Swans team verse Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter doona

Geelong stoush can turn season by Barry Hall

I'M SURE there are plenty of people who view the Swans as nothing more than a red-and-white speed hump on Geelong's road to winning back-to-back premiership titles. Obviously it is a view my teammates and I don't share going into tomorrow night's big match.

I am excited about this clash. There's a lot riding on it because depending on how the weekend's round pans out, defeat could see us fall from fourth to sixth position and we'd find ourselves in the unenviable position of fighting for top-eight survival.

And if we do as we expect - win - we'll maintain our place in the top four and apparently have to play the Cats in the opening week of the finals. So this clash is a preview of what we hope is ahead.

The Cats are the AFL's benchmark team. Week in, week out they pose their opponents a massive challenge. They play an exciting brand of football - they certainly know how to score goals: They've won eight of their past 10 games by 50 points or more - and adding to their status as the team to beat is the fact the Mark Thompson-coached side goes into this game against us having won 37 of their past 39 games.

Their 116-point demolition job of Melbourne last week also sent out an ominous warning that they are cranking up a gear in the run to the finals. However, while their form is formidable, I can promise you we aren't fazed by either it or their reputation. During the week we have reviewed our most recent games against them [including last season's], and while we didn't get the points, we did go toe-to-toe with them and give them a decent fight.

We go into this encounter with a good match plan. I could tell it to you, but then I'd have to shoot you …

However, I can say we all know our individual roles. I also believe Paul Roos isn't demanding anything that is beyond our capabilities. Suffice to say we have to go forward, we have to be accountable, we must make the most of our opportunities, and, most importantly, we must play without fear.

What is also required is that we click. We must replicate the synergy the Cats are playing with. Their teamwork isn't a fluke. It is the end result of six years of cohesion in their playing ranks. The players have come through together, they understand one another's games. Along with the experience they've gained over the years, Geelong have also developed a genuine confidence that provides them with an extra dimension on the field.

Things, however, are starting to click for the Swans. Our biggest problem for most of the season has been that we haven't been able to put it all together as a unit on the night.

That is something we have addressed. Each of us has asked some heavy questions of ourselves and there's been a gradual improvement in performances. In my own case I've found my fitness is starting to increase since my return to the game after a long lay-off and that is bringing on significant improvement in my game. The highlight out of our win over Fremantle last weekend was Adam Goodes's eight goals. It was a phenomenal effort and only further enhances his reputation as a quality player. We'll not only be looking for him to do that again this weekend, but we'll be looking to one another to back up.

Geelong might not be a speed hump, but they could well be our season's turning point.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/geelong-stoush-can-turn-season/2008/08/14/1218307123167.html

Why do I get the feeling that Barry Hall has a ghost writer for these columns? 'Professor Barry Hall' images aside, somehow I just can't picture him sitting down to write one of these... :D

I agree. Haha! Imagine him typing his column up.. that's a weird image. He's got facebook though. :confused:

They have 3 dominant tall backs... it will be interesting if the Swans line up this way???... with 4 talls!;) and Inspo in the pocket to crunch any rebounders!!

So many judge NOG on his attack but there is a defensive side of playing in the middle... the more one player takes that role ie stopping opposition rover the better the others can attack.

I don't think it was a coincidence Jude had a great game last week... NOG is there No1 priority to stop em!

I wouldn't waste Kirk on Bartel... if NOG can slow him up from being a match winner then he will have done his job!:thumbsu:

Corps, I've admired Luke's defensive work in years gone by as much as the next swans fanatic but at the moment he's not stopping anybody. He has been sadly out of form. Dont know if he's carrying an injury or what but he doesn't seem as fast, isn't kicking the ball nearly as far and isn't suffocating the opposition's best midfielders like we know he can. Would not be surprised at all if he has a touch of the dreaded OP. I hope he proves me wrong tomorrow night.

I suspect Eski will stay in, and was just an attempt at being crafty and have the Cats plan for Barry's type of player then suddenly have to consider Eski's type.

Also to note: When Eski, Kenelly and Mattner all play together, I don't think we've lost a single game.

