Splinter Cell: Conviction

• Thread starter Thread starter Mancey

You posted what you posted ~ a year ago, and were saying that becuase they had gone back to the drawing board, it meant the game was destined to be shit. Don't try and revise it now noob.
Nope, I wouldn't be saying it's shit when I haven't seen anything on it. I was saying it was shit when it was trying to be that horrible open world game and then got taken back to the drawing board, thus proving the shitness of that product at the time.

n00b
If this was a ps3 exclusive title we'd be up to page 10 by now. Boy BF is dominated by PS3 fanbois.
I know that's a fairly jokey comment and what not. But it's a bit harsh to tarnish everyone who owns a PS3 as a fanboi all of a sudden.

Quite clearly shown in almost all threads on here PS3 owners are far more vocal and are around here more. It's been shown numerous times in neutral multi-plat game threads like MW2 and BFBC2 (and even FIFA 10) that we've got a fairly good community going and get together for sessions fairly regularly (Camo, Scoot, D_K, Coxy, Kerrby, Equus, Jabso, Kingy and Sean among plenty others).

Not our fault the 360 guys on here just don't post enough.

I get sick of having to justify why I've got a 360 to be honest. I think the PS3 has got it going now but lets face it. There was a long while there where PS3 owners were telling everyone how good the games were going to be.

It got boring.

Back on topic, I picked this up today on the JB 3 for 1 offer (cost me $32 :) to get the trade bait ). Looking forward to this one.

I know that's a fairly jokey comment and what not. But it's a bit harsh to tarnish everyone who owns a PS3 as a fanboi all of a sudden.

Hahaha, it was very much tongue in cheek (Even though you are most obviously a fanboi HBK). I have a PS3 too ya know ;)

Back on topic, ive put in quite a few hours into this title. Im guessing im 3/4 through the game atm. Loving the variety of kills and different strategies available. The AI is pretty good I reckon. The interrogation scenes are awesome.

I have had goes at the old SC games and found it pretty cool but to be honest I have never really been a stealth kind of gamer. I'm currently playing Batman: AA finding it pretty cool but like previously said, not really a stealth kind of gamer. Is the game worth enduring enough to try to be a stealth type of player or could you mix in a bit of "rambo" and stealth to get through it.

To me that all makes sense but I can see people getting confused by what I said.

I have had goes at the old SC games and found it pretty cool but to be honest I have never really been a stealth kind of gamer. I'm currently playing Batman: AA finding it pretty cool but like previously said, not really a stealth kind of gamer. Is the game worth enduring enough to try to be a stealth type of player or could you mix in a bit of "rambo" and stealth to get through it.

To me that all makes sense but I can see people getting confused by what I said.

I know what you mean and I'm exactly the same, I really don't like stealth games either. The thing about Conviction is that it's more action driven in the sense that you're not using the shadows and cover to hide from people, you're using it to take them out, which I think makes all the difference.

This game is very First Blood! Stealth to gain the first close up hand to hand kill, gain execution and take out 4 baddies front on in all out carnage. Great!

Yeah i love that aspect of the game. I am im also liking the black and white screen effect when in darkness and the ability to upgrade your weapons to a certain extent.

The ability to upgrade weapons is cool but kinda pointless. There are heaps of weapons to choose from, but realistically there are weapons you would never select. There are about four weapons that once unlocked, you would never change from ie P90, UMP SMG etc.

Finished the campaign the other night. Absolutely fantastic game and immediately restarted it. I have to say the cover system is great, even better than Gears of War. Best cover system I have experienced. I had a quick browse of the other gameplay options, and there is heaps to do. Very happy with this purchase.

There have been awesome reviews for this game as well. Metacritic gave it a score of 86, IGN gave it 9.3 etc.

Finished the campaign the other night. Absolutely fantastic game and immediately restarted it. I have to say the cover system is great, even better than Gears of War. Best cover system I have experienced. I had a quick browse of the other gameplay options, and there is heaps to do. Very happy with this purchase.

