no.9
NAME BEN MCEVOY
CLUB ST KILDA
ORIGINAL CLUB MURRAY BUSHRANGERS
DOB 11/07/1989
HEIGHT 200.2 CM
WEIGHT 94.6 KG

Ruckman

Strong marking ruckman/key forward who kicks goals. Averaged seven marks a game in NAB AFL U18 Championships, winning All-Australian honours. Agile with great endurance. AIS/AFL Academy graduate. The winner of the Murray Bushrangers Best and Fairest Award for 2007.From Dederang/Mt Beauty F.C.
STATS
Kicks: 10, Handballs: 7, Disposals: 17, Marks: 8, Goals: 0 (Averages from NAB U18 Championships)

no.42
NAME JACK STEVEN
CLUB ST KILDA
ORIGINAL CLUB GEELONG FALCONS
DOB 28/03/1990
HEIGHT 180 CM
WEIGHT 76.4 KG

Awarded the Geelong Falcons Best and Fairest Award for season 2007.

no.57
FRASER GEHRIG
CLUB ST KILDA
ORIGINAL CLUB ST KILDA
DOB 3/03/1976
HEIGHT 194 CM
WEIGHT 106 KG

no.70 ( the bedverage smokey)
NAME ELJAY CONNORS
CLUB ST KILDA
ORIGINAL CLUB BENDIGO PIONEERS
DOB 1/01/1990
HEIGHT --
WEIGHT --

Re: stkilda draft picks

Very happy with that.

Picked up a future ruckmen which obviously we need. Getting King to the club looks an even better decision now so he can teach the new kid. Also has Gardiner to help him along.

I take it Jack Stevens is a nuggety in an under midfielder? Another good pickup!! Does anyone know if he is built? Skinny midfielders dont cut it!!

Recruiting Fraser again? Wanted to see Kosi play FF. Not very happy with that. Would of rathered we take another well muscled midfielder.

Whats the stats on Eljay?

Overall pretty good with the first 2 picks. Happy we didn't go after any of those 190cm KPP players as we have enough. Got the ruckman and midfielder we so desperately need.

:)

Eljay Connors he is Daniel Connors little brother. I have only seen him play once ad think he only played a few TAC games. He needs a fair bit of weight.

well i think ur right arrowsmith was stiff i think he will be top 5 in rookie draft good player so i hope he gets a go i hope we get a cahnce to rookie him but u never know. i happy with our draft picks and stevens doesn't sound too bad geelong had a good team adn he won the b&f so i think we have done well and and as always we have a bevo roughie so i am curious to see how he goes i am excited. they decribe mcevoy as an ottens/lade type good ruckman who can kick goals i am excited got the MIGHTY SAINTERS

IT's just great to see we've picked up a possible future ruckman as well as having our beloved one back(the gtrain).
saints fans can sleep easy. lets just thank the footy gods the g train stop at the right station.

Rippa G

Eljay is about 6 foot skinny but bulking up as a midfielder. Was out most of this season becuase of collapsed lungs similur to the melbourne player this year. He is a quality quick outside player fairly different to his brother Daniel of Richmond.

No Gaertner. :(

Lol, when I heard Myke Cooks name I was like. Where do I know that kid from, and me mates like 'dude he was a beda boy'. And I was like ah yeah, good on him. Chat about Gaertner overshadowed him this year I guess.

Pretty happy with McEvoy. Was really just a toss of the coin between Rance and him I reckon. Twas the first pick were there was actually a small pause lol. Knew they were thnkin hard.

been told by his home club officials that jack steven is a gun and will be a very good midfielder for the saints. Harvey and Baker will finish up soon and he is apparently a mix of the two. Good get:thumbsu:

Copy of my post from Draft and Trades board:

I think that the Saints have taken a completely different strategy here. These are all genuine long term players who all require patience in their development. This may indicate that the club is happy (after the recruitment of Big Frase) with the squad that they've got. The three youngsters (and the two rookies to come) are genuine investments in our future.

Look at what the Kangaroos are doing - their picks reflect a need to get results now - they are desperately filling holes for their immediate needs.

Ours is a much more long term program.

Our current squad has been topped up by trades - addressing all our needs.

Now we look to the future - what long term prospects are there out there - two of our selections are bottom aged and all three will need time. There may be a bit of truth to the assertion of where these draft picks might have gone next year.

I am happy without being overwhelmed.

All is good.

