Stand up for your Captain!

multigrain

Rookie
Saturday 21st of April 2012, a perfect autumn day sees a flying Carlton team face the perfect enemy Essendon. Within 20 seconds of the first bounce Sam Lonergan took the opportunity to bury an unsuspecting Carrazzo into the MCG turf causing obvious shoulder damage. With the luxury of hindsight it was an injury that would rule him out for the bulk of our season.

Sitting in the Great Southern Stand I was immediately angry over the heavy tackle, concerned for Carrazzo. To my surprise this feeling was not shared by Carlton. Not one Carlton player remonstrated with Lonergan following the incident. Not even a simple push and shove. Within three hours we were categorically pulled apart, derailing our season.

Watching the game on Friday night I could not help but notice symmetry between that such incident and that of the Murphy concussion. Not one Carlton player remonstrated with Hodge following the incident involving our CAPTAIN. Not even a simple push and shove. Funnily enough Hodge also went on to rattle Henderson in possibly a more dubious incident, and history was repeating itself again.

It may only be a minor issue to some but I would like to see our team show more physical intent in such situations. Hodge was clearly playing to hurt in his attack at the man and contest, and from a fans perspective it looked as though he was allowed to go on his merry way after each incident. I'd like to see someone stand up and return the favour from time to time. To be a better team IMO they have to learn how to bully and intermediate; how to hurt opposition players when the opportunity presents itself.

Waite drove a young Taylor Duryea into the ground late in the third quarter, resulting in a costly down field. Although the result was poor from a team perspective the intent was correct. He was tackling to take that player out of the game.

I don't want them to remonstrate after the event.

I want them to start getting in first.

Target the skilled players, put doubt in their minds.

Let them remonstrate with us, let them be outraged, put them off their game.

There is almost no scope for payback in modern footy.

No. Don't do anything, rather to do nothing and get on with the game rather than retaliate and give away a stupid free.

Makes me wonder why our blokes aren't upset enough about it to do something...anything.

The Carrots one last year was a bit weak, but there's every possibility the players (like a lot of people including me when I saw it) thought it was just a genuine contest where Murph was just off the right position.

I don't want them to remonstrate after the event.

I want them to start getting in first.

Target the skilled players, put doubt in their minds.

Let them remonstrate with us, let them be outraged, put them off their game.

There is almost no scope for payback in modern footy.

Taking opposition players out of the game through physical injury will always help a team to win some games. If I was a Hawthorn supporter I'd be extremely impressed with the way Hodge played that game. Took our Captain out, slowed down another and didn't even get rubbed out.

My argument relates to the mindset of this Football club. I'm not saying someone needs to king hit Hodge, I'm only arguing that the intent from that point should be to make things extremely hard for him. Smash him whenever the opportunity presents, focus on his dodgy knee, try to hurt hm without risking weeks. It surprises me that the surrounding Carlton players weren't even angry, and he received basically no untoward physical pressure from that point on. Good teams need enforces, that (as you insinuated) place doubt in the mind of oppositions players. IMO Waite, Robinson and Judd seem to the standouts at our club, but more should follow their lead.

Makes me wonder why our blokes aren't upset enough about it to do something...anything.
Would like to see a little more passion when the Captain is taken out

No. Don't do anything, rather to do nothing and get on with the game rather than retaliate and give away a stupid free.
has to be a level of standing up for yourself and drawing the line. you let another team walk over you. they will do it.

as mentioned we need to be the aggressor in the first place.

Taking opposition players out of the game through physical injury will always help a team to win some games. If I was a Hawthorn supporter I'd be extremely impressed with the way Hodge played that game. Took our Captain out, slowed down another and didn't even get rubbed out.

My argument relates to the mindset of this Football club. I'm not saying someone needs to king hit Hodge, I'm only arguing that the intent from that point should be to make things extremely hard for him. Smash him whenever the opportunity presents, focus on his dodgy knee, try to hurt hm without risking weeks. It surprises me that the surrounding Carlton players weren't even angry, and he received basically no untoward physical pressure from that point on. Good teams need enforces, that (as you insinuated) place doubt in the mind of oppositions players. IMO Waite, Robinson and Judd seem to the standouts at our club, but more should follow their lead.

Targeting Hodge would be pointless anyway. If you can run through him, by all means, but the odds of actually knocking him or Mitchell are pretty slim.

What you have to do is target EVERYONE on the other team. Lonergan got Carrots, but it would not have mattered if he'd tackled Murph, Judd, Simpson they all would have got the same treatment. May not have broken their shoulders, but the intent is there.

Lloyd would probably have loved to have smashed Hodge a few years ago, but the opportunity didn't present itself so he took out Sewell, who's a ball player not a truck.

Targeting Hodge would be pointless anyway. If you can run through him, by all means, but the odds of actually knocking him or Mitchell are pretty slim.

What you have to do is target EVERYONE on the other team. Lonergan got Carrots, but it would not have mattered if he'd tackled Murph, Judd, Simpson they all would have got the same treatment. May not have broken their shoulders, but the intent is there.

Lloyd would probably have loved to have smashed Hodge a few years ago, but the opportunity didn't present itself so he took out Sewell, who's a ball player not a truck.

Fair call. It is better to have an overall intent than focus on one. I guess the point is, if Carlton did not already have such an aggressive mindset, I would hope that a serious blow to our Captain may have sparked a more obvious and angry response.

