Deej

Melbourne Victory
I'm absolutely certain that not all club's supporters are of a similar demographic cross section of the general public.

My personal opinions on each club's supporters vary wildly between generally insecure, to obsessed nuts, to completely feral losers, to generally very nice people. The last group of fans belong to the Melbourne footy club incidently if anyone thinks I'm biased, who also probably happen to be the least passionate of all club's fans. Perhaps that co-incides with them having the highest per capita income average?

I find generally Essendon fans are a pretty good bunch too, although they have their bad ones like everyone else. I can easily have a chat and a beer with most bomber fans. Collingwood fans however are generally not my type of people at all, obsessed, abusive, total ****ers. But they certainly have their good ones too though. I find a lot of similarities between pies and saints in their demographic behaviour towards carlton people.

Do people believe in supporter demographics? Or do you think it all just comes down to biased perceptions?

Originally posted by Deej
My personal opinions on each club's supporters vary wildly between generally insecure, to obsessed nuts, to completely feral losers, to generally very nice people.

That sounds like you, Deej.

I'm absolutely certain that not all club's supporters are of a similar demographic cross section of the general public.

My personal opinions on each club's supporters vary wildly between generally insecure, to obsessed nuts, to completely feral losers, to generally very nice people. The last group of fans belong to the Melbourne footy club incidently if anyone thinks I'm biased, who also probably happen to be the least passionate of all club's fans. Perhaps that co-incides with them having the highest per capita income average?

I find generally Essendon fans are a pretty good bunch too, although they have their bad ones like everyone else. I can easily have a chat and a beer with most bomber fans. Collingwood fans however are generally not my type of people at all, obsessed, abusive, total ****ers. But they certainly have their good ones too though. I find a lot of similarities between pies and saints in their demographic behaviour towards carlton people.

Do people believe in supporter demographics? Or do you think it all just comes down to biased perceptions?

I don't have demographics on bummer supporters but I do have geographic details. They all come from TROLLVILLE!!!

Mocca (nice middle class Hawthorn supporter) once confided that he thought Richmond and Collingwood folk were interchangeable. In many respects, he was right!

Even nicer than Melbourne are the Geelong folk. Maybe it is the slower pace of life but they do some much more phlegmatic about things. Certainly in contrast to the more excitable Richmond ferals who must be at the top end of the scale.

While we do tend to be louder and more aggressive, especially when abusing our own players and each other! - we are more inclined to joke around with the opposition supporters.

You can always find exceptions to the rule.

General stereotypes of Collingwood and Richmond fans in particular say we're all trailer trash scumbags. I know plenty of Pies fans who are decent people. Even those who can be described as nothing more than complete feral bogans are great blokes to have a beer with.

Team loyalties often get the better of most people at the footy and it turns them into savage animals, but nothing what they're like if you talk to them on a social level away from the footy. I've had most trouble with Richmond supporters, especially when they're flying.

I don't think I've EVER been to a Richmond game without a brawl breaking out at some stage. This dates back to my earliest football memories in the late 80's. Even an Ansett Cup game at Waverley in 94 where a group of about 50 were engaged in a massive riot. However, many Tigers fans I know are quite fair and reasonable people. Usually clued in on the game itself also.

Essendon 'fans' were at their worst between 96 and 01 when this huge contingent of never before seen bandwagoners jumped on board. They had no clue what was going on but just made inane noise at the game and were only interested in annoying those opposition fans around them. For a while there amongst teenagers it became trendy to support the Bombers even if you didn't know the shape of the ball. Was a frustrating time going to Essendon matches.

Anzac Day 01 I had a group of Bomber fans behind me who were calling John Barnes 'Moorcroft' all game. School at this time when everyone suddenly barracked for Essendon caused more frustration trying to argue with the ignorant. People who only knew Lloyd and Hird would try and argue footy with you.

