Teach me Essendon History - The Danihers

Re: Teach me Essendon Hisotry - The Danihers

Love these last couple of threads, been a welcome addition to this board!

I have to say, it may not be your history you need to brush up on, but maybe your English! Lol

A great way of spelling hisotry!

I mean this in the most light hearted manner!

No sweat. You'll be amused to learn that I am in fact both an English AND History teacher, so double fail on my part!

I went to edit it, but you apparently can't edit titles once they're posted.

Is that you windyhill behind the Milo sign?:p

[YOUTUBE]nTodE0YJ8eo[/YOUTUBE]

LDJ...I'm getting stuff from The Danihers book and it definitely says Fields hit him..

There's so many great Terry quotes in this book and stories like this...

Coach Barry Davis turns up at the flat that Terry, Neale and teammate Peter Bennett rented...." I knocked on the door and there was no-one home. So I went around the back. There was a stack of pizza at the back door. It was the highest stack of pizza boxes I'd ever seen in my life. That was on one side. On the other was stubbies. They were piled to the top of the door.

My mistake then sorry Mark Browning, all those years of ill feeling towards you were unwarranted..Cant feel bad towards fields, without him we never would have had the Danihers...

Great story about the pizzas classic stuff..

Terry..." We lived on pizza and we loved those bloody chessecakes and ice-cream, we all had a sweet tooth. People used to come around and they were just fascinated by the pizza boxes, cheesecake boxes and empty beer bottles all over the place. But we enjoyed a good roast. Whenever we went home we'd always kill a couple of lambs and bring back plenty of meat. We'd go through that and it was back to the takeaway"

:D

Cheers Heard...My mistake then sorry Mark Browning, all those years of ill feeling towards you were unwarranted..Cant feel bad towards fields, without him we never would have had the Danihers...

Great story about the pizzas classic stuff..

T.D was lucky it wasn't Browning. He was a built like a Mack truck.

More Terry yarns from the book..

Amid all the frivolity, Terry instituted one rule that could not be broken. No matter how hung-over you were on a Sunday, you had to get up and go for a run. Essendon players from that time still marvel at Terry's extraordinary powers of recuperation after a long night on the town. On most Sundays he would drag Neale out of bed, insisting the two 'go for a bit of a gallop'. This jog was rarely less than five kilometres. After that the boys would tuck into bacon and eggs, before heading to the VFA.

The EFC took the players to the USA for their end of year trip but Terry and Simon Madden were selected to play in the first International Rules series against Ireland and they headed there after the 1984 GF win

Here's Terry giving a 'speech' at the Australian ambassador's official function...

After the meal was served, a couple of boring speeches followed. Terry was callled upon to thank the hosts. Terry tapped the micophone and looked out at the crowd, as a cheeky grin broke out. 'G'day Mr Ambassador,' he began. 'I'd like to thank you and the missus for the drinks and the sangas, they were great. Ta. And if you're ever up in Ungarie look us up. We'll give you a feed and a place to stay...'

Is that you windyhill behind the Milo sign?:p

[youtube]nTodE0YJ8eo[/youtube]

Aaaahhhhh what a day this was...I was there in the cheer squad behind the goals that Carlton kicked to in the last quarter..Just saw the end of the game and noticed the umpire manhandling a Carton Child after the match who must have given him an earful...funny stuff, In those days Carlton were the silvertails and we were on the way up..But we had not beaten them for a long time...Was a great victory, I got kicked off the tramon the way home for singing the theme song and refusing to stop...They conductor was a bit like the mods on the Carlton board, I have been banned from there as well.

I first laid eyes on Terry Daniher when I was with my Cousin who was married to a South Melbourne player named David Mcleish...I was a Bombers fanatic but was lucky enough to attend a lot of Swans games and to go to the aftermatch functions..I was there getting Autographs and had most of the Swans stars at the time. I asked my Cuz who were the other stars to get their Autographs, she pointed at a very freckly man and said did you get Terry's? I approached him slowly allthe way thinking, that is not Terry O'neill ( who was the Swans gun full back at the time) anyway I got his sig and he was very friendly, could not believe how spotty he was LOL..

Next year we had traded out our Gun centreman for Terry and Neale Daniher...Now make no mistake, when we let Nifty Neville Fields go there were many Bombers fans really p##### off. He was a class act, a beautiful kick with the hollywood looks as well.. how cpould we trade our only senior gun footballer for a bloke who had played about 13 games for the swans and his brother who the swans had never ever seen...( I wonder if we had seen Neale play)...

