St Kilda complain about priority draft access in Oct 2024; now set to gain priority access to a first / second round pick via their NGA access

I wish they'd just do away with the point system.

A FS or Academy bid should have to use an actual pick in the same rnd (or within 17 picks), so no one gets pushed back.

Ie if pick 5 is used to bid on a Brisbane FS last year, they would have to use pick 18. If they traded that away - too bad - they would have to find a way to trade up into 1st rnd. They get a bargain, but at least have to use a first rounder.

If a club has pick 5, but bid is pick 6, they have to use pick 5 or choose not to draft them.

All fs, academy bids should be locked in & matched Pre draft night.

Second round will always start at pick 19

Sounds like the same rules as a northern academy. At least our guys are from QLD v a ridiculous racial thing. Those guys were always going to get drafted lol.

No they’re not. We need draft capital in equal or more value, same as NGA which top 40 NGA players were added to since last year.

No club had access to any academy player taken by Brisbane.

No club has paid fair value for a father son or an academy selection in the first round.

If you want to make it fair, a system requiring you to have a pick within 5 spots of the bid would allow alot more father son and academy kids to slide through to the open pool.

Of which you would then think the system isn’t fair - which is exactly why it would be.

Saints apparently hard done by but WCE, at the bottom of the ladder, will have had their start of 2nd round pick at 30+ 3 drafts in a row.

Will be justice if we end up with pick 2 for OAllen.
St Kilda are agitating against the system. And if they can play a part in a fairier draft then those sort of inequities won't happen anymore.
I don't know why some other club presidents don't support the public push.
Maybe they don't want Caro and her bigfooty parrots calling them whingers.

A FS or Academy bid should have to use an actual pick in the same rnd (or within 17 picks), so no one gets pushed back.

Ie if pick 5 is used to bid on a Brisbane FS last year, they would have to use pick 18. If they traded that away - too bad - they would have to find a way to trade up into 1st rnd. They get a bargain, but at least have to use a first rounder.

If a club has pick 5, but bid is pick 6, they have to use pick 5 or choose not to draft them.

All fs, academy bids should be locked in & matched Pre draft night.

Second round will always start at pick 19
Nah pick within 5.

That would mean an equivalent value was used to obtain a pick if required.

Ashcrofts daicos darcy Heeney Mills etc etc.

What if clubs paid a real price for all of them, then you solve the issue once and for all.

As I said, there isn't anything clubs are doing with academies that the AFL couldn't be doing instead and have that talent go into the general pool. Then if a club from NSW or QLD wants a local, they can acquire a pick in the range of the player to take them or trade for them, what is generally done.
so then there will always be the go home factor as nearly all the players come out of Victoria, SA, WA, yeah makes sense sounds "fair"

Which years in the last 10 years have Collingwood done the Perth trip twice?

How many interstate trips have the clubs made in the past 10 years?

Can you explain how a an extra trip to Perth is only 562 metres further than a trip to Western Sydney?
Oh, Good Lord - as I said last post …. Nobody cares about your ridiculous pedantry.Both clubs travel interstate the same number of times. End of.

Now to get back to the actual thread topic -
Academies are bullshit tbh, the AFL should be handling all grass roots level development and they should all go into the draft. There is no reason the AFL can't be doing what the clubs have been doing. It has just been an excuse to give clubs in NSW and QLD an advantage. …
Actually, prior to the introduction of the Northern academies, the AFL did handle all grass roots level development in the Northern states - and it was a total disaster! I won’t go into all the reason why, but when run from AFL HAW junior development went backwards, players drafted from QLD and NSW plummeted to near zero - and the academies have turned this disaster right around.

We used to have that system and it led to Melbourne's pick 2 bid on Isaac Heeney being matched by the Swans with pick 18. That then led to mass outrage and the points system was introduced the following year.

so then there will always be the go home factor as nearly all the players come out of Victoria, SA, WA, yeah makes sense sounds "fair"

About half come from Victoria, and there are 10 clubs here. My club has a lot of players from SA and WA, not everyone wants to go home.

The point is to create plenty of talent in NSW and QLD so the clubs there have access to good local players, it doesn't mean you should have guaranteed access to them.

I understand why you want to keep the advantage, but it has compromised the competition. It isn't the only rort by a long shot but there is a reason why the VFL/AFL went away from youth development and zoning, because those that were gifted the best zones just dominated and we are repeating mistakes we have already learned lessons from.

Saints apparently hard done by but WCE, at the bottom of the ladder, will have had their start of 2nd round pick at 30+ 3 drafts in a row.

Will be justice if we end up with pick 2 for OAllen.
Nothing is stopping West Coast from also advocating for an uncompromised draft.

Frankly, they should. Just like North, Richmond, Essendon and any other club hanging round the bottom of the ladder since we are the clubs most impacted by how compromised the draft has become.

