Sydney Swans Draft Thread

I know some of you like a bit of draft goss, this isnt Swans related though but its GWS..

I was having a bite to eat today with someone from GWS (yeah yeah but he shouted), anyway..a little while ago young Talia from the Cannons and his folks were flown over to Brisbane given the royal treatment and shown around, his Dad was shown his new position up there with a company, his mum whos a nurse was shown the hospital and her new cushy job etc etc, Brisbane have all but signed him..

Pickering has just signed him..

Anyway today or yesterday they flew to Sydney and were met at the airport by Luke Power.. dunno if Brissy even know.. Just a bit of goss for you gossip mongers.

Anyway, should the Swans also approach them while he is there?

I assume your talking about the young Talia who will be drafted this year. No point really baja, he'll be long gone before our first live pick in the draft at 43.

lol fair enuff, I was just trying to make it sound a bit Swans related.., he was getting talked up though I was sold. I said earlier I dont know how it all works but it seems Brissy are gonna get burned..

hahaha. no but seriously this kid is a gun. AA under 18s this year and knows how to kick to a target and is a chance to be there at 43. And with Tassie boys you're guaranteed toughness. Know the bloke and can play at either end but preferably in defense. Was nearly/was BOG in the Tassie league Grand Final if i remmber clearly.

Will more than likely go around 21. if we weren't taking Tom I'd agree. but sadly...

I got it wrong, this Talia is only 16, he is the cousin of the Talia to be drafted.. (signed with a manager at 16)

Now this is what I dont understand, Brisbane were trying to sign him to the scholarship program for (I assume academy?) and was all but signed 25 G I think he said, then GWS lured him to inspect their program and from all reports he wasnt happy with GWS, Choco top bloke, SOS an arrogant twat.. and wants to finnish school with his mates and stay with his footy mates..

Brings me back to an earlier question I asked, can we sign young talent into our academy to manipulate our future draft picks?

Is it even allowed?

Brings me back to an earlier question I asked, can we sign young talent into our academy to manipulate our future draft picks?

Is it even allowed?

I don't know the answer for sure, but you'd think there would be some fairly strict residential qualification requirements for a player to be eligible for an Academy programme. Otherwise the system is in for abuse (which would be the quickest way to close the whole thing down).

Under the old scholarship system there was certainly some minimum residence requirement. There was a story in the media a couple of years ago about the Swans stumbling across a young Dustin Martin who had just come up to NSW to live with his father. They wanted to sign him on a scholarship but he hadn't lived in NSW for long enough.

Two years is probably a reasonable minimum qualification period. That is long enough to prevent rorting, while not so long as to penalise young players who have genuinely moved to either NSW or Queensland for non-football reasons. Maybe for the younger participants ( ie the 10-13 year olds) a shorter period, or even no qualification period, makes sense as rorting is far less likely at such a young age.

I don't know the answer for sure, but you'd think there would be some fairly strict residential qualification requirements for a player to be eligible for an Academy programme. Otherwise the system is in for abuse (which would be the quickest way to close the whole thing down)..

as much as I dont want to see it get shut down I dont want to miss out, if there is a rort Ill find it.. :)

Currie to the Bombers?

I doubt it. They don't need any more developed ruckman, they might take an 18 year old kid but not someone who would want games like Currie.

Good read - quigley's mock draft

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=890556

He is of the opinion that after the first 20 or so picks it's basically a lottery with little to separate the rest of the pack. He also has written an in-depth analysis of Tom Mitchell.

Pick #43 will be a KPP in my opinion, most likely a key defender and then with our 60's pick it will be the best talent available.

Options at pick #43 could/will be (feel free to add):
Brody Mihocek - AA CHB, very strong for his age, has clean hands highlighted by his top 10 ranking in the clean hands test at Draft Combine.

Xavier Richards - brother of Ted and very quick and agile. More of a athlete than a footballer but if he could be just like Ted then we will have a real good player.

There's another defender from North Hobart who is a really good defender but not sure what his name is.

Article on the AFL website says Ben Darrou suits us. He makes it look a bit easy. Athletic and a big guy at 93 kgs already and 191 cm.

The article also suggests Henry Schade from North Hobart. I guess that's who you're referring to strauchnie.

Both look like good prospects, and slightly better picks than Xavier Richards. Xavier's listed as a forward anyway.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/126196/default.aspx

Yeah I'd see Xavier being available with our 3rd pick, definitely keen on a defender with 2nd
I believe we only have 2 live picks. Our pick 85 appears to have been pre-committed to promoting a rookie.

Quigley listed Schade at 10, but said that was highly unlikely. And he didn't place Darrou in his 50, so Quigley disagrees with you Bedford, but I don't.

You never know how the cards will fall. I'd be happy it we got those 2.

I believe we only have 2 live picks. Our pick 85 appears to have been pre-committed to promoting a rookie.

Quigley listed Schade at 10, but said that was highly unlikely. And he didn't place Darrou in his 50, so Quigley disagrees with you Bedford, but I don't.

You never know how the cards will fall. I'd be happy it we got those 2.

Yeah sorry, I should have said I was counting our first pick as Mitchell, so 2nd/3rd are 2nd and 3rd rounder with 4th being used on Gordon

Article on the AFL website says Ben Darrou suits us. He makes it look a bit easy. Athletic and a big guy at 93 kgs already and 191 cm.

The article also suggests Henry Schade from North Hobart. I guess that's who you're referring to strauchnie.

Both look like good prospects, and slightly better picks than Xavier Richards. Xavier's listed as a forward anyway.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/126196/default.aspx
I have posted a couple of times about Darrou, he's not over big in height, but is strong and tough and is a massive kick