Anyway in his first year Terry slotted straight into full forward and was brilliant, Watson Neagle Hawker and a few others were allowed to control the guts and we were firing...Then he had his Jaw broken in a dirty snipe and missed about 8 weeks...

The next year Neale debuted and we could see he was a class act from day 1..A solid build, Mullet as well, but he just had a great footy brain, knew how the game was played and kept it simple...He was the swingman before Terry, Could play anywhere and just made it look easy, No I have had a few beers over the last 30 years, so feel free to correct me anyone, but I remember it like this. Neale won the best and fairest in his third year at the club, at that stage he had played 66 games in 3 years of footy, he was our Mr Reliable.

The following year he was named captain ahead of blokes Like Terry, Simon Madden and Timmy Watson, who was the Darling of the Essendon fans, he was faster than any other player going around I reckon and had all the skills in the world..

Sadly for Neale he was never able to Captain one game as he did his knee and then did it again, Ron Andrews was caretaker Captain for a year and then they gave it to TD. I remember Terry and Neale kick about ten goals between them for Victoria against a star studded WA team. I remember their country laid back she'll be right attitude.. Fantastic privelidge to be able to see these players start and finish their careers. Anthony was a great full back also, a massive kick who we called zachary, because his face looked Zachary like his arse..

Chris was a tough gutsty tagger type who had a bloody hard act to follow given how good his brothers were..

Neale's nickname was Rowdy, because he was very very quiet when he first arrived, was not long before people wanted to hear more from the greatest numer 6 I have ever seen wear the red and black, Sorry Sean Wellman but Rowdy was just that good..Every bit as good as Hird I reckon, possibly better, the youngest ever player named Captain of the mighty EFC. Aaah sweet memories, let's hope we can get another elimination finals against the silvertails this year....

I remember hearing a story about TD when sheeds appointed him coach of the seconds a few years back, after their first win of the year, TD walked into the rooms with a slab of beer on his shoulders and said, get that into you boys, toook a fair bit of explaining that we no longer did that sort of thing, I can imagine the look on his face..reckon he would have wanted to quit then and there..He did love the aftermatch...For the record, I had a duffle coat with 2 names on the back..A big 32 with Timmy on top and Watson on the bottom, and along the top I had Terry 5 Daniher...I arrived as a regular at windy hill in 1978 and Neale was nowher to be seen, think I would have had number 6 if I was two years later...Naaah..Timmy was the man....:footy::footy::footy::footy:
At the bottom I had small numbers 18,27,33,34 and 10..5 class acts who all had the ultimate success..Vanderhaar,Madden,Hawker,Neagle and Foulds...The last 3 get forgotten often in this era, all were top class players as well....aaaaahhh happy days..

Awesome stories guys. Wish I was old enough to remember more than the very end of Terry and Anthony and a bit of Chris.

I loved that R20 '81 footage, we had an awesome forward press going there! :D

I can understand the younger posters here thinking 'Neale Daniher?..that was 30 years ago...yer whatever'...but believe me, to us blokes/ladies in our 40s, thinking back to those days around 1980 seems like yesterday.

We were this very ordinary club back then. By the start of 1980 we had missed finals for about 12 years. Middle of the road blandness. We had the no success what so ever. Those sides from 1970 to 1978 kept Essendon fans in a coma. No stars (except for Moss) no good coaches..lucky I was a toddler and I missed those dark days.

But then along came Neale Daniher..the "Iceman'

Get the Daniher book and read the chapters about Neale. If he hadn't of sustained those knee injuries, he would've been the greatest Essendon player to have don the red and black. He was a rare breed of footballer. He had the type of football brain that few players are born with.

Read about his days as a star young footballer and cricket player at Assumption College and his record breaking achievements.

Think of this..

Arrives at EFC in 1979 from Assumption (school boy football) and is played in the seniors in rd 1 as an 18 year old and plays every game for the next two seasons.

In his third season in 1981, he won the Crichton Medal and made the Vic state team for the second year in a row. He was the star of the League..The Iceman. Like Hird, he seemed to have all the time in the world.

That Carlton youtube game was the 2nd last game of season '81. He was hailed the hero...Essendon fans were beside themselves with happiness that Terry's little brother was even better!

The next rd, the final rd of the season, Neale injured his knee against Sth Melbourne.

At the start of the 1982 season, Sheedy named Neale captain at the age of 21.

