OKC, Sturt, Cardinals
He actually played quite well yesterday........ BUT something needs to be done and done fast about that goalkicking. Drop him to the 2's and tell him if he doesnt fix it he can stay there until he does.

He needs to stop working on his guns over the pre-season and kick at goals from dusk until dawn

wizard, I think it's pretty easy to single Taz out for his poor goal kicking, but what about the countless turnovers from the backline (Grover, McPharlin and Hayden made more than a few blues yesterday) or the midfields insisitence on handballing into more and more pressured situations? When we recruited him we knew it was a weakness in his game - we need to work on it for next year, but he hasn't had much opportunity this year due to his leg problems.

Have said before his kicking is not that bad,pre game he kicks 3 out of 4 good while not perfect its passable.I think Its just a confidence thing and he has shown he can do it.I do admire him for still trying as oppose to others who when struggle look to pass off.

He's played pretty well, gathering plenty possessions yesterday and most games. He's contributed well overall.

But he was traded in as a key forward to provide a two prong avenue to score and take pressure off Pav. This aspect he hasn't met the rationale for the trade and perhaps arguably the price we paid.

He's played pretty well, gathering plenty possessions yesterday and most games. He's contributed well overall.

But he was traded in as a key forward to provide a two prong avenue to score and take pressure off Pav. This aspect he hasn't met the rationale for the trade and perhaps arguably the price we paid.

I think Taz has fulfilled the role in taking the pressure off Pavlich. How often have we seen Pav double or triple teamed this year? He is taking the oppositions second best backman week in week out and keeping him as far from Pav as possible. His forward line pressure has also been excellent, especially given we've been without Farmer all season.

I don't think Tarrant's goal kicking output is any different than it has been at Collingwood in the last 2 or 3 years - did we all expect him to come over here and become a 100 goal a year forward or something?

Tarrant's true worth will be shown if Murphy ever pulls his finger out. If we can have Pav and Murphy as our key forwards in the forward 50, Taz will be freed up to win the ball and deliver it in - there is nothing wrong with his ability to win the ball or his field kicking.

I think Taz has fulfilled the role in taking the pressure off Pavlich. How often have we seen Pav double or triple teamed this year? He is taking the oppositions second best backman week in week out and keeping him as far from Pav as possible. His forward line pressure has also been excellent, especially given we've been without Farmer all season.

I don't think Tarrant's goal kicking output is any different than it has been at Collingwood in the last 2 or 3 years - did we all expect him to come over here and become a 100 goal a year forward or something?

Tarrant's true worth will be shown if Murphy ever pulls his finger out. If we can have Pav and Murphy as our key forwards in the forward 50, Taz will be freed up to win the ball and deliver it in - there is nothing wrong with his ability to win the ball or his field kicking.

Spot on. Taz was the least of our worries yesterday.

A lot of the time the ball is delivered in an appauling mannner to him usually at his feet he's a one grab play rarely fumbles( unlike many of his teams)and gets the handball off to a player running by.

Exactly. There was one occasion yesterday he had led down one wing, run back to the forward 50 and led down the other wing to provide another option, only to have the ball kicked at his shoe-laces, putting him under enormous pressure.

Arguement there Chook is why not recruit a midfielder ? As a key forward he needs to kick the easy shots and be a contributor directly in the scoring. Otherwise your falling into a similar debate as the half-backs v true midfielders.

Clearances and delivery is the fault not Tarrant nor Pav being double teamed.

You lot are setting the bar way too low. Tarrant's kicking was embarrassing yesterday and recruiting him was a very poor decision. We sold the farm to recruit a forward who doesn't want to kick. :mad:

Exactly, I thought I must have been drinking the kool aid till I read this.
He was terrible, 2 goals came directly from his turning the ball over, including the first of the game which set the standard for our skills from then one. He ignored Pav unguarded in the square and sprayed it when we were within 3. That was the end of the comeback.

I can't dispute that he gets the footy but what he does with it, it's not just that he misses it's the effect it has on the confidence of those around him. Even Pav got the yips for a while out of sympathy.

He is an overpaid temperamental athlete and we would be better off without him.

When he missed running into an open goal, we were within a couple of kicks of turning the game our way. The momentum swung after that. The kick should have been too easy for an AFL standard player.

I wonder if Taz's calf problems are an issue there. It's been pointed out on the main board that his toe is pointing up too much during the kick, as the calf controls plantar flexion of the foot, if he's having problems with the calves, then he would have too much flexibility and control in that movement. I'd love to know if the strength and conditioning staff at the club are looking into improving his kicking action, do the club have experts in biomechanics?

I think you guys got done like when we gave up Gehrig his confidence won't improve coz it's match day pressure that triggers his kicking probs. I'd like to see his heart rate when he is kicking for goal I reckon his would be racing. Biomechanics aside his psychology is the prob he was terrible for Collingwood in his final season.

I'd love to know if the strength and conditioning staff at the club are looking into improving his kicking action, do the club have experts in biomechanics?

Kevin Ball is the clubs biomechanist (the guy with the beard who sits near Connolly on match day).

Found this on Ben Tarbox, our strength and conditioning coach.

Ben Tarbox
Head Strength and Conditioning Coach
Fremantle Dockers Football Club

After the completion of my ECU undergraduate degree I secured a part-time position with WAIS as a part-time Strength and Conditioning Coach. While continuing to work at WAIS I also completed a Sports Science Honours degree at ECU before being offered the role of Health Strength and Conditioning Coach at WAIS. I continued working at WAIS, specifically with the Australian Men's Hockey Team through to their gold medal performance at the 2004 Athens Olympics. Following the Olympics, I was approached by the Fremantle Dockers and offered the position of Head Strength and Conditioning Coach.

When he missed running into an open goal, we were within a couple of kicks of turning the game our way. The momentum swung after that. The kick should have been too easy for an AFL standard player.

I wonder if Taz's calf problems are an issue there. It's been pointed out on the main board that his toe is pointing up too much during the kick, as the calf controls plantar flexion of the foot, if he's having problems with the calves, then he would have too much flexibility and control in that movement. I'd love to know if the strength and conditioning staff at the club are looking into improving his kicking action, do the club have experts in biomechanics?

DB, I can remember an interview from one of the assistant coaches earlier in the year saying that because of his calf operations he hadn't been able to do much work on his kicking this season, but it is something they want to address. Hopefully Kevin Ball can get him sorted out over the pre-season.

Tarrant wasn't too bad up until the Collingwood game when all the media campaign about his poor kicking got in his head. Since then he's been too scared to get in goal kicking positions in the fear of failure.

He needs to stop working on his guns over the pre-season and kick at goals from dusk until dawn

The most resourced club in the league spent 7yrs trying to improve his kicking and nothing. His problem is in his head, and thats something you cant change easily.

Indeed. Ian Baker Finch gave up Pro Golf cause he couldn't shake the yips. It's what seperates the true champions from the merely ridiculously gifted.

Medders has had they yips for years now which is quite ironic really.

He could of run in further, and then handballed to Pav instead of having a shot. It was two Freo to one geelong !!!