Now that the media/Sheedy driven hysteria behind Essendon has slowed down and things have returned to the status quo, Essendon supporters aren't all that bad, except for ignorant fools like Anonymous Joe who read reports in the papers and believe that is a solid analysis of the issues in the football world. Some of the bandwagoners have hung on unfortunately.

The big 4 in Victoria who have so much support will always have their scummy sections, but there are always decent fans among them.

South supporters in years gone by were apparently the worst. Right up there with Richmond for their aggressive attitude. Pies fans as a whole are extremely passionate and know their footy like very few other clubs fans. From my experiences, we are easily the most clued in fans in Victoria. Don't know what it is, and you can only understand it if you barrack for the Woods, but we love Collingwood and love footy like no other. That's why people love bagging us, because we will always bite back. Can understand why so many people hate us and find us difficult to argue with because of our incredible, unwavering passion. I'm sure other clubs have their supporters who feel the same, but none as a whole like us. The atmosphere that is generated at Pies games says it all. That's my perception anyway.

I've never really had too many problems with Blues fans, but I agree wholeheartedly with Deej's comments regarding Aints supporters. But you find good and bad with anyone. The only thing that really annoys me are people going there just to brawl, or fans who know sfa but try and have a voice, see anonymous joe. Goose. Sad thing is, he's actually being serious most of the time. Poor sod.

Carlton supporters are too quite at the footy.
Collingwood supporters are just too loud for there own good.
Hawthorn supporters are the "theatre buffs” of the AFL, who also tend to congregate around Hawthorn the suburb.
Essendon are thugs from the north.
Richmond supporters are generally found across the east and are passionate beyond belief.
StKilda supporters are just feral southerners with no brains.
Melbourne just doesn’t rate and spend too much time away from the city.
Geelong supporters are bush piggies, which don’t rate.
Bulldogs are the new Fitzroy, in that everyone feels sorry for the westerners.
Kangaroos just don’t know where they belong.
Interstate supporters are best left alone.
:p :p :p :p :p :p

as much as most at the league would not like to admit, football was born in a sectarian society and most supporters would follow a club based on its representation. this existed during the 1800's and at least half of last century. it explains why certain supporters follow a particular club. here's a quick rundown.

Melbourne - upper-class establishment (mcc members), protestant
Essendon - middle-class, staunch protestant, known as the 'school tie club' due to its supporters/players coming from the universities and professional occupations.
hawthorn, geelong - middle-class, protestant. hawthorn was anglican central of melbourne.
carlton, st kilda, south, fitzroy - 'respectable' working-class
richmond, north, collingwood - working class, catholic
bulldogs - working-class, but originally a royal club hence the adoption of the colours red, white & blue.

in short, the suburban clubs attracted the well-off, the inner-city clubs attracted the battlers.

of course these days, clubs have renounced these ties to attract members but it does explain why a lot of richmond (like me) & collingwood supporters can be interchanged & why melbourne are the toffees of the comp.

Originally posted by SurreyBlue
Collingwood supporters are just too loud for there own good.
Hawthorn supporters are the "theatre buffs” of the AFL, who also tend to congregate around Hawthorn the suburb.
Essendon are thugs from the north.
Richmond supporters are generally found across the east and are passionate beyond belief.
StKilda supporters are just feral southerners with no brains.
Melbourne just doesn’t rate and spend too much time away from the city.
Geelong supporters are bush piggies, which don’t rate.
Bulldogs are the new Fitzroy, in that everyone feels sorry for the westerners.
Kangaroos just don’t know where they belong.
Interstate supporters are best left alone.
:p :p :p :p :p :p

A brilliant piece of work surrey but I only have one gripe. I think you are too kind on essendon!!!! Excellent work son!!

