Sydney join SANFL

Corpuscles

Inspired by this excellent post

The only good thing about the reserves at the moment is that it probably helps with retention of young blokes when they're getting paid good money to run around with no pressure and dominate. But what good is retention when they never get promoted?
It's time to get back in the VFL. I'd be more than willing to dust off my old Borough hat and stubbie holder and patch things up with Port Melbourne. We never seem to have any injuries anyway so we could just have a stand alone club.
If the VFL won't take em I be happy to see em over here in the SANFL. There's only nine clubs so they might be keen to get rid of the bye. A lot of the players who didn't get much of a go end up over here anyway. (Meiklejohn, Josh Thewlis, Gerard Bennett etc)
Its not that much further to travel compared to Melbourne, especially when you consider the extra travel time out to Bendigo, Ballarat or Geelong for games. The Adelaide clubs might enjoy having to travel to Sydney once a year and get some time away from Adelaide as well. I know I would. Luv Humph.

The only negative is dollars$$$ for 9 trips to Adelaide

Wouldn't it be fantastic for all SANFL clubs to play once a year in front of 30,000 at SCG or 50,000 TS? Or could play add showcase at Manula ACT, Narrandera Riverina, Albury Murray.

Sydney Magoos V's

Port Adelaide Magpies
Central Districts Dogs
North Roosters:) (Clash jumper reqd)
Sturt 2Blues
Woodvile WT Eagles
Norwood Redlegs
South Panthers
West (eeeek:o) Bloods
Glenelg Tigers

I would go early to watch almost evry time!!
Some Croweaters would come for the weekend.
Massive more interest

REAL COMPETITION and a REAL FLAG to strive for

Thoughts?????

I thought this was good news, rather than a suggestion. Perhaps the thread title should read 'Sydney reserves should join SANFL'.

My preference would be for the VFL, but anything to get our ressies into a decent competition would be a good result.

I would personally prefer that the SANFL stays as it. If the SANFL wants to get rid of team's having bye's, then either split Woodville-West Torrens back into the separate they once were, or bring in a new SA based club. Don't bring in another club from interstate.

Get used to the idea. Tassie will be playing in the SANFL real soon.

Tassie are flying in 2007 VFL competition. Last on the ladder with 1 win. And now Tassie are going to play in a stronger comp in the the SANFL :D and without any North Melbourne listed players who are the better players in the Tassie side ;)

I thought this was good news, rather than a suggestion. Perhaps the thread title should read 'Sydney reserves should join SANFL'.

My preference would be for the VFL, but anything to get our ressies into a decent competition would be a good result.

Sorry it was not intended left off "?"

SANFL is better than VFL

-spare spot but true Tassie want it.
-Possible development of the 2nd "AFL" conference... SA would love the prospect of boosting interest.
-Swans are very much generally admired in SA and would create interest in SANFL
-If exhibition games were sold ....separate ....then $$ could flow to cover some of the cost... and only one trip for SA sides each

Sydney FC need to do something about 2nds ... just cannot go on like it is.. otherwise we will start losing players for "go home to real footy state" reasons.... (I played ACTFL with some that made AFL and it's along way off professional or SANFL standard and will never get there!)

Sorry it was not intended left off "?"

SANFL is better than VFL

-spare spot but true Tassie want it.
-Possible development of the 2nd "AFL" conference... SA would love the prospect of boosting interest.
-Swans are very much generally admired in SA and would create interest in SANFL
-If exhibition games were sold ....separate ....then $$ could flow to cover some of the cost... and only one trip for SA sides each

Sydney FC need to do something about 2nds ... just cannot go on like it is.. otherwise we will start losing players for "go home to real footy state" reasons.... (I played ACTFL with some that made AFL and it's along way off professional or SANFL standard and will never get there!)

Corpy, the VFL is a better fit. The Swans reserves would probably struggle to compete in the SANFL. We'd be mid-table at best in the VFL, but results don't really matter - the key is not to go from one extreme (crushing victories) to the other (crushing defeats).

With 8,000+ members and many more supporters in Melbourne, it would be useful to add VFL entry into Swans membership packages, to encourage more to sign on. It's also a shorter (and probably cheaper) flight from Sydney.

Finally, the VFL has actually admitted a team from another state - something the SANFL has not done. There's been interest for years in admitting a NT team, but it has come to nothing as yet.

Sydney Ressies would get smashed.

I agree with Troy though, I don't want an interstate team in the comp, plus Sydney couldn't wear red and white as the mighty Roosters already own those colours.

Nah they wouldn't.

A team of up and coming AFL guns would walk all over a bunch of washed up AFL rejects.

Corpy, the VFL is a better fit. There's been interest for years in admitting a NT team, but it has come to nothing as yet.

OK I'm convinced. Forget your political career and lobby VFL & Vic Swan base for it to happen!!!!... shheesh it is gettin desperate.... 10 goals to 1 first qtr... fair dinkum I reckon even retired for 10 yrs I would get a game in Wildcats or Tuggernongs... oK understand you prolly haven't seen them it is woeful!

PS Rooterlad.... well stick it then.. your loss:p
(I'm an old North Lad myself:thumbsu:... )

If we are to stay with the AFL Canberra how about entering into a agreement with the Canberra Wildcats. Keep our Reserves which would comprise Senior Listed players not playing in the Firsts. This would leave us with about 14 players (not including the First's listed emergencies) to call upon, similar to the current restricted 15 players allowed. The top up would only be allowed to come from NSW/ACT Rams Squad players from the greater Sydney area (plus Wollongong and Newcastle).

