News Suns to ask for Pick 1 as a priority pick

Gold Coast will be asking for a priority pick, they are making a submission to the July meeting of the AFL commission.

If successful and they finish last they will have the first two picks in the draft.

GOLD Coast will use next month's AFL Commission meeting to pitch for special access to the No.1 pick in the 2019 NAB AFL National Draft.

Suns chairman Tony Cochrane on Monday told AFL.com.au that it was time to "circuit-break" his club's inability to compete for finals since it joined the AFL in 2011.

If successful with the request, and if the club stays at the bottom the ladder, it would receive the first two picks in the draft.

Yeah, because Hawthorn have never applied for a priority pick.

Correct.....We were also the only club that never sought any financial assistance from the league when they attempted to force us into a merger with Melbourne back in 1996.....Not one red cent.

Standing on your own 2 feet & being financially independent & strong means you don't have to toe the AFL & Gill's lines, like all the other charity cases do.....It means you also have a strong voice.

No more charity.

Correct.....We were also the only club that never sought any financial assistance from the league when they attempted to force us into a merger with Melbourne back in 1996.....Not one red cent.

Standing on your own 2 feet & being financially independent & strong means you don't have to toe the AFL & Gill's lines, like all the other charity cases do.....It means you also have a strong voice.

No more charity.
Maybe Gold Coast just need more pokies.

What they require are better strategies to attract players, develop players & build a culture worth staying around for.....I'm not seeing any of that after 9 years.

How many more picks & kids are they going to burn?....Nothing is going to change any of that with yet more hand-outs.

Time for some tough-love.....The same stuff we had to grin & bear....That's how you build the character of a club.

No more charity.
Im pretty sure every VFL club recieved a large sum of money when west coast entered the league including the hawks .
So i belive your club to be a charity case

Im pretty sure every VFL club recieved a large sum of money when west coast entered the league including the hawks .
So i belive your club to be a charity case

Getting our portion of a license fee hardly constitutes charity.....Talk about stretching the meaning of terms to suit a silly argument.

No more charity.
do we retrospectively discount flags won by teams with priority picks?
because i cant remember the last GF winner that hasn't benefited from them

Sydney i guess.

Getting our portion of a license fee hardly constitutes charity.....Talk about stretching the meaning of terms to suit a silly argument.
Of course its a hand out . Just because you call it a "licence fee" doesnt change the fact that you recieved a hand out .

The whole VFL was a charity case hawks included .

How much does the afl pay you to play in tasmania ?

Of course its a hand out . Just because you call it a "licence fee" doesnt change the fact that you recieved a hand out .

The whole VFL was a charity case hawks included .

How much does the afl pay you to play in tasmania ?

You're just mouthing empty rhetorical platitudes now.

The Tassie Govt pays us to play in Tassie, as part of our contract/deal with them.

They should not get a priority pick unless they are forced to trade for a player. I would prefer to increase there salary cap for a couple of years to attract some talent.

No, give them the no.1 pick however the stipulation is that they must trade it for other players. So this way, gold coast can gain a few experienced heads to settle the team line up. This isn't my idea but something heard from carey.

If there is such a thing as a priority pick, then GCS and Carlton should get one.
Why should either of them get one just to blow it again? Carlton actually on the way up now too so I’d be strongly against them getting any extra handouts. Gold Coast has had plenty of first rounders to get it right and they picked up some very talented players.. problem is in the development and coaching. Fold Gold Coast and Saints and move North to Tassie.. wouldn’t have clubs leeching off the rest of the comp then and the quality of each list would go up leading to better footy amazingly enough.

Its all very well giving Gold Coast pick 1, but the problem is not about getting top end quality through the door, it is retaining them.
The clubs culture is poor & it will be interesting to see how long they can hang on to Lukosius, Rankine & King. Until they prove that they can hang on to their best talent long term, they will continue to prop up the rest of the competition ladder.

Why should either of them get one just to blow it again? Carlton actually on the way up now too so I’d be strongly against them getting any extra handouts. Gold Coast has had plenty of first rounders to get it right and they picked up some very talented players.. problem is in the development and coaching. Fold Gold Coast and Saints and move North to Tassie.. wouldn’t have clubs leeching off the rest of the comp then and the quality of each list would go up leading to better footy amazingly enough.

Please explain to me under that circumstances a team should get a priority pick then? If Carlton or GCS don't tick enough boxes, then I don't see them giving them out.

Why should Carlton get one?
22 wins in 5 seasons.

If that does not tick enough boxes, then please tell me how many games we won which stopped the PP?

Why should GCS get one?

23 wins in 5 seasons....

Surely those points alone warrant a PP?

This is assuming you believe in PP, if not then this whole conversation is pointless.

i thought the AFL were moving away from Priority Picks and towards giving these clubs access to State League Talent, makes more sense and they can make an immediate impact as well as other clubs not being put off that they take a 2nd dip into the open draft...

Salary Cap allowance should be the new "priority pick". Give GC an extra 1-1.5m dollars of salary cap room for the next 4 years.

St Kilda and Carlton can offer 1.4m per season to Coniglio. How about GC blow them out of the water and offer 2m per season.

Toby Mclean got dropped 3 weeks ago from our team, but came back in and is back in form. Also is young and proven AFL quality midfielder.

Hes on 400k at the dogs. Why dont GC offer 800k with all the new cap space the AFL give them.

GC should be allowed to spend overs on 2-3 players that would help them in the immediate short term. Priority picks will get them nowhere.

No. They should get a marketing allowance boost (all clubs have some level of allowance) to assist with player retention which is their biggest issue.

i thought the AFL were moving away from Priority Picks and towards giving these clubs access to State League Talent, makes more sense and they can make an immediate impact as well as other clubs not being put off that they take a 2nd dip into the open draft...
A couple of points.

The SSP and Mid Season Draft is stripping all the best State league talent before the end of the season draft.

As Gold Coast are finding out, most of the blokes they recruited from the State leagues and traded from Richmond and Geelong are garbage because they are being asked to perform above their abilities.

These were blokes who were fringe best 22 players as mature players. The weren't asked to carry a team at their old clubs, but play a role. They're not up to the role Gold Coast need from them.

Gold Coast has 2 mature players on it's list who might come close to being considered A grade. David Swallow and Jarrod Harbrow.

They need 3 to 6 genuine A-B grade mature players who would be in that 6 to 12 range on most lists in terms of quality. Players who can actually help carry a team.

Another Anthony Miles or George-Horlin Smith isn't going to help.