Originally posted by Pies rock
Pies fans as a whole are extremely passionate and know their footy like very few other clubs fans. From my experiences, we are easily the most clued in fans in Victoria. Don't know what it is
I think I know why. It's because your mob have a higher proportion of people who haven't got much in the way of a well-rounded life, and therefore footy plays a higher than average dominant role in their lives. I see many people label this as being passionate, yes that is true collingwood fans are probably the most passionate in our game, but the reasons why they are that I wouldn't like to happen to myself.

Just my opinions.

I wouldn't like to happen to myself.

With 138 posts on a single thread, I'd say its already happened to you.

Team loyalties often get the better of most people at the footy and it turns them into savage animals, but nothing what they're like if you talk to them on a social level away from the footy. I've had most trouble with Richmond supporters, especially when they're flying.
I admire your loyalty to your tribe but as a result lack objectivity. Without a doubt the 'Jeckel and Hyde' symptom you describe lives deep within Pie fans. We got it up close and personal at the 2003 QF - for some reason, people feel they can say and do anything they like if it's at night and wearing a Pie hat. It was horrendous - fortunately they'd all left at 3/4 time in the GF so we could really enjoy ourselves without all that bile and bitterness.

I'd say the Pie supporters r the ones u tend to really stick it up to when at the ground at the end of win as u get alot of them who r smart ass'es and like to really give the opposition teams players a bagging and get very cocky and arrogant when they're in front and give it to Josh Frasier which is understandable at times. Though I know alot of pies fans who great people, its just the ones at the ground who u dont know that r complete ****s.

Richmond supporters r similar to Collingwood in that they r very passionate but alot of the tiges supporters I encounter at games r sooks when they lose and if they havent left by 3 quater time then they trying to pick fights with people because they cant hack it.

Blues supporters in general just like my carlton supporting mates r arrogant like Essendon and really love a win against us and then giving it to us afterwards by bloody singing the first 5 seconds of their song over and over.

Us Essendon supporters r abit more tamer than the pies and tigers and more diverse cultural wise than anyother team supporters I find as we dont have a racist past or renowned for racism among our fans as some other clubs.
We're probably arrogant like Carlton.

but we love Collingwood and love footy like no other.

No, the sheer majority you lot only love collingwood and that's it. Not the game itself. Infact, many of you believe collingwood is the AFL itself. This is my experience from attending any games involving collingwood for the past 15 years or so.

Same goes for any other one eyed supporters out there.

Originally posted by dave_27
I'd say the Pie supporters r the ones u tend to really stick it up to when at the ground at the end of win as u get alot of them who r smart ass'es and like to really give the opposition teams players a bagging and get very cocky and arrogant when they're in front and give it to Josh Frasier which is understandable at times. Though I know alot of pies fans who great people, its just the ones at the ground who u dont know that r complete ****s.

Richmond supporters r similar to Collingwood in that they r very passionate but alot of the tiges supporters I encounter at games r sooks when they lose and if they havent left by 3 quater time then they trying to pick fights with people because they cant hack it.

Blues supporters in general just like my carlton supporting mates r arrogant like Essendon and really love a win against us and then giving it to us afterwards by bloody singing the first 5 seconds of their song over and over.

Us Essendon supporters r abit more tamer than the pies and tigers and more diverse cultural wise than anyother team supporters I find as we dont have a racist past or renowned for racism among our fans as some other clubs.
We're probably arrogant like Carlton.

no racist past?? essendon was up there at the top of the tree buddy. founder alex mccracken was a staunch protestant who detested catholics. his legacy survived up until the 50s. in the bomber heydays of the late 40s & 50s, the entire team was made up of protestants except for 1 mick - jack jones - and even he had a question mark next his name come selcetion night. if it weren't for his outstanding ability he would have been replaced by another protestant who would have done the same job. the rangers of the afl were the bombers. you guys can thank the most senior of the hirds who destroyed the bigotry inherent at the club. sheedy might never have been coach of the bombers otherwise.

its history as a middle-class protestant suburban club attracting professionals means that it has been rolling around in cash virtually since its inception. 16 premierships is a fair return for such a club. explains why melbourne were quite successful until the late 50's too. the essendon district had an influx of migrants in the 2nd half of last century which helped alter the demographics of the club.

