Media Swans Talk in the Media 2024

Our club in the Media

MOD NOTICE ON COPYWRITTTEN CONTENT
This content is brought to you by Chief and the Mods of Big Footy.
PLEASE READ:

A reminder to all on the rules of copywritten content.

You will be held responsible for the articles you post that infringe copyright.

Mods will issue warnings when posters reproduce full articles on Big Footy.

You will receive something like this and an initial 1-point infraction. Contued posting of articles will incur a Serious Infraction of 5 points.

So please remember, when using material that may be the copyright of another party, you must:
  • Use only that portion you are directly commenting on. A reasonable guide might be a paragraph or two.
  • Always link to the source.

Swans’ afl.com.au’s season preview

If your team is to win this years premiership:

That section on us by the Age is horrific.

Imagine writing about how our clearance work isn't good enough and then naming Callum Mills (injured most of the year, only 35% inside time across the season) and James Rowbottom (defensive mid, still managed 2nd-most stoppage clearances at the club) need to lift.

That section on us by the Age is horrific.

Imagine writing about how our clearance work isn't good enough and then naming Callum Mills (injured most of the year, only 35% inside time across the season) and James Rowbottom (defensive mid, still managed 2nd-most stoppage clearances at the club) need to lift.

Rowbottom absolutely does need to lift. He had a horrible 2023.

How was his output wise compared to his better seasons?

I thought he had a terrible season. The coaches disagreed with me. The coaches' metrics used for the B&F have long been a bit hard to reconcile with actual output but good for them they thought he played well.

Maybe the coaches ask him to perform a specific role (which he then does) and that's why they vote for him?

If so, then that was a worse and less impactful role than the year we made the GF which would be surprising but certainly possible.

i'm sure this has been posted on here and thoroughly discussed but i just discovered it ... and it's quite breathtaking to see it all together

like most of us, i'd imagine, i've tried to blot this game out of my mind ... at the time, i was living right in the heart of bulldogs territory, had to walk to the train station every day for weeks seeing dogs colours on banners, signs, shops, front yards and windows ... i kidded myself i didn't mind them getting their "fairytale" but there was always that feeling of resentment

so seeing this ... as i said, breathtaking to see how blatantly bad the officiating was

Just vomited a little watching that video.
Showed the bias but not the momentum changes. The way these frees destroyed our momentum was vomit inducing …

It isn't the Bulldogs or their supporters fault that the 2016 disgrace occurred.

My issue isn't with the Bulldogs, or even the AFL.

It will always be with the media for totally whitewashing the entire thing.

If it was a VIC, SA, or WA team that copped what we copped, it would have been the story of the game. Rather than the months long slow-motion tongue bath of bulldogs.

There was 100x the media coverage of that one incorrect goal umpiring decision in Adelaide last year than there was the entire 2016 GF umpiring.

absolutely!
compare the general media response to that grand final (bugger-all) and the reaction to the swans-adelaide game last season, and the wave of faux outrage nonsense the media allowed to build up in the week(s) after ...

absolutely!
compare the general media response to that grand final (bugger-all) and the reaction to the swans-adelaide game last season, and the wave of faux outrage nonsense the media allowed to build up in the week(s) after ...

In fairness there's difference between an objectively clear incorrect use of technology/umpiring in the case of Adelaide and ultimately a subjective view of application of free kicks (no matter how blatant it looked, it was ultimately complaining about what the umpires saw on the day).

the media response to last season's game was still ridiculously over the top in allowing the swans to be played as the villain ... as if we'd orchestrated the whole debacle

Were we? Most of the commentary I saw was on the AFL's mis-use of the goal review system and that we were unjustified winners based on that. Maybe we watched different content.

not specifically, and obviously not in reality ... but that was the overall impression i was left with ... but i get a bit paranoid about such things

There was 100x the media coverage of that one incorrect goal umpiring decision in Adelaide last year than there was the entire 2016 GF umpiring.

I think they had one article with Longmire questioning the umpires and then another article covering the swans supporters outrage. It was drowned out by the hundreds of celebration articles about the bulldogs Cinderella story.

Everyone knew it was an unfair game but they chose to turn a blind eye to it because they wanted us to lose and wanted the fairytale. In hindsight, years later, once the hype has dyed down, the general public admit it was a rort.

Kinda like OJ. Everyone knew he was guilty but they were all deliberately ignorant because of the politics at the time.

The media coverage was absolutely disgusting. But the swans only have themselves to blame for not making more noise about it. I guess our of fear of looking like sore losers? I think the club failed in this regard. We still fail in a lot of ways in the media war.

absolutely!
I actually thought the media coverage of the post-gate scandal was relatively muted …. at least compared to what it would have been if our opponent on that day was Carlton, Collingwood or Essendon.

It isn't the Bulldogs or their supporters fault that the 2016 disgrace occurred.

If it was a VIC, SA, or WA team that copped what we copped, it would have been the story of the game. Rather than the months long slow-motion tongue bath of bulldogs.

I reckon they knew when they were throwing the ball. And then there’s that hit on Hanner’s legs.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Fk 2016, look forward to 2024. If you keep looking at the past, you'll keep living in the past.

I'm pumped for this year, I love all the hype around us. The lads know they're in the prime window for a crack at the premiership. There's a confidence about the team which is shown in the way the players have engaged with the media. Pump it into my veins.

Mike Sheanan wrote a article the following week about how uncomfortable he was after the game.

Its the first time i have ever heard a journalist regarding the game in that view.

Which should tell you something.
Mike was a close confident of Richard Colless and was a fan of how we are , so that was easy to understand

There are at least 5 areas that EVERY player can always improve on:
1) Kicking accuracy, distance, trajectory
2) Handball accuracy, distance, trajectory
3) Running endurance, burst speed
4) Agility, balance
5) Game Awareness
Gulden no exception, just starting from a higher baseline.

Would add working on their less dominant side.

Ay, and many more bad umpiring calls fell the Crow's way in that last quarter as the umpires helped them to "valiantly" get back into the game. At least Nicks and Dawson have both been on the receiving end of the AFL, the umpires and the southern media. They know how Northern teams get shafted and had the decency not to encourage the whining.

Video from the King/Cornes chat about Gulden. Kane going very very early on Gulden being captain next year lol

There's also Gulden discussion in the next part re: Brownlow discussion

I'd say Heeney has a good claim on a vice-captain role. He talks often about team, community, reponsibility and commitment to footy in NSW. I like the way he carries himself generally. He shows a real pride in the jumper. I know he was carrying a niggle last year but he still gives his all. I hope 2024 is a great year for him