Marc Shmurf 3

Melb Victory, Storm, Juve
Hey guys, being a regular at training throughout the pre season there has been a concerted concentration on tackling. Was it just me or did anyone else notice how good our tackling was on the weekend. Far too many times last year we had tackles broken, but i think with the added size by the guys and a higher emphasis on technique this preseason we really have this part of our game down pat.

Seeing Murphy, Hoops, Russell and even Lance tackling and putting pressure on was fantastic. I can vividly remember 3 times, 1 on Lucas when he was going for a 9 pointer in the first, 1 on Ryder in the last and i cant remember who the other one was.

The person who really stood out for me was Cloke. He was heavily criticised for us taking him in the preseason but he adds absolute mongrel to our side which is fantastic, and his field kicking was pretty good i reckon (not his goal kicking).

Your views

yeh, im real glad our blokes have bulked up. having that extra size really helps us in many aspects of the game. i was stoked with our tackling and pressure. i remember last year we applied heaps of pressure, but heaps of our tackles were broken, so teams could get away anywayz. the game against essendon showed that if our tackles stick, the pressure we apply can really hurt opposition teams. btw who is "hoops"?

one thing i noticed and liked, was that we were gang tackling. hunting in packs so to speak. most tackles made that brought a spillage of the ball, we had numbers there to scoop it up and away we went. hope for more of the same. :thumbsu:

yeh, im real glad our blokes have bulked up. having that extra size really helps us in many aspects of the game. i was stoked with our tackling and pressure. i remember last year we applied heaps of pressure, but heaps of our tackles were broken, so teams could get away anywayz. the game against essendon showed that if our tackles stick, the pressure we apply can really hurt opposition teams. btw who is "hoops"?

Hoops = Houlihan

thanks marc. also, how do u create a new thread? like creat a new discussion thing?

Welcome aboard mate.
If you want to create a new thread, go into the Carlton Board and click onto Start new Thread, which is at the top of the screen.

Pretty fair username as well.

Yeah I noticed it too.

It's very frustrating when the opposition constantly breaks out of our tackles as if we were young and weak.

Now that we are bigger it looks as though the tackles are starting to stick.

Fev & Lappin were our best tacklers last season, which says something, when 1 is our FF (but good on him for chasing down and applying pressure) and the other is one of the smallest players on our list (and lightest too). I remember when Pickett was charging through the centre, and Lappin tackled him, it was one of the best moments all season, and the numerous games when Fevola would chase down defenders and get a free kick and kick the goal :thumbsu: (Hon. Mention to Eddie Betts)

It seems now that all players are prepared to go in and tackle, they are all bigger and stronger, and they look like they actually want to go in and tackle the opposition player, whether he is bigger and stronger or smaller and weaker, but whoever the opposition player is, we really want to tackle him and win possession back, which is a very good sign!

thanks marc. also, how do u create a new thread? like creat a new discussion thing?

Don't worry mate, up until 1 week ago, I didn't know who "hoops" was either, I think it's a rather ridiculous nickname, and I for one, wont be using it :D

Houlihan has been referred to as Hoops for as long as I can remember ;)

one thing i noticed and liked, was that we were gang tackling. hunting in packs so to speak. most tackles made that brought a spillage of the ball, we had numbers there to scoop it up and away we went. hope for more of the same. :thumbsu:

Although I'm one of the first to admit I love a good gang tackle, we often seem to get sucked into the ball carrier and leave wider receivers open.

At least it shows we're eager!

did anyone else bar up (moisten up for the ladies) when murph broke the tackle and pin pointed a pass to fev on saturday night??

his tackling and ability to break tackles is amazing for a little fella.

did anyone else bar up (moisten up for the ladies) when murph broke the tackle and pin pointed a pass to fev on saturday night??

his tackling and ability to break tackles is amazing for a little fella.

ahh, yes:D
The more you see of this guy the more you appreciate just how good he'll eventually become.
A lot of people say "Murph = Cousins" and Cousins rarely gets caught.
It's the awareness, the swivel of the hips, core strength.
At only 19 yrs Murph has a few pre-seasons ahead of him to even get into Ben's class but I do believe that we might see the equation eventually being Murph > Cousins.

The more you see of this guy the more you appreciate just how good he'll eventually become.
I wonder how the "experts" will end up ranking him against the draft of 2006? He might end up better than all of them.

Murphs pressure around the footy was the stand out for me. Especially after his shoulder reco, you could forgive a young bloke for standing back and waiting to receive.
I've always loved this aspect of Betts' game, but his disposal looked better on Sat as well.

Even more impressive to me for our mids was the numbers and run. There always seemed to be a link up guy running from behind and two or so waiting to receive.

If we have this much pressure at the stoppages against the Hawks they are gonna get a huge surprise.

Houlihan has been referred to as Hoops for as long as I can remember ;)

Think he had hot lips going for a while there, but Hoops is pretty good if you ask my. Better than Houla or something crap like that.

Considering Melbourne Storm are located at PP/OO/MC, give em a holla.
and i too love the carlton weights program :D

I wonder how the "experts" will end up ranking him against the draft of 2006? He might end up better than all of them.

Certainly, based on what Murph has showed so far, I am of the opinion that he is going to probably end up as good as, if not better than anyone from the '06 draft, including our own Bryce. There is something about him that really makes him stand out as something special. I wouldn't mind betting he ends up as one of those once in a generation players.