Also add Schneider, Dempster, King and C Gardiner to todays draft and it tells a very good story.
McEvoy, Stevens, Gehrig, Connors, Schneider, Dempster, King, C Gardiner.
As I stated several tiomes before, Rance was nowhere near a top 10 and never in the picture. Henderson was also strong on our radar but the Lions were never going to let him slip through.

Very happy with our selections. Very happy fraser did not end up eslewhere, as that would be heart breaking.

One thing about McEvoy is he trained very little this year and really got by on talent. Don't think his body is ready for a heavy preseason so don't expect much from 2008, good chance he'll get some sort of stress injury trying to keep up. However once he adjusts to the city lifestyle and gets used to the training load of AFL football I think the is a good chance you will have the best ruckmen from this years draft.

Jack Steven sounds really good. Will he get a run this year?
I am surprised we didn't look for a spare tall backman.

Goose, Goddard, Gilbert, Max, Sam Fisher, Raph Clarke - enough tall backmen.

Unless McEvoy proves the Gehrig replacement in the forward line, I think we should have picked a speedy midfielder. King is only 29, Gardiner 27, and Kosi 25.

Now we have two development ruckmen (McEvoy and Van Rheenan), 3 main ruckmen (above), and two back ups (Rix and Blake). I think there was a TV show called "Eight is Enough" and I think "Seven is too much".

Rix is servicable in the ruck with some room for improvement and Blake is just not a ruckman but filled a gaping hole we had.

King and Gardi are filling a short term hole for 1 - 3 years and Kosi IMO is being wasted in the ruck and should be used in our forward line.

McEvoy was the obvious choice to fill the ruck positions, in tandem with Van Rheenan in the next 2 - 3 years. If they both hit their stride around the same time or thereabouts, it will be a great duo.

Rix is servicable in the ruck with some room for improvement and Blake is just not a ruckman but filled a gaping hole we had.

King and Gardi are filling a short term hole for 1 - 3 years and Kosi IMO is being wasted in the ruck and should be used in our forward line.

McEvoy was the obvious choice to fill the ruck positions, in tandem with Van Rheenan in the next 2 - 3 years. If they both hit their stride around the same time or thereabouts, it will be a great duo.

Can we still delist Rix and Blake or are they under contract? There AFL Career might end next year

I still think Kosi is a FF

Can someone tell me whether Van Rheenan can actually play?

One thing about McEvoy is he trained very little this year and really got by on talent. Don't think his body is ready for a heavy preseason so don't expect much from 2008, good chance he'll get some sort of stress injury trying to keep up. However once he adjusts to the city lifestyle and gets used to the training load of AFL football I think the is a good chance you will have the best ruckmen from this years draft.

Ben is a mate of my brothers and he says: His been training all year and has played vic country, his mum is a marathon runner and his dad is a cyclist, Ben can also get in the high 14's of the beep test. So if he wasnt up for the training St.Kilda are the one's who have made a mistake getting him. Obviousley he is up for the challege of AFL other wise he wouldn't have made it this far.

Can we still delist Rix and Blake or are they under contract? There AFL Career might end next year

I still think Kosi is a FF

Wasn't Blakey top 10 in the B&F in 2007? Why on earth delist him; he's a great spare parts player, fills in for a number of roles. Maybe not the greatest skill set, but all heart.

Rixy would be more likely to go when his contract expires ...

I agree with saintdac Blake is a useful player he fills holes, and progressed under Ross Lyon. I think he gets unfair treatment sometimes. :thumbsu:

Can someone tell me whether Van Rheenan can actually play?

At the moment he wouldn't be a safe bet to make it. He is a good size, is athletic and has a great attitude, but skills are poor and he struggles to get into the game. Ruckwork is just ok. Not a natural footballer.

It is hard to make a judgement on any ruckman at age 20, but if I had to guess I would say he will only ever be at the Rix level.

Is a bit of a worrying sign that he wasn't named in the best once at any level in 2007, when he mostly played for the Casey reserves.

At the moment he wouldn't be a safe bet to make it. He is a good size, is athletic and has a great attitude, but skills are poor and he struggles to get into the game. Ruckwork is just ok. Not a natural footballer.

It is hard to make a judgement on any ruckman at age 20, but if I had to guess I would say he will only ever be at the Rix level.

Is a bit of a worrying sign that he wasn't named in the best once at any level in 2007, when he mostly played for the Casey reserves.

Thanks.