News Sumich

• Thread starter Thread starter Freo Jail

Hey, how about this crazy quote from DL?

It's all good.
Suma's a Freo boy - the fact he played for the eagles should matter not.
He's played in premierships and won 1 as an assistant coach.
I'm really looking forward to 2012

Some of you guys are just as xenophobic as you make the DL crowd out to be. Seriously, take a chill pill.

As a wise man (or bovine;)) once said "DL are purple, so they are my friend".

Now where's BigKev's People's Front of Judea youtube when you need it....

Hey, how about this crazy quote from DL?

It's all good.
Suma's a Freo boy - the fact he played for the eagles should matter not.
He's played in premierships and won 1 as an assistant coach.
I'm really looking forward to 2012

Has the guy been banned yet?

Well, frankly, I am disappointed. The man may have a mensa standard intellect for all I know but, being superficial, he was some of my best material. Now all I'm left with is Jako jokes (thankfully) and the odd crack at NicNat.

And you may hate Dockerland - personally I don't - but someone has posted an awesome video of a Sumo shot at goal. Made me smile.

That is no reason to change though.
Our brand was too complicated before. We might've all been happy with it as supporters, but outsiders weren't so fond of it. The club simplified the brand, and now we have outsiders complimenting the look. No doubt the desired effect of it all - bring in more support/members.

At Dockerland though, everything the club does is apparently some kind of plot to destroy the hopes and dreams of supporters and strengthen the Eagles who feed off the destruction of Docker souls.

Meanwhile...
Ch7 on Thursday night:

Zemplis: "So Suma, what are your initial thoughts on your new appointment at Freo?"

Sumich: "Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like.."
I tip my hat to you sir, brilliant :D

dude...

Exactly. By round 10 if Freo are 4-6 the knives will come out.

Having said that though, the Dockers will now win both derbies in 2012. Sumich obviously knows every intricacy of the Eagles, and it will be a massive advantage. Just like Bomber Thompson being an assistant coach for Essendon this year, and surprise surprise Essendon beat Geelong...

Not thrilled with this news to say the least.

Lol, this is what it's come down to has it champ? Trolling those who make typos and agreeing with your own pathetic alias? Well done son :o

Wow they are down with OTT.

Jokes aside - Kenny has it, the WC forward line certainly fired this year and he knows Subi.....Ross knows Melb -it's a beautiful thang.

You should feel happy - it's a decent pick up for Freo.

Great for my material too. :D

Should be a good 2 seasons worth I reckon.

a lot of dribble here off the topic of sumich being appointed.

Played in slime premeriships. was with them when arguably they developed one of the most potent midfields 2005-2007.

Now has reinvented their forwardline-2011.

do we need work on our midfield- yes oh yes

do we need to work on our forward structure - yes, yes, yes oh yes!!

I don't care where they come from as long as they devlop our side into
regular top four side then so be it.

he said in his presser that he's a freo boy and wants be here.

a richmond icon in K sheedy was a bummers supporter as a youngster he got oportunity to go back- there 27 years and got them 4 flags.

Must admit I dont like inbred dockerland, but they are purple and good for a laugh at times..either laugh at or laugh with. As for Suma, I hated him as a player especially near the end (last 2-3 years of his career) as he was the softest, big girls blouse I had ever seen - just look at his "performance" in the 94 GF for proof...mind you he was playing on Otis (Steven O'Rielly) who joined Freo in 95! Anyway, I just hope to God he does good work at Freo and resists the temptation to tell his best friends at WC the inside word.

Finally, I am very impressed I am at how professional Freo have been at keeping the coaching appointments quiet - cudos to all involved.

a lot of dribble here off the topic of sumich being appointed.

Played in slime premeriships. was with them when arguably they developed one of the most potent midfields 2005-2007.

Now has reinvented their forwardline-2011.

do we need work on our midfield- yes oh yes

do we need to work on our forward structure - yes, yes, yes oh yes!!

I don't care where they come from as long as they devlop our side into
regular top four side then so be it.

he said in his presser that he's a freo boy and wants be here.

a richmond icon in K sheedy was a bummers supporter as a youngster he got oportunity to go back- there 27 years and got them 4 flags.