There have been awesome reviews for this game as well. Metacritic gave it a score of 86, IGN gave it 9.3 etc.

How do you start a new game i have finished it also, after the credits rolled it took me back to the menu and i went to continue story and put me at the last checkpoint.

The other modes are pretty good i like face-off when playing online thats pretty much the only other mode i do.

Go to select level to replay, choose first level and difficulty level. It'll start you off again and wipe previous autosaves. Still Keep all weapons etc.

Cheers im looking forward to giving this a crack on realistic i played it on normal first so hopefully with realistic it will take longer to finish.

Finished it on Saturday - essentially a week of on/off play. I got stuck part of the way through (funnily enough the first mission that auto failed you if you didn't STEALTH your way through :p), i did die a few times from going Rambo style through parts of the game. I managed to get through using 50/50 rambo/stealth for most parts.

Not sure how others handled the last mission and a bit, i couldn't do it all stealth... handled most of it by charging in (and the first time that i put the remote mines to use).

I have ZERO chance of getting through Realistic successfully :(, that is how much i suck at these sorts of games.

I like the change up in game play, i appreciate the stealth moments (although black & white vision makes it hard to see at times - especially when the other part of the area is basically pitch black dark).

The co-op is amazing. For those that haven't played the game, it's a complete extra story mode on its own, basically a prequel to the single player story. Not just a tacked on few missions ala MW2 spec ops.

Game really comes into its own on co-op. Having both players with 4 mark executes, just manoeuvring stealthily to the perfect positions for a dual execute to take down 6 plus guys...that shit is cool:D

Best thing about the game is that you're always discovering new ways to do a mission, finding a new pipe to hang off etc. Replay value is massive

9.5 out of 10...so tasty.

The co-op is amazing. For those that haven't played the game, it's a complete extra story mode on its own, basically a prequel to the single player story. Not just a tacked on few missions ala MW2 spec ops.

Game really comes into its own on co-op. Having both players with 4 mark executes, just manoeuvring stealthily to the perfect positions for a dual execute to take down 6 plus guys...that shit is cool:D

Best thing about the game is that you're always discovering new ways to do a mission, finding a new pipe to hang off etc. Replay value is massive

9.5 out of 10...so tasty.

I shall hit you up once I purchase it on the back of that co-op review. :)

Yeah its great. Given the game is pretty much based on not being seen, there are many occasions where you're just berating your co-op partner non stop for getting spotted and bringing 20 guys down on your head, just as you were about to unleash epic hell.

Tis all in good fun, but not to be played with the impatient:D

No worries guys. I'm sorta short on gaming time these days with uni and life in general, but hopefully i'll work it in somewhere.

The trailer with Michael Ironside and whatever song it is "sooner or later" I'm guessing is the name? Is ****en awesome. Been seeing it a lot over here. Would be buying it tomorrow if I had a gaming PC or a 360 almost based on that trailer alone.

Michael Ironside just has a wicked voice for gaming.

Yeah its great. Given the game is pretty much based on not being seen, there are many occasions where you're just berating your co-op partner non stop for getting spotted and bringing 20 guys down on your head, just as you were about to unleash epic hell.

Tis all in good fun, but not to be played with the impatient:D

hahaha yeah my mate who isnt that good at very many games that involve the use of more than two buttons and a brain is always getting spotted yety im the one who gets shot than he comes along to save me taking credit for it after getting me shot. Ill explain to him before going into a room that he should check it out using either the sonar goggles or the little camera never happens just bangs down the door. But its all fun and brilliant.

Finished the single player campaign yesterday. A bit different from the other Splinter Cell's I thought, good game though. Will probably play through the campaign again on the hardest difficulty (played Normal the first time) and try some other ways to get through the levels.

Hunter mode was quality, working through the PEC Challenges now and planning on playing co-op sometime.