Tasmanian Football Thread

How long have they been struggling for? I caught the Win Local News late edition one night and heard of a possible Devonport/East merger I think it may have been 2004.

Yeah they are struggling. But from all reports they are cashed up but know one wants to play there.
Doubt they will fold and there wont be another team in the comp because there are enough clubs struggling now.
The BYE will remain

Yeah they are struggling. But from all reports they are cashed up but know one wants to play there.
Doubt they will fold and there wont be another team in the comp because there are enough clubs struggling now.
The BYE will remain

Wasn't there also something about East Devonport and Devonport both wanting the Devonport council for upgrades of their grounds but the council said it could only fix up the one?

I also remember hearing a while back maybe 2 or so years there being talks of merger between both East and Devonport. Though it could have been a rumour about the proposed merger.

One thing I'd like to see is a pre-season comp for the league, I remember the last one I saw was in 1999, which the Southern Cats won, and managed to stay afloat for an extra few weeks before dropping dead.
I don't know if the league would be able to give the winners a prize like the old TFL did, but it would give some of the fans a chance to see their newer players in action before the season starts proper.

It would be good for the comp I reckon.
Someone once told me that the prize money that the Southern Cats won in that tournament kept them afloat till mid-season before it all ran out and they folded - could be an urban myth, I don't know.

Dunno if you remember the old Puma Challenge Series pre-season matches that the TFL held between 1989-1991?
North Launceston won all three from memory, and those matches would attract between 1,000-2,000 to the games.
In the North they were held at West Park and York Park, and in the South they were primarily double and triple headers at North Hobart and occasionally at KGV.
I recall the last ones from 1991 that I attended were both at North Hobart and the Tigers were reigning TFL Premiers at the time, leading Clarence in the rain and getting rolled by 14-points in one of them, and the following week lead Sandy Bay until the very last kick of the game and lost, being bundled out in straight sets!
Incidently, after that Clarence game, I remember former Geelong player Mark Yeates leading North Hobart for the first time as Captain-Coach and they smacked New Norfolk by plenty. They looked very good!
It was a pretty accurate precursor to the real season as it turned out.
The crowds barracked more fervently at those pre-season games than they do at the proper SFL Grand Finals these days.
I think they stopped hosting them, presumably because of the clubs becoming increasingly cash-strapped as that year went on, in regard to the Recession - more matches = more player payments.
Also it was thought that the crowds weren't as strong as they probably should've been (for those days), and sponsorship was getting harder to come by, so it was scrapped.
It was a good little sidelight to the real season though.
The SFL had a good one in 2002 holding a Cascade Challenge pre-season comp, all the matches were played at Pontville (unfortunately).
The final was New Norfolk (as the Hawks) and Hobart (in the all gold) and it was a stinking hot day up there, New Norfolk won by about 28-points in front of a very good crowd, pretty close to 1000.
Stupid thing was, Hobart had to back it all up again the following day to play that Tye Bennett Memorial game against DOSA at the same ground in the same 33°C heat, and the amount of interchanging they did in the Challenge final (because they were all needed both days) meant no player stayed on the ground long enough to do anything worthwhile and they were outclassed all day.
Also remember Plover Gillbee getting reported and sent off for punching Leigh Post in that game.

Good times! :)

Noticed in the Mercury this morning too:

Crisis meeting for the Kingborough Football Club to address the situation in regard to the lack of players and coaches at the club for this upcoming season.

To be held on Wednesday night, 10 January........

How long have they been struggling for? I caught the Win Local News late edition one night and heard of a possible Devonport/East merger I think it may have been 2004.

The Devonport/East merger was a deadbeat merger to begin with, the idea was flouted by ex-mayor Peter Hollister, I recall reading it in the Advocate one day and it was front page news. Even though Devonport were struggling financially, they wouldn't even comtemplate a merger with their nearest neighbours for any reason.

Easts have struggled since 1998, they haven't made the Finals since then, and haven't looked like it in any grade. There are a lot of teams in the NTFL who find Easts as easy pickings during the season..I wonder why??

