Suns in the Media - Part I

he's discussing the pros and cons of a player like we all do.
Has some negative points about a player. So what. It's clearly going to be a talking point with Sharp across the year. There are hundreds of pages of posts in the draft thread about players for years before they are drafted discussing their pros and cons.

You wouldn't be questioning the ability to determine AFL qualities before any AFL time if he was in here saying "Flanders is so dynamic, reckon he can kick 15-20 goals this year"

I think Briztoon adds a lot to the forum.
Fair enough. Sharp is just another player in my opinion., Dane Swan, Sam Mitchell, Neale, tim kelly, worpel not even a top 15 pick, people here so easily to be critical of a player before they start their career.

Look at Leslie, Pickett ( Carlton, GCS), Ah chee, even Martin all great at junior look what happen. Add a lot is not predict how good they are in one or two year in U18 but in 5 years are they still buy in staying with GCS climbing up the ladder as a team.
Fagan start to said negative thing about GCS when his team climb up the ladder. Stop this we are from Queensland should help each other out thing.A derby is a derby, eg I support Liverpool as my soccer team, I don't said help Everton out.

* port dislike Adelaide
* Fremantle dislike Eagles
* Sydney dislike GWS concession or their more skilful team
* GCS no identity, get bash from media, is ok we should support Brisbane to do well we are both from Queensland fans . I can't really blame other teams fan saying move the team to Tasmania, if you don't have rivalry in derby match, you can't create your own identify and fan base , the only hope is the women team can do better.

I've never seen any reason for Southport to sponsor the Suns
It's always seemed the weirdest thing
I've only ever perceived it as being sponsored by the Sharks Club..ie as a form of advertising for their pokies
There's certainly no love lost between the 2 as football teams

I honestly don't think Southport Sharks backing us would put anymore bums on seats than if they weren't?

Their membership base is made pretty much made up solely from pensioners who like a flutter and social members who want to grab a pint and use the buffet.

The loss of income would hurt, but with a year notice and hopefully improved results we can attract other sponsors.
Exactly you can swing a cat at Sharks matches and you would not hit anyone. Lucky to be 200 people actually watching.
That said it would be very disappointing from a local connection perspective to lose the partnership.

It started a frustrating period of rehabilitation for Holman who managed 12 games straight in 2019 before the pain became too much.

Another scan revealed a fracture in his lower back, ending his season after playing all 22 games in 2018.

He was off his legs for four months but it didn’t heal. Holman had surgery to put a screw in his back in October before another one was added just over a month ago.

Holman said his back was now feeling better than it ever had since joining the Suns at the end of 2017 and while Round 1 was the goal, he said it would depend on his ability to build the fitness required in time.

“I’m feeling really good. It’s probably the best I have felt since the back issues started,” Holman said.

“I started running on grass on Monday. It’s been really good to get outside and run around with the boys because you feel a bit segregated in rehab. The back is feeling good.

Agree with you all , but even local pensioners are needed at Suns matches. And the Suns record at attracting major sponsors is hardly breathtaking.
Yes - The Southport sponsorship is commercially based - but it's also seen as a token of local football support for the Suns in many ways.
Lose it and you certainly lose the locals...
could Southports sponsorship seem to other clubs like the Suns are caring about only the one club? Could this open up greater opportunities to truly connect with all clubs around the Coast

Good point
Interesting commentary from Sunraysia about supporting Southport = Supporting local footy
The bottom line here is that Southport isn't GC Local football no matter what they think and they are sponsoring us!
Not the other way around.
If Southport decides to withdraw their support I'm not sure there's much we can do about it

Hope we didn’t lose out on another sponsorship deal like a few years ago with the coffee club.

This would have been huge for our club with so many more AFL fans travelling to the Gold Coast for footy

Gold Coast football manager Jon Haines said the playing group, coaches and staff were discussing ways they could honour those killed when the volcano on White Island, in the Bay of Plenty, erupted last Monday.

The Suns were so happy with the results of their first camp in Queenstown last year they have opted to go again, hoping to mirror the bonding and relationship building the group had last year.

“It had a good impact on the group last year. We had a lot of new players and staff so it was important to build and foster those relationships,” Haines said.

“There are some challenges the players are aware of and some tests that will be a surprise.”

The Herald Sun had an article last Friday about young players, who will be good value for their SuperCoach fantasy football competition. They included Izak Rankine from Port Adelaide. They obviously got sucked in by Port's recruiting manager shooting his mouth off about how they'd entice him back to Port, even before the Suns had drafted him.
SuperCoach.jpg

^ That's a really good article.

BRAYDEN FIORINI (GOLD COAST SUNS)

The Gold Coast Suns are stacked full of young talent, but not many find the ball like Brayden Fiorini. The Victorian has proven to be a ball magnet in his first four seasons at Metricon Stadium. He finished fifth in the best and fairest last year, after averaging 25.4 disposals from 21 games during a breakout 2019. The Suns have secured a handful of young guns in the past six months. Fiorini will be another major focus for them.

"I've loved every minute of it. Everyone's been very welcoming and there's been a great energy around the club," he said.

"It has been [tough]. I don't think anything really prepares you for a proper AFL pre-season, but I've enjoyed really getting into it.

"It's tough but you feel better after it because you're getting better.

"It's just how much you do throughout the day. Most of the days are pretty full, you do main training then it's physio, gym, and have meetings. It's all about the little things and then making sure you have time to switch off as well and getting good sleep."

Ben Ainsworth
Games: 41

“He showed a toughness that cannot be said for some of his teammates in 2019. He played hurt, he played through adversity, he showed strong leadership qualities.

“He’s got elite speed, he’s a top-10 draft pick, he’s got good goal sense, he’s solid in the air for his size. He’s capable of kicking 30-plus goals this year as a small forward.”

We invite members, fans and the Gold Coast community to join us to celebrate the official start of our 2020 AFL + AFLW Seasons at the HOTA Outdoor Stage.

Date: FRIDAY 31 JAN 2020
Time: 5.00 – 8.00PM, gates open 4.30PM
Where: Home of the Arts (HOTA) – On the lawn at the HOTA Outdoor Stage
Entry: FREE + giveaways for the kids including mini foam footies
Times:
4.30pm - Gates open
5.00pm - DJ Fletcher live onstage
5.30pm - Junior Clubs Player Draft onstage
6.00pm - Hosted by Jess Skarratt and Dan Anstey: women's and men's team guernsey presentations, special coaches announcements, meet our AFL + AFLW players plus lots more.