Tall Option Likely For Dees' Third Pick

I think that he was being sarcastic.

This draft is looking very good for us. There are lots of evenly ranked talls and they are largely at the 8-20 range, where we have 2 picks.

even more shocking

Some people just can't detect sarcasm on internet forums. Like the Essendon guy who alerted me to the fact Norm Smith was dead after i suggested the great man as a possibility to coach the Tassie team in 2018!

P.S Matt Burgan must have a degree in the screaming bloody obvious

Third pick a tall is looking very obvious. It makes the whole pick 11 for Ball call a joke, I somehow think that most parties concerned would call our bluff on that one. Pick 18 for Ball (which is more reasonable) would be coming into most people's calculations.

Some people just can't detect sarcasm on internet forums.

Yeah, you're not wrong - I made a sarcastic post in response to a dumbass thread about Scully on another part of BF at least several weeks ago, and this "GoldCoast11" moron's still chasing me around in the belief that I was somehow being serious - even though I actually put a note at the bottom of the original post to make it clear I was being sarcastic! :rolleyes:

Third pick a tall is looking very obvious.

I hope not. Best available all the way.

It is up to a recruiter to predict what that player will be like in 5-10 years and back that.

If they judge player A midfielder a 200 gamer and Player B to be the best KPP but have reservations about his game, you pick player A.

It is their job to predict and if their predictions/reservations of the KPP turn out to be true, they are really not filling a need.

Here's the kicker, You can trade a good midfielder. You can't trade a delisted KPP.

I hope not. Best available all the way.

It is up to a recruiter to predict what that player will be like in 5-10 years and back that.

If they judge player A midfielder a 200 gamer and Player B to be the best KPP but have reservations about his game, you pick player A.

It is their job to predict and if their predictions/reservations of the KPP turn out to be true, they are really not filling a need.

Here's the kicker, You can trade a good midfielder. You can't trade a delisted KPP.
Yeah, I get all of that. If the club went best available at 11 I would be quite happy, I'm not up for a debate on one or the other. Where I'm coming from is that it is not so far fetched that a tall player could be best available or close enough at least that only a minimal amount of bias was involved - the club will weigh up how much bias (if required) it is prepared to use based on it's drafting position. It is looking like there could be 1 or 2 decent talls before it drops off so there will be a judgement call on that. If a particular mid ends up being clearly a better option and the club goes that way then you wouldn't pass it up.

I am starting to chill a fair bit about the whole thing anyway. It is getting to the point that we should do pretty well regardless of a premeditated or spontaneous approach to 11 and 18. Mid then Tall or Tall then mid or even other, we have smart minds at the club. :thumbsu:

If the club went best available at 11 I would be quite happy, I'm not up for a debate on one or the other. Where I'm coming from is that it is not so far fetched that a tall player could be best available or close enough at least that only a minimal amount of bias was involved - the club will weigh up how much bias (if required) it is prepared to use based on it's drafting position. It is looking like there could be 1 or 2 decent talls before it drops off so there will be a judgement call on that. If a particular mid ends up being clearly a better option and the club goes that way then you wouldn't pass it up.

This is pretty much what BP said in his interview on the MFC site. He said they would take the best available but i keep needs close to the decision making., with a close note on the talls.

It seems to me the some of the most promising talls available look to be Butcher (small chance), Talia, Black, Carlisle, Reid, Griffiths, Vardy.

My question is where do they fit. If Butcher is there it seems we would be getting the best available as well as filling a need. But what about midfielders like Lucas and Melksham who are also a chance to be there at 11. Keen draft watchers my question to you is who is too good to let slip?

It seems to me the some of the most promising talls available look to be Butcher (small chance), Talia, Black, Carlisle, Reid, Griffiths, Vardy.

My question is where do they fit. If Butcher is there it seems we would be getting the best available as well as filling a need. But what about midfielders like Lucas and Melksham who are also a chance to be there at 11. Keen draft watchers my question to you is who is too good to let slip?

Vote yes at 11 to Rohan or Cunnington, and maybe Lucas at a strech. No to Melksham, maybe an option at 18 along with Tapscott, Moore or Sheppard if we did go tall at 11.

Keen draft watchers my question to you is who is too good to let slip?

Exactly the question the Melbourne list managers will be working on.

Well documented that outside the top ten it is a pretty even group of players so its not out of reason to consider needs.

Cunnington, Rohan and Lucas are the only ones I think are a small chance of sliding that I would take ahead of the talls (excluding Butcher).

Otherwise my preference is Black at 11 and best available at 18.

I really hope that if Butcher is gone by 11 we go with Talia. I reckon we could take a punt that either Carlisle or Black will still be around at 18. I know we have a lot of tall backs at the minute but everything I've heard and the little bits i've seen lead me to think Talia at 11 would be a massive steal and he is a big KP player whereas rivers, frawley, garland i would not consider tall as far as KP players go

Talia and Black will be gone by pick 18, Carlisle is about 50/50 to still be there imo.

Some size comparisons on the KPP players I think are in contention for 11 and 18 below:

Daniel Talia
Height: 194 cm
Weight 89kg

Jake Carlisle
Height: 197 cm
Weight: 87kg

Aaron Black
Height: 192 cm
Weight 82kg

John Butcher
Height 197 cm
Weight 87kg

-----------------

James Frawley
Height: 193 cm
Weight 91kg

Jared Rivers
Weight: 90kg

Colin Garland
Height: 191 cm
Weight: 85kg

Matthew Bate
Weight: 90kg

Liam Jurrah
Height: 191 cm
Weight: 81kg

Stefan Martin
Height: 198 cm
Weight: 100kg

Tom McNamara
Height: 190 cm
Weight: 87kg

Brad Miller
Height: 194 cm
Weight: 94kg

Jack Watts
Height: 196 cm
Weight: 83kg

like Lucas and Melksham who are also a chance to be there at 11. Keen draft watchers my question to you is who is too good to let slip?

