Rumour Speculation, Rumours, Lies Thread 2025

Which rumours will come true?

Rumour Summary October 1st

• Adelaide expects a decision from Christian Petracca by Saturday, according to a poster (link)
  • Christian Petracca's decision between Adelaide and Gold Coast is a 50/50, according to Tom Morris (link)
  • Taylor Walker will sign a one-year contract extension, according to Josh Money (link)
  • Adelaide have been working on the Petracca trade for months, compared to Gold Coast who have joined the race more recently, according to a poster (link)
  • Christian Petracca is meeting with Gold Coast in person (link)

Rumour Summary October 2nd

• Melbourne are open to trading Clayton Oliver, according to Sam Edmund (link)
  • Clayton Oliver expects to be told to explore his trade options, according to Tom Morris (link)

Murphy is desperately chasing a flag though.
Smart Ass Sass GIF by Gogglebox Australia

And he may get one

His player manager team has played this as well as anyone in recent times. Look at value appreciation this year - almost unprecedented how much he has added to his next contract. Its like why sell your house (shares) in a rapidly increasing market.

That said, I agree with your sentiments re the choice he has to make. The only issue is $$ which we are a clear number three on but he is being well paid wherever he goes

Has nothing to do with his management team. He can’t sign with Port until the signing period opens up after the season concludes. His value was always going to be variable based on this season’s form. Doedee did his knee which negatively impacted his value, that’s just what happens when you plan on changing clubs, your value can’t be locked in until the season finishes.

Projected success is an important consideration for Nas as part of his decision.

Nobody looking at the state of all 3 clubs could objectively argue we arent best placed for success for the remainder of the decade (at least).

I know you were pessimistic in your analysis of our list last year where you stated 'we could spike for a year' but thankfully your judgement appears contrary to collective footy wisdom in the industry

I said that I reckon we’ll be around 5th to 10th for a few years with potentially the odd spike into the top4. Can’t see how that’s been proven wrong yet. But then accuracy has never been a strength of yours. How’s uouf guaranteed 30% return per annum system going? Did Silvers take you up on your amazing offer?

I reckon he 100% wants Port, no question in my mind. The question is whether Port can get close to something Saints will accept. If they can’t, odds on he signs short

Lots of ifs and coulds. We’re not yet a Cats, Lions juggernaut that is guaranteed multiple years in the top 4. We’re finishing top 2 by a game or 2 off a 15th placed draw. Next year our draw gets harder and injuries may not be so kind. I know you hate Port, but if he chooses them it’s not necessarily because he knows they’ll be no good. That’s just what you’re desperate to believe.
The soft draw is a bit over played. Our doubles are against 3 top teams, Port and 2 bottom sides. Pretty similar to Geelong and Collingwood with the way it has worked out
Swap West Coast for Saints next year is about all the change in our draw could be

On what I saw of Whitlock at U18'S there's every chance he can become a very good KPF it's just that he's going to take a bit of time in the gym working on his size, strength and conditioning but the potential is certainly there. If Powa get access to Dougie Cochrane via NGA they are potentially getting the absolute best KPF talent in the country next year. At this point Cochrane would be pick 1 or 2 next year.

I thought NGA was only from 3rd round, or is that something else.

None of which will mean a fig to NWM if he has his heart set on Powa and his mates which at this point seems to be how it's looking like playing out.
Yeah, the guy's got 10 years in him still, plenty of time to turn it around. We were rubbish and Port were playing regular finals when Dawson, Rankine, Cumming, ANB and Peatling chose us.

We are on track for 18 wins with a lot of high end young talent, losses have been by very small margins and we could end up with a % over 150 by round 23. Thats a pretty decent H&A season in any season.

He'd also know that he is one of the best players in the comp and would slot into our already very promising relatively young side and make it even better. If you can't see whereour list is at and where ports list is at, i can't help you

We played in a GF in 2017, shat was your view on our future at the time? Dynasties are few and far between, yes we look like being around the mark for a few years, but there’s no guarantees. Like it or not, Port will be selling a return to the finals too. They might even be saying stuff like look at what happened to us after 2017 or the Dogs not staying up after 2016. Eagles won a flag in 2018 and Tigers 2020.