The Devonport/East merger was a deadbeat merger to begin with, the idea was flouted by ex-mayor Peter Hollister, I recall reading it in the Advocate one day and it was front page news. Even though Devonport were struggling financially, they wouldn't even comtemplate a merger with their nearest neighbours for any reason.

Easts have struggled since 1998, they haven't made the Finals since then, and haven't looked like it in any grade. There are a lot of teams in the NTFL who find Easts as easy pickings during the season..I wonder why??

I was keeping a keen eye on the scores from last season and saw a lot of huge scores against them. It was almost like the scores Brighton were getting pumped by at one stage, but worse.

How are Devonport going financially now? Would be much better now right?

Noticed in the Mercury this morning too:

Crisis meeting for the Kingborough Football Club to address the situation in regard to the lack of players and coaches at the club for this upcoming season.

To be held on Wednesday night, 10 January........

How many did they have left? About 7? I going to be interested in where they find the extra players from.

It was an extremely hard decision for Deloraine to go 'back' to the NTFA and not made lightly. In retrospect though it was a good decision with support, finance and wins at a high(except in grand finals). When you think there are only so many high level footballers around to fill teams for two top level competitions in the state it's no wonder that some teams struggle to make the grade. Who wants to play in a continually losing side? Not Many.
So maybe East would be better off dropping a level and regaining their finances and support. Deloraine found it was continually fund raising just to meet associated costs with the NTFL and no one had any enjoyment with that, which is what playing for and supporting a side is all about.

It would be good for the comp I reckon.
Someone once told me that the prize money that the Southern Cats won in that tournament kept them afloat till mid-season before it all ran out and they folded - could be an urban myth, I don't know.

I heard the same thing, I know that their membership drive down the Huon failed big time, hell in their first game when they had the STFL game before hand by the time Atkin kicked the winning goal the fans changed to supporting Glenorchy, there was a loud roar when Atkin put that final goal through to win the game. Around the ground in the rubbish bins were membership stuff, as well as a few other Southern Districts stuff.

Dunno if you remember the old Puma Challenge Series pre-season matches that the TFL held between 1989-1991?
North Launceston won all three from memory, and those matches would attract between 1,000-2,000 to the games.
In the North they were held at West Park and York Park, and in the South they were primarily double and triple headers at North Hobart and occasionally at KGV.
I recall the last ones from 1991 that I attended were both at North Hobart and the Tigers were reigning TFL Premiers at the time, leading Clarence in the rain and getting rolled by 14-points in one of them, and the following week lead Sandy Bay until the very last kick of the game and lost, being bundled out in straight sets!
Incidently, after that Clarence game, I remember former Geelong player Mark Yeates leading North Hobart for the first time as Captain-Coach and they smacked New Norfolk by plenty. They looked very good!
It was a pretty accurate precursor to the real season as it turned out.
The crowds barracked more fervently at those pre-season games than they do at the proper SFL Grand Finals these days.
I think they stopped hosting them, presumably because of the clubs becoming increasingly cash-strapped as that year went on, in regard to the Recession - more matches = more player payments.
Also it was thought that the crowds weren't as strong as they probably should've been (for those days), and sponsorship was getting harder to come by, so it was scrapped.
It was a good little sidelight to the real season though.
The SFL had a good one in 2002 holding a Cascade Challenge pre-season comp, all the matches were played at Pontville (unfortunately).
The final was New Norfolk (as the Hawks) and Hobart (in the all gold) and it was a stinking hot day up there, New Norfolk won by about 28-points in front of a very good crowd, pretty close to 1000.
Stupid thing was, Hobart had to back it all up again the following day to play that Tye Bennett Memorial game against DOSA at the same ground in the same 33°C heat, and the amount of interchanging they did in the Challenge final (because they were all needed both days) meant no player stayed on the ground long enough to do anything worthwhile and they were outclassed all day.
Also remember Plover Gillbee getting reported and sent off for punching Leigh Post in that game.

Good times! :)

I remember part of it, around that time I was only about 6 or 7, pre-season comps give you that earlier taste of footy for the new year, I remember the 1999 Knockout Cup was about 10 minutes per quarter and theyh ad about 3 games on in the afternoon.