He never played a game as captain of the EFC.

His knee didn't get good enough to play league football untill 1985. He came back in rd 9 of that season. The knee lasted 5 games.

Sheedy convinced him to return in 1989. He played 11 games in the next two years before a calling it quits.

Three knee reconstructions, 82 games and 32 goals.

To think of what we might have been like if we had Neale Daniher playing in those years around our back to back flags...

Other facts..

Best 1st year player 1979
B&F 1981
Capt 1982 (0 games)
Reserves B&F 1990
3 games for Victoria

He should have been one of the greatest players in history. But it was not to be. The club injury curse began with Neale...

I can understand the younger posters here thinking 'Neale Daniher?..that was 30 years ago...yer whatever'...but believe me, to us blokes/ladies in our 40s, thinking back to those days around 1980 seems like yesterday.

We were this very ordinary club back then. By the start of 1980 we had missed finals for about 12 years. Middle of the road blandness. We had the no success what so ever. Those sides from 1970 to 1978 kept Essendon fans in a coma. No stars (except for Moss) no good coaches..lucky I was a toddler and I missed those dark days.

But then along came Neale Daniher..the "Iceman'

Get the Daniher book and read the chapters about Neale. If he hadn't of sustained those knee injuries, he would've been the greatest Essendon player to have don the red and black. He was a rare breed of footballer. He had the type of football brain that few players are born with.

Read about his days as a star young footballer and cricket player at Assumption College and his record breaking achievements.

Think of this..

Arrives at EFC in 1979 from Assumption (school boy football) and is played in the seniors in rd 1 as an 18 year old and plays every game for the next two seasons.

In his third season in 1981, he won the Crichton Medal and made the Vic state team for the second year in a row. He was the star of the League..The Iceman. Like Hird, he seemed to have all the time in the world.

That Carlton youtube game was the 2nd last game of season '81. He was hailed the hero...Essendon fans were beside themselves with happiness that Terry's little brother was even better!

The next rd, the final rd of the season, Neale injured his knee against Sth Melbourne.

At the start of the 1982 season, Sheedy named Neale captain at the age of 21.

He never played a game as captain of the EFC.

His knee didn't get good enough to play league football untill 1985. He came back in rd 9 of that season. The knee lasted 5 games.

Sheedy convinced him to return in 1989. He played 11 games in the next two years before a calling it quits.

Three knee reconstructions, 82 games and 32 goals.

To think of what we might have been like if we had Neale Daniher playing in those years around our back to back flags...

Other facts..

Best 1st year player 1979
B&F 1981
Capt 1982 (0 games)
Reserves B&F 1990
3 games for Victoria

He should have been one of the greatest players in history. But it was not to be. The club injury curse began with Neale...

All so true except for the last bit, I think the injury curse started with The great John Coleman who was only able to play 98 games for 500 goals...No such thing as a knee reco then, just career over....:(:(

hope you guys dont mind my intrusion i have a really nice story about anthony daniher... me and my mate use to manage a mexican reataurant in moonee ponds in the late 80s early 90s my mate was a mad bomber and me a tiger,, quite a few of the essendon guys use to come in,, anthony daniher being the nicest and most gtenuine guys you could meat,, he use to always order a special nachos, which we ended up naming the daniher special... he in fact use to bring in his own oven tray because the take away containers were never big enough,, he was always happy to talk footy and was your true regular good bloke,, one week befor his 200th game vs richmond at windy hill he bought me and my mate free tickets in the members to watch him that day ,, i was about the only tiger supporter in that area and we sat behind all the boys from ungarie ... was rapt to be part of his 200th game met neil once and he was a ripping bloke as well .. ah the good old days anyway good luck for the rest of 2011 cheers the guru

Bit concerned about you tiger fans using our players as meat, taking eat em alive to a new extreme..:D:D

Seriously though, what were the ingredients of Daniher Nachos? Must be good tucker if the size of his kids are anything to go by..Would love to know, apart from having a baking tray the size of a ute...:cool:

Don't forget when he went to boarding school in NSW and Aussie Rules was not there so he played Union. His coach reckons he had the natural ability to make a real go of it, at minimum play 1st grade in Sydney, if not play for Australia.

Seen Anthony a few times at my work. Im not sure which of the brothers are also involved but they have a cleaning and property maintenance business called Danihers.

Pretty sure Terry and Anthony run the cleaning business. Neale is obviously over at West Coast at the moment, and I think Chris is back in Ungarie?

