Stanton Best Midfeilder??

Stanton's supercoach score should improve slightly this year but not significantly. I wouldn't have him in my team this year as there are other players who will improve (relativly) more.

I had Stanton in supercoach/dreamteam in previous years and now the boat has sailed in terms of getting him at a cheap price.

mate jobe is one of the smartest footballers in the league.

Sorry mate he may be "smart" at getting his hands on the ball in a contest but he's got absolutely nothing on Hird.

Far too often he chooses the wrong option when he has the ball, which creates the perception he turns it over because of his foot skills.

there's a difference between footy smarts and foot skills
obviously he can't be compared to hirdy, yet.........

Sorry mate he may be "smart" at getting his hands on the ball in a contest but he's got absolutely nothing on Hird.

Far too often he chooses the wrong option when he has the ball, which creates the perception he turns it over because of his foot skills.

Agree with yr first statement, definitely disagree with your second. Aside from his foot skills, he has a great footy brain.

if he can get back to his form from 2000-2005 he is probably our best midfielder. from what i have heard he has really worked on his disposal over the pre-season and he has never been fitter. i really hope jj can recapture his aa form as it will mean we will be very very competitive.

there's a difference between footy smarts and foot skills

Im not talking about his foot skills specifically.

Thats why I said the perception that his footskills let him down is more to do with the fact he tends to choose the wrong option when he has the ball going forward.

Jason Johnson anyone?

Yes Longy,I agree. We will look to JJ once again to control the middle and to direct his young off-siders in Lovett,Watson,Stanton and Monfries.

Stanton is an interesting one.

Can he play anywhere other than wing?

I have my doubts. I can't see him starting in the middle and extracting the ball or reading it of packs and scrimages.

I think he'll be one of those great wingman but in terms of best midfielder I am not so sure.

i reckon stant's acceleration in the middle will be invaluable this year. if jj and watto can dish the ball out to him he will have a great year in the centre.

Stanton Best Midfeilder??