Rumour Teague Gone

This is what happens when a club, thats been down for as long as i can remember, becomes desperate for immediate success.
It ain't going to happen, better chance of rising up the ladder with Teague in 3 years than Clarko in that time.
You need the right cattle for your game plan and it takes time to assemble that, the list the next coach inherits will be bits and pieces of what the previous 3 gathered for their builds and may never compliment each other or the plan.

North are the same, continually looking for an instant messiah like Adelaide found in Blight, just doesn't happen that often.

Its inevitable that teams will chase and be eager for success, its their mundus operandi , it don't take a genus to work that out. Our issues are multiple and deep rooted, a coach on training wheels, learning on the job is not ideal and wont help our situation nor any other team same predicament.
CFC established 1864, a very proud club with 16 premierships, its obvious we yearn success.

Its inevitable that teams will chase and be eager for success, its their mundus operandi , it don't take a genus to work that out. Our issues are multiple and deep rooted, a coach on training wheels, learning on the job is not ideal and wont help our situation nor any other team same predicament.
CFC established 1864, a very proud club with 16 premierships, its obvious we yearn success.

Of course you yearn for success, but you also have to be realistic and patient or all you end up with is a revolving door of poor performance and coaches.
Sound familiar?

Look at my club, head over to our board and you'll find threads from supporters who want Ken sacked, sacking is the easy part, replacing them with someone new easy too but does it equal success?
You should have no trouble answering that.

I'm a realist, Ken probably won't ever take us to a flag but he has kept us in the top half of the draw more often than not and I know that winning a flag for a small SA club like Port is the exception to the rule.
So we either sack Ken and jump on the coaching merry go round hoping for that exception to come to fruition without going backwards or dividing the group or we continue to be a thorn in the side of our cross town rivals and anyone else we can upset along the way to another failed finals result.
I can live without flags because I know the AFL is heavily stacked against the minnows, especially interstate minnows, what I couldn't handle is wooden spoons from decades of instability.

This is what happens when a club, thats been down for as long as i can remember, becomes desperate for immediate success.
It ain't going to happen, better chance of rising up the ladder with Teague in 3 years than Clarko in that time.
You need the right cattle for your game plan and it takes time to assemble that, the list the next coach inherits will be bits and pieces of what the previous 3 gathered for their builds and may never compliment each other or the plan.

North are the same, continually looking for an instant messiah like Adelaide found in Blight, just doesn't happen that often.
A new President either thinks he has the solution or at least needs to show members he is doing more than the previous President. Whether it’s right or wrong who knows. However, history suggests it’s never that simple.

Agreed, there are many facets, but Clarko isnt going to solve the boardroom issues and a stable board cant clean slate the list in the off season so Clarko can lead them to the promised land in the same time period they've afforded recent Coaching appointments.

Clubs like Carlton, North have tried just about everything to stay off the bottom of the ladder over the past 2 decades, the one thing they've never had is ongoing stability in the head Coaches position.
People wanted Dimma's head, I think it would be fair to say Peg and Benny got good value from him in the end.

Agreed, there are many facets, but Clarko isnt going to solve the boardroom issues and a stable board cant clean slate the list in the off season so Clarko can lead them to the promised land in the same time period they've afforded recent Coaching appointments.

Clubs like Carlton, North have tried just about everything to stay off the bottom of the ladder over the past 2 decades, the one thing they've never had is ongoing stability in the head Coaches position.
People wanted Dimma's head, I think it would be fair to say Peg and Benny got good value from him in the end.

North have never had ongoing stability in the Head Coaches position???? Pagan 93-02, Laidley 03-09, Scott 10-19. The only outlier being Rhyce Shaw who left for personal reasons. So have no clue what you’re talking about.

I like Teague. I like attacking up tempo football with good ball movement. I want him to succeed.

But even tho there are plenty of excuses:

1. Injuries
2. Big money recruits flopping
3. Top draft picks not coming on quickly enough - especially given they are mids/flankers
4. A understaffed/inexperienced assistant coaching department

Even with all that being pretty valid I just don't think Carlton have played with enough spirit nor organisation to really make a compelling case to keep him. Good coaches find a few hidden gems and back in some role player and that gives them a foundation to build from. Even if it's ugly early (see Noble at North) it then comes together as a base to work from.

Carlton could be a top 8 team next year with a few list additions - not just top end with someone like Cerra but some gritty players too - it's just hard to see why they should back Teague in to do it.

So if Teague gets the arse, who are we assuming replaces him?

Aren't there a few people still on the board who appointed the recent coaches? Shouldn't they also go?

It's been a series of clangers since they shafted Ratten, no?
I don't think you have to remove the board members who bring other strengths purely because of a failed coaching appointment. But Carlton do have the issue that Judd is going, their head of footy is under as much pressure as Teague and the board is facing pressure too.

In a perfect world the first thing you'd do is get the board composition right, allow the members a vote and get someone to put their hand up to be football director.

Then hire a head of footy and/or coach in a partnership that works together.

But clubs don't usually want to do things that way. So at the minimum they need to get a good coaching search sub committee together - they may as well use Geoff Walsh and Pav from their coach review committee - and then go through the full formal search.

How are North the same, at all? We've had 5 coaches since 1993, and the last one only departed due to personal mental health issues.

Would really love to hear you explain this lmao

That's true, but Teague (from the board's perspective) is still an unproven, unknown quantity at some level. Whereas Clarkson is a proven Finals winning, Premiership winning coach. If you had the option between maybe being a Flag contender in 3-4 years time or almost certainly being a Flag contender in 5-6 years time which would you choose?

almost certainly? Well for a start Clarkson hasn’t won a final in six years

Pagan had more recent success with the Roos when he went to Carlton and that worked out well.

Same thing with Malthouse…

third times a charm?

North have never had ongoing stability in the Head Coaches position???? Pagan 93-02, Laidley 03-09, Scott 10-19. The only outlier being Rhyce Shaw who left for personal reasons. So have no clue what you’re talking about.

LOL, Laidley and Scott would not be what I'd consider stable but I guess they did clog up the position for a while there.
You could replace North with GC or St Kilda to a degree, the trend is the same.

Looking at the top half of the draw and longevity in the job or as an assistant at the club as with Goody is a common theme.

How are North the same, at all? We've had 5 coaches since 1993, and the last one only departed due to personal mental health issues.

Would really love to hear you explain this lmao
You North flogs are always talking shit about us so I threw it in as I knew it'd trigger a few, didnt disappoint.

I feel for Teague. 2 years as a senior coach is not enough time. His record so far is not that bad.
Feel sorry for the bloke tbh, doesn't seem like an overall bad coach from his W/L record at all and he sounds like a good bloke.

I don't think you have to remove the board members who bring other strengths purely because of a failed coaching appointment.
Not sure how long those guys have been there but surely this is the third failure since sacking Ratten? Who is accountable for that?

I feel for Teague. 2 years as a senior coach is not enough time. His record so far is not that bad.
The problem is that Carlton don't seem to be improving significantly and by topping up they send the message that they should be playing finals.

You can't give up a first-rounder for Saad and throw a sack of money at Williams and still claim 13th is par.

You North flogs are always talking sh*t about us so I threw it in as I knew it'd trigger a few, didnt disappoint.

Or you had no idea, and now you're looking to save a bit of face :$