OldLion

Brisbane Lions
Lions
What a refershing chap Nigel Smart turns out to be. I thought his appearance in TF was by far the most interesting player interview this year. I like the cut of his jib - and his point about suburban footy and the passion was spot on. He has played on some great players and that aspect wasn't pursued ( the inevitable fire walk - easy question was covered AGAIN - it was so long ago, Nigel actually had hair. )

I hadn't really thought too much about Mr. Smart but now - if the Crows flick him, he'd be a great pickup - but obviously NOT for St. Kilda.

As I said in another post Smart was excellent value last night. I nearly turned off after Wallsy bagged Crawf's leadership abilties, but I'm glad I didn't.

Was good to see a player not afraid to say what he thinks, especially in regards to the Saints and Grant Thomas. I wonder how many St. Kilda players have the same lack of respect for him that Smart obviously does?

I thought it was a great interview with Nigel last night. He can sometimes come across as arrogant or aloof, but he's a deep thinker and can contribute a lot to the Adelaide Football Club in the future, both on and off the field.

As the others said, Nigel Smart's interview on Talking Footy was compelling viewing.

I wonder how much the notice the decision makers would take of a player like Smart, especially when it comes to appointing a new coach. After all, he stated categorically that Grant Thomas is NOT an AFL coach. He also drove the knife deep into Robert Shaw's chest.

Would the people in the know take notice of that and re-think because of those comments?

Another interesting piece of vision was after the Carlton game when Ayres came onto the ground, and was hugged by his players, except for Smart. I was interested to hear his perspective that a coach is not someone to get close to.

All in all good value entertainment

I've long held the view that it is the special guests that add the colour to Talking Footy - and this was regardless of who was on the couch.

As a general rule, coaches are boring guests as they play their cards close to their chest. An exception to this was Mark Williams earlier on this year who didn't hold back in saying what he thought. This was a refreshing change.

Invariably, it is the players who are more interesting, especially the more eccentric ones like Nigel Smart. There are really only a handful of them who have the necessary eloquence to articulate their thoughts well.

Along with Nigel Smart, I also thought Silvagni and Wayne Campbell (with the backdrop of the Knights-Libba incident) were very good.

Josh Fraser handled himself very well for a teenager, but probably didn't have the depth of experience to provide a compelling contribution. In 10 years time, he too will be mandatory viewing.

One player I'd like to see on the couch is Dr. Andrew Mackay - someone who would have a lot to say about life, both on and off the field.

Some left field guests who were interesting were Mike Fitzpatrick and David Hookes (then runner for Michael Nunan at Fitzroy)

Originally posted by Crow54
I thought it was a great interview with Nigel last night. He can sometimes come across as arrogant or aloof, but he's a deep thinker and can contribute a lot to the Adelaide Football Club in the future, both on and off the field.

I could definitely see him as being arrogant and aloof after watching TF last night. But (probably because of that) he was the most interesting guest I reckon that they've EVER had on. As someone said, its so refreshing when people say what they feel like saying. And boy, did he stick the knife in at times. But it was a very very good show last night.

Couldn't agree more CJH. Coaches are the MOST boring. They just trot out the same lines that they do in the press conferences.

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
what did he say about Shaw ?

He basically said that the team went backwards for the two years Shaw was there. He said that Shaw changed the game plan every few weeks, and due to that there was no stability and the club really suffered during his coaching tenure.

I'd just like to add to what the others have said, by saying that it was the best talking footy of the year.

Fantastic to see a player tell everyone what he really thinks, without holding anything back. He certainly seems to be a very deep thinker. I like Nigel's statemet that success is 20% physical, and 80% mental, yet the resources at a footy club are geared around 80% physical, and 20% mental.

He was very opinionated and wasn't afraid to dig the boot in to Robert Shaw. I don't thik he was being critical so much as he was being honest, which was very refreshing.

i thought the show was great, although i can empathise with hawthorn supporters thinking that they picked on crawfy.

i felt realy bad for scott west. i think he's been a great player, and i was pretty upset for him on the night cos WW didn't deserve to win it outright.

mercs showed his class with lockyer. wallsy was a d ick for even suggesting what molloy was trying to do was legitimate.

can't believe the crap that hamill is still copping, especially from supposed carlton leaders in sos, rats and the old man who all should show some maturity on the matter.

smart was good, very open. the players sure have been better guests than the coaches this year.

overall, it was specccccial

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
Smart definately did a good job last nite...he spoke so well and was relaxed and was so not like the usual players on with their 'yeh nahs' and their 'ya knows' and their 'aahs'

That's one of my pet peeves, Spidey, when players say "Yeah, nah"

For example:

BRUCE: That was a pretty good effort on the weekend, wasn't it!

PLAYER: Yeah, no it was a good effort, yeah....ahh, we played well.

BRUCE: Will that famous teammate of yours be with you next season, or will he go to the highest bidder?

PLAYER: Yeah, nah he should be with us...ahh, I hope so anyway, yeah nah he's a great player.

Originally posted by Dan25

For example:

BRUCE: That was a pretty good effort on the weekend, wasn't it!

PLAYER: Yeah, no it was a good effort, yeah....ahh, we played well.

BRUCE: Will that famous teammate of yours be with you next season, or will he go to the highest bidder?

PLAYER: Yeah, nah he should be with us...ahh, I hope so anyway, yeah nah he's a great player.

hmm yeh, nah that really sh*ts me too :D

I Totally agree!!!!!

I thought Smart was interesting to listen too.
The thing with Smart people he's a very deep thinker and says what he thinks. That's why in Adelaide we don't know what he's going to do next, as he's always wanted to backpacking around the world.
But as us supporters of Smarty we are understanding him these days.