Support staff appointments

• Thread starter Thread starter Jay C

Will he be signed up before or after Roos is appointed senior coach?

Mate, your rumours really suck... sorry to say.
also heard this same rumour elsewhere. so who knows!

Yeah same mate. I haven't seen thunda running around making shit up just for the sake of it, to stir shit up.

Have to agree with you mate... and I know you hold the club to account fairly sharply.

The club took a hit, but just as the vultures were circling, they regrouped and and have gonefrom strength to strentgh so far.

When things are goo don field, it's easy... but when the poo hits the fan is when we find out what people are made of.

Yes, It was only 13 years ago that we imploded by sacking Alves.

The good news and more open approach will serve one major purpose... to retain and increase membership.

There would have been quite a few who were contemplating chucking it in after Lyon quit.

Watch us go next year!

Oh and don't forget about Jimmy G coming back also. ;)

Posted this at SS and too lazy to reprise so I will plagarise myself

-----------------------------------------------------------------

None of these appointments mean a thing in the off season, it is the season and results that count

BUT.......

The club is doing everything it possibly can to put out the right perception during this offseasin.

2 months back I was very pessimistic. Since then the club and the admin has done everything right off field. The appointment of Watter seems a very positive move and his initiatives such as the yoof academy and bringing an experience ex coach like Laidley shows he has plans but also conceeds he doesn't think he knows everything.

The more open attitude toward the media makes t seem like the Saints have a positive headline every second day.

The management of the SC was as good as it could be and losing only Lynch, Walsh and Dawson is about is good as we could hope for in the circumstances.

Now with these appointments we have ex players and Saints people who add to the positive good news story coming out of Seaford.

In previous times the club would have imploded with the dramatic loss of a coach after a shocking off season and two MAJOR dissapointments. Add to that the percieved poor tratment of Robert Harvey. We would have lost players for sure and the place would be in turmoil.

Kudo's to both the Butters admin and the curent admin for keeping the culture strong and building on this strength.

Yes I am the eternal optimist, but I feel that so far this is the absolute best outcome for the club after the Lyon era. A fairly stable list with some exciting pace y players already added, a fit Lenny, and Roo, a new approach, a new opportunity, the focus on yoof and skills, the appointment of Max and Sammy, and the perception that the club has rebounded and is ready to reload.

It could all come to nought, but at least we have something to look forward to.

Much like the snip... you can also get that humour bypass reversed.

Take a chill pill dude. :D

You don't seem to have a problem bagging journo's and websites when they get it wrong... yet you're a bit touchy touchy when it happens to you.

Allrighty then.

So i got 1 wrong :eek: Its not as if i made the PR one public knowledge and was banging on that it was 1000% going to happen...

But then again all my contract info was clearly incorrect and fact i said we would lose one player after the trade period was wrong...

When it comes down to it i couldnt give a rats tossbag if you are anyone pays attention to them, afterall they are just rumours and 99% of rumours (no matter who posts them) are incorrect.

Interesting: Max Hudghton gets announced the week after Zac leaves. Coincidence? I think not!

Absolutely awesome news. Wouldn't be surprised if Banger is feeling just a LITTLE bit regretful about his resignation, now that it means he won't be coaching with Maxy and Sammy.

One thing that I'll say about Aaron Hamill is that he was a major influence on the young players from around 2001 to 2005 and helped build our club culture after being pretty poor in 1998 to 2000, to a much more professional and mature culture.

He is the equal of the whole training academy in my opinion. And having Maxy back makes me feel like St. Kilda is whole again. Even though Harves is at Collingwood now, he still came back for 2 years, but now that Dawson is gone as well as that prick Tommy Walsh and Lynch, and we have Maxy once again I'm so glad Lyin ditched us now.

Thank you to Michael Nettlefold, Scott Watters, Chris Pelchen and co for bursting that suffocating bubble for us, and righting the wrongs at St. Kilda.

In 2012 we believe!!!

Great news - looking forward to the appointment of the final FT assistant coach, joining Laidley and Kingsley :eek:

If it actually is Ayres we're seriously going to have one heck of a coaching line-up.

Pretty much every couch announcement has been a positive. Including some brilliant ones in McPhee and the high performance manager. Along with some old favourites and a couple experienced coaches we're definitely doing a lot better than 2 months ago!

Mate, all I'm seeing is positives since he who shall not be named left the club to go to Freo. I honestly think his entire approach was to make he who shall not be named look good. Of course, we would have worn it if it had of resulted in a flag, but realistically, strangely enough, with that attitude it would have set us back 25 years. It is totally unfathomable some of the decisions he who shall not be named made, but as our coach and the team doing pretty well you tend not to question them. I'm really stoked with what is happening at the end of the year, and looking forward to next year, I've actually got a funny tingling feeling downstairs every time I see a news announcement from the Sainters.
I really don't think we'll see any of those "dead" games the boys have been fronting up for over the last few years when they look like they would rather be at the races.

The year Aaron Hamill played for saints, was the year i became a full StKilda supporter. previously Essendon all my Junior. i had enough of sheedy, and when i enjoyed watching the saints play win or lose, more than Essendon.. Loved watching Hamill come from Carlton and work hard for a club that wasnt doing too well, I switched sides and havent looked back.. never was a paid supporter of Essendon, but stkilda (Hamill) YES !

The only time i questioned being a stkilda supporter was a few evenings, of "if Zac dawson, plays im out" after a few pansy games from him..

but that problems is solved.

Lenny
Hamill
Armitage

current top 3

Fantastic news. Really excited by these appointments. Also glad to see Low promoted from within. Sets a great example around the club.

