Superficialness...

• Thread starter Thread starter The Hitman

T

The Hitman

I think we live in a superficial world.

People take things on face value too much. People judge character in the first 10 seconds of seeing them, usually on looks.

I am an ugly prick, and it might sound like a sook, but I just hate the way the world is so bloody shallow.

I am a guy who of course goes for looks. No one can honestly say they don't. But it's where you place your priorities and what you look for other then looks.

Are they smart?

Do they geniunely care?

How nice are they?

Often, these qualities go out the window...and it goes both ways for both sexes...

I know I am having a meaningless gripe, but it is just on my mind at the moment...

The Hitman

1. Looks
2. How nice they are
3. Personality
4. sence of humour
5. Wealthy

Rank them five in order.

Thats what I look for in Girls that are most important.

If I get to know a girl who is really good looking, but she hasnt got many of the things from 2 - 5 its not worth it.

If she is OK with looks (not the best) but has all of 2 - 5, well then Ill take that! But they cant be ugly!

I want everyone to rank the following 5 things in order from 1 - 5.
These things should show would you look for most in a guy/girl.

for me, how nice they are ties with personality, if they have a good one, they also tend to be nice and vice versa
So
1. Looks
2. Personality
3. Sense of Humour
4. Wealth(doesn't really matter to me, truly)

1. Sense Of Humour
2. Personality
3. How Nice They Are
4. Looks
5. Wealthy

The Hitman

1) Personality
2) Looks
3) Sense of Humour
4) How nice they are
5) Wealth

Isnt Personality and How nice they are the same :confused:

I can't believe I'm actually saying this, but... (from my perspective) once I find out that a girl is really nice and has a great personality, and you have things in common and get on well, I don't even think about looks - you get attracted to the girl, not the hair and make up facade.

I'll admit that I'll look at the better looking girls first - if you don't know someone at all, all you have to judge is how they look on the outisde - but once you get to know somebody - beautiful or plain - looks don't matter as much because you grow attracted to the person instead of the looks.

Originally posted by Darky
I can't believe I'm actually saying this, but... (from my perspective) once I find out that a girl is really nice and has a great personality, and you have things in common and get on well, I don't even think about looks - you get attracted to the girl, not the hair and make up facade.

I'll admit that I'll look at the better looking girls first - if you don't know someone at all, all you have to judge is how they look on the outisde - but once you get to know somebody - beautiful or plain - looks don't matter as much because you grow attracted to the person instead of the looks.

Well said Darky

So very True
idea.gif

Intelligence is what I'd put instead of how nice they are. How nice the are goes with personality.

I may be ugly, but I would hope I have a half decent personality. I do make a d*ick outta myself a lot (often in public, right PP?), but Ihave a good sense of humour.

I am smart, yet dumb, if you get me? Overall I am intelligent, but I just do the most simple dumb things (such as get the scores wrong in my GF review, or say that 98,000 - 91,000 = 8,000 :().

I am not wealthy, but if people take that into consideration, they are not worth the time of day anyway. I will be wealthy one day anyway...

Overall, I am ugly, but a good guy! ;)

The Hitman

For me, it's all about personality. A guy's GOTTA make me laugh. I mean yeah, I look at the cute ones, but that's about all I do. I just don't go for looks. :) REALLY.

For me..........I reckon I have more personality than looks......I don't do badly with the guys (as witnessed yesterday :rolleyes:) but yeah.......I'm just a lot of fun, and guys seem to go for that. :D And any that judge me strictly on looks.......their loss. :D

Originally posted by X_box_X
1. Looks
2. How nice they are
3. Personality
4. sence of humour
5. Wealthy

well i believe looks are important....anyone that says they arent are full of $hit if you ask me.

I mean...you have to be physicaly attracted to someone. They could be the nicest person in the world, but if you arent physically attracted to them then it doesnt matter if they are really nice does it.

Personality is definatly important to me...i dont want to go out with someone who is a complete bitch, no matter how attractive they are.
You need a healthy mix. One is no good without the other.

I like girls who like the things i do. Taste of music, they like footy, they are funny, they enjoy comedy things and enjoy a snuggle in front of the tele.

Wealthiness doesnt come into the picture at all...as i am the type of person who offers to pay for everything anyway.
Sense of humour is important.