This thread is almost entirely supportive of the signing Sumich. It would seem most within this thread quite happy to give the man a chance within the FFC coaching department. The wholesale changes made to our clubs football department might just be the thing we need to take this current list to genuine success.

To all concerned at Fremantle football club,

I am in shock. At first I thought it was a practical joke, but now that reality has set in, I am just sad and very angry at the stupidity.

Last night my husband renewed our membership for 2012. Oh what a shame!

Had we had the news of the appointment of the assistant coach being Peter Sumich you would NOT have received it.

No doubt we will settle down to being the laughing stock of all of the football community, all over Australia.

It has been hard enough holding our heads up with the other team in town with their arrogant put-downs etc., they now have every reason to call us “dorkers”. This has to be the most stupid appointment of all.

I thought our coaches were supposed to support Fremantle Football Club, but those concerned with the appointment of Peter Sumich are pretenders and have “West Coast Eagles” at heart and are working against the Dockers in the cleverest of ways.
Didn’t it occur to anyone at Fremantle, the reasons why he hadn’t ever been appointed anywhere else before? While he may be a “nice guy” he is just unable to communicate in public or football circles and as for being a coach, the Eagles must be laughing all the way at the opening to get a real coach in his place!

Oh, while time will tell, I am so afraid for all concerned with the club, and my heartfelt sympathy to all of the players and members.

Haha, Lach has finally decided to come out of the closet as the submissive part of a loving, man on man relationship.

Either that or Sharon has ha><0r3d his BF account :D

Well, frankly, I am disappointed. The man may have a mensa standard intellect for all I know but, being superficial, he was some of my best material. Now all I'm left with is Jako jokes (thankfully) and the odd crack at NicNat.

And you may hate Dockerland - personally I don't - but someone has posted an awesome video of a Sumo shot at goal. Made me smile.

[youtube]sbXtGfECkq8[/youtube]

It made me chuckle as well.

Great appointment for you guys, sorry to see him leave. Much maligned because he was not flash with the media like 5 years ago.. now he is fine IMO.

However.. in the spirit of rivalry and BF I will be on the bay giving you all sht for this appointment.

Cheers

My first reaction was: They stole J-Lo from us and the best we could do in return is Suma?
Followed by: Meh, publicity stunt.

However, once I gave it a proper thought, it's actually not bad appointment at all. I'm also very impressed with the lack of leaks from our footy club. No one sees anything coming and it just happens. That has to be a good thing.

I'm also very impressed with the lack of leaks from our footy club. No one sees anything coming and it just happens. That has to be a good thing.

Very good point. I was pretty shocked when my phone went off this arvo with the email from the club announcing this.

Considering I pretty much live on this website when I'm near a computer (sad I know) I can't remember the last time two bombshells like Lyon/Sumich have been dropped on me unsuspectingly like this.

It's a massive improvement from our embarrassing early days when Drum was sacked by the media. (Though not according to some selfish individuals who think they're entitled to media leaks to give them time to adjust, regardless of how messy it makes it for the people whose lives are actually involved).

The good thing is the club is on the front foot in terms of trying to improve, obviously the right mentality. The bad thing is, Im so bloody curious to see so many things, who gets picked, where they play, if the team plays more as a unit, what the new assistants bring to the team etc etc. So many questions and answers are scarce.

Another very good appointment by Freo. I have to agree with Brad Hardie (not that i agree with him that often) about Suma being much-maligned cos of that stupid Sunblest ad. When he was coach of South Freo, I used to go out to every quarter time huddle to hear what he had to say and was often impressed at the way he cut straight to the point, he definitely has a good footy brain and can actually communicate very well.
Matt Stone was his assistant coach at the Bulldogs and followed him to the Eagles..now they are both at Freo, I wonder if Matt knew Suma was heading there, maybe Suma even recommended Stone to the Dockers. Suma was on 6PurelyRightwing radio today and said he had been wanting to make the move for a few years now but the time was never right until today.

Very good point. I was pretty shocked when my phone went off this arvo with the email from the club announcing this.

Considering I pretty much live on this website when I'm near a computer (sad I know) I can't remember the last time two bombshells like Lyon/Sumich have been dropped on me unsuspectingly like this.

Ditto. Went for a nap this arvo, logged back on to bf the iphone to 5 pages of Sumich thread.. Hopefully wake up tomorrow to see we've signed Smurf :)