Team selection issues heading into the finals (merged thread)

• Thread starter Thread starter Punts

If Fit and it is a massive massive IF , We hear that LRT , Reid , Jets , Goodes are all racing each other back and are due to train next week , with Reid and Jets back sprinting they are in the lead. We no Horse loves his little boys Jets and Reid and also said a week ago that they would be walk up starts. So if they end up going that way and all above are ready and fit again massive massive IF , who would come out of that side that played on the weekend also Horse has said Rohan will likely play also and if there gonna play Rohan next week that says to me that everything going well he will be playing Finals cause u don't bring a bloke in with 2 games to go if there not gonna play Finals. We all no what Goodes and LRT Septembers are like they stand up that's for sure.

So out of the weekends side who comes out if these blokes get up in coming weeks ?

Goodes - Pyke ?
LRT - Everitt
Reid - White
BJ - Rohan
Jets - Mcglynn

As I said IF

So out of the weekends side who comes out if these blokes get up in coming weeks ?

Goodes - Pyke ?
LRT - Everitt
Reid - White
BJ - Rohan
Jets - Mcglynn

As I said IF

Goodes -White/Pyke(on form pyke but that is really unfair)
Reid- Everitt(if white stays in throw reid to CHB for everitt)
Rohan/jetta - bjack this one is easy.

What to do with benny, he played like a man too scared to get re injured and miss the finals again. I can understand him not finding the pill so much, but too lay no tackles when that's his game- is unacceptable.

If no players are to be rested this week, the plans gotta be to ice the game real early and play smart uncontested footy to stay fresh for the geelong game 6 days later.

No chance Pyke loses his spot, unless injured. White, despite his improved form, is the likely omission for either Goodes or Reid, although I'm still very wary of the amount of time left for any of these long-term injured players to get back to fitness.

White has to be the one to go for Reid/Goodes, if indeed that is how the side is going to be structured (the coaches may want to play 3 talls and 2 rucks a la our GF side last year for all we know - that would mean Jesse could stay in). They won't be dropping Pyke in favour of White playing the 2nd ruck role, that much I'm sure of.

Reid - White
Jetta - B. Jack

Those are easy calls to make. Doubt Rohan would be in the plans for Finals unless we want to drop a second midfielder (the first replaces Goodes) with LRT replacing Everitt over Rampe.

No way Pyke gets dropped.

As for whether we go down this path, I doubt it. Shaw and McGlynn showed what playing player with match fitness concerns can do

Reid - White
Jetta - B. Jack

Those are easy calls to make. Doubt Rohan would be in the plans for Finals unless we want to drop a second midfielder (the first replaces Goodes) with LRT replacing Everitt over Rampe.

No way Pyke gets dropped.

As for whether we go down this path, I doubt it. Shaw and McGlynn showed what playing player with match fitness concerns can do

Yeah ... I think we're probably close to our finals side now ... Goodes, I guess, would be an automatic in but I think a lot on this board forget what a slow starter he is in recent seasons ... however, in his case, seeing as we've managed to hold a top four spot for so long without his services, he'd be worth it simply because he's a fckng champion and a matchwinner.

I expect Shaw and McGlynn will play finals but both are well short of their best. In fact, I wouldn't mind Lamb or Brandon Jack in for McGlynn, who's played very selfish a lot of this season, although on his best form McGlynn is certainly a best 22 player.

I still very much doubt either LRT or Reid will play again this season, Jetta might be a handy inclusion maybe as a sub in finals (again, fitness doubt on him for full games) and Rohan, well, it's still just a massive bonus having him playing any football.

mcglynn wont get dropped he is in the boys club, thats why he waltzed straight in

presuming fitness and it wont happen anyway but hypothetically

jetta in B Jack out speedy player in for another
Reid in White out better than white
Goodes in Shaw out shaw hasnt shown enough to hold out others- goodes is tall but he can drift around and we are presuming he is fit
LRT in rampe out or everitt i dunno either is a harsh call
rohan in this is my hardest one, im thinking then rampe and everitt both go, but not sure that works, will have to think about it

i could then see mitchell as sub, bit like parker for last years finals, which again may be unpopular but he looks tired to me

Its a tough one, we were ordinary v the pies, but seems harsh to drop some of them, maybe mcglynn for rohan is the move if they were all fit

At this stage, I'm still reasonably content in dismissing the C'wood result as a one-off, for whatever reason. I would still think we'd beat C'wood if we meet them in finals, but I'm confident we'll hold on to top four and, if that's the case, finals is a new season ... on our terms. While it's all very well lamenting what might have been had we had our full squad healthy all year, the fact is the players we've had available will have got us into the top four, and in good style (mostly) ... the last two rounds, v Cats and Hawks, will be quite educational but even then, finals is a different story (as was the case last season).

Im in that boat, to me winning more than 6 in a row in this comp is hard, at this stage i see the weekend as poor but its just one week.

There are no glaring week links in the side who i think are covering a spot for injury. Now ok Goodes is a superstar and walks in and Reid is a better player than white (though needs to show it more) but White has performed, Rampe has performed, Everitt has performed.

