Tdl

• Thread starter Thread starter Membling

His hands - what a mark that kid has! And that speculator he did in the first quarter that hit the post - I was metres away from him when he made that kick and he had little doubt that was an 80-20 chance of going through in his mind.

We have a quality forward boys and girls! :)

**** me, it's good to have a forward that knows what his job is (to kick goals), and doesn't seem to panic when it comes time to do it.

At this early stage in his career, I haven't felt this confident about a player taking a set shot for a looong time.

Watching the 4th quarter replay again and not just TDL's goals were important and that tackle but he was pressuring all quarter. He had 3 or 4 great efforts were he put the ball carrier under huge pressure and affected the disposal going forward for Carlton.

Big game from a future star.

In all seriousness is TDL the most accurate goal kicker in the AFL at the moment?

After the Armfield tackle as another poster said you had this feeling he wasn't going to miss despite the angle.

great footy instincts, looks like he'd blow over if you shut the door too quickly, but perhaps his light frame coupled with his agility and evasiness is key to his ability to get to the ball.

Shows that the trip back to the reserves was good for him. Roos gave him a taste for seniors, sent him back to regain confidence and he hasn't looked back since.
I don't think that was why he was dropped. He was unluckily squeezed out and then spent two weeks as an emergency and not playing in the reserves. The third week he played one half, and what a half it was too with 4 goals, before getting the recall and hasn't looked back since.

I stand corrected then. Whatever it was, he seems to look a lot more confident since coming back.

I had a look in here hoping to read a bit about TDL and find all this spud rubbish?
Anyway how good was the pressure shot from the angle, none of the fancy banana kicks for him, he just went back, followed his routine and slotted an 'old fashioned' drop punt with confidence, great stuff.

I had a look in here hoping to read a bit about TDL and find all this spud rubbish?
Anyway how good was the pressure shot from the angle, none of the fancy banana kicks for him, he just went back, followed his routine and slotted an 'old fashioned' drop punt with confidence, great stuff.

Apart from Barry Hall, one of the best set shots for goal, I've seen at our club for awhile. Near perfect technique. :thumbsu:

Needs a touch more bulk on him, but shaping up to be a real gun.

o/t, but what happened to the "Trent Dennis Jones" thread on the main board? That was gold!

ENOUGH!

This thread was supposed to be about Trent Dennis-Lane. TDL is becoming one of my favourites, and I came here to post about his brilliant form. Instead I get post after post about Playfair, and those boasting about having superior knowledge to everyone else.

It really blows my mind that arm chair computer experts think they know more about footy and the Swans players than the coaching and conditioning staff.

I am now going to waste my time deleting every reference to Playfair in this thread. If you want to start a thread about Playfair, go ahead. Don't ruin other threads to pump up your superiority complexes.

And... if this thread is derailed again I will start handing out cards. NOT for opinion, but for being a abnoxious brat who thinks they can destroy and derail threads. Go and make your own ****ing thread if you want to tell everyone how good you are, how you know better than Paul Roos and the selection committee and how you'd like to have seen the Swans get pumped by 50+ points every week.

:mad:

--

As for TDL I am a huge huge fan. Kid is so smart, runs so well to space and reads the flight of the ball extremely well. Very happy with him!!

And so say all of us, Mase.

TDL is just a natural forward. Always has front position, chases hard like a dog (his last quarter he put in numerous gut busting chases to disrupt the ball carrier), is so smart with ball in hand, finds dangerous space when a turnover occurs and is a lethal set shot for goal. Not to mention is a very clever shot for goal from open play (snaps, dribbles etc.).

You've got on a good one here, Mase.

And so say all of us, Mase.

TDL is just a natural forward. Always has front position, chases hard like a dog (his last quarter he put in numerous gut busting chases to disrupt the ball carrier), is so smart with ball in hand, finds dangerous space when a turnover occurs and is a lethal set shot for goal. Not to mention is a very clever shot for goal from open play (snaps, dribbles etc.).

You've got on a good one here, Mase.

Haha after his past five rounds i'd say supernatural:
16 goals 5 behinds= conversion rate of 76.2%

Very interested why Weagles didn't look at him or Jetta. Looking a bargain at not round 3 as i said before but round 4.

They wanted Jetta but we stole him. TDL is the same sort of player as McKinley and LeCras so was probably deemed unnecessary by them.

Haha after his past five rounds i'd say supernatural:
16 goals 5 behinds= conversion rate of 76.2%

Great call mate. I am so excited by this boy. More impressed everytime I see him.

Amen Mase.

I can't believe I wanted him dropped (actually fair enough, he was dropped) - Grim can hold witness to this, I was ruthless. Take it all back now!

I reckon his secret is how far he goes back from a set shot. I've never seen a player go so far back from the mark. Seems to work though.

Yep he'd do that for his follow through, Lockett used to do the same and manner other accurate kicks. Its to relax them and allows them to steady :)

Amen Mase.

I can't believe I wanted him dropped (actually fair enough, he was dropped) - Grim can hold witness to this, I was ruthless. Take it all back now!
Yes young vonn i remember quite clearly. It was an underwhelming debut, full of nerves, and it didn't help that we capitulated to Richmond. But regular ressies watchers like Sophie and myself knew that he could play and had a big bag of tricks, he just needed an opportunity. I wasn't happy when he was omitted instead of Meredith, especially when we were short on forwards.

Longest runup since Simon Flipper Phillips. I particularly enjoy the hop and skip halfway through the runup :D