I went to it, if I remember correctly there was no admission, had the twins there so couldn't stay for the second game. I think the 2nd game was North Hobart and someone else, I watched the Glenorchy game, and we lost. A lot of our team wasn't playing, but either way we looked a bit shocking that day.

And for the first few weeks of 1999.

Speaking of pre-season stuff, anyone have any ideas of the praccy matches? Dates, times, and venues? I am not sure if they'd be planned yet, but I thought I'd ask.

Last couple of years Glenorchy has made the trip to Oatlands playing praccy matches, I think last year we also played Burnie. I am thinking that there might be another trip to Oatlands again this year, UI think we played Clarence there last year, and played an NTFL side there too, from memory, that might have been the year before.

I was keeping a keen eye on the scores from last season and saw a lot of huge scores against them. It was almost like the scores Brighton were getting pumped by at one stage, but worse.

How are Devonport going financially now? Would be much better now right?

From a Devonport source, their finances are better than what they were in the latter years of the Statewide League. Mind you there are not a lot of clubs (SFL/NTFL/NTFA/Other Leagues) that would make money on match days, relying heavliy on sponsorship etc.

Easts did get flogged a lot yes, I watched their match against South L'ton at Youngtown before I went to the VFL game at Aurora, they were very unlucky to lose by 6 goals that day, South only played for the last 10 minutes of the match.

A good friend of mine went to Easts games in 2000 when they didn't win a game at all, and said then that Easts shouldn't be in the NTFL. Nothing has changed, they have no-one, they have good facilities..but only good, and they in all honesty are struggling, I think a move to the NWFA (the next tier down) will be adequate for Easts.

Cheers for that mate, I think you'd be right, seems they aren't upto par with any of the NTFL sides and seems to have not been that way for a long time. Drop down re-group and save themselves from dying seems to be a better option.

well i can tell you that from a players point of view i wish they would kick them out of the comp. its a waste of a good saturday when you have to play east. Comp would be better with out them.

Yeah I bet it would be, there were some that felt that about Brighton, this year might be different there.

Really feel for the players though that show up each week and get slaughtered like that.

We just need to get Barge out of retirement!!!:D

I dunno. Maybe if I get a Mal Michael training schedule (ie never) I might be a smidgen of a chance.

You'll have to top considerable offers from both Claremont reserves and Claremont Superules!

Superules up against it at this early stage - Sundays not really a day that appeals to me as a player and also not real keen on playing on older guys who can play and take it serious as they would show me, as one of the younger guys in the team, up something terribly!

I might start up a league for guys in the 30-35 age bracket who really just cannot be f....d!

You and I can be Co-Presidents/Co-Coaches and Kingpin can do the scoreboard for us!

Whaddaya's reckon?

Exactly, whether they listen or not is another story. Would save embarrassing the league and the Coastal supporters as a whole!

First of all please tell me why Devils coach would recruit an 18 year old from another state when we have great youngsters here. Maybe its because he got a bad knock on the head when he and his possible new captain got into a big fight after a few drinks together. FACT I am told. But feel free to put in hear your versions of the event. Please dont ask me to name players involved. Only trying to say coaches and players should not drink and hang out together because when loss of form and tough decisions have to be made it becomes personal. Learn from past mistakes and we might have a good team BASED ON PLAYERS WHO HAVE DESERVED there spot in the team.

Well zippy bunny you will have to fill me in on the new player from interstate. as for the fight, atleast give me a venue of where this one occured!!!!!!!!

Might have to wait for Win News, maybe they'll carry this story like the last one. ;)

Devils suck! Hope it folds.

Toot! Toot! - "All aboard the Gravy Train!"

Exactly, whether they listen or not is another story. Would save embarrassing the league and the Coastal supporters as a whole!

You would hope someone would be thinking about best ways to keep the club afloat, and then figure that if they cannot be competitive in one league they might be best suited in another.

Since it's obvious that they have been down for so long and they don't seem to be going back up maybe it is time to look at moving?