That's not our boys. We have more steel this year, but that dirty mongrel streak seems something ingrained at the Hawks and Bombers. Probably a Sheedy hangover for the Bombers and a as for Clarkson, well we know what he considers good footy.

Got sick of watching Carlton players sit by while Judd got pummelled week in, week out. Any wonder the poor guy lost it on a few occasions?

Now I see it happening to Murphy.

Some kind of tall poppy syndrome at the club ... if you're at the top of heap you can deal with it yourself. It's the part of our team I like the least.

Someone should have made life tough for Hodge. Don't have to break his jaw Diesel style, but make him realise that he's in for a tough night too. Agree with all the stuff about getting the ball first, not giving away stupid frees but there's a physical pressure that has to be applied in this game, especially against those snipers from Hawthorn.

If we are talking about taking the opposition players out of the game, it has to be done within the rules of the game... like Robbo or Bell running through someone and knocking them arse over tit to get to the ball. If both of them hit the player at various stages of the game, then it is all over for their target.

Just like in the forward line. No one is going to willingly get in the hole in front of Casboult if he is on the lead after what happened in the NAB cup match and again in one of the Bullants games. Just the same as no one was really willing to get in front of Fev when he was on the lead. He hurt people... he even put one of our own players in hospital (Setanta)... just like Casboult knocked 10 shades of shit out of Robbo last weekend.

Gibbs is starting to throw his weight around a bit more these days. His block for Murphy in the plays of the day was about 4cm away from splitting someone down the middle. Since his move into the midfield he has started bullocking a lot more and will only get better with it. I can't wait to see him seriously hit someone hard.

If it can be done within the rules of the game... then the guys should be doing it.

I don't know that "flying the flag" is all that important over little nothing things. Would rather we got on with things, Waite doesn't need another excuse to get suspended, it would start to push the boundaries of team discipline. It needs to be dished out fairly in general play if we are going to get rough. Besides, give the umpires a chance to pick one out that could go either way, it's not going to us.

I don't know that "flying the flag" is all that important over little nothing things. Would rather we got on with things, Waite doesn't need another excuse to get suspended, it would start to push the boundaries of team discipline. It needs to be dished out fairly in general play if we are going to get rough.

Perhaps flying the flag imply"s you care about your captain.

I think Mick summed it up pretty well last week when he was talking about how jeffy garlett didn't complain. The way Mick thought was that our blokes just wanna get on with playing footy instead of drawing attention and have a sulk about things.
Now I'm not saying don't retaliate and stick up for your mates, but with our list there are generally more somewhat "introverted" types of personalities than the opposite.

Perhaps flying the flag imply"s you care about your captain.
Yeah but the way the game is now, it's all about reacting, spread and speed. We all come in to remonstrate, the ball goes up, they spread and it costs us a goal and in the context of this season with our close margins, possibly the match. I think this sort of thing is going by the way side. Get it done but get it done at the next opportunity in general play.

I think Mick summed it up pretty well last week when he was talking about how jeffy garlett didn't complain. The way Mick thought was that our blokes just wanna get on with playing footy instead of drawing attention and have a sulk about things.
Now I'm not saying don't retaliate and stick up for your mates, but with our list there are generally more somewhat "introverted" types of personalities than the opposite.

I want mongrel not private school boys.

I don't know that "flying the flag" is all that important over little nothing things. Would rather we got on with things, Waite doesn't need another excuse to get suspended, it would start to push the boundaries of team discipline. It needs to be dished out fairly in general play if we are going to get rough. Besides, give the umpires a chance to pick one out that could go either way, it's not going to us.
This.

Supporters still haven't forgiven Davies who flew the flag and smashed Darling with a tackle in the finals. Idiots still blame him for costing us the game with his tackle which was before half time. They can't have it both ways. They'll only bitch if we bring in Davies who ragdolled Caolan Mooney into the gutter and the fence surrounding Cramer St this year. Destroyed Mooney more than the ****er who did the same thing to Collins earlier in the same game.

The Op asks a relevant Question and it is one i have pondered ,where the hell is Tom Bell.
Rookie list. Our hands were tied by having too many list cloggers signed to 2 year deals under Ratten.

Hence why I'm calling for Cachia to be elevated at season's end, so we don't have a repeat of tying him to a nominated rookie spot and thus denying another of breathing space. Which means clearing enough spots on the list, obviously.

Been happening for ages, just watch the stoppages, Judd, Murph etc get dry rooted, bumped, hit etc, Mick sez it all the time, they're a quiet humble group......

They need some anger in em down there..... piss em off a bit, hide their gear, turn off the hot water, pay em late, harass their wives at socials. ;):D

I recall David Parkin mentioning in an interview (OpenMike ?) that in the 82 GF he told players that if one of the teammates went down they were to knock out the closest Richmond player and when they woke-up tell them that was for my mate down the ground.

Not sure what players are instructed to do today but based on what I saw last Friday night it seems it is a 'just walk on by'.

I want mongrel not private school boys.
Good for you. Tell that to Betts and Waite who decided to show some agro and were rewarded at the tribunal for their efforts.

I'd prefer to see my team win by beating a side on their merits, NOT based on the institutionalised thuggery endemic to the Clarkson school of 'tough guys' such as the weekend and the talent-less Campbell Brown.

The game has moved on from 1945.