Stephen Hill article

• Thread starter Thread starter smkwd

I bet Daniel Rich has never got up at 5am to make bricks.

Thanks, it is a good read. Shows a different side to Hill which I did not know about. All positive.

Of course not, bricks are way too dangerous for lil richie to play with. Instead he was sent by his mummy to go play in the sandpit with something less sharp that couldn't hurt him. Unfortunatley the other kids thought this was hilarious and knocked over his crappy sand castle and buried Daniel for being a mummys boy

2502348611_91d5ef28c4.jpg

Daniel reminds me of the sort of young bloke who wouldnt get out of bed to pack groceries for less than $30 p/h... would have been too busy shining his boots 14 hours a day anyway

Great article btw :thumbsu:

Thought the article came across casting a bit of a slur on the character of Rich... maybe a bit of a lazy bugger?

Its like the two come as a media package... you can never have a story on one without the other... both of them must be sick of it..

I wish we had the picks to get Rich and Hill, both look good to me.

I knew a bit about Hill, however when we took him at 3 I did have a mild anxiety attack .....however I've always been happy that our drafters hit the mark far more often than they miss.

I posted at the time that Milko and I (both devout West Perth fans) sought the opinion of a person within the walls of the mighty Joondy Cards .....his reply helped a lot 'one of the most determined and hard working young men I have ever met'.

Really happy with him, and to be honest Suban looks like a fine pick too.

Just need Ballantyne to fire to complete the trifecta.

Duffield wrote many good articles about Freo. I've always said that he's probably the only balanced journo in this state.

you must seriously......and i mean SERIOUSLY on drugs. As far as non-biased journalism goes, duff is up there with the worst of them.

A lot of kids get up at 5am to go to work. For those who've done it week in and week out with nothing but their dreams and ambitions he is an example that it can happen.
What a great story.
He makes you want to ruffle his hair and say "good one mate".

IMHO Duffield is a fairly balanced journo most of the time - streets ahead of the carp that Ray Wislon, Shayne Hope, Steve Butler, Ray Hagdorn and his little toy-boy Jay-jay "Gimpy" Clark produce every week.

Hill just strikes me (from what I know of his non-footy background) as a hard-working, committed young fella. I reckon he has some fairly clear values too - lets just hope that the pressure of becoming an AFL superstar doesn't mean that the hangers-on and fairweather friends get to him. He's all the things in character and values that Cuz, Chick and JCarr will never be.

you must seriously......and i mean SERIOUSLY on drugs. As far as non-biased journalism goes, duff is up there with the worst of them.

I don't know what you expect from journos and how would you define non-biased. His criticism is more often than not, very valid and thoroughly deserved. I don't mind reading constructive and balanced criticism in the papers. He gave us a belting after the St.Kilda game and rightly so.
At the same time, whenever Freo deserved praise he is the one to give it. It would be very easy for him to have pro-Freo bias since his nephew is playing for us, but he hasn't.
If someone like Shane Richmond is your desired "non-biased" journo than there's no point of having a discussion.

I don't know what you expect from journos and how would you define non-biased. His criticism is more often than not, very valid and thoroughly deserved. I don't mind reading constructive and balanced criticism in the papers. He gave us a belting after the St.Kilda game and rightly so.
At the same time, whenever Freo deserved praise he is the one to give it. It would be very easy for him to have pro-Freo bias since his nephew is playing for us, but he hasn't.
If someone like Shane Richmond is your desired "non-biased" journo than there's no point of having a discussion.

He, just like much of the rest of the media reports absolute dribble with no substance to it at all. As well as being biased towards that mob up the road, he is more than happy to take a half baked idea and run with it as gospel. Sure he may write the odd piece such as this article on Hill after we've had a win but the minute we have any sort of loss, even if competitive, he'll be out asking for Harvey's head etc etc. Seriosuly, so far this season we've played poorly on the whole, we now have 2 wins and suddenly blokes like this are our best friends again.

it'd be nice just to have some consistency from blokes like Duffield instead of articles like this after a win and then articles about the club being dead and going nowhere after a loss.

My hatred of Duff cam after seeing him live on a footy panel a couple years ago, just complete and utterly biased, the exact opposite of what a good journo should be aka Gerad Healy