The Canberra Wildcats would be allowed to use our Rookie listed players (seven at this time), their own listed players and maybe as an additional promotion scheme, NSW/ACT Ram Squad players from the Riverina.

Only a slight improvement over the current system but it might produce a more even competition and better prepared players. All Swans listed players would continue to train with the Club as they do now, and we would have some input into the coaching and selection at the Wildcats.

If we are to stay with the AFL Canberra how about entering into a agreement with the Canberra Wildcats. Keep our Reserves which would comprise Senior Listed players not playing in the Firsts. This would leave us with about 14 players (not including the First's listed emergencies) to call upon, similar to the current restricted 15 players allowed. The top up would only be allowed to come from NSW/ACT Rams Squad players from the greater Sydney area (plus Wollongong and Newcastle).

The Canberra Wildcats would be allowed to use our Rookie listed players (seven at this time), their own listed players and maybe as an additional promotion scheme, NSW/ACT Ram Squad players from the Riverina.

Only a slight improvement over the current system but it might produce a more even competition and better prepared players. All Swans listed players would continue to train with the Club as they do now, and we would have some input into the coaching and selection at the Wildcats.

:confused:speaka da engalish????

translation anyone?

Tassie are flying in 2007 VFL competition. Last on the ladder with 1 win. And now Tassie are going to play in a stronger comp in the the SANFL :D and without any North Melbourne listed players who are the better players in the Tassie side ;)

Actually Tassie were doing well in the VFL until they aligned with an AFL side, and they dropped the ball after that.

Honestly, I was thinking maybe the Queensland league. The league is still no VFL or SANFL but the clubs up there are stronger and the lions team gets a workout from the locals. That’s what were looking for our seconds, a league where they will have to at least use some energy in getting the ball.

Nah they wouldn't.

A team of up and coming AFL guns would walk all over a bunch of washed up AFL rejects.

Would you like to put money on that kiddo? We will have to wait until you turn 18 though ;)

Anyway, Sydney do desperately need to do something about their ressies as it is a joke at the moment and does not help the club out at all. You need competition if you are going to improve.

The NTFL will never join the SANFL in my opinion, the difference in climate is too great and it will cost too much for the Territory lads to come down here every fortnight. I'd rather keep the SANFL for local based clubs.

P.S. Once again little Swannie Rule, I will say the top SANFL clubs would beat the Sydney Bs easily, even your mates on here say that. How would you know how your ressies would go when you are a bandwagoner based in Perth?

Actually Tassie were doing well in the VFL until they aligned with an AFL side, and they dropped the ball after that.

Honestly, I was thinking maybe the Queensland league. The league is still no VFL or SANFL but the clubs up there are stronger and the lions team gets a workout from the locals. That’s what were looking for our seconds, a league where they will have to at least use some energy in getting the ball.

That sounds far more logical

With 8,000+ members and many more supporters in Melbourne, it would be useful to add VFL entry into Swans membership packages, to encourage more to sign on. It's also a shorter (and probably cheaper) flight from Sydney.

Finally, the VFL has actually admitted a team from another state - something the SANFL has not done.

I think both of these are top points. I couldn't ever see the SANFL adding an interstate team to their league, but the VFL have done it and because of the Swans following in Melbourne, their would be added interest in the Swans ressies playing down there.

A separate question. The Swans 2nds used to play for Port Melbourne didn't they? Why didn't that work? Or am I mistaken?

P.S. Once again little Swannie Rule, I will say the top SANFL clubs would beat the Sydney Bs easily, even your mates on here say that. How would you know how your ressies would go when you are a bandwagoner based in Perth?

I'm not a bandwagoner. I've supported the Swans for ages.

Nah they wouldn't.

Going by what the AFL Canberra results say, I think the Sydney young guns would not exactly struggle in the SANFL comp, but they'd come up against some better opposition.

Sydney reserves beating Central Districts? PFFFFT!

A separate question. The Swans 2nds used to play for Port Melbourne didn't they? Why didn't that work? Or am I mistaken?

Only a few players are allowed to be included in VFL . They do not train with team and Swans coaches have little control or chance to observe progress.

Going by what the AFL Canberra results say, I think the Sydney young guns would not exactly struggle in the SANFL comp, but they'd come up against some better opposition.

Sydney reserves beating Central Districts? PFFFFT!

Maybe not the top sides but are the AFL guys seeded in SANFL amongst the better players? If so your teams have 3-4 Swans have 16 aspiring top 50 draft picks.

SANFL would be mad not to investigate it for extra revenue & interest it is possible to develop. AS far as I know except for curtain raisers at AAMI SANFL are lucky to get 5000-10,000 gate.... they would ensure another showcase game each week and in Sydney or ACT or regional NSW could attract more than that IMO and possibly TV dollars ie C9 or ABC!

As others have alluded to in other posts, the SANFL have been down this road with a team from the NT. If the Swans reserves don't pull anything now in Canberra or Sydney, playing in the same situation against SANFL teams would make absolutely no difference. The ABC pay nothing to televise regional codes across the country, that situation ain't going to change, and C9.... I'm sorry but pfffftttt!!!

The SANFL average around a 3K gate per game each round and the comp survive on what they can get themselves and some dividends from the Crows and Port (when they've got money.......which is not too often). Taking on an interstate team is a big risk which could potentially result in large losses and pull the whole comp right down. When the NT team was being mooted the SANFL pretty much stipulated that the new team would have to fund it's own travel plus the travel of the Adelaide team playing away. They couldn't get enough sponsorship to make it happen. I can't see the Swans being able to do that.