Age profile then to now is completely different as evidenced by the turnover of the list shortly after. Port can gaslight their list all they like.. it falls off a cliff after their fab 5

I said that I reckon we’ll be around 5th to 10th for a few years with potentially the odd spike into the top4. Can’t see how that’s been proven wrong yet. But then accuracy has never been a strength of yours. How’s uouf guaranteed 30% return per annum system going? Did Silvers take you up on your amazing offer?
Poster wasn’t saying you were inaccurate (it’s a prediction so who knows ) but he was saying you were on the pessimistic side. Hard to argue your assessment isn’t pessimistic.

The soft draw is a bit over played. Our doubles are against 3 top teams, Port and 2 bottom sides. Pretty similar to Geelong and Collingwood with the way it has worked out
Swap West Coast for Saints next year is about all the change in our draw could be
How many games will cats have against top 9? Will be the lowest out of all contenders. They have had a very soft draw

And that is what i said in my last reply to 1970 a few posts back. If he goes there, its NOT about success first regardless what line is said should he get a trade there

Not necessarily, the sell is easier to believe when it aligns with your preference. He won’t be going there thinking he won’t be playing finals for most of his career. Whether it’s delusion we won’t know until the years progress.

Yeah, the guy's got 10 years in him still, plenty of time to turn it around. We were rubbish and Port were playing regular finals when Dawson, Rankine, Cumming, ANB and Peatling chose us.
They are going to be trying to rebuild in the years the tassie side comes in with the compromised drafts...and get NWM and they are burning all their draft capital if they don't trade Butters etc. Apart from Georgiades, they are barren at the back and up front and its not so easy to build both ends with FA's and the mid season draft

I think they know Butters is going so think it doesn't matter if they push their picks into NWM this year.

How many games will cats have against top 9? Will be the lowest out of all contenders. They have had a very soft draw
They had played more top 9 teams than the rest of the top 9 before their soft draw started though.

Also you would hope he’d be telling him where his football would benefit
I'm sure some general advice, but Nas is an adult. He would ensure he gets the best possible deal at whatever club he wants to play for.

Footy is a weird game. No guarantees of where the Crowd and Port will be in a couple of years.

I'm sure some general advice, but Nas is an adult. He would ensure he gets the best possible deal at whatever club he wants to play for.

Footy is a weird game. No guarantees of where the Crowd and Port will be in a couple of years.
Where do you think for his footy would be his best option

Not necessarily, the sell is easier to believe when it aligns with your preference. He won’t be going there thinking he won’t be playing finals for most of his career. Whether it’s delusion we won’t know until the years progress.
Ports demise is well overdone on this board. If they get NAS - they have as much top end talent as us without going through 7 years in the wilderness
Role players - as we found last year can be easily acquired

Ports demise is well overdone on this board. If they get NAS - they have as much top end talent as us without going through 7 years in the wilderness

They can't be easily acquired if you have no cap space or picks.

We brought role players in because we had millions in cap space

No one disputes that their top end talent isnt great. The problem Port have now is they are reliant on finding talent either through trading of mediocre picks or late draft selections to fill crucial roles within the team structure. Combine that with trying to find depth. Its why as soon as they got injuries and a few players were out of form then thats why their season went belly up so quickly. If they have no injuries next year and they can play their best 22 they will likely play a role in finals. But 15 teams with a no injury year and a good draw can push for finals too.

We gave pick in the early 20s for ANB, eventually got Peatling very cheap given our season but would have offer him and Cummings the most money of all the clubs chasing them. Port Power is the new Carlton in terms of how they structure their salary cap around their top end talent but will even be worst than them if they get NWM on more than $2M and more than 7 years. He would take a much bigger percentage of the salary cap than Cripps.