EDIT: Woops, stand corrected, we've lost one. To Collingwood.

Geelong stoush can turn season by Barry Hall

I'M SURE there are plenty of people who view the Swans as nothing more than a red-and-white speed hump on Geelong's road to winning back-to-back premiership titles. Obviously it is a view my teammates and I don't share going into tomorrow night's big match.

I am excited about this clash. There's a lot riding on it because depending on how the weekend's round pans out, defeat could see us fall from fourth to sixth position and we'd find ourselves in the unenviable position of fighting for top-eight survival.

And if we do as we expect - win - we'll maintain our place in the top four and apparently have to play the Cats in the opening week of the finals. So this clash is a preview of what we hope is ahead.

The Cats are the AFL's benchmark team. Week in, week out they pose their opponents a massive challenge. They play an exciting brand of football - they certainly know how to score goals: They've won eight of their past 10 games by 50 points or more - and adding to their status as the team to beat is the fact the Mark Thompson-coached side goes into this game against us having won 37 of their past 39 games.

Their 116-point demolition job of Melbourne last week also sent out an ominous warning that they are cranking up a gear in the run to the finals. However, while their form is formidable, I can promise you we aren't fazed by either it or their reputation. During the week we have reviewed our most recent games against them [including last season's], and while we didn't get the points, we did go toe-to-toe with them and give them a decent fight.

We go into this encounter with a good match plan. I could tell it to you, but then I'd have to shoot you …

However, I can say we all know our individual roles. I also believe Paul Roos isn't demanding anything that is beyond our capabilities. Suffice to say we have to go forward, we have to be accountable, we must make the most of our opportunities, and, most importantly, we must play without fear.

What is also required is that we click. We must replicate the synergy the Cats are playing with. Their teamwork isn't a fluke. It is the end result of six years of cohesion in their playing ranks. The players have come through together, they understand one another's games. Along with the experience they've gained over the years, Geelong have also developed a genuine confidence that provides them with an extra dimension on the field.

Things, however, are starting to click for the Swans. Our biggest problem for most of the season has been that we haven't been able to put it all together as a unit on the night.

That is something we have addressed. Each of us has asked some heavy questions of ourselves and there's been a gradual improvement in performances. In my own case I've found my fitness is starting to increase since my return to the game after a long lay-off and that is bringing on significant improvement in my game. The highlight out of our win over Fremantle last weekend was Adam Goodes's eight goals. It was a phenomenal effort and only further enhances his reputation as a quality player. We'll not only be looking for him to do that again this weekend, but we'll be looking to one another to back up.

Geelong might not be a speed hump, but they could well be our season's turning point.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/geelong-stoush-can-turn-season/2008/08/14/1218307123167.html

GO THE BLOODS!....:thumbsu:

I'm not convince fozzy is right to go, but then again, i haven't seen him play in the 2's this year. My main concern is the fact that he hasn't played enough footy this year at all, but hey, if form warrants selection then there is absolutely nothing to lose!

LMAO,

So, if i understand correctly, you are not convinced he is ready, but you have not seen him play at all.

But, if he is ready, you are happy.

Very insightful

Just saw the scores, 39 points was about what I was expecting (6-8 goals). Is it worth watching the match on replay or will it result in me breaking lots of nearby objects?

Just turn away when you either see Ablett or LRT touch the ball. Oh and in the first quarter, the Swans gve away 4 free kicks that resulted into goals for Geelong. Typical Swans play. Gift wrap the opposition's goal with a bow tie.

Buchanan has been great after returning from his suspension.

LRT wasn't as bad as you seem to be rabitting on, and neither was Spida. I understand emotions are high after a match we could have won - I'm speaking from half time, third quarter lost it for us - after Kirk got the first.

You might like watching it purely to see Hall in some ripper form.

Just turn away when you either see Ablett or LRT touch the ball. Oh and in the first quarter, the Swans gve away 4 free kicks that resulted into goals for Geelong. Typical Swans play. Gift wrap the opposition's goal with a bow tie.

