Stevens' Half-Arsed Preparation

Probably fair enough he's been cut a bit of slack due to his neck situation but FMD, this is footy - it's serious.

The article said he has put on weight in the last 4-6 weeks........not sure the neck excuse really holds up.

The guy is eating/drinking too much and the wrong things - poor discipline and attitude

I did. Can't help wondering if his condition is a consequence of being passed over. Or if he had got it he might have prepared better.

If Stevo was highly reagarded by the MC as a leader I suspect he would have beaten Lance to the job.

I dont think he was seriously considered once Judd indicated he would take the job on

really typifies the last 5 years. Yes Stevens shouldnt be eating or drinking so much, but surely someone, someone at the club could see it and say enough is enough mate.

it is really unexceptable. Someone who was so close to being captain and and a senior player of the team, what kind of example are we setting the kids?

seriously, can we have any worse press this season? jesus! something good must happen soon.

he should be banned for a week

The culture/leadership at Carlton is still ordinary as reflected in the attuidue of both Fevola and Stevens we will continue to move forward as a club until we see a very significant improvement from our senior players Stevens, Fevola this is hardly setting a good example for the younger players.

Does anyone think Stevo should be dropped to the VFL for a couple of weeks to send a message to the playing list that those who don't prepare properly will not be tolerated? I think we as a club are just about reaching the time where we should start making some tough decisions in relation to senior players that aren't doing the right thing.

Absolutely bloody disgraceful the shape he is in, clearly back on the piss again.

I have it on very good authority, in fact it is 100% correct and I am not one to make up rumors about this sort of thing, that Nick Stevens the VC of the footy club was out til at least 5 am on Saturday night/Sunday morning on the piss as seen by a very close friend of mine after an absolutely disgraceful team and personal performance that very night where he looked considerably out of shape.

Absolutely ____in disgraceful and should be hung drawn and quartered. According to my mate he was the only Carlton player present at the hot Melbourne Nightspot. I feel it my duty to inform hard workin members like myself on bf that this is the contempt at which the leaders of our club are showing towards the supporters, members and the cub in general. We expect better.

I did. Can't help wondering if his condition is a consequence of being passed over. Or if he had got it he might have prepared better.

Let me say first up that what Stevo did last pre-season was great and he deserves credit for it.

BUT

Sadly, I don't think you are far off the mark here. The only pre-season Stevo had done the right thing (so actually maybe he shouldn't be praised just for doing what he should anyway).....but the only one was when he was a chance at being Captain. To his credit last year when he didn't get it he still pushed hard and was in career best form.

Now he has trained hard again, missed out again, and seems to have let himself go.

He shouldn't need a carrot, such as the captaincy, dangled in fron tof him to keep him fit.
FFS, if this was the right thing we'd have 22 co-captains.

Having Judd at the club and knowing that his efforts will help pull the club out of the mire should be enough of a carrot.........

.......is it me or does he start looking like Lance more and more each day.

I said all this at the time they were picking the captain, and I'm glad they didn't go with him. Lets hope he can get the kilo's off before his knees start giving way. Then he WILL become Lance.

i am going to give the guy a chance

has at times struggled in an underperformed team

but i think he is working his @ss off and reports of extra's is no doubt late but required.

i think he should at least if not done already follow in the lead of Fev and have a boozeless season and also i think the blues need a committment from Stevo to A) stay off the junk food for the season and B) during the mid season break, take him to a fat farm!!!

FFS, we have Judd at the club, all the players should be taking a leaf out his book on how to prepare for the season and to get yourself in the best possible shape. They should be so fortunate to have a player of that calibre at the club.

Just don't admire Judd and hope he get us out of this rut how about actually following his lead becuase Judd alone won't get us out of this.

FFS, we have Judd at the club, all the players should be taking a leaf out his book on how to prepare for the season and to get yourself in the best possible shape. They should be so fortunate to have a player of that calibre at the club.

Just don't admire Judd and hope he get us out of this rut how about actually following his lead becuase Judd alone won't get us out of this.
So, what, are your lips superglued to Judd's arse or can they come off now?

Because Chris is at the club, doesn't mean each player has to follow him around, peeping around corners to see every thing the guy does. I'm sure Juddy wouldn't want that either.

Does anyone think Stevo should be dropped to the VFL for a couple of weeks to send a message to the playing list that those who don't prepare properly will not be tolerated? I think we as a club are just about reaching the time where we should start making some tough decisions in relation to senior players that aren't doing the right thing.
We did that with our last captain.

The fact that he has come back from a fairly serious neck injury matter to anybody on this board? I know it's the AFL and lack of fitness is not tolerated but surely you can understand. I can't believe what I am reading. He probably wouldn't be playing seniors in a good side at the moment but considering we don't have any great depth yet he is required to play a little under-done or should I say over-done.

Give the guy a chance, he has been our best performer since he has come to the club in an awful era, I would want a few drinks here and there myself!

Stevo will get back into shape.

The fact that he has come back from a fairly serious neck injury matter to anybody on this board? I know it's the AFL and lack of fitness is not tolerated but surely you can understand. I can't believe what I am reading. He probably wouldn't be playing seniors in a good side at the moment but considering we don't have any great depth yet he is required to play a little under-done or should I say over-done.

Give the guy a chance, he has been our best performer since he has come to the club in an awful era, I would want a few drinks here and there myself!

Stevo will get back into shape.

you cant put the neck as total blame for the problem. he was doing drills last year with no contact and running laps and he started pre-season earlier as well with no contact!

so he hasnt had any setbacks therefore has taken part in 99% of training sessions!!

i think with that amount of training into you, you would be in some good shape at least!!

you cant put the neck as total blame for the problem. he was doing drills last year with no contact and running laps and he started pre-season earlier as well with no contact!

so he hasnt had any setbacks therefore has taken part in 99% of training sessions!!

i think with that amount of training into you, you would be in some good shape at least!!

I supose when you put it like that I can see where you all are coming from. I think as the season progresses he should improve his fitness each week. I just doubt that it's a choice of his to be in this situation, there is so much hype at the club you would think if possible he would set himself for a ripper year.

Stevens' Half-Arsed Preparation