The weaker showings have been from Shaw and Mcglynn on return, which also makes me wary about rushing players back.

I took punts hypothetical as all the players are cherry ripe, its unlikely. I think the lesson i take from Mcglynn on the weekend and to a lesser extent shaw is dont rush people back, especially when players are performing, eg Lamb deserved a spot no reason to make that change IMO.

Don't need Pyke in the side with Tippett , Pyke got schooled by a 3rd gamer on the weekend , Tippett can 2nd ruck for 10min a quarter no worries in the world ala Blues game , and that will mean will get another small in for Pyke

Im not a fan of our key forward in the ruck

also pykes season has been good and he is a proven finals performer.

Depends if we're picking on form or name.

Reid:
10 games
108 disposals
23 clangers
7 goals
38 marks (14 contested)
3 clearances
15 one percenters

White:
9 games
95 disposals
12 clangers
13 goals
34 marks (13 contested)
8 clearances
16 one percenters

Depends if we're picking on form or name.

Reid:
10 games
108 disposals
23 clangers
7 goals
38 marks (14 contested)
3 clearances
15 one percenters

White:
9 games
95 disposals
12 clangers
13 goals
34 marks (13 contested)
8 clearances
16 one percenters

agreed, im hesitant to make the pick, i think i went more with a fully fit reids talent and my concern that maybe Jesse wont fire against the best sides.

That one doesnt bother me too much either way

but i dont get the calls for pykes head

Don't need Pyke in the side with Tippett , Pyke got schooled by a 3rd gamer on the weekend , Tippett can 2nd ruck for 10min a quarter no worries in the world ala Blues game , and that will mean will get another small in for Pyke

I don't mean to be disrespectful but reading your frequent posts makes me think of a goldfish ... you come up with thought bubble stuff every few seconds ...

Pyke ("schooled"???) will not be dropped. Nor should he be. We did not lose on Saturday night because we were too tall in the forwards; we lost because our midfield - still, in my opinion, the best and deepest in the league - had an unfortunate collective off day, and were soundly beaten. This is unlikely to happen too often.

Our midfield and our 1-2 ruck combination of Mumford and Pyke provide the foundation for a genuine premiership challenge. We have a star key forward and a generally steady backline ... the inclusion, where appropriate, of the likes of Goodes and Reid adds to a team capable of beating any other, on any ground. I'll say it again, we make top four and the finals is a different ball game.

for mine the pyke mumford combo leads the league this year
who has a better duo

This constant call for less talls confuses me when on the flip side the same posters panic about the defence coping with opposition talls.

Hawthorn for instance dont want to mark Tippett, White/Reid, Goodes, Pyke/Mumford

For a million a year Tippett can play in the ruck that's what he is a ruck / Forward

why though? we have two performing ruckman in the side.

Finals are in 3 weeks you honestly think Pyke is suddenly going to be dropped after an all australian contending year ( i concede he wont make it now)

agreed, im hesitant to make the pick, i think i went more with a fully fit reids talent and my concern that maybe Jesse wont fire against the best sides.

That one doesnt bother me too much either way

but i dont get the calls for pykes head
No way does White get picked before Ried , Reid is a CHF Premiership Player , White has not stood up once against a good team , Richmond yer well done played on Pettard , GWS well done (Kids) , Goldsack a 3rd tall beat him on the weekend. Ried has not played with Tippett in the side yet so he will get the 3rd defender if Pyke stays in. And I can say now that Reid will towel up a 3rd tall

I don't mean to be disrespectful but reading your frequent posts makes me think of a goldfish ... you come up with thought bubble stuff every few seconds ...

Pyke ("schooled"???) will not be dropped. Nor should he be. We did not lose on Saturday night because we were too tall in the forwards; we lost because our midfield - still, in my opinion, the best and deepest in the league - had an unfortunate collective off day, and were soundly beaten. This is unlikely to happen too often.

Our midfield and our 1-2 ruck combination of Mumford and Pyke provide the foundation for a genuine premiership challenge. We have a star key forward and a generally steady backline ... the inclusion, where appropriate, of the likes of Goodes and Reid adds to a team capable of beating any other, on any ground. I'll say it again, we make top four and the finals is a different ball game.
Whats Goldfish mean mate

No way does White get picked before Ried , Reid is a CHF Premiership Player , White has not stood up once against a good team , Richmond yer well done played on Pettard , GWS well done (Kids) , Goldsack a 3rd tall beat him on the weekend. Ried has not played with Tippett in the side yet so he will get the 3rd defender if Pyke stays in. And I can say now that Reid will towel up a 3rd tall

Which teams did Reid perform well against this season?

I agree he is the better long term option and as I did say White needs a good game against a good team, but Reid has not performed when on the park in 2013 IMHO

Which teams did Reid perform well against this season?

I agree he is the better long term option and as I did say White needs a good game against a good team, but Reid has not performed when on the park in 2013 IMHO
What game this year has Reid not taking the number 1 Defender , still hasn't played Tippett yet , White has had the 3rd defender since playing with Tippett and just proved on the weekend that he wont play Finals or be at the club next year.