolton is an unknown quantity, he took a team I could of coached from the pub to 5 wins, personally I have some massive concerns about him.

Somebody get in lee Mathews ear before we **** up the best list in AFL history. Rant over

I am not referring to that. I agree that those wins mean very little. I like to focus on the coaches ability to articulate. At the end of the day you can be the best tactical brain in the world but if you cannot deliver a message to your team and make them want to run through a brick wall for you your near on useless. You can hire assistants for tactics.

All of our options are unknown quantities. I like Bolton though because he values learning and self reflection. Being around (in my opinion) the best coach in the league in Alastair Clarkson would have taught him a lot. He knows what to do I reckon. Everything he doesn't know he will learn quickly.

Bolton also took Box Hill to a flag didn't he?

I believe he did. You have to love his positive energy as well that comes from being fresh. He will be great if we get him. I have no doubt. It is when the heat turns up I wonder whether he has the chops. We'll see.

Bolton also took Box Hill to a flag didn't he?
No
In Bolton's second season in charge of the club, the Hawks built on their improved form in 2009 with another strong performance in 2010. After an indifferent start to the season, the team came home strongly with seven consecutive wins in the second half of the season to again finish 5th on the ladder, with 11 wins and 7 losses. The Box Hill Hawks met theBendigo Bombers at the Box Hill City Oval in the First Elimination Final, with the Hawks prevailing by 65 points, 20.16 (136) to 10.11 (71). In circumstances similar to that of the previous season, the Box Hill Hawks won its Elimination Final in strong fashion and again met Port Melbourne in the First Semi-final. In tense a match played in quagmire conditions at North Port Oval, the Box Hill Hawks defeated Port Melbourne for the first time in a finals game 14.11(95) to 12.17(89); the winning goal coming in the dying seconds. The following week, the Hawks met North Ballarat in the Preliminary Final at the Box Hill City Oval. Despite enjoying homeground advantage, the Hawks went down to the Roosters 16.18 (114) to 6.17 (53). The Roosters went on to claim the VFL Premiership, defeating the Northern Bullants 20.13 (133) to 13.8 (86)in the VFL Grand Final.

Oh well there you go. Matthew Knights it is.

I believe he did. You have to love his positive energy as well that comes from being fresh. He will be great if we get him. I have no doubt. It is when the heat turns up I wonder whether he has the chops. We'll see.
maybe that can be managed with who they invest to put around him

Apparently he could handle pressure when he played:

At age 19, Bolton was fortunate to play in the 1998 TFL Grand Final. He won the Darrel Baldock medal for the best player on the ground that day. At twenty four, Bolton was appointed Captain-coach of North Hobart and he led them to the 2003 premiership. He won the Horrie Gorringe Medal that season.[

A COUNTRY boy from Tasmania, by admission Brendon Bolton loves the “simple things” in life.

Away from football he’s a family man with a wife, Louisa, and two young children, Rosie (six months) and Ned (three).

Like most people, he enjoys nothing more than getting away from the grind and spending time with his family, whether it be back with his parents in Tasmania or his young family in Melbourne.

It is something that he says, allows him to be a better coach when he returns to the club on a day-to-day basis with a fresh outlook.

“I’m a country boy from Tassie who just enjoys helping people,” Bolton toldhawthornfc.com.au

“There’s not too much complex around me, I like the simple things in life.

“I have some passions around my family – I love going home and being able to not think about footy for a couple of hours with them.”

“When I get back to Tassie, I love getting to my mum and dad’s little hobby farm and going out on the boat to do a bit of fishing.”

Bolton began his coaching career with North Hobart in 2003 after a distinguished playing career in the VFL and State football in Tasmania.

In his first year as head coach at North Hobart, he took the team to a premiership in the Southern Football League.

From there, he spent a few months with Tasmanian Devils in the VFL in 2006 before moving back to Tasmania where he took over as head coach of Clarence in 2008.

There, he helped develop them into one of the best sides in the state.

At the end of 2008 he returned to Melbourne where he was appointed senior coach of Box Hill Hawks, Hawthorn’s VFL affiliate and began his close working relationship with Alastair Clarkson.

He coached Box Hill to consecutive finals appearances in 2009 and 2010.

“The really big challenge was coming to Box Hill,” Bolton said.

“There were AFL players fighting to come back and play in the AFL but they needed to have the most professional environment they can and they need to know the intention is to get them into the AFL.

“We tried to make it a place that people really wanted to be and they knew the intention was right and it was where they belonged and where they felt like they were wanted.

“The real challenge there was make that sense of connectedness and we did that.”

After two years as coach of Box Hill, Bolton was appointed as an assistant to Clarkson at Hawthorn in 2011, where he has spent time as the midfield and forward line coach.

In his six years with the Hawks, Bolton has spent his time trying to learn from those who have spent a long period in the game, like Clarkson, Chris Fagan (General Manager – Football Operations and former Head of Coaching and Development) and David Rath (Head of Coaching Services).

“I’ve tried to come in and be really receptive to learn and listen from others,” Bolton said.

“We’ve got Chris Fagan and Al Clarkson who are both the old, wise owls, particularly Fages in that manner and Clarko is the real innovator.

“David Rath analyses the game really well, so I’ve had a lot of opportunity to work with those three in particular.

“I’ve tried to learn and listen a lot and then apply a lot of my learning philosophies to the way in which we teach here.

“That’s what I want to continue to do here in the coming years, to make sure we have a really elite learning environment because that’s where my passion is.”

Aside from his senior positions with North Hobart, Tasmanian Devils, Clarence and Box Hill, Bolton has also acted as Hawthorn’s senior coach during matches in the NAB Cup and NAB Challenge series.

• 1998 North Launceston Premiership player
  • 1998 Darrel Baldock Medallist
  • 2002 Clarence Premiership player
  • 2003 North Hobart Premiership Captain-coach
  • 2003 Horrie Gorringe Medallist
Coaching record:

• North Hobart 2003-2005:
  • Tassie Devils Coach 2006
  • Clarence Senior Coach 2008
  • Box Hill Senior Coach 2009-2010
  • Hawthorn Assistant Coach 2011

notice the Zen like moment from tigernova not responding all the while knowing we have finally come around to his cult

If not for his illegible ranting I probably could have been convinced. I just can't read what he writes.

HAWTHORN football director Chris Fagan's respect for Brendon Bolton was evident when he was asked about the Hawks' young assistant coach after the 2013 premiership.

"He's just been a bloke who has worked his backside off to get where he is and he is really well respected amongst the playing group, really well prepared, good people skills, great teacher," Fagan told AFL.com.au.

Fagan first met Bolton, 35, when he coached him in the Tassie Mariners in 1996 and 1997.

He became a good Tasmanian footballer as he developed his career as a physical education teacher at Rosetta High School.

He won a premiership as a playing coach at North Hobart and then coached the Tassie Devils VFL team and Clarence before hamstring problems ended his playing career before he turned 30.

He spent a week at Hawthorn to gain an insight into how an AFL club operates and made a mark.

"He really impressed Clarko (Alastair Clarkson) and we contacted him when the Box Hill coaching job came up," Fagan said.

Bolton was appointed coach of the Box Hill Hawks and led the club into consecutive finals series in 2009 and 2010 before Hawthorn made him the midfield coach.

Upon his promotion Box Hill president John Ure paid tribute to him, saying his strength was to "create a positive environment so that the AFL-listed players actually enjoyed playing at Box Hill."

He's been part of a coaching group that has taken the Hawks from third to second to premiers in consecutive years, one of just three times that has happened in the AFL.

It just gets better. Give the man the freaking job.