Butcher is numero uno at 11.

I wouldn't let slip Lucas, Tapscott, Melksham (i really like him). The Falcon boys should be gone.

I like Talia out of the talls but can he play forward. If he could i would strongly consider him b4 Butcher.

Have not seen Black. Have reservations about Carlisle (nice size, good mover, not 100% sold he's footy smart) and Panos.

Preference at 11.
Butcher
Lucas
Melksham
Tapscott
Talia
Black
Carlisle

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/87288/default.aspx

"When he went up to play senior footy, his last two games were outstanding," Pratt said.

"You look at the votes from our fairest and best night and out of the maximum 36 votes for the last two games, he's picked up 35. It was just an unbelievable performance."

Black excelled at October's NAB AFL Draft Camp, finishing second in the new kicking test, and he suddenly finds himself on par with other WA first-round hopefuls Anthony Morabito, Lewis Jetta and Kane Lucas.

"Aaron does a few things that other players can't do," Pratt said. "His ability to gather the ball below his knees for a 193cm player is just outstanding - other players can't do that.

"His hands and his marking ability are really exceptional and he's just a beautiful kick of the footy."

As much as I don't expect BP to recruit whoever makes the papers, its a decent read and makes Aaron Black sound like a good prospect for pick 11.

Yep Im in the Black camp for pick 11. If we take him one of Carisle, Vardy or Griffiths will definately be around at 18.

Why would you take another tall at pick 18? When you already have Bate, Jurrah, Watts and Pick 11 for the future, Miller as backup, why would you recruit another Key Forward option, that would make your forward line way too Tall. I'd imagine Melbourne would recruit something like Jasper McMillan-Pittard as they don't seem to have a running defender or maybe Brad Sheppard

Bate isn't a tall and will probably play off the forward flank and rotate into the midfield.

While I think Jurrah could become a KPF, letting him have freedom will be where he plays his best football.

Miller plays his "best" football as a lead up CHF but I think we will see him phased out next season.

I would take a tall at #11 unless somebody slips and if we were going tall again at #18 I'd want it to be somebody like Nathan Vardy who can do either ruck or play as a KPF, otherwise best available.

Fair call and it will depend on which midfeilders are available at 18 as to whether we want best available. But I dont think we can bank on Black being a great forward. Someone like Carlisle would be great as if Black works out up front, Carlisle can be used as a defender or a swing man. And if we took say Griffiths, Black is agile enough to be used up the ground as a runner.

The only legitimate tall forward we have for the future right now is Watts (Bate and Jurrah are more utility forwards) - and even he hasnt proven anything yet so I dont think we're overdoing it by taking 2 talls in this draft.

Fair call and it will depend on which midfeilders are available at 18 as to whether we want best available. But I dont think we can bank on Black being a great forward. Someone like Carlisle would be great as if Black works out up front, Carlisle can be used as a defender or a swing man. And if we took say Griffiths, Black is agile enough to be used up the ground as a runner.

The only legitimate tall forward we have for the future right now is Watts (Bate and Jurrah are more utility forwards) - and even he hasnt proven anything yet so I dont think we're overdoing it by taking 2 talls in this draft.

Here are Melbourne's players who have potential to play a KPF role:

Matthew Bate
Stefan Martin
Jack Watts
Brad Miller (Probably a Backup)
Liam Jurrah
Cale Morton (To an extent)
Pick 11

If you ask me, that's more than enough potential to bank on succeeding and even if it doesn't, it should still be decent enough to mark the delivery coming from what looks to be one of the best future midfields in the league. Their forward line could work similar to West Coast's from 05-06 or Geelong's current.

If anything, based on Melbourne's needs, as I previously stated, they probably need some run out of defence. They have Bennell but I can't think of any other good options so recruiting someone like Sheppard probably is in the question. I can easily see Melbourne selecting Vardy as a ruck option too. They might even go for a tall midfielder like Duncan or Gysberts.

2008 ND pick 19 James Strauss says hello.

A Talia/Griffiths kpp haul at 11&18 has to be the goal as a replacement plan for Garland/Rivers and Miller. How good would it be in 3 years time when Riv is 30 to roll out a Talia as a 194cm 100kg replacment...

Blokes like Blease, Strauss, Trengove, Scully, Grimes, Davey, Morton, Jones, Bennell, Jetta etc are all going to need to rotate through the half back line. Sheppard whilst great would almost be over kill.

Here are Melbourne's players who have potential to play a KPF role:

Matthew Bate - doesnt play tall enough - not a pack marker.
Stefan Martin - defender/ruckman and occasional forward.
Jack Watts - legitimate tall forward but must develop yet.
Brad Miller (Probably a Backup) - junk. Will be delisted or traded within 24 months.
Liam Jurrah - utility half forward. Not strong enough to split packs.
Cale Morton (To an extent) - Tall onballer/defender. May go forward occasionally.
Pick 11 - hasnt proven anything, infact hasnt even been picked..

If you ask me, that's more than enough potential to bank on succeeding and even if it doesn't, it should still be decent enough to mark the delivery coming from what looks to be one of the best future midfields in the league. Their forward line could work similar to West Coast's from 05-06 or Geelong's current.

Not knocking the players, just pointing out why they wont necessarily be the KPF we are looking for in red text above.

Sheppard and Gysberts will definately be in consideration for 18.

But between Strauss, Bennell, Morton, Grimes, Blease and Trengove we have a few capable of that role. Theres also a chance well look like taking Joel MacDonald in the PSD as well. Anyway not saying these guys are all we need - but I think you go for a tall forward with a high draft pick over a running defender.