Opinion Speculation over - Eade Coach

Who will be our next Coach?

yes I did see Bolton is of to the Crows this weekend...whatever will be.

Caro is the female Damian Barrett, a #flog. Take everything she says with a grain of salt. She has been saying, since the whole ASADA thing blew up, every 2nd week that James Hird is/has/will be/should be sacked. I listen to Rohan Connelly and Robbo on Esssendon matters, and they seem to be 90% correct.
I thought she did a pretty even handed job. but then, im not blinded by bomber, now am I?!

She has got things consistently wrong in the whole ASADA saga and every second week she calls for (or "claims") Hird's head. And to say that I'm blinded by Bomber, you obviously haven't read the whole thread and, pick and choose what you read.

Last edited by a moderator:

This is worse than waiting for the pre season to end. wow.

Do we really want Bomber after Caro's article below...he's either a genius or a nutcase?

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/essendon-still-pointing-fingers-20141003-10q4pf.html

Mark Thompson regrets it but remains engrossed in the blame game.

Thompson's unpredictable behaviour as the latest Essendon crisis became feverish must be of concern to both the Bombers and the Gold Coast.

Thompson never wanted to be a senior coach again when he left Geelong, but like so many before him that changed as the competitive beast within took over. Thompson undertook to step in for James Hird for just one season but has declared now that he doesn't want to let go.

The Cats maintain their faith in his coaching ability but not his equilibrium on a day-to-day basis. Certainly not towards the end of his time there when the two parties fell out of love. It is not being harsh to say Thompson failed as Hird's mentor because he was brought back into the Essendon fold at his own urging to help the rookie coach and yet was a senior member of that experimental cowboy environment and could not control it.

Thompson tried but failed to stop the injecting regime which only ended in August 2014 with the emergence of the $60,000 off-site HyperMed invoice. In a revealing interview on Channel Nine shortly after he last year accepted his $30,000 AFL fine, he still threatens not to pay, Thompson made it clear that Essendon and Hird had failed to heed the warnings.

But he believed it was the league's fault for not stepping in earlier and taking control. Finger-pointing has become Essendon's first choice of body language. Even Little could not back away from his Federal Court appeal without stressing he almost certainly would have been successful. And the club will still tell you privately the drugs program was not as bad as has been portrayed.

Thompson has the strong support of the pivotal club legend Tim Watson, with the latter enthusiastic about his long-time teammate's performance in 2014. It is true, as Watson has said, that Thompson is far better suited to the senior coaching job than a supporting role.

Watson's commentary is always telling on this divisive subject and two days ago he said the players would support Thompson in the senior role.

He has relished the job this season but up until recently told friends that the burden upon his personal life was too great to continue. Everyone is entitled to a change of heart but there have to be question marks over the full turbulent Thompson package which thrived at Kardinia Park under the guidance of one of the most respected off-field club teams in the AFL.

Even allowing that Thompson became carried away by the cultish nature of his club and the emotion of the Crichton Medal count, it seems inexplicable that he would tell Hird just hours before the Crichton Medal count that he supported his decision to lodge his appeal and then proceed to chop him off at the knees by applying for his job before the Essendon faithful.

Inexplicable unless Thompson did so in the knowledge that Hird was already gone from the coaching role. There is also a view that Hird believes Thompson was talking about the Gold Coast senior job but during the night and previously this week Thompson has told Essendon bosses his preference would be the Bombers over the Suns. And yet he has told others the opposite.

Thompson's double standards, laid bare during Gary Ablett's final season when it was revealed that he too had been negotiating and in fact plotting with another club, emerged again when he expressed keen interest in the Gold Coast coaching role before the contracted Guy McKenna had been sacked. Weeks earlier Thompson had expressed his distaste over Adelaide's treatment of Brenton Sanderson, the sacked coach he has said he would take with him to Queensland or potentially Tullamarine.

As they say in this game, Thompson is a strange cat. The push for the Suns to act now and appoint Thompson without interviewing both him and other candidates is one fraught with risk. And Gold Coast would have acted by now if it didn't see that. If his ambition lies truly with the Suns job then Thompson should back himself to win the position anyway.
And Hird? His support at his club had already eroded well before Hird chose to continue to claim this story mess is all about a flawed investigation.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/essendon-still-pointing-fingers-20141003-10q4pf.html#ixzz3F7L625QQ
Put him through exactly the same process as others.
Geelong laboured with him at the helm until their core group were into their 5 season. The bloke that takes over wins a flag with that team (minus Ablett) 5 minutes later.
Not sure I saw anything this season from Essendon that any other coach could have achieved.

Article in the GC Bulletin today that says Voss is unlikely to get the coaching job at the Suns after the way he acted in 2008. Although it does say he would be a good candidate given he now has experience.

If Adelaide do lock in Walsh over the next few days, and Essendon sack Hird and appoint Thompson, then we're the only club looking for a coach. We should take our time, interview everyone twice, and find the gem. No rush.

If they take Walsh it also leaves us with a very good range to choose from I reckon.

I thought Dew was a front runner too. No good?
No, I think he would be on par with Bolton as equal "2nd" favorite.
And if Dew were to be selected as coach, tigernova would be a little more Rex

This is the funniest thing in footy, I always laugh.

The way you talk Sunny, makes me think you always know more than you let on. You knew about Bluey being gone before it happened. Clearly found out a few days before. Your wording is very carefully chosen to use proper sources and never implicate yourself, but I'm onto you.

You are the same with us getting Malceski.

I think that you 'think' we've got Dew.