Space
Yes, we won the flag.

But as I drive to and from work each day I listen to SEN, I listen to Sports Today (3AW), I read the papers and I follow the online commentary.

And the consensus is that we are the team to beat, with the gameplan to beat.

There is nothing ironic in this, no winks or sarcasm. WE ARE THE # ONE

In 40 years of supporting Richmond, after our dominance into the early 80s we have never been the yardstick. Even in the drought years when we did well it was always a Carlton, Essendon, Geelong, Brisbane etc who were well ahead of us and we were just making up numbers.

Struth, in every year since 1980 everyone has been up there - even St. Kilda and Melbourne. We were always perennial also-rans.

Even with a flag (which I adored) to hear us as the team to beat in 2018 is a strange feeling and one tghat I am unaccustomed to. But I love it all the same.

Anyone else feeling this same weird (but great) anxiety?

The knives the media threw into us then they turned it into our flesh when we were low and now playing the violins because we are on top.

The media disgust me.

Please win back to back Richmond so our Tiger teeth can bite and twist deep.

Yes I think I get where you're coming from. The flag has sunk in but being the measuring stick of the AFL has not. As a wise man once said "We are everybody's grand final". Is this a taste of what it's like to be a Hawks supporter?

For me 2018 feels like an exam and each game is a question. So far we got the hardest answer (Adelaide away) wrong. If we had won that game, right now I would be feeling supremely confident about the rest of the season but I still have some doubts in my mind that can possibly be resolved on Sunday.

Yes I think I get where you're coming from. The flag has sunk in but being the measuring stick of the AFL has not. As a wise man once said "We are everybody's grand final". Is this a taste of what it's like to be a Hawks supporter?

Not even close. Hawthorn are minnows, no one gives a shit about them except for Geelong.

We're the biggest club in the country, even when we were shit, we had a target on our backs every week, teams have always treated their games against us like finals. North Melbourne the most obvious example.

Every club has always set themselves to claim the scalp of the Mighty Tiger. Which is why I'm not surprised with how well we're going with our premiership defence. The only difference is we're good right now, we aren't hunted more now than what we were when we were shit.

Also a big reason why the Bulldogs failed last year, was because they couldn't handle being hunted being the reigning premiers, as no one had ever given a shit about them being a minnow club and all.

I touch myself every morning to make sure it’s not a dream.

30 plus years of crying every September was well worth it last September.

Still sinking in ... for me.

The thing that really wierds me out is that I reckon this is sustainable. And in fact we can, and should get better. Win the 2018 GF and I might start to get used to it. But I am still subconsciously awaiting the falling apart. But underneath all of that accumulated scarring I truly believe in this side. And in Dimma and co.

Yes, we won the flag.

But as I drive to and from work each day I listen to SEN, I listen to Sports Today (3AW), I read the papers and I follow the online commentary.

In 40 years of supporting Richmond, after our dominance into the early 80s we have never been the yardstick. Even in the drought years when we did well it was always a Carlton, Essendon, Geelong, Brisbane etc who were well ahead of us and we were just making up numbers.

Struth, in every year since 1980 everyone has been up there - even St. Kilda and Melbourne. We were always perennial also-rans.

Even with a flag (which I adored) to hear us as the team to beat in 2018 is a strange feeling and one tghat I am unaccustomed to. But I love it all the same.

Wonderful post mate ... but the usual suspects the media are dead against us and are continually contriving ways to plot our return to 17th or 18th.
Oh .. and how they dare they ever write an article on the saints, Blues, Crows, Hawks, Eagles whoever?
They even had the audacity to mention Cunnington had 32 soft, albeit contested, possessions while still mentioning we got a good win.
Stick to your guns, son :) Refreshing!

Yes, we won the flag.

Your actually wrong.We we're the yardstick at some point between 1983 & 2017.
Yardstick of Shitness.;)

For me 2018 feels like an exam and each game is a question. So far we got the hardest answer (Adelaide away) wrong. If we had won that game, right now I would be feeling supremely confident about the rest of the season but I still have some doubts in my mind that can possibly be resolved on Sunday.
No concerns yet.Even the loss to the Crows isn't even a blimp on the radar.Same applies to this week if we lose.By the time the bye comes around we only need maybe 2 wins to guarantee us a finals berth.After the Bye we will do a Tiger71 and micropenis our side and give some xtra time off so by the time Sept comes around we will be "fresh".

Who was it said that Houli said it felt like they lost to North? A sign of where their expectations are at, no complacency, ruthless, wanting to dominate games. Games with small margins can sometimes be decided by luck; a bounce of the ball or crap decision or two and I can understand that letting games get close to luck territory would feel like losing after a run of romping wins. Love that they have this attitude.

Tigers look like there’s heaps of room for improvement which is what probably Bacher was referring to, playing averagely, sticking to the process and still winning is a great place to be this time of year.

It's weird for me too.

About half way through the 2nd quarter of the GF, I knew we would win. Just knew. I still have that feeling. I enjoyed North hitting the lead last weekend. As I toddled off to get another beer, I smiled, knowing we had them covered. Same against Collingwood.

And it's weird because a) I've never felt smug about any football team I've ever been associated with in all my life and b) I reckon there's still a fair bit of improvement left in them. WTF comes after smugness? An emotion so foreign that it speaks Sanskrit?

It's a weird feeling, having not been alive to see the much referred to dominance of the past. As well as being too young to really comprehend the spikes of 95 & 2001. They have been garbage for my entire life until now. We just keep hitting moments milestones that I'd always dreamed about. What would it be like to win a final? How would your emblem look painted into the mcg turf on GF day? What does it feel like to win a flag? All Checked off now. I'm trying to keep my hype contained because it is a long season, but i've long joked about a 4th reich of Richmond. A period of sustained success over the competiton... it's just so surreal that all these at one stage fantasies could all genuinely actualize.

Thought I'd add that since the St Kilda game last year, we are 16-2. We just aren't losing football games. It's not an overly amazing run in terms of the AFL, but in terms of Richmond in my life time, it's insane. I think I've said it before, not only do I go to games knowing we can win, I go to games knowing our best WILL win.

WWWWLWWWWWWLWWWWWW. You almost lose the Ls in all the Ws.

as my dad always said to me on grand final day when I was a kid, 'that will be us one day mate'.

and last year I got to witness it first hand with him right by my side. amazing day that we will always have together.

but then this year when even myself thought we would crumble a little being the hunted and every week we seem to be proving myself and a heap of others wrong. im not used to this and have no idea what to do or how to feel.

No concerns yet.Even the loss to the Crows isn't even a blimp on the radar.Same applies to this week if we lose.By the time the bye comes around we only need maybe 2 wins to guarantee us a finals berth.After the Bye we will do a Tiger71 and micropenis our side and give some xtra time off so by the time Sept comes around we will be "fresh".
blip.

a blimp would be pretty big wouldnt it

It's weird for me too.

About half way through the 2nd quarter of the GF, I knew we would win. Just knew. I still have that feeling. I enjoyed North hitting the lead last weekend. As I toddled off to get another beer, I smiled, knowing we had them covered. Same against Collingwood.

And it's weird because a) I've never felt smug about any football team I've ever been associated with in all my life and b) I reckon there's still a fair bit of improvement left in them. WTF comes after smugness? An emotion so foreign that it speaks Sanskrit?
etruscan, we have no translation as yet