I fully expect Frankie Peckett to be appointed specialist solarium coach next week.

"Now on the menu, carbo loading with 47 types of pasta."

"Players #107652-9, come home kids" Frank, GTFO off the mic!

Heatley to pop back in and become the "wearing one glove to improve goal kicking" coach? :p

Last Wednesday i received a text from a reliable source stating Max and Hammer were coming back, so i jumped on the Filth web site (then went and had a decontamination shower) and saw Max wasnt in the coaching lineup, my thoughts were my mate is possibly right, the Watters connection and all. I didnt believe that Hammer was coming back because he stated something recently about Carlton which i assumed was a coaching position, didnt really listen to what he was saying at the time.

Well tickle me bum with a feather welcome back to both of them, i am really excited by this news and what the club has been doing recently, havent felt this positive in years.

:D

One of the things you could count on every pre-season was Frankie's new look!

Great news with the appointments of Hudghton and Hamill. While it's great to have two club favourites back, the most important thing is how much they are going to offer our players. You would think the likes of Simpkin and Siposs will be massive beneficiaries.

Last Wednesday i received a text from a reliable source stating Max and Hammer were coming back, so i jumped on the Filth web site (then went and had a decontamination shower) and saw Max wasnt in the coaching lineup, my thoughts were my mate is possibly right, the Watters connection and all. I didnt believe that Hammer was coming back because he stated something recently about Carlton which i assumed was a coaching position, didnt really listen to what he was saying at the time.

Well tickle me bum with a feather welcome back to both of them, i am really excited by this news and what the club has been doing recently, havent felt this positive in years.

Assume you mean this? (hadn't heard he was looking at a coaching role at Carlton)

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...ead-aaron-hamill/story-e6frf9jf-1226130959893

The rugged forward left the Blues for St Kilda in 2000 after a fallout with Elliott, but said he regarded himself as more of a Carlton player.

"I think a bit of both. If I did have any leaning, it would probably be the Carlton footy club," he said.

"You learn your craft when you walk into the joint."

Assume you mean this? (hadn't heard he was looking at a coaching role at Carlton)

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...ead-aaron-hamill/story-e6frf9jf-1226130959893

The rugged forward left the Blues for St Kilda in 2000 after a fallout with Elliott, but said he regarded himself as more of a Carlton player.

"I think a bit of both. If I did have any leaning, it would probably be the Carlton footy club," he said.

"You learn your craft when you walk into the joint."

Hadnt seen that before, thanks for the link :thumbsu: , i thought i heard it on SEN or somewhere, not that it matters, as i said i wasnt paying much attention until i got the text.

Am pleased hes back at the club, he was very motivational to the younger guys back in his day and hope he can bring some of that back to the club, and instill some his no prisoners attitude amongst the younger guys and a few others as well.

Very happy that my fave in Maxy is home :heart: My heart def rules in this decision. Although, I do believe the couple of years away from the club, learning from the best and working at another succesful club will hold him in very good stead.

Not fussed either way on Hamill but now that he is back with us, I am hoping that he will be a very good mentor for the kids. Reckon he can teach the likes of Sippa and co the finer art of being a forward. How to position yourself, how to impose yourself on a game etc etc. He was a very good mentor to a young BJ when he first arrived.

All in all, great appointments and I will echo everyone's sentiments that it's a very good and positive vibe coming out of Seaford.

Big Kev excited :D

Really happy with these appointments and the preceding ones. I too was a ross fan but find myself enjoying this off season more than any in recent memory.

I'm ok with Max as he will bring same as Harve's

Hamil worries me as I'm not sure what he will bring to the table that a few other ex-players could have. Also keen to know who approached who on the appointment.

Watters needs experienced not token appointments - footy dept $$ need to be spent wisely

I'm ok with Max as he will bring same as Harve's

Hamil worries me as I'm not sure what he will bring to the table that a few other ex-players could have. Also keen to know who approached who on the appointment.

Watters needs experienced not token appointments - footy dept $$ need to be spent wisely

The man almost single handedly changed the culture of the Saints when he arrived. He was also a tough, smart footballer. You can't tell from the outside who'll make a good coach, but he's got all the right qualites.

If it actually is Ayres we're seriously going to have one heck of a coaching line-up.

Pretty much every couch announcement has been a positive. Including some brilliant ones in McPhee and the high performance manager. Along with some old favourites and a couple experienced coaches we're definitely doing a lot better than 2 months ago!

Don't know if it will be Ayers - but yes for sure all the appointments have been positive, even the 2 Development coaches, Graham was one of my favourite WCE players :eek:

The man almost single handedly changed the culture of the Saints when he arrived. He was also a tough, smart footballer. You can't tell from the outside who'll make a good coach, but he's got all the right qualites.

Oh please!, A.Hamill single handedly changed the culture of the Saints, you have to be kidding. He was a tough on-field player but what was his claim to fame off field in the sheds, and more importantly what did he do to change culture?? - very much a ladies man so fitted in with the culture rather than change anything.

I think your statement is a bit over the top there Fehring.

The guy has been out of the game for a long time, I'm sure there are other guys in the system that could have been taken.

Oh please!, A.Hamill single handedly changed the culture of the Saints, you have to be kidding. He was a tough on-field player but what was his claim to fame off field in the sheds, and more importantly what did he do to change culture?? - very much a ladies man so fitted in with the culture rather than change anything.

I think your statement is a bit over the top there Fehring.

The guy has been out of the game for a long time, I'm sure there are other guys in the system that could have been taken.

Did you read Mission's book? Hayes specifically states that Hamill, beyond his on field toughness, brought a culture of proffesionalism over with him and significantly changed the saints ways of thinking.