In the end my top 5 would be

1. Personality/Looks
2. How nice they are
3. Sense of humour
4. Wealthiness

looks are just a minor thing in a relationship.

intelligence and sense of humour are both more important in my opinion.

but looks cant be under estimated. anyone who says they dont matter is a liar, or stupid!

I sort of believe in the saying that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. When a girl is nice and has a great personality I view them as being more attractive. If she has a good personality and is nice I tend to pick out her best features in the looks department. If she is a bitch I will see her worst features looks wise. I' m not saying looks aren't important, but to me their personality and niceness has an effect on how they look to me.

1. Looks/Personality - To me this comes as a package. They can be gorgeous and have a ****y personality. Personality can make some really attractive to me.

2. How nice they are - No point in dating an arseh*le

3. Sense of humor - If they can't make me laugh there's no point in dating me

4. Wealth - Doesn't bother me at all, my ex was a rich **** and he lacked all of the above.

Originally posted by The Hitman
I am not wealthy, but if people take that into consideration, they are not worth the time of day anyway.

The Hitman

Exactly my thoughts Meg...

The Hitman

To those people that did say that wealth is important, that really irks me. Get your priorities straight, please.
I don't really have an order, but of course personality is the most important. You could have some really hot guy, but if he has no personality, it wouldn't be any fun being around him, so what basis is the relationship on?
I will be honest and say looks are somewhat important, because it is what attracts you to the person in the first place, as bad as that sounds. But when you get to know someone, and you see what their personality is all about, that's when you know if you can have a relationship or not.

I always thought looks were a big thing. Growing up I went out with a lot of very good looking guys. And 9 times out of 10 they turned out to be jerks.

The one person who has ever truly won my heart is not someone I would ever have looked at twice. But we were friends, and as I got to know him as a friend, he became more and more attractive to me because of who he was, not what he looked like. It's changed the way I look at a lot of things now, and I won't just discount anyone on physical appearance.

And you would HAVE to make me laugh. That's in the top 3 of musts.

I think another important thing is trust and honesty. I need to be able to trust someone to allow me to be myself, and to know that they accept me for exactly who I am. There's nothing more draining than having to second guess someone, and not knowing exactly where things stand. It should be easy.

Originally posted by X_box_X
1. Looks
2. How nice they are
3. Personality
4. sence of humour
5. Wealthy

I want everyone to rank the following 5 things in order from 1 - 5.
These things should show would you look for most in a guy/girl.

well no beacuse there are other things i look for. like Trust. and honesty (to name a few) and then there is the other things u mentioned.

How u look on the outside is the first thing that u are gonna be judged on whether u r going for a job interview or just meeting someone out in the street. I have a lot of respect for ppl who work hard to make themselves look good but also i have a lot of friends who arent in this category and am still able to see the quality person beyond how they look on the outside. I think the most important quality in a person is honesty and that is hard to find in people these days!

Looks and Personality are what I look for mostly, If the chicks a bitch but is really hot..... I would think what a stuck up bitch and wouldn't think twice about her.

Ppl say Im a little cutie but I think thats bull**** lol, Im a shifty bastard :D :D, but that's only me to get the betta out stuff, eg.... Cheaper Tickets etc.

Wealth doesn't mean a thing to me either :) Coz I dont care. And I also like a nice person with great sense of humour like moi lol.

Mags

Originally posted by mandy5

The one person who has ever truly won my heart is not someone I would ever have looked at twice. But we were friends, and as I got to know him as a friend, he became more and more attractive to me because of who he was, not what he looked like. It's changed the way I look at a lot of things now, and I won't just discount anyone on physical appearance.

ditto.

In fact he was someone I would most certainly have called "ugly" before I got to know him. But he wasn't ugly, because he was a beautiful person, and once I found that out, I became more and more attracted to him.

Looks are what makes you pay attention to someone, or decide to get to know them. But if they have no personality, there's no point. And if you've gotten to know someone anyway, then looks don't matter in the slightest.

Yea, I always thought that everyone worked off looks, at least to a certain extent.

However, if I had a dollar for every glamour Ive seen with (im not gay but) pretty ordinary looking bloke, Id be a rich man!

Everytime I go clubbing, out, shopping wherever, some couples never cease to amaze me!

On the same token sometimes you see blokes with some horrors!!

I guess we all think looks play a large part, but I think in society many different factors come into play.

I have been with a girl who was a part time model - longest 2 days of my life! haha - she couldnt hold a proper conversation and cooking pasta - forgetaboutit!!:D