Buchanan has been great after returning from his suspension.
They wernt bad at all,5 goals to Geelong in the 1st from free kicks and the 2 50 metre penalties were a joke.Take nothing away from the cats but it was umpireing of a biased nature,all in all 7 goals from frees was a disgrace we never had a chance.
How many times did Jude Bolton get hammered into the ground without a free,but touch one of the pussies in a contest it was a free.
I dont accept loosing,but tonight we can be proud of the guts we showed tonight against the odds.So dont knock Lrt he had a crack playing on a overated sook in Mooney.

Exactly, there were some very suspect holding the ball decisions made - or not made - and that disgraceful 50 metre penalty. The Ump called advantage and we tackled Ablett and they got a 50. Go figure.

A pretty reasonable performance for effort but really over do the handball imo! and lack from no real CHF or plan to move it quick and direct into forwardline!

Umpiring shocking!!!!

But can't take anything away from Geelong. I guess most of us up in Sydney didn't see them live last year?

Bloody hell they are good! I don't reckon they got into top gear!:o

Ablett:eek:

They wernt bad at all,5 goals to Geelong in the 1st from free kicks and the 2 50 metre penalties were a joke.Take nothing away from the cats but it was umpireing of a biased nature,all in all 7 goals from frees was a disgrace we never had a chance.
How many times did Jude Bolton get hammered into the ground without a free,but touch one of the pussies in a contest it was a free.

I agree that the umpiring had been woeful. Very inconsistent with the decisions on holding the ball.

I dont accept loosing,but tonight we can be proud of the guts we showed tonight against the odds.So dont knock Lrt he had a crack playing on a overated sook in Mooney.

I'm proud of the boys tonight. We moved the ball quickly into our forward line at times, though sometimes our over hand balling really cost us. Geelong's midfield shits all over ours. Maybe LRT looked better on screen? I don't know, but from memory, LRT was pretty bad. He was always 2-3m behind his man and spoilt Brett Kirk's mark, and someone's else's mark who played in the red and white but whom I forgot.

And you're right, I shouldn't knock LRT... I should also knock out McVeigh and Ablett. Both were quite ordinary, though I must admit, Ablett played a better game tonight than last week.

Just saw the scores, 39 points was about what I was expecting (6-8 goals). Is it worth watching the match on replay or will it result in me breaking lots of nearby objects?

LOL. It was about what I expected too...maybe a little better (I'll be kind). We didn't throw in the towel which was pleasing, I was more frustrated with the second quarter, where we did a lot better in general play but only broke even on the scoreboard. Guess you'd call it an honourable loss but it probably should have been a lot more honourable (?).

The delivery to Hall was pretty good (though no Scarlett helped), if he'd had the kicking boots on early things may have been different but Geelong were brilliant with and without the ball. Hall was good but didn't have as much support as last week - Goodes didn't play forward the whole game, perhaps they should have left him there?

If you do feel brave enough to watch the replay, I think the combination of the Geelong pressure and the Swans' tendency to over-use the handball may prove to be dangerous for any nearby objects ;)

That said, it would have been nice if the umpires weren't as over-awed by Geelong as the rest of us are!! I don't think they intentionally favour any team but the Cats do get a good run.

LRT did a few good things but also a few bad (like spoiling Kirk :( )

I have been frustrated with Ablett's form recently (is he fully fit?) but apart from one horrible instance of decision-making that led to him kicking it OOTF he was a bit better tonight I thought.

Kirk was clearly our best.

I wonder whether you others noticed?

Geelong at the contest always back the closest player to get it cleanly, where as Swans have for years all go in to gang tackle or often immediately handball to flat footed players too close to the contest!

This means Geelong always have at least one safety standing off behind the contest for a long clean pressure relieving handball and at least one running forward of the contest ( although Swans countered that pretty well)

Their forwards are always anticipating and moving and run to space doesn't matter whether the space is close (a chip) or long they break into attack quick and all move!. They also often lead "Carey style" running at goal on angle away from the deliverer!

Their ball use by hand and foot is clean and exceptional because the space buys them time.

Sheesh I was impressed!:o