Study Advice

• Thread starter Thread starter PP34

With exams coming up, I thought I'd make a thread where we can share advice. I've already been studying for the past few weeks and I'm going okay. I always seem to struggle studying for English exams though? I normally make a practice essay or two but I get into the exam and the question seems to be completely different? Any advice?

And when it comes to studying for maths, what do you guys do? I tend to write down formulas, go back and do questions and I'll do a practice exam. Any other tips or advice?

What year of high school are you in? Or are you in uni?
Year 10. I'm taking these exams pretty seriously because everyone in our Methods focus class has been flunking and if we don't pass the exam, bye bye Methods and bye bye any hope of me going to the University of Melbourne or doing Civil Engineering. Plus I may have a chance at getting Foxtel for EPL if I do really well. I may be worrying a bit too much about English as I've done well in the past but I always worry that I'm going to go into the exam after studying and understanding most of the themes of a book or film that the essay topics will be the ones I'm not good at writing about. The rest of my exams, I should be okay on.

Exams mean as much as your parents care about them at this age, mate. Revise a bit ask your teachers what you could do but don't stress out so much. In terms of english, find a study guide for whatever books you're reading in class and then bullshit your way through the exam.

Year 10. I'm taking these exams pretty seriously because everyone in our Methods focus class has been flunking and if we don't pass the exam, bye bye Methods and bye bye any hope of me going to the University of Melbourne or doing Civil Engineering. Plus I may have a chance at getting Foxtel for EPL if I do really well. I may be worrying a bit too much about English as I've done well in the past but I always worry that I'm going to go into the exam after studying and understanding most of the themes of a book or film that the essay topics will be the ones I'm not good at writing about. The rest of my exams, I should be okay on.
Man trust me, Year 10 means **** all.Tbh even Y12 is overated. Best thing you can do is just pass Y10 and get a part time job

I know that but maths is important to me.

And my parents care about them a fair bit. I don't want to deal with pissed off parents for a few months.

Uhh... year 10. Um, your year 10 results have absolutely no correlation to your university acceptance. You can get D's in everything and still study Medicine at ANU.

It might be good practice, you know, just getting into the mindframe of studying and the allocation of time. One thing I can say is that high school is absolute myth and bullshit. Some idiots got great ATARs, and some true intellectuals were ruined by the system. Anyone can get into uni. It's all bullshit, dude.

However, I was lazy as fuark and I don't regret anything.

Uhh... year 10. Um, your year 10 results have absolutely no correlation to your university acceptance. You can get D's in everything and still study Medicine at ANU.

It might be good practice, you know, just getting into the mindframe of studying and the allocation of time. One thing I can say is that high school is absolute myth and bullshit. Some idiots got great ATARs, and some true intellectuals were ruined by the system. Anyone can get into uni. It's all bullshit, dude.

However, I was lazy as fuark and I don't regret anything.
I know what you mean. I'm one to get into good habits and I want to work hard and do my best. It's just the way I am.

I just want some advice on studying.

I know what you mean. I'm one to get into good habits and I want to work hard and do my best. It's just the way I am.

I just want some advice on studying.
Well the only way to study for english is to know the book back to front and then write essays
For maths it depends on whether you can have a cheat sheet but if not remember formula's and then apply the to problems

Well the only way to study for english is to know the book back to front and then write essays
For maths it depends on whether you can have a cheat sheet but if not remember formula's and then apply the to problems
I can have a cheat sheet. I always tend to **** something up though badly. I did on my last exam.

I think it's OK to be a little bit stressed, at this stage of your life they're the most important exams you'll have done. It is important that you don't wreck your chances of getting into Methods in year 11 etc. if you need it. But as the others have said, don't get too stressed because at this stage there are so many other pathways into where you want to go.

In terms of studying, I found revising my test papers to be the best practice (mostly because my school was lazy and used the test questions on the exams :p) for science subjects in particular. In English, I never bothered to write actual practice essays, I just wrote essay plans for a bunch of possible essay questions (your teacher should be able to give you these), I found planning for as many situations as possible to be better than writing a few essays which you'd mostly forget anyway. It's also quite comforting when you know you've prepared for as many scenarios as you can.

Good luck!

Year 10 studying... Well I played copious amounts of NHL/NBA 2k6 and just flicked through the text books while waiting for the test room to open the morning of the exam.

If you have to memorise a bunch of words on the same topic, this is what I do.

Eg. There are six states and two territories in Australia: Western Australia, Northern Territory, Queensland, New South Wales, Canberra, Victoria and Tasmania.

How do I remember this? I get the first letter of each one and form a word or words out of it.

So my word would be WNQNCVT (which could sound like Wankin' CVT).

Say what you will, it is a bloody good method. I do this for a lot of things. Shopping lists, speeches and heaps more.

That's basically how I learnt the Shylock revenge speech from the Merchant of Venice.

"Hath not a Jew eyes? Hath not a Jew hands, organs, dimensions, senses, affections, passions?"
= HODSAP

Have year 10's always done exams? I don't remember this happening, and it was only 5 years ago.

Private schools often do them to supposedly 'prepare' students for Year 12

Very true.

standardized-test1.gif

And, because I love Calvin and Hobbes

CH940127.jpg

I had that pinned up on my desk at work :p

For all those saying year 10 isn't a big deal, you're right, but it's also important in that it can help set a foundation of work ethic, routine study, and an understanding of what you will face in two years time in VCE. An hour a night simply revising your notes will set you in good stead.

The more cynical part of me would say, if you want to manipulate the system, go download the syllabus, read the dot points of each subject, cross-reference them with past papers and see if you can notice a pattern (the dot points are the topics for the subjects). Found an easy way to study in year 12 by working out that the English, Modern History, and Extension History exams had circled through the dot points and then I focused my study more on the dot points that I guessed were likely to be on the exam if the pattern continued. Got the EH exam guess slightly wrong, but the other two were spot on.

Have year 10's always done exams? I don't remember this happening, and it was only 5 years ago.

We started exams in Year 9, pretty mad if this is not standard treatment! :p Actually my year was the first to only have Year 9+, before us they started in Year 7.

Like most things, it really comes down to a preference thing - Study is no different. Some like music playing, others don't; some do all their best work past midnight, others can't even stay awake that late -

Just find what is best for you -

As most people have said, year 10 is nothing to worry about. You say that you want to do well in your studies, well with that attitude you will most probably certainly achieve that. Don't overdo it though because in the end it's really not worth stressing too much over.

I know four different people who got glandular fever/chronic fatigue syndrome in their year 12 year - I honestly reckon the fact they were stress heads about their scores definately contributed to their illness -

By the way, if your teachers and your school keep telling you how important it is to get really good scores in order to get into the certain class, that will get you into the top year 12 class, in order to get a high TER, in order to get into the best university blah blah blah REMEMBER: -- They are mostly telling you this so it reflects well on the school, especially being a private school; It's the only way they can justify ripping your parents (and other parents) off so much with their exorbidant school fees.

Finally, high school, in all reality, has little bearings on your later life. I only got 44 TER (out of 100, back in South Australia) for my year 12, purely because I couldn't give a f*ck at the time - (In year 10 I was still getting straight As - suddenly had no motivation come year 12) - Yet, I am finishing my undergraduate and will be going into honours next year - Ultimately, high school doesn't even really matter much to get into Uni - Sure if you don't score too well in year 12 you probably won't get into the course you want first go, but you can apply for university whenever and as many times as you want, and if you are bright enough, they'll accept you.

Stress less, do the required work but don't bust your balls over it