There was quite a good period when Tuddy arrived at Windy Hill in 72; the Dons made the elimination final 2 years running beause Tuddy tore the place apart. He was a brutal fitness fanatic and the likes of Noonan, Davis Grinter etc. never knew what hit them. Full credit to Tuddy as a captain coach because he lead from the front and never flinched, ever. Moss stood out, but even in those comatose days as you describe, kids like me still got a kick out of Blethyn, Schultzy, Johnny Cassin, Lurch and the like. Tuddy left on bad terms after 74 (his true colours came out) and the rot set in again for a few years under Bill Stephen, who basically hatched the first round of baby bombers.

Bit concerned about you tiger fans using our players as meat, taking eat em alive to a new extreme..:D:D

Seriously though, what were the ingredients of Daniher Nachos? Must be good tucker if the size of his kids are anything to go by..Would love to know, apart from having a baking tray the size of a ute...:cool:
my spelling bad the take away trays were 7inch in diameter his baking tray was about 2and half times ,, it was a frijole base- cornchips- smothered in cheese topped with guacamole- salsa -and sour cream ,, joe daniher that will be on your list soon he is tonys son ??? and he is suppose to be a real good prospect ??? hope it all works out well cheers the guru:thumbsu:

All so true except for the last bit, I think the injury curse started with The great
John Coleman who was only able to play 98 games for 500 goals...No such thing as a knee reco then, just career over....:(:(

Yes, he was the worst of the lot when it came to injured star Essendon players.

But that period between 1981 and...well right up to into the 2000s..geez we had some shocking bad luck.

Neale Daniher, Watson, Daisy, Vanders, Hird, Longy, Misiti's jaw, Lloydy's finger, Lloydy's hammy...and probably heaps more I can't think of atm.

Seen Anthony a few times at my work. Im not sure which of the brothers are also involved but they have a cleaning and property maintenance business called Danihers.

Far out do they still have that business? They had it in the early 90's IIRC.

Great story guru , thanks for that :thumbsu:

my spelling bad the take away trays were 7inch in diameter his baking tray was about 2and half times ,, it was a frijole base- cornchips- smothered in cheese topped with guacamole- salsa -and sour cream ,, joe daniher that will be on your list soon he is tonys son ??? and he is suppose to be a real good prospect ??? hope it all works out well cheers the guru:thumbsu:

Cheers mate, will give those Daniher Nachos a try, cant believe there is not half a sheep or cow on them. Yes Joe is Anthony's son and The brother of Darcy, who is on our list now also.. About 200 cm tall or so I believe, looking forward to seeing him play in a few years..always welcome here Guru, except maybe if the tigers ever beat us again..Wait a week or two if that is the case..:D:D:D:D

thanks for that will come on every now and then,,, i grew up in strathmore and was a young lad who use to have kick to kick with jeff blethyn and andy wilson they both lived in our street... and like everyone in strathmore i use to go to windy hill to watch the bombers( i was the only tiger around) but love those old days was there at the famous windy hill brawl and lots of other great games in the 70s,,, remember getting pass outs at half time and going to the milk bar in napier st for a pie and the peanut man selling his peanuts , and the cheer squad walking the ground at half time with blankets and everyone throwing money into the blankets,, jumping jack miachec and kenny roberts and a young simon madden and fouldsy and vanders boy they were the real great days of footy:thumbsu:

Aaah sweet memories, did most of that except have a kick with Jeff and Andy, great days indeed, the peanut man, heereya peanuts, heereya peanuts, do you know what he also did for a living that bloke? He was the owner of the shaft cinemas in the city...

I used to be one of those cheer squad members with the blanket, in those days people would often try to scone you with a coin as well, had to be opposition supporters I guess, but copping a 50cent coin in the head can bloody hurt I assure you,

How bloody quick was Timmy Watson then, there was an amazing ring around the ground of Tiiimmmmmy, whenever he got the ball and took of on a dash...

And the donut bus behind the goals, hhmmmm Do nuts..

Mystery question for all..where was the popular place to warm up at half time at Windy Hill and what was the method....and for a bonus point who was responsible for this ritual???

Neale Daniher burst on to the scene more so that Terry.

Robert Walls has the story of how he was carried off by stretcher in front of the Essendon faithful in what was a career ending injury and knew he was done as a player.

He says he was thinking about how impressive a young Neale Daniher was that day while being carried off.

Teach me Essendon History - The Danihers