Oh, Good Lord - as I said last post …. Nobody cares about your ridiculous pedantry.Both clubs travel interstate the same number of times. End of.
You made the claims. Not me.

If you want to drop it because you can’t prove them that's ok. :)

Actually, prior to the introduction of the Northern academies, the AFL did handling all grass roots level development in the Northern states - and it was a total disaster! I won’t go into all the reason why, but, when run from AFL HA, junior development went backwards, players drafted from QLD and NSW plummeted to near zero - and the academies have turned this disaster right around.

They were terrible at a lot of things, they should either step up and do what they are paid to do or they should get sacked and replaced with people who will get results. When I tell my American friends how the AFL works they laugh their arses off, they think I am joking. AFL is the WWE of professional ball sports.

did you know you can do 2 things at once or are you just incompetent, sorry I didnt make the trip from brisbane to gmhba my apologies
I reckon most footy fans could achieve the feat of arguing with random strangers on the internet while their team is playing, but don't.
I hope you enjoyed the win, what you saw of it.

No they’re not. We need draft capital in equal or more value, same as NGA which top 40 NGA players were added to since last year.
That's just false. This is the big issue that we have with all the academy/FS/NGA bullshit, that you're skipping the queue at a discount. Don't just lie about it.

We used to have that system and it led to Melbourne's pick 2 bid on Isaac Heeney being matched by the Swans with pick 18. That then led to mass outrage and the points system was introduced the following year.
That's a heck of a lot better than bundling a bunch of picks in 40s, and then pushing back every club.

Round 2 starts at 30? What a joke

Now to get back to the actual thread topic -

Actually, prior to the introduction of the Northern academies, the AFL did handle all grass roots level development in the Northern states - and it was a total disaster! I won’t go into all the reason why, but when run from AFL HAW junior development went backwards, players drafted from QLD and NSW plummeted to near zero - and the academies have turned this disaster right around.
ok so let the AFL fund ALL the academies, let the clubs run them, but the kids go into the same pool, then the Northern clubs can get "go home" kids like every other state does. If the AFL is funding Brisbane GWS and Sydney academies they the way they are the Suns (~$2m pa). Then we are mostly there already.

The AFL took over the funding of the NGA's, which greatly restricts how much can be spent in every other state.

There has to be a more equitable solution than what we have

ok so let the AFL fund ALL the academies, let the clubs run them, but the kids go into the same pool, then the Northern clubs can get "go home" kids like every other state does. If the AFL is funding Brisbane GWS and Sydney academies they the way they are the Suns (~$2m pa). Then we are mostly there already.

The AFL took over the funding of the NGA's, which greatly restricts how much can be spent in every other state.

There has to be a more equitable solution than what we have
why would the clubs run them for no benefit wtf are you on about

The Saints put forward multiple recommended changes, including:

• Clubs be only able to match one bid in each draft on any Academy or father-son pick
  • Clubs that finish in the top four be blocked from matching a bid on an Academy or father-son pick in the first round of that year's draft
How do you reckon it would've gone down at Ikon Park last year if Carlton had been told you can have Ben Camporeale, but you can't have Lucas Camporeale? How would Collingwood fans have reacted if they were told you can have Callum Brown, but you can't have Josh Daicos? Essendon fans being told you can have Alwyn Davey, but not Jayden Davey? Hawks fans being told you can have Will McCabe, but you can't have Calsher Dear? Bulldogs fans being told you can have Mitch Wallis, but you can't have Tom Liberatore?

Not sure the big Vic clubs are going to be pleased about that suggestion from the Saints.

How do you reckon it would've gone down at Ikon Park last year if Carlton had been told you can have Ben Camporeale, but you can't have Lucas Camporeale? How would Collingwood fans have reacted if they were told you can have Callum Brown, but you can't have Josh Daicos? Essendon fans being told you can have Alwyn Davey, but not Jayden Davey? Hawks fans being told you can have Will McCabe, but you can't have Calsher Dear? Bulldogs fans being told you can have Mitch Wallis, but you can't have Tom Liberatore?

Not sure the big Vic clubs are going to be pleased about that suggestion from the Saints.
Why should it matter how would have "gone down?" If it makes the competition more equitable then the AFL should have the balls to go through with it regardless of what certain clubs think.

I hate doing this, but I’ll do you a solid and give you the answer for free.

The lions aren’t stopping you from being successful. The other teams around you down in Melbourne who pay players millions outside the cap and prevent you from attracting any talent are. TDK is about to choose Carlton over the Saints despite the Saints offering $5m more over the life of the deal. How do you think they’re going to make TDK whole?

St Kilda complain about priority draft access in Oct 2024; now set to gain priority access to a first / second round pick via their NGA access

Write your reply...