Originally posted by mcgarnacle
no racist past?? essendon was up there at the top of the tree buddy. founder alex mccracken was a staunch protestant who detested catholics. his legacy survived up until the 50s.

Nice try... Considering there were a few catholics on board before the 20's...

Originally posted by M29
Nice try... Considering there were a few catholics on board before the 20's...

said by a bomber supporter. they'll admit to nothing. its a wonder they actually admitted to rorting the cap.

True but Hawthorn fans turned feral after 1996 - we are paranoid to the point where we see an AFL conspiracy in everything and anything.
Melbourne fans seem unnaffected by it and only get agressive at AGM.
Do all Melbourne supporters kid barrack for Hawthorn ? If so it would explain a lot

Essendon - Seem quite nerdy and will give a running commntary of the game to anyone even tho noones listening

Saints - seem to have more flags in the crowd than any other team.

Richmond - their supporters may not be like Hawthorn but their team is.

no racist past?? essendon was up there at the top of the tree buddy. founder alex mccracken was a staunch protestant who detested catholics. his legacy survived up until the 50s. in the bomber heydays of the late 40s & 50s, the entire team was made up of protestants except for 1 mick - jack jones - and even he had a question mark next his name come selcetion night. if it weren't for his outstanding ability he would have been replaced by another protestant who would have done the same job. the rangers of the afl were the bombers. you guys can thank the most senior of the hirds who destroyed the bigotry inherent at the club. sheedy might never have been coach of the bombers otherwise.

its history as a middle-class protestant suburban club attracting professionals means that it has been rolling around in cash virtually since its inception. 16 premierships is a fair return for such a club. explains why melbourne were quite successful until the late 50's too. the essendon district had an influx of migrants in the 2nd half of last century which helped alter the demographics of the club.

So it's true they are canterbury wannabees

said by a bomber supporter. they'll admit to nothing.

Where did I said it did not happen? It did, but not to the extent you believe it did.

By the way, it's called sectarianism, not racism...

Originally posted by SurreyBlue

Disagree. Carlton supporters even when they are losing have this arrogance about them. That they are better than the opposition fans. More than any club you will hear languages other than English spoken at Stadio degli Violini. Going to games in Juve or Milan shirts is also pretty sick, unless you are playing Essendon or Collingwood. Them wear your "Italia" of "Hellas" shell suit coat to the game. Sick mate!

Collingwood supporters are just too loud for there own good.[/B][/QUOTE]

The thing about this club is that there is this intrenched "we stuck it up them" mentality about its mainly working class supporter base. Even when they won the flag it was, "We showed em. Stick it up ya!" Posters such as Morgoth Macpie etc etc are filled with this typical Magpie antagonism, of wanting to deride opponents etc etc when supporters of other clubs would be rejoicing in their own victories.

With Eddie and co virtually comandeering the media, many dormant Collingwood supporters have been stirred into buying memberships and turning it to the footy. I was totally shocked this year at the Dome to see many Pies fans not even clapping after goals. And rolling their eyes like snobby rugby union fans as started the Sydney chants with fellow hoodlums CharlieG & RobbieAndo. Say what you want, but outside Sydney Collingwood has the biggest bandwagon element in the league.

Hawthorn supporters are the "theatre buffs” of the AFL, who also tend to congregate around Hawthorn the suburb.[/B]

Disagree on this. Hawthorn has a reputation of being respectable middle class supporters. I have found the majority of Hawthorn supporters I've seen at the SCG to be amongst the drunken, foullest-mouth oafs I've seen. Hawthorn Cheer Squad used to be notorious for bad behaviour more than anybody back in the 80s-90s. Not as physically intimidating as say supporters of Richmond and Essendon, but generally very very unpleasant.

Essendon are thugs from the north.[/B]

Agreed. There has always been a horribly rough violent streak about many Essendon supporters. Interestingly moreso in my view that fans of Carlton or Collingwood. Ain't seen the Essendon Grog Squad in the last few years. Knuckle-draggers, that lot.
In the early 2000s Essendon supporters were unbearably smug and brazon. I nearly got into a fight with one on a train back from Homebush because I said that Windy Hill outer had some of the worst ferals in the game.

Richmond supporters are generally found across the east and are passionate beyond belief.[/B]

The word that describes Tiger fans is volatile. As has been alluded to, Tiger fans are probably the most vocal supporters in the game when their team is winning. The cries of "We're from Tigerland" and "Tiger Army" are amongst the most stirring in the comp.

But then there is the viscious obvious abuse they give their team when they are losing. Like booing when they are losing to Fremantle. And not turning up the next week. The MCG with 10000 in it when Richmond is losing is a pretty sad old place to be. The worst brawl I've seen at the SCG was when Richmond CS and supporters started ripping up seats a few years ago after they lost to us at the SCG. Total headcases, a lot of Richmond fans.

StKilda supporters are just feral southerners with no brains.[/B]

True. I used to laugh when I was watching games from Moorabbin and you'd hear the neanderthals screaming abuse at the umpires. And they were in the grandstand.

But having said that, there is a hard core of support that will loving barracking for the Saints rain hail or shine. And will put up with the most abhorent football week-in week-out with unflinching loyalty. I respect that greatly.

Melbourne just doesn’t rate and spend too much time away from the city.[/B]

Yes, the rugby union supporters of the AFL.

Geelong supporters are bush piggies, which don’t rate.[/B]
Cat fans are generally a really slow lot. You get your Melbournians who support them (including a decidedly feral element who are part of cricket's Bay 13 gang). They are decidedly different to most of those from down Corio way. Unlike Gosford, an hour from Sydney, Geelong really feels like going to country game of footy. No cheering, polite claps when goals are scored. And heaps of bushing down from the farm speaking in Dad & Dave-like drawls about their "Caddahs"[/B][/QUOTE]

Bulldogs are the new Fitzroy, in that everyone feels sorry for the westerners.[/B]

True. Interestingly for an area increasingly filled with non-anglo saxon speaking migrants I've always found Bulldog fans to be mainly stoic workish class 'Aussies'. Prepared to take the knocks, they are loyal and like rough and tumble footy. Sadly their nerves are becoming frayed, as their club's future comes into doubt.

Kangaroos just don’t know where they belong..[/B]
These days they do, that's for sure. A small but loyal supporter base. But their cheapskate administration have lost me for good. It's a shame. Because with no money and little of anything the Roos have always been up there. Which is a credit to the spirit in the club.

Interstate supporters are best left alone..[/B]

And the world is flat.... and ends at Craigieburn. :rolleyes:

JF

Originally posted by M29
Where did I said it did not happen? It did, but not to the extent you believe it did.

By the way, it's called sectarianism, not racism...

i know. here's the opening paragraph to my first post on the the thread on p1

as much as most at the league would not like to admit, football was born in a sectarian society and most supporters would follow a club based on its representation. this existed during the 1800's and at least half of last century. it explains why certain supporters follow a particular club. here's a quick rundown.

Originally posted by OldLion
I admire your loyalty to your tribe but as a result lack objectivity. Without a doubt the 'Jeckel and Hyde' symptom you describe lives deep within Pie fans. We got it up close and personal at the 2003 QF - for some reason, people feel they can say and do anything they like if it's at night and wearing a Pie hat.

If you think that isn't what going to the football is all about, then you shouldn't be attending games. Normal social conventions don't apply at the football.

Originally posted by M29
Then why add...

it was an opportunity to point out to dave_29 that his footy club or supporters did/does have its failings like every other club in the competition.