St Kilda Player Returns Irregular Drug Test Sample

• Thread starter Thread starter Defacto

FWIW, reading posts on this thread has shown me that Saints supporters want this to change.
Unlike Essendscum we seem quite united and straight down the line on this.
Maybe one player jettisoned from the list due to being stupid and taking something they shouldn't would be a good move for our playing group.
If they are really that stupid, maybe the best thing would be for them to front up to the club doctor before taking a vitamin tablet!!!!!!!!!!

I think it's a bit early to state the player is stupid etc. perhaps he did not know as undoubtedly some Essendon players did not. That does not mean to say he needs to escape sanctions however. AFL is becoming more and more a choice in life. At a young age you make a decision to forgo a more traditional career and go all in for footy. Real pressures build up and desperate measures can be taken. You need to recover to get the next contract, you KNOW that other players are doing it so why shouldn't you etc etc. they may seem like stupid considerations and certainly they are unfair to fair competitors, but the pressures are real. What of a player that takes drugs to improve his next performance, get a contract extension, quits the drugs and goes on to play 200 more games? Vs the player that plays fair and then misses out and ends up a car salesman?

Cheats must be punished, however to simply state they player is stupid is in itself a stupid and gross simplification of the real pressures of a more professional and profitable competition.

Gaelic footy anybody?!?!

I'm not going to jump to conclusions on the back of one vague Caroline Wilson article with her usual "it's believed" and "it's understood" garbage like she did with the Sam Fisher off-season story which amounted to nothing.

So far there has been no news from any other media sources or from St Kilda or the AFL, I'd like to get some more details before lashing out at the player(s) or the club. There may be nothing in it or just an innocent mistake but it's still disappointing to see us involved in another scandal which tarnishes the reputation of the club and the entire playing group.

Obviously if a player is guilty of taking a banned substance they need to be punished and hopefully it's just a one off, isolated incident rather than a club wide problem like Essendon.

You criticised the club for it's handling of Lovett. Should we not have sacked him?

You criticised the club for it's handling of Gram. Should we not have sacked him?

You criticised the club for it's handling of Milne. Should we have sacked him?

Yet Butterss was good? Despite completely bungling his relationship with the coach, wasting $1m on Blight, butchering relations with the council, and bringing in Bill Express (who went into administration).

Thanks Squizzy :)

Lovett - should never have been drafted and had multiple alcohol related issues before it came to the final issue.

Gram - from what I have heard the club gave him multiple chances and intervened (pushed under the carpet) mutiple times before it actually got to this stage.

Milne - I have a personal view which I choose not to make public other than their latest handling seemed to fracture the playing group

Butters - there is another great choice of management

Tell me why we always seem to have scandals - compared to another club on one premiership like the Bulldogs

Don't get me wrong, I love the Saints as my Uncle played for them and he used to take me down into the rooms to meet stars like Plugger and Winmar. When I ask him about them he tells me the same thing... "We have always had culture and management issues"

All I want is a club which is respected, if not for success but for its integrity.

Thanks Squizzy :)

Lovett - should never have been drafted and had multiple alcohol related issues before it came to the final issue.

Gram - from what I have heard the club gave him multiple chances and intervened (pushed under the carpet) mutiple times before it actually got to this stage.

Milne - I have a personal view which I choose not to make public other than their latest handling seemed to fracture the playing group

Butters - there is another great choice of management

Tell me why we always seem to have scandals - compared to another club on one premiership like the Bulldogs

Don't get me wrong, I love the Saints as my Uncle played for them and he used to take me down into the rooms to meet stars like Plugger and Winmar. When I ask him about them he tells me the same thing... "We have always had culture and management issues"

All I want is a club which is respected, if not for success but for its integrity.

No worries.

So Lyon pursued Lovett, but it's the board's fault. :rolleyes:

Why wouldn't Gram get warnings and some initial support to resolve his issues?

Whatever happened with Milne would have caused issues for someone.

Not even sure what your point is on Butterss (you pumped him up previously).

Off-field player issues are prevalent everywhere, but you just cherry-pick a club to suit a weak argument?

But on the Dogs, WTF are you talking about:
2005 - sexual assault allegations against 2 players.
2010 - Akermanis. Homophobic references after repeated warnings about conduct.
2010 - drunken exploits during post-season in Hong Kong.
2011 - Sherman. Racial slur.
2012 - Liberatore. Found unconscious in possession of drugs.
2012 - sledged another player about his mother, initially denying he said anything (but getting found out), after a previous comment about a player's sick son.

And the Bulldogs fans are some of the worst when it comes to screaming "RAPIST!!!" at games.

The irony of a character reference from the systematic cheating scum Essendope. Didn't Hird give one as well? Whatever it takes (is covered by the consent form).

No worries.

So Lyon pursued Lovett, but it's the board's fault. :rolleyes:

Why wouldn't Gram get warnings and some initial support to resolve his issues?

Whatever happened with Milne would have caused issues for someone.

Not even sure what your point is on Butterss (you pumped him up previously).

Off-field player issues are prevalent everywhere, but you just cherry-pick a club to suit a weak argument?

But on the Dogs, WTF are you talking about:
2005 - sexual assault allegations against 2 players.
2010 - Akermanis. Homophobic references after repeated warnings about conduct.
2010 - drunken exploits during post-season in Hong Kong.
2011 - Sherman. Racial slur.
2012 - Liberatore. Found unconscious in possession of drugs.
2012 - sledged another player about his mother, initially denying he said anything (but getting found out), after a previous comment about a player's sick son.

And the Bulldogs fans are some of the worst when it comes to screaming "RAPIST!!!" at games.

see where you are coming from but compare it to our issues
2 x rape/sexual assault court cases
1 case of multiple breaches of AVO
1 case of proving a minor with alcohol (thankfully we shut this one down)
1 drinking driving charge
1 case of multiple players abusing prescription medicine
1 case of abusing a lady at an airport
1 case of abusing the public in NZ

could go on

Not sure the NZ one was substantiated.

Think the airport one is a stretch - IIRC she was being a pain in the arse.

I'm sure there are plenty of issues for all clubs, including a heap I don't know about (or can't remember).

Lets see what the brains corp release in their statement, which is due for release at any moment

Squizzy1970 - not sure if I have ever pumped Butterss tyres at any stage, my post must have come across incorrectly and if I did my apologies to anyone who is rational - because I must have been completely irrational and/or delusional.

If you can't seen the club has taken WAY too many hits in recent times Squizz?

I mean, the only sponsor that will touch us can't even be printed on the kids jumpers.

It's inconceivable we've made the headlines again.

If you can't seen the club has taken WAY too many hits in recent times Squizz?

I mean, the only sponsor that will touch us can't even be printed on the kids jumpers.

It's inconceivable we've made the headlines again.

Yeah - we've taken a hit on one Milne issue 3 separate times at least!!!

It is not inconceivable. It (an incident involving a St Kilda player) will happen again. As it will with other clubs.

People screw up.

The media certainly have (in reporting some of the issues).

And your sponsor comment? Gaming companies are prolific sporting sponsors. As are alcohol companies.

Don't confuse me seeking some balance in people's